Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Kouvola 3 stars

Kouvolankatu 11, 45100 Kouvola, Finland

#5 of 11 hotels in Kouvola

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 731 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay in Kouvola.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was pathetic. we could not view emails, look up timetables or travel information. The wifi throughout Finland has been well below world standard, but this was exceptionally bad.

    The hotel was very central, close to the railway station & bus station. The staff in all areas of the hotel were very welcoming & helpful, giving the property a very cheery atmosphere. The breakfast was varied & tasty. We ate our evening meals at the hotel & were very impressed with the quality & presentation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and helpful staff, nice kids area in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proof is not the best especially in the evenings when you hear the neighbors singing songs , also night cry of kid may disturb as well

    Excellent location and helpful staff, nice kids area in restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.3
    Short overnight on the way to elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price level, the quality of the room did not quite match. Especially the bathroom was more dorm style than hotel, shower hook falling offf, soap not refilled. The room was very narrow. Compared to other Cumulus hotels, I also saw the difference.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff. Practical location at the travel center (train and buses).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    I always choose only Cumulus hotels when I'm about to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last time the Cumulus parking area underwent renovations and we hadn't been warned about it, but luckily it is allowed to park almost everywhere for free at the weekends.

    I always choose only Cumulus hotels when I'm about to visit Finland. Things I like most about Cumulus are breakfasts and beautiful soft beds. Service is also of the highest quality. The location of the hotel in Kouvola is 10/10, right in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Mid-range chain hotels should be like this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    A very good mid-range hotel - but choose the "superior" double, rather than the regular one. Avoided all of our pet peeves - spacious room, with two comfortable chairs; good lights for bedtime reading, adequate outlets for charging phones, bathroom outlet, and shower that avoids water seeping under the shower door. Good breakfast in attached on-site restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.4
    Magamiseks sobib.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fresh air in room. And other side- ventilation or some engine was noisy trough the night. Not very clean. The public area need a recovery, especially the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - very close to train station; quiet hotel - ideal to have a rest; very kind staff; good sauna that is available for free for the hotel guests; very good breakfast with variaty of meals. If we come to Kouvola again, we will certainly stay in this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    An excellent value, convenient to rail station and city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really. To criticize this hotel would take nitpicking.

    Convenience--close to rail station and to city center. This could not have been better. In addition, when we arrived the desk clerk offered an upgrade to a larger room with minimal cost. So we had a great location and 'superior' room. Our primary reason for booking here was to be near Lahti for the World Nordic Ski Championships, but we found we enjoyed Kouvola, too. The Nordic ski trail network adjacent to the Mielakka Ski Area was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.5
    Very nice and helpfull staff, great location, room was tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like interior, was quite expensive when i consider the interior - old, need reconstruction, and also it was very cold in the room

    Very nice and helpfull staff, great location, room was tidy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Weekend in Kuovola
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nearly nothing - but after renovation twin beds are narrower than before . Also would be good to have breakfast till 11.00 on Saturday :-)

    For me it's the best hotel from Cumulus chain. Just freshly renovated rooms. 3 min walking from railway station, but rooms are very quite. WiFi is very good. Excellent restraunt! Breakfast looks very natural , tasty, hot and healthy! We got great dinner in the evening - no need to go outside. In 2 min there is a very interesting museum of railway models - do not miss a chance to visit it! Children and men particularly will admire it :-)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    Accidently stayed
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the wall is not soundproofing so I can hear what my neighbour and the room next door speaking.

    the location, it is very easy to find! the room is good for 1 or 2 nights. bed is soft and blanket is warm enough.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cold in the room even when all temperature regime was on maximum, no fridge and not enough light in the room.

    Hotel is located on the main street in couple minutes of walk from railroad station. Everything is in stepping accessibility. We had a standart type of the room. Room was big and stylish, beds are comfortable, bathroom is amazing with warm floor. Very helful and friendly stuff. Possible to get bicycle for free as we did.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    6.7
    I had booked the hotel as a business trip filling the name...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked the hotel as a business trip filling the name of the company (for invoicing) in my booking. Unfortunately this hasn't worked on the system three times the hotel reception hasn't seen the invoicing company name even I had filled it in the booking. When I asked the lady at Kouvola Cumulus reception to fill in the company name on the invoice, she said that Cumulus hotel chain has a policy that on bookings made through Booking. com they are not allowed to write company names on the invoices!!!! And she even told me that don't worry you are not alone. "We've had a lot of foreign customers who also haven't been able to get the company names on their invoice!!!! "The tax authorities demand the company name in order to be able to deduct the costs in taxation. So this means I can't use your services when travelling in business. Pity!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Was impossible to fall asleep half of the night because of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was impossible to fall asleep half of the night because of the extremely loud music from the nearby building (it might be a night club).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Great Staff, arrive at midnight and friendly like daytime.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Staff, arrive at midnight and friendly like daytime. the city event with loud music wasn't there fault

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    excelent accomodation for shopping and siteseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet access speed

    parking on site

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    for short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Nothing special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    ideal place for shopping and Kouvola acquaintance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant should be better - as it was in Cumulus

    private parking and sauna

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Nice parket floor and superb sauna facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Nice parket floor and superb sauna facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Room footage could be bigger :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room footage could be bigger :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Very axpensive for this price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very axpensive for this price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    good stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    That can be sleep in quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    good accomodation for shopping and a rest on the trip to inner Finland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing in particular

    parking available on site and cozy sauna

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Big and clean room, comfort bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big and clean room, comfort bed. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Modest but comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was cold in the room when I arrived.

    Coffee and tea in the room is a good option.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    at night loud music.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    at night loud music. cold in the room..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Standard in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small room

    Location in the center Excellent and rich breakfast Pleasant and willing lady in the reception

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location close to the train station, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, although functional, bathroom. Room itself was a tad dark.

    Great location close to the train station, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Air condotion
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condotion

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    staff is very helpful, happy to answer any questions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    simple decoration; no kettle; the bathroom is too small.

    staff is very helpful, happy to answer any questions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Kouvola Cumulus Hotel good overnight choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find from rail station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, very good location, easy parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful and design are likable.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of dislikes

    Beautiful and design are likable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    Ok. Basic Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening- nothing to do.

    Ok. Basic Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Good Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good Breakfast. Good Dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Excellent as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Eberything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable clean room and a great breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine sauna. I had it all to myself. A really great breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    One of the saunas was under renovations and we were not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the saunas was under renovations and we were not properly informed on Men and Women hours.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.8
    Good location, very good parking space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Women's sauna was under construction.

    Good location, very good parking space

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    Double rooms have tiny beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double rooms have tiny beds. Take twin room and connect beds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    breakfast was great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good breakfast and sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good breakfast and sauna.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.1
    Reasonable one-night stay close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast: the variety is fine - but even for me who really stayed in many hotels, these have been the most horrible hotel scrambled eggs in my life! No idea what they did there! The rooms are comparably spacious, but feel to be quite old-fashioned.

    Reasonable one-night stay close to the city centre. The parking lot is a bit hard too find (sign to the parking lot after the actual crossing to take...), but relatively spacious. Small, but nice bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.2
    The staff at the reception were really nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff at the reception were really nice and friendly. Good luck with the new member of the hotel crew! You were doing good job :) Peaceful room and comfy bed. The breakfast was delicious. Free parking on the roof top was a good plus.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Free sauna, free bicycle rent at the hotel, nice restaraunt,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free sauna, free bicycle rent at the hotel, nice restaraunt, tasty breakfast, cozy rooms, good bathroom amenities, good pillows, very close to the railway station, Olympic past

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    Nice breakfast, helpful staff, English spoken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice breakfast, helpful staff, English spoken. Very quiet when I was there (February) so had a good night's sleep - no traffic noise either. I would be very happy to stay again.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    5.0
    Parking, internet worked well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room celaning meant emptying trash bin. Very thin walls,

    Parking, internet worked well.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.1
    good location, good breakfast, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Uncomfortable beds and poor pillows

    good location, good breakfast, clean room

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    We has arrived by the train and were provided with the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We has arrived by the train and were provided with the room much earlier than stated in booking. Thanks much!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Everything was o'key, especially we were pleasantly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was o'key, especially we were pleasantly surprised that you can take bicycles in the hotel free of charge)))

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.3
    The bed is comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    hotel restaurante is expensive.

    The bed is comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    Parking, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast and friendly personnel, parking is free
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It doesn't seems like 4 star hotel

    Breakfast and friendly personnel, parking is free

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    Good breakfast, parking, location in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good breakfast, parking, location in the city center. The hotel prepared everything for baby: crib, toilet pot, bib, heater for milk etc.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.1
    Very good location and very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In room 330 there was bad smell in the bathroom

    Very good location and very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    Responsive and smiling staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Responsive and smiling staff!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    6.7
    Location, wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed is quite narrow. But it was not a big issue.

    Location, wi-fi

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    7.5
    Standard rooms are very small and very dark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Standard rooms are very small and very dark. I had to upgrade to Superior to make my stay comfortable

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: