Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arctic City Hotel 4 stars

Pekankatu 9, 96200 Rovaniemi, Finland

#9 of 21 hotels in Rovaniemi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2342 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Travel to Rovaniemi was the culmination of a year's thinking and planning about our trip to Finland.
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature in the room was hot but we attributed it to climate change. As you can see, we are happy!

    The beds were very comfortable, the location was near everything, the reception staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Was a pleasant stay, would recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit too small and there was no hairdryer.

    Staff was really friendly and helpful, the location of the hotel is great - there are stores nearby, the riverside is a couple minutes walk away, and for those traveling to Santa Village by public transport, there is a bus stop nearby as well. Breakfast was plenty and good tasting too., and everything is clean, nice and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff were helpful, breakfast was great and so was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I initially had an issue with my room, the shower leaked out from the bottom all over the bathroom floor But they moved me to another room the next morning straight away without any problems.

    Staff were helpful, breakfast was great and so was the restaurant attached to the hotel, try the salmon soup and the sauteed reindeer too,was delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is very basic but price-quality-ratio is good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cabin is tiny and leaks the water all over the bathroom.

    The hotel is very basic but price-quality-ratio is good. I was happily surprised by the quality of breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not so warm in the room.

    The staff was amazing. Very nice and friendly. The hotel offers a great breakfast. Really nice for business or pleasure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good. Right in the city centre with buses within a walking distance connecting to Santa Claus Village, train station and airport. The breakfast was nice and the restaurant/bar in the basement makes really good burgers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Second stay in the hotel - and I would go there again! Very good value for the money you pay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bad smell when we entered the room, it did not smell very fresh or clean, but nothing was dirty. No lamps next to the bed, so reading is only possible with the big light.

    Friendly welcome by the reception-staff, fast answering before the arrival via e-mail to answer my questions. Lobbybare is cosy and a nice place, to have a after-dinnerdrink. The room was quiet and equipped with everything you need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Excellent Location. Excellent Staff. Excellent Facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived quite early in the morning and were expecting just to store our luggage for the day but were able to check in as soon as we arrived. The staff were very friendly and the room was beautiful, bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The breakfast included was excellent, lots of options. Location is great, right next to one of the main shopping centres and tourist information point. Sauna facilities were great, we really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    A comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticisum was the shower. It was very small, i’m not a big person but still had to stand in one position as couldn’t move around. As we were only staying one night, my husband waited until we reached the next hotel! Plus there was a gap between the wall and the shower door so the shower flooded the little bathroom so we had towels all over the floor. That really should be looked at.

    The staff were very friendly both in the hotel and the hotel restaurant. The room was spacious with lots of storage space plus tea & coffee & mini bar that was not too expensive. The food in the restaurant was very good plus we were given a free glass of sparkly with dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Good 4 star hotel in the center of Rovaniemi. Park your car and enjoy the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard room was a bit small

    Located right next to the city center. Elegant decoration. Helpful responsive staff. Good restuarant, Sauna, and bar. Parking under roof next door included

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    2.5
    The worst night in my life I spend it in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty, they tried to give us a very old and extremely used room, we changed it but the other room was very small and bad smells, the heating uncontrolled. So we opened the window which is 10 cm wide, we didn't sleep all night, ( no oxygen 😯) . The breakfast was an very very very bad. I suggest anyone batter to go to hostel tether than to go to this hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Rooms are really dark, there are no bedside lights, nor...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are really dark, there are no bedside lights, nor light switches even. This was already a second time at this hotel, so I assume there is the same issue in all the rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Value for money hotel with cozy atmosphere & friendy staff near the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wifi signal in our room was not so good.But it helped to have less time in the net so we could explore more Finland :)

    The hotel is a perfect choice if you want to stay in the center of Rovaniemi! Everything you want is nearby! 24h supermarket, central square of town,bus station. We liked the parking area as it is private for the hotel costumers and you don't have to worry where you will park and pay for parking! Τhe staff were very kind and willing to help us in asking! The breakfast is various and delicious,the have anything you want! Cozy area and friendly atmosphere . The room was very good with comfy bed and nice deco.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Rovaniemi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a really perfect stay at Arctic City Hotel. The room was beautiful and everything was perfect. The stuff was very friendly, the breakfast didn't miss anything and the Sauna in the upper Level is very fine! Also there are two Restaurant with really good Food for good Prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Very helpful staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful staff, who explained everything patiently. Breakfast was also very good, a lot to select from. And the location was perfect - right in the centre of Rovaniemi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    It was beautiful, friendly & very welcoming. The rooms looked amazing & were well insulated from the cold. The breakfast was great. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay & only wished it was longer!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, The hotel Service is very friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is really very small, there is no bedside table on one side of The Bed.

    Very clean, The hotel Service is very friendly and helpful, Restaurants in the hotel are great, The food is outstanding. Breakfast is very good, there are some Finnish flavors. The reception in the Hotel is large with fireplace. Hotel worthy of command . Everywhere is close.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    Because we were in the hotel only to sleep, we could handle the issues. But it was almost impossible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has a very serious problem in their rooms: they are extremely small. The smaller room I have ever been. Really really tiny! It's impossible to have 2 people in the same room, with 2 baggage. The bathroom don't even have place to hang the towels and the floor gets all wet when you get shower. The cleaning was another big issue: I found used things that weren't mine inside the closet and dark strand of hair in the bathroom (I'm blond!)

    The location is very good and the people from reception was very kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and toilet a little small.

    Excellent, central location. It is near a lot of restaurants. Also close by are malls, a convenience store and tour agencies. Within walking distance to Arktikum and the Kemijoki river. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Good Location, well worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some smell in the bath room.

    Good Location. The hotel is with restaurant and bar which provide services even during the Christmas which is convenient for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Terrific hotel in central Rovanemi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really impressed with this hotel, breakfast was terrific, restaurant at the hotel was epic, hotel staff were really helpful and lovely. Beds were super comfy, bathrooms terrific - it is very centrally located in town, really terrific hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast range was excellent and very tasty. The staff were fantastic and extremely polite and helpful. The location was excellent. I will be back to Rovaniemi and the City Hotel will be where I will be staying! Great value for money for Christmas time!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Recommend hotel in Rovaniemi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price I payed is so high compared with my friends’ price but I think it’s not the problem of hotel. Hope Booking can process my issue asap.

    First of all, the location is quite good. Close to shopping center and 24h shop. The bus stop to Santa Claus village is just 3min walk away. The stuff are very kind and really helpful. The room is clean and warm with a comfortable bed. Satisfy with 3-night stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    2.9
    Very expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were extremely small. Two adults and a child slept in one bed. The bathroom was ridiculously small and no draws for clothes and the wardrobes were only big enough for two coats. The cleanliness of the room were appalling. The beds were thrown together each day. Two towels and one hand towel for three people. No replacement of shampoo etc. The staff were reluctant to help in any way. I felt it was a burden to them to ask for a simple request for a taxi.

    The breakfast was nice and the variety of food was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with unfortunately tiny rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely small- too small- rooms. We were very crowded and had no space to even open our bags. Our bathroom barely had space for one to stand at a time, literally not an inch more. We only lasted one night in the crowded environment. There are many other places with much more space at the same cost or lower- I know because we moved the next day to a beautiful, large, well equipped 1-bedroom apartment one street over for less per night- booked on Booking.com.

    Lovely locations with two fantastic restaurants in the same building. Cozy lobby, beautifully decorated with a fireplace- a warm welcome from the cold, snowy outdoors.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Great breakfast buffet served wit a variety of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is quite small. No toiletories provided.

    Great breakfast buffet served wit a variety of choices. Airport shuttle stops right in front of the hotel. The location is.perfect. Close to bus stations, supermarkets and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    would not stay here again and would only recommend the restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stay in lots of hotels but never usually write reviews... however i was so frustrated with this hotel i couldn't resist this time. The room was so strangely designed that everything was just wrong and inconvenient. 1. the room was boiling at night, even with the heating off and the window open (note it was -5 outside) 2. no plug sockets near the bed - just inconvenient! 3. no light switches near the bed so you have to get up to turn them off - annoying! 4. practically the whole room was mirrored, personally i dont like watching myself getting dressed or undressed every day! 5. for so many mirrors, the mirror in the bathroom was more of a reflective glass than a proper mirror and you couldn't see yourself properly - why?!? 6. no privacy in the very narrow toilet/bathroom as the whole wall was clear glass. there was frosting up to about 5ft that was still quite translucent. who's idea was that?? 7. not enough space for 2 suitcases as there was so little floor space 8. very uncomfortable wooden bed with thin mattress. it was also very light and slid around easily on the floor. 9. most of the receptionists were so miserable.. a smile wouldn't hurt! For all these issues, the stay was ok as the restaurants are great to spend your time in when not out exploring the outdoors. the waiting staff were fantastic particularly Minna the duty Manager who was very smiley and attentive!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    The hotel was quite close to the train station and also next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had very bad experiences while trying to have dinner at the 02 restaurants in the hotel: the staff was very rude in saying that "the kitchen was closed". They should be trained to be more polite and understand that they are not making a tremendous favor to tourists...There is no problem in saying no, but the way you say makes the difference...we had dinner outside of the hotel in the other night!

    The hotel was quite close to the train station and also next to the bus station to Santa Klaus Village.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Good deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit difficult to find the hotel due to no signs or directions in the town. The toilet didnt work properly. We found the breakfast rather good than fabulous.

    Great location, our room was rather small but cosy. The hotel restaurant was nice, with some decent meals and nice staff but a bit longer waiting time. Good choice for one night stay in Rovaniemi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    I will aim to stay there next time I'm in Rovaniemi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a perfect night sleep. Might be a combination of comfortable bed and good ambient temperature but I really enjoyed this hotel!! Room was very nicely finished and had sort of cosy feeling to it. Despite very early flight, I was offered coffee and snack sandwiches in the lobby area before I left. Nothing to complain really!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable and the hotel had a laundry which was very useful. The hotel is quite central and the staff are happy to help with directions and recomendations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    City hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical scokets not at wall level as you had to use the kettle on the floor

    Easy to find as the airport shutel stop right outside the hotel Food was very good Easy to get around the town all shops bus stops all with in easy walking distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Staff and overall service through out our visit, was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and overall service through out our visit, was friendly and inviting the whole time. From checking in - to leaving. We also enjoyed the dinner in restaurant MonteRosa. We clould see and feel the rush, since whole house was full, but still service was on point, freindly, relaxed and very warm towards customers. And even quite fast concidering the amount off full tables... Hotel was inviting, hotelroom it self was well equiped and beautiful, breakfast was generous and location for the hotel just right. But still we feel that thanks for our enjoyment of overall experience belongs to the staff. We will highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Vey good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of confusion in the beginning (we were given THREE rooms that were not being cleaned so I had to keep going up and down to get a new room), just a lack of communication between the cleaning team & reception. Otherwise everything was great.

    Breakfast was amazing, so many options to choose from. The room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    The beds were comfortable, staff were extremely nice, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything.

    The beds were comfortable, staff were extremely nice, very good internet and the location was quite good right in the center of Rovaniemi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Great service. Great location. Comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really. The bathroom is a bit small though.

    The location is very convenient close to the shopping streets and restaurants. It’s also just anout 10 minutes walk to the riverbank and the bridge. I went there fir a walk in the evening and the night view is great. The staff was very helpful. I have made several email enquiries before checking in and they almost give instant responses. They also told me that there’s a shuttle bus from the airport and stop right in front of the hotel, which information is not available from google map. I also enjoy the free sauna. Would book this hotel if come to Rovaniemi again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    We had a great stay at the City Hotel. It is a very affordable option when visiting Lapland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is in the middle of the city which is great for access to tours and in walking distance of the museum, however it is not very scenic.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was well decorated, comfortable and clean. We were able to do our own washing at the property which was fantastic. The restaurant in the hotel had great food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    good choice in Rovaniemi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast porridge was chilly and somehow messy experience. This nice hotel is unfortunately liked by party people at weekends and the walls are not made of concrete.

    We like City Hotel due to its location and quite nice and tidy rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    An interesting experience in a very special place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit cold in the room. Just could not understand the heating system if it was any. I wonder what is the temperature in the room in winter.

    Staff was friendly. The breakfast was good with a reasonable number of choises. Bed was very comfortable. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel, the staff was professionnal and very smiling. The breakfast was excellent. The location was perfect, downtown and close from public bus stop (very convenient to go to the airport).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Our hotel in Rovaniemi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is too small.

    The whipped cream with fresh fruit is amazing! Nice staff. We´ve stayed here three times now and it is always the best option.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Cozumel, friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a pub nearby so there were noisy people near the entrance it seem as not safe, but it's just the impression. The service at the restaurant is quite slow

    Good breakfast, nice staff. Friendly and helpful. They are there 24 hrs. Even if you come late from seeing the northern lights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Good choice in the centre of Rovaniemi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a nice view from the window. Sauna only open 2hrs per gender per day. The double bad was actually two single beds pushed together.

    Very rich and variegated breakfast buffet. Room was clean and tidy. Restaurant tasty and cosy. Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location right in downtown, The design of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location right in downtown, The design of the rooms is fantastic using all the tricks to make the tiny room look bigger and nicer. Congratulations to the interior designer. Very good job. The hotel staff also very friendly, smiley and helpful. The restaurant is decent (pricey though) and the pub/restaurant on ground floor with live music on Saturday was so much fun. I did not expect that much fun at Santa's town out of season.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    The location: downtown and very close from the bus stop to ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was worn and not comfortable.

    The location: downtown and very close from the bus stop to go to the airport. The staff kindness. The charm of the breakfast room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First we stayed at very small room. Shower space was very small. But senond times that we stayed,Room was bigger than before.

    Breckfast was very good! Receptionist was very kind. Hotel's location was very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, although comfortable, had a slight slope to it - I guess the result of people only being able to access it from one side. So when trying to sleep on one side, felt as though slipping. Consequently had to sleep on other side.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    In the middle of the not-so-interesting city of Rovaniemi,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the middle of the not-so-interesting city of Rovaniemi, this is a very nice hotel, offering a super good breakfast (fresh products, big selection) and good parking. The room is convenient. We found the hotel's restaurant very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot. Heating on in the middle of August, with 20ºc outside and windows that could not be opened. They installed a fan in the room though.

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Much better than many other "big name hotel" I have been in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been in the restaurant for a crab soup, it was creamy and probably the crab was really good but the salt was overwhelming, almost indecent. The restaurant was closed and I was too tired to send it back but I complained before to leave asking to taste it. Nevertheless in case of another visit I would try it again, because despite of the salt it was looking very good in quality.

    The hotel is excellent, great staff and great welcome with fresh berry juice. Very comfortable room, not very big but functional. Beautiful bathroom and superb noise insulation of the door/walls. I went there in the summer so with the window open some noises were coming form the near square and pubs, but i found even some earplugs with the usual hotel room kit! Great. The breakfast was fabulous with fresh fruits and a large assortment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    I can recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel location very central, walking distance from Arcticum, easy to drive to Santa park, good restaurant Nili absolute must, excellent food. Also the breakfast in the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    What shall I tell, yes every morning I get down and a person...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ??

    What shall I tell, yes every morning I get down and a person in reseption call eLLI SHE smile and say Hey hey. Love that, she was cute to... Hmm can I have her home?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic one night stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing not so good was the shower. Bathroom was a very small weroom, when having a shower the whole room gets wet and the shower screen was quite poor and hard work.

    Alla Allround fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Mixed experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet is very small. Not sure how the big size European can shower inside. We caught a fish about 700gm and took it back to request the restaurant in the hotel to cook for us. Although we have ordered other food and drink, the cooking fees of Euro 100.00 charged to the fish is liked an extortion!

    Convenient to many travelling agency offices. Near the river. walking distance to many restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Summer or Winter Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem is that the rooms are very, very small and stuffy and the hotel is not air conditioned. It was in the 20-24 Celsius range during out visit. Rovaniemi has a rowdy, noisy element that revs engines into the wee hours. When you leave your windows open for ventilation, which you must, the noise is a severe problem. We asked to move to a larger room but the cost would have been $500 more--per night or for the 5 nights we were there I didn't even ask. Lack of air conditioning and the noise would still be an issue. I'm sure winter time guests would offer a very different response from mine.

    The staff members are great and extremely helpful in every way. The breakfast was lovely and the restaurant at dinner was exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    The staff was exceedingly attentive and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had poor ventilation and since it was a hot week in finland, the room was very hot.

    The staff was exceedingly attentive and kind. The room was modern, clean, spacious, especially the bathroom, which is unique in my experience in Finland. The breakfast was great! The shades were great, it was completely dark even during the midnight sun interval.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Centrally located budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the size of the room kinda small and hard to open large suitcase. bathroom also small.Furnitures also kinda old.

    love the location, perfect for exploring the city. Staffs also very helpful and full of smile

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Good, not too expensive hotel, at rather loud place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. It was rather noisy in the night (traffic and loud people on the street, maybe due to weekend before mid summer). 2. Room temperature was to high. Room was on the sun side. Maybe a room on the other side of the hotel (direction parking) would be more quite and less warm.

    Hotel directly in centre, with good parking, friendly personal, good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.5
    City Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was really hot and quite small. There is no good air conditioner system and you had to keep window open to get fresh air. Anyway it is not big problem because we do not have many hot days in Finland!

    If you are interested to stay in the middle of the city, choose this hotel. Location is perfect. Hotel Restaurant Monte Rosa was really nice and they had really good food, best steak in town like they said! Breakfast was good as well and also sparkling wine included!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in summer were a little hot and stuffy.

    Staff were excellent. We're always happy and willing to help out. Included breakfast was not only convenient but also really good food. Location is really good. Restaurants attached have excellent food. Including the bar and grill downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    In the heart of Rovaniemi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very central. The hotel itself is no-fuss, everything works -type, although perhaps a bit out-of-date in its deco. The room has nice facilities like minibar, coffee/tea making kit and a hair dryer. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.1
    Staff were so accomodating,breakfast is very good.
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuffed toy that was placed on the bed was so dirty and smelly...It destroyed the good arrangement ot the room,Also the restroom is a little small.

    Staff were so accomodating,breakfast is very good.Overall experience is very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Best services hotel in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfornately the restaurant was closed during my stay at Easter Holiday. Unable to try the best food in town

    A very good location at city centre and very good services provided. Even though I come early at 10am, hotel was able to offer an early check in for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High bathtub (not ideal for elderly) and poor shower design (flood the floor after bathing)

    Breakfast (flaky croissant), comfortable bed, soundproof room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Location is better, the room glass used too much, feel the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is better, the room glass used too much, feel the general, but the bathroom is very clean and practical. The staff was very good and had prepared breakfast for us, because we had to catch the morning flight.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel with nice location and affable personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sauna is a real disappointment. It is really small and it has some problems to hit up the room. Also the timetable is a bit limited. Women 17:00-19:00 & Men 19:00-21:00. For sure was the worst of the propriety.

    The breakfast, location and room were gorgeous. Its prize is accordance to what is offered.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Very clean. Stylish deco. Bonus points for superhelpful kitches staff at breakfast even though she was working alone at the moment I needed assistance with dietary questions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.9
    Reasonably sized hotel with central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personnel seems a bit young. Everything is handled excellently when questions arise, but I've spent a few nights there on business and the other time I was missing all the towels in my room ( but quickly brought when asked) and once I was given a room without previous cleaning ( again, just a little mishap, but maybe the communication with housekeeping and the desk has some problems) which was quickly changed when I returned to desk. So excellent service when something is off, but maybe after a long flight or travel you might get irritated more easily than I :D

    Reasonably sized hotel with central location. Rooms are renovated, small but with a feel of luxyry. Breakfast is just short of excellent: fresh berries, pancakes etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the lighting of the bathroom, when you turn it on it was so bright that it illuminates almost the entire room, which you would not like it he/she is sleeping.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    5.8
    Beware! Very limited parking space
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware of the free parking trick, I got a Sakko/fine/penalty of 50 Euro due to the hotel's very limited parking space. The hotel must mention it as "Limited Parking Space" on booking.com. I traveled by my car, was tired and when I reached, there was no place to park the car.

    The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location and the breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The opening hours of the sauna for women is too short and too tricky. It's hard to arrange my plan to fit for it. Also, it would be good if the staff could provide more information on public transportation from the hotel to the train station.

    The breakfast is great there. Though the room is a little bit small, it's cozy and clean. The location is perfect, very easy to get to different parts of the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Good location and tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy reach hotel by airport shuttle bus.There are very delicious breakfast in hotel restaurant.The hotel in city center so convenient where you want to go.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Excellent experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is a bit too soft to me. Need >20min walk to train station, torture to me with a huge luggage. Strongly suggest taking an taxi instead if u got luggage under snow.

    Good location to everything in Rovaniemi. Bus to Santa village and Levi in 5min walk. Good breakfast. Got upgraded to junior suite and the sauna was perfect in such weather! Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice and tiny hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. Rooms too tiny. Missing some space.

    Location is good. Wifi is good. Comfy beds and rooms. Nice design. Free parking place near by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.3
    Conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a little too small, especially the shower area.

    The hotel is conveniently located where the restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Bus stops are near too. Staffs are friendly and really helpful too.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Arctic City Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: