Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Apollo 3 stars

Asemakatu 31-33, 90100 Oulu, Finland

#19 of 26 hotels in Oulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1725 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms look a bit like the 70s, but combines with the great service and the good breakfast we didn’t mind. We missed as well nothing.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful, great breakfast menu with delicious food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sloping ceiling at the top floor, particularly in the bathroom, was a hazard.

    Furniture was charming, the breakfast was very versatile, and the shower had pressure even at the top floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possibly due to its central location, there were people coming back late being drunk and carrying on partying after hours in the hotel and making a lot of noise in the corridors until 4 am, which was super annoying. When I asked them to be quiet as other guests are trying to sleep, I got shouted at and answered back to rudely.

    Great breakfast, good central location and friendly staff. The room was not fancy but served its purpose.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very basic and in need of a refresh, this is even though we were given an upgrade to a business suite which had a sauna which we couldnt use as we arrived really late and were leaving early in the morning. Lots of noise from outside so i had to put ear plugs so i could sleep.

    Good breakfast lots to choose from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel was up to standard in all ways and welcoming.

    The hotel is good value for money. The breakfast was good and the rooms comfortable. A bonus was the sauna in the room. Staff were helpful and always ready to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great!

    Room was spacious and had a sauna in the the bathroom. Very cool! Hotel was overall nice, clean and quiet. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe there could be few more parking spots for guests.

    Private sauna was pretty nice. The room looked nice and it was comfy. Great breakfast! Car heating was possible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's air-conditioning/ventilation made a loud voice in the mornings which woke us up. Forgot to mention about this on the check out. Maybe they could see if it is as should be.

    Double room had a huge and comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Our room had a small sauna which was nice. Very clean and well kept overall. The staff were friendly and easy to approach to. Lovely breakfast and also tea available until late evening. Good location next to the train station and short walk to everywhere. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    This was the best 3 stars Hotel that I have been. They have a good staff. They have coffee, tea and cakes all the day. Was SUPER.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the lobby you can have tea and coffee for free until 9pm. The breakfast is good and in this price category very variable. The staff in the reception is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    This part of the city is a bit dead, but close to the train station and we had to get an early train.

    lovely breakfast and we had a Sauna in the room (turn it on in time before you like to enjoy it)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Breakfast was a bit confusing and not such a big selection. - Mattress was a bit hard, but that seems to be a general issue in Finland... - There is a Karaoke bar next door and they play music from 22 to 4... If you're sensitive to noise, you might reconsider the hotel. It might be better on the other side of the hotel though. We were on the same side as the karaoke bar.

    - Staff is really nice! They gave us a room with a sauna as free upgrade! That was so nice, because the new room had a sauna! Awesome! Never had a room with a sauna and now I'm a sauna fan.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private sauna is best for quiet and personal enjoyment. It’s location is just five to ten minutes walk from Oulu center but still provides free parking which is a bonus for travelers driving their car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ... but very old hotel. They gave me an absolutely terrible room. I sleep for less money in better hotels. let me put it like this; I will never ever book a Best Western hotel anymore.

    Very friendly staff and good breakfast...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning

    The staff were extremely helpful. When I lost my cell phone, they went out of the way to help me locate it. And when I mentioned that I had to leave early, they offered to make a breakfast doggy bag for me. The night receptionist Henna was particularly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, friendly staff and clean room and toilet. I enjoyed the breakfast and they were helpful to call a taxi when I had to leave. Thank you for a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want a view the attic rooms don't have it (at least not the one I stayed at) but that didn't really bother me.

    A very nice hotel. Close to the train station; within walking distance of - just about everything! My room wasn't big but I fell in love with it. I felt sorry I had other things to do as I would've wanted to stay the whole day at the hotel. The room was "an attic room". The décor was nice and tasteful: a wooden desk, big TV; the bed linen, the duvet and the pillows were so comfortable and soft - I've never slept in a better bed! I didn't have enough time to take advantage of everything but the facilities were there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception service is the best in our trip this time. He was so kind and friendly to inform us all the information as we asked. Very good indeed. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road works under the window is probably something temporary. The karaoke bar is not. And no convenient smoking place at all.

    Night service was just amazing, everything else was just or reasonable quality: nothing to seriously complain about, nothing special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really tiny

    Nice staff, good breakfast, bikes for free. We asked for silent room in advance and we got it. Great value for money, I totally recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Free upgrade to room with sauna which was excellent. Very good breakfast. Free coffee and Danish pastries in lounge all afternoon and evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the bathroom especially was very small but as i understand this is the Finnish style, and it wasn't terrible but for a bigger person it would have been uncomfortable.

    The staff was extremely kind and attentive, breakfast was versatile.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light. As mostly everywhere in Finland nobody use blinders so sleeping is difficult in summer.

    Breakfast was really great. Very close to the train station. Nice beds. Clean toilets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I can mention is the noise coming from the street because of the karaoke bars and drunk people speaking and laughing loud.

    A liked very much the private sauna at my room. The breakfast was also perfect and complete. The hotel was in walking distance from the city centre and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The contact to the hotel before the stay was not very nice, the answers to the email were barely polite. But the staff once there was friendly.

    Some rooms include a nice private sauna. The hotel has a common sauna too. The breakfast is good, and the hotel is close by the city center and the train station. Very nice stay overall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is gravel, but that is hardly the hotels fault. The place is not very modern in decor but has great ambience.

    Good breakfast. Free coffee and cookies ad libitum during the day and a karaoke bar open every night until 4am. And of course sauna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street quality was not good around the hotel.

    The personal was friendly and helpful. The room microclimate was beautiful (fresh air, not too warm or too cold). The hotel restaurant was the best in the near 300 m.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, in an area with lot of karaokes... My room was definitely small and very old vintage furnished, absolutely not like on the pictures shown on website

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit old and run down.

    I made a mistake in the date of the booking but the staff reimbursed me in my first booking. Very good gesture and customer service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a party downstairs and we could hear the music until very late in the nigh. Avoid if possible second floor rooms on top of the bar area.

    Nice staff, they very help full facilitating the earlier check in. The room was small but very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are quite bad. Small, dull rooms with a tiny toilet/shower. Picked the hotel cause of the cheapest price. Would pay 20 more for a better hotel.

    Staff was nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -old rooms; need renovation -no separate shampoo and shower gel. This is a typical Finnish cost saving method, except for a few hotels in Helsinki -restaurant was closed when I arrived at 9pm!

    -staff was so helpful and nice -sauna in the room -bed was so comfortable -wifi and internet worked perfectly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. There is a night bar on the 1st floor near the hotel, so it is a little noisy at midnight.

    1. Stuff are all friendly and helpful. 2. WIFI is so fast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything about the hotel.

    I have stayed in several hotels across the world, 4 - 5 stars, but this hotel was the BEST in the amenities and convenience for a budget traveler. Best breakfast, best 24 hours food and other service, extremely hospitable staff. I really felt like a guest and not a customer.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was so slow in the room I got,I had a hard time working in my room (not even working sometimes). The bathroom is so small, I've never seen that before. It was not even very clean and they should really consider renewing them and also their rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the elevator does not go to floor nr 5. I had a trolley and I did not know that and the room was on floor 5. The personnel changed the rooms fast.

    Good personnel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an American chain so they think the ground floor id the first floor and that the English language comes from America!

    Good staff, accommodation okay, heavy metal pub just across the road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, very good everything!

    We are glad that receptionist found the bigger room for us so early (we arrived before 2 pm) with very nice super huge bad and great souna! Also room was so insanely clean. Breakfast was nice too, a lot if variants what to choose, and cooked well. ...very cute little kettle in the room :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very warm room. No possibilities to decrease the temperature. Also, the bar front of the hotel and karaoke just next to it can be very noisy when they close.

    Good location. The breakfast is good with lot of choice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is great and will attend any need you have. Good breakfast. During the day, host are wellcome to use the breakfast room to work or relax, and the hotel offers free coffe, tea, cookies, etc. Very nice hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot and there was only a small part of the window that would open. Even the fan didn't help much

    City locatio and parking were the prime factors

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Suite" was overstatement. Suite in tgis hotel is just an average single room.

    Value for money: my room had its own sauna and I paid some 80 EUR 7 night!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (a two-beds room for single use) was very small, crowded with outdated furniture, no closet for clothes and no air conditioning. The bathroom was also very small with no shower dish. Overall very expensive for the location and quality of the room.

    The personnel was polite and helpful. The place was clean. The (small) room had windows one could open, which was good due to the absence of ventilation (in the bathroom), air conditioning and the small size. Breakfast was okay. Good for an overnight stay. Very close to the railway station and a 10 min walk to the Oulu center.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    desk staff was not the friendliest, rooms ok however scanty

    breakfast was sufficient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit lacking in character as with most buildings in that part of town

    Free tea and coffee available in the dining room upon arrival

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and Food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    extremely small bathroom! noisy because of construction work, couldn’t sleep in.

    very friendly staff, room was clean and breakfast nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff, good breakfast. Close to the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain. Free parking is nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room tiny with beds too close together and a big fridge and sharp metal lights too near the beds

    Receptionist very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. Midnight check-in went smooth.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the bathroom there was too little space between the washbasin and the shelf, difficult to wash one's teeth

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The light snacks and tea / coffee are available free of charge in the lobby. Also, a free of charge parking lot is available in the back yard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tiny room, but no problem for us since we stayed only for one night.

    Excellent location, good breakfast and service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast and easy to reach (downtown Oulu)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    started to be worn out

    in a city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Location - near the bus station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can get coffee+ tea free from the lobby through out the whole day, nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The generous coffee, glogg, pastry and biscuit buffet. The kind staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator bit noisy

    Good beds, excellent breakfast, ear plugs provided in the drawer so slept like a baby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff. The breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok. Free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice reasonable accommodation with excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very dated hotel, you can definitely do better for the same price in Oulu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to park due to slim parking slots.

    Very well situated close to city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff,especially Henna .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tobacco smoke smelled in the corridor.

    Friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast, central location, good wifi, peaceful place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Service le 13/06/17 pm, no water, no orange juice available, refilled

    Situation géographique, personnel, petit déjeuner, sauna, Internet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet is really small.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk staff were very very helpful and pleasant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms were a little cramped.

    Personnel was very helpful to all our trip members. Thanks to everyone!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well organized good hotel, good bed, facilities and nicely located.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Near railwaystation, free sauna and snacks, friendly staff, compact room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is really small. As a matter of fact, is the smallest I have ever seen.

    It was clean and well located.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Hotel Apollo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: