Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Haven 5 stars

Unioninkatu 17, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00130 Helsinki, Finland

#11 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 978 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly approachable staff, spacious luxury...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced mini bar - but was expected really!

    Great location, friendly approachable staff, spacious luxury room and comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Short , but great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs made it difficult to enter with bags. No coffee in my room. Co-worker has espresso machine and i had apot and tea. It was a little pricey. It was hatd to get a room in the city, so my guess that is why.

    Great location. The bar was excellent. Nice room in new section

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water ending up on the bathroom floor. There is a small gutter between bath and shower glass. Collects water which drains tobthe floor. Needs attention

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel I would recommend
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bakery was not good (bread, croissants...)

    Very convenient location, in the heaert of the city. The bed was extra comfy. I liked the decoration of the bathroom. The coffee was very good, exceptional for Finland hotels. Extremely nice decorated breakfast room with exceptional view over the harbour !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately one of the worst club sandwiches I've ever had however the lobster bisque was delicious.

    Room had a lovely layout, plenty of room, plenty of closet space with shelving. Ironing board and iron provided. Bathroom was spacious. The location was great, close to shopping, restaurants and the tram to go to the ferry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    We were very pleased with our stay in Heaven Hotel and would recommend it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having a sauna facility could add some more local flavour to our experience.

    Heaven Hotel in Helsinki is conveniently located and allows for walking tours in different directions with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast, served in a beatuful hall was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel in fabulous location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the location, the room, and the service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby area is very comfortable for hanging out, and the breakfast is extensive and held in a beautiful, historic building very close to the waterfront.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice option for a romantic weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no possibility to open windows in the room, they were completely locked, even staff were not able to unlock them. It brings a bit of discomfort as we get used to air a room before go sleep.

    Newly renovated Hotel is located in the very heart of the city within a walk distance from the central station. Spacious, silent room with a very comfortable large bed. Art design of an interior made a really good impression. Nice breakfast with many options. Hospitable staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    2.5
    Avoid - has glass door to bathroom that doesn't fully shut.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass door to the bathroom that left a 2cm gap even when fully closed is NOT GOOD. If there is one time in life when you need privacy, it is when you are sitting on the toilet. This ruined our enjoyment of the otherwise excellent hotel. It was a real shame as the staff were excellent, as was the room and location. But a glass door to the bathroom that you can't shut ruined it for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    This is the no. 1 place to be in Helsinki.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a small technical issue in our room, and right away we got a nice upgrade - room with a view at the port. This hotel has the friendliest staff ever. As it happened to be my birthday we got a small cake plus letter at no extra costs. Splendid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    It was a very well located hotel, a good mix of old and new and the room was very well anointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger elevators and doors between the old and new rooms

    1.Scrumptuous breakfast as well as heritage breakfast room. 2.Luxurious bathroom and toiletries. 3. High quality room furnishings 4. Helpful and courteous reception staff 5. Fabulous location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Recommended, Will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showering in the bathtub witn a small glass curtain make half the floor wet.. :(.

    Very good location, nice spacious room. Good breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    will go back there again gladly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    during check it we had to wait a bit longer then usual due to a trainee

    excellent location right by the center and good size and very clean and effective rooms good internet connection free of charge ,very nice breakfast served in a beautiful period building overlooking the sea .Considering all the rate we paid was excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    The hotel to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa but that doesn’t really matter as there are loads outside the hotel.

    Most comfortable bed of any hotel ever. Smart hotel in good location Far better value than Kamp

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    Good rooms, bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service was no good and doesn't fit five stars hotel - unfriendly and unhelpful. Two additional hours for late check-out - 30 Euro.

    Big rooms, good location and quiet place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room, good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have offered a selection of different kinds of pillows in the room. (My husband and I prefer very slim pillows and we always hope to find those in nicer hotels.) In addition, showering would have been more comfortable with a wider shower door/wall (water would not spread on the bathroom floor).

    The hotel room was comfortable and clean, and my husband and I found the breakfast delicious. The staff was very friendly and everything seemed to work well: nice service at the reception desk, tasty drinks at the bar, and good room service. In our opinion, the bathroom products (shampoo etc.) were of high quality. Moreover, the location is excellent because the hotel is located within walking distance from the main railway station but the surroundings are very quiet. I would stay here again for a weekend getaway.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor points only. Tried to up-sell us to the next tier of room on arrival. Hairdryer poor. Iron didn't work (but replaced next day as we requested).

    Seriously comfortable bed, we slept really well. No noticeable noise from street. All impeccably clean. Location is excellent, right by the market square and the Suomenlinna ferry. 15 min walk from rail station for the FinnAir bus. Breakfast was excellent. All befitting the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast did not have many choices and is very expensive for what you pay.

    The hotel is luxurious as shown in the pictures. The room is beautiful and well appointed. The bed is very comfortable. Also, the location was central and very convenient with lots of dining options around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    A real pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location. And a delicious breakfast, with a great view. The staff are delightful -- really helpful on local restaurants, shopping, events, etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Tremendous! We will be back, but hopefully without a view of the brickwall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room was rather poor, although we were facing the harbour! Just a brickwall!

    The Finnish breakfast porridge "aamupuuro" was excellent, which combined with tasty croissant and a double espresso made a fantastic start for the day! Even Mr. Berlusconi would have given the breakfast a Smiley!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Temperature is a little hard to control in the room.

    Our room was clean upon arrival and was very comfortable to stay in. It felt very luxurious for the price. The daily offerings of water was very much appreciated. Staff was professional and friendly; they assisted us in mailing out a package. Breakfast buffet was delicious. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff, great ambience and perfect location - what more could you want from a hotel?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about hotel haven - friendly staff, great location, delicious breakfasts. It was my first time in Helsinki and I’ll definitely go back to hotel haven.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    All and all, hotel is beautiful but would not go again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff were not smiling and were kind of cold. In this kind of hotel I found it especially annoying because the surrounding is so cozy, warm and welcoming, but the parson behind the reception desk was not. Later that day there was another lady and she was completely different, so warm and nice. Breakfast room is beautiful but you have to walk there through small yard so you have to go out a bit. That is quite all right, but real problem is that selection at breakfast is not very good and it was so crowded that almost everything was finished and we had to wait that they bring more -which took a while. They warned on arrival that the last hour might be crowded so we went earlier, but that did not help. Afterwards I hear that this is a typical situation in Haven, unfortunately. Also our waiter there was very nice and friendly but I witnessed an incident when another guest asked for plates from a waitress that (of course) was very busy. She just waited her hand towards the plates and -while walking away when speaking- just said "they are over there" kind of harshly. Not very good, since there is very harmonic atmosphere and they are clearly advertising themselves with fine service.

    Location is super, short walk to shops and restaurants. Hotel itself is very beautifully decorated and i guess all the rooms are very nice. We had grand deluxe and it was spacious and beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    The location near the market square was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location near the market square was very good. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We liked the breakfast that could take you through the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I appreciated their mindfulness, such as my request for three extra pillows and a room on the lower floor. And they let us leave our suitcases with them the day before our check-in so we did not have to carry them along with us on the ferry to Tallinn. Then when we checked in, our suitcases were already in our room. That was all impressive, being always two steps ahead. They also let us do a late check-out at no extra cost. This hotel is everything! I am very happy I booked it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast venue and food superb.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well appointed bathroom but slight shower overflow onto floor.

    Breakfast venue and food superb. Loved the proportion and beautiful high ceiling of the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Amazing location,facilities and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location on the waterfront was excellent. It was close to major sights, shopping and great restaurants. The hotel organised transfers to and from the airport which was appreciated. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    A nice boutique hotel with friendly staff but watch out for extra charges
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to be very able bodied to stay at this hotel. Breakfast is like a magical mystery tour up and down stairs winding through the building. There was an extortionate charge for room service - don't order it!

    It was a good location. The hotel was quiet, calssy and relaxing and the room was lovely and comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    No service what so ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No service what so ever! Had to call via external Line to get thru to the reception - nobody ever called back for room service - terribly rood service!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Qualified SLH
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can say nothing.

    Staff are really nice. Rooms with harbour view are so high-class. Just few minutes walking to cathedral, harbour, etc. Easy walking to almost all sightseeing places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Qualified SLH
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can say nothing.

    Staff are really nice. Rooms with harbour view are so high-class. Just few minutes walking to cathedral, harbour, etc. Easy walking to almost all sightseeing places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Smart hotel next to the harbour but the breakfast selection is poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were terrible and there was no option to swap them over for different ones. This is pretty poor for a 5* hotel. The breakfast was good quality but if you're a vegetarian the selection isn't good, I had cereal and scrambled eggs on toast every day, apart from some cheese there wasn't anything else.

    A smart hotel near the harbour and a short walk to the city center, nice rooms with plenty of space. If you have a view of the harbour it is really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Most of the staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff was helpful. The location is amazing. However, for the price I paid (over 300 euro a night) I didn't have a bathtub (only shower) and no view. Also, the cleaning service didn't always replace my towels and the room service fees were insane.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    I would stay again - lovely place in a wonderful part of Helsinki.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The internet connection in the room was down for a few days and being a weekend, the hotel staff had a hard time getting someone to fix it. But they persisted.

    The location was superb and the rooms very clean and elegant. The bathroom is spacious and the bathroom heated floor was really appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area, difficult to handle big bags. Staff could be a little warmer given Finland is generally quite cold.

    Location, room at new Wing was well furnished

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything. A caution is that primary street entry requires climbing a few steps from the foyer to the reception. There is another entrance from the harbour street that has an elevator but this is not where taxis take you.

    Excellent , friendly staff. Well decorated spacious rooms, large bathroom and very good amenities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was showing some signs of wear and tear. Wifi wasn't working.

    Bed was very comfortable. Good breakfast buffet. Lovely bar with extensive menu. Great location across the street from the Old Market Hall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.4
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked about the breakfast buffet menu when we checked in but they didn't have details, so we told them that we will see the breakfast tomorrow and we night add it to the room. Which is acceptable with almost all hotels we book. However, next day they reception staff refused to add it for the check-in price 20 euro and asked 28 euro. We declined.

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    A member of SLH, this hotel offers everything desirable for a wonderful stay. Definitely will recommend it to everyone coming to Helsinki.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous home far, far away from home!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cannot think of a thing.

    The staff was outstanding.!!!They went out of their way to make sure out stay was fabulous. All areas of the hotel were well appointed, as was the room. Our view of the harbor was lovely, so we kept our curtains open most of the time we were in the room. The breakfast was excellent, with terrific service. It was a pleasure to have breakfast in that particular area of the hotel and enjoy the ambience of the old world. It was also very nice to be able to walk out to the harbor afterward. We had laundry sent out twice, which came back beautifully cleaned and pressed, and arrived at our room when expected. There was a difficulty with the sound on the TV remote, which was taken care of quickly once we told the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 801. Small room - Grand Harbour Deluxe rooms were shown as much bigger on the website. The armchairs were on the way to the bathroom & round the corner from the tv. Strange layout & not as grand as the website photos. From the bed the view was a roof. Nice view if you stand at the window. Noise from the lift until the early hours. It was not a 5 star room at all. Not value for what I paid. Disappointing. Spoke to a member of staff who said Grand Harbour Deluxe rooms are all that size, which is clearly not true from the photos online.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Mid week break at The Haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps should have been a bigger choice of breakfast. Quality of hair dryer

    Comfort of bed, location, quality of TV, nice mixture of old and new buildings to make up hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Smack in the middle of it all in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all.

    The lobby bar was excellent with a very good whiskey and rum selection. He staff was very knowledgeable with regards to the taste of the products. Front desk staff was superb, very friendly and informative of what to do in the area. You just need to walk a few hundred meters and you at the Boulvard with restaurants, bars and entertainment as street musicians as well as old beautiful buildings. The boat and bus tours starts a block or less away respectively. Recommend the 48 hrs ticket so you can jump on off at the places you like to visit, and on top for us was the stone church. The open air market at this port has great food served at small tables. Stefan Steak House a few blocks up along the boulevard, on a side street, was excellent. Service impeccable and food as great. KAPELLI restaurant, on the Boulevard, address Södra Esplanaden 1, was opened 4 June 1867. High ceiling and a great atmosphere, with fantastic service and food is well worth it. Not cheap, but who care when everything as food and service is so amazing??? The Duty Manager really did all her best to ensure we had a blast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    A real little Haven in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast one of the best I've ever had - all choices were excellent quality. The offer of an upgraded room was very welcome ( a special offer) as the extra space ( sofas and chairs) plus the sea view meant we could have our friends and family pop by easily. The Nespresso coffee machine was particularly welcome!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Luxury but not for sensitive people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel uses heavy perfume in toiletteries and washing agents. In addition, there are perfume oils in the room and common areas, which people may be sensitive to. After removing the perfume oil, the air quality in the room felt heavy. The air ventilation did not fully exchange the air in the main living area, and there was no ability to open up windows to get fresh air in (a hotel safety measure). The front desk staff were a bit "cold".

    Amazing location, close to the market and island hopping ferries, quiet. The breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing and the staff there very friendly. The rooms were beautifully decorated and spatious, maybe a bit overdecorated to my taste with heavy linens and large furniture, but definately gave a sense of luxury. Very reasonably priced for the luxurious space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Best location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit complicated to find one's way inside the hotel... Room Cleaners start making noice at 8am.

    Breakfast was delicious, Rooms nice and large, bedding good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    very pleasant and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was oriented to the street with tram railway -it was rather noisy in the morning

    Very pleasant and clean rooms, spacious and with high ceiling. Next time will stay here again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    My perfect choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No.

    I like everything about this property. The location is perfect, just next to the Helsinki Market Square, and a few mins walj to the city center with lots of shops and restaurants. We have been upgraded to a room with beautiful seaview, which was very comfortable. Even before being upgraded, the standard room was also very nice and comfortable, with street view. The breakfast was very delicious, with lots of fresh fruits, delicious salmon and meat. The restaurant is facing the sea. Therefore, you can enjoy the food with lovely scene. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay very much!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel in superb location, with lovely large room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel in superb location, with lovely large room with great bed and really lovely large bathroom. Helpful friendly staff - even arranged a small breakfast for us on last morning as we had very early flight to catch. Breakfast room was lovely with nice view and good selection of food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark decor in the bar isn't to my taste but that's a question of personal taste.

    Fabulous beds, large and quiet rooms, good turn down service with water provided, great location - through terrace straight to Harbour. Staff helped us book trip to Tallinn and were friendly and helpful. Free was wifi was strong and let me do my work in the evenings. We stayed here as it was recommended in The Telegraph and we weren't at all disappointed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfy and stylish hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast choice was limited for a 5* hotel. We also found the hotel very hot. It's a shame there is no sauna/steam room/spa facilities.

    Fantastic location. Very comfy and quiet room furnished to a very high standard. Excellent staff - very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rain and snow in May!!!

    Warmly greeted when we arrived, staff always greeted us as we walked past reception. Unless they were all very busy. Excellent location, easy to walk everywhere we wanted to go! Breakfast was so very varied and delicious. Rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Heaven in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Laundry prices were truly over the top. 7 euro for a pair of socks (and other underwear) is not acceptable.

    Opt for the buffet breakfast; the gravalax and cured halibut is not to be missed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good, but could have a little more variety.

    Excellent place, very friendly staff, spacious modern room with a very good bed! Great views on the harbor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Staff was polite, room big and clean, breakfast great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a good way from the lift, but the sound of lift was too easy to hear all the time to the room. That made sleeping difficult.

    Staff was polite, room big and clean, breakfast great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel next to old harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price for additional (joining person) breakfast was too expensive! Staff could be more proactive like asking visitors for the need of a taxi shuttle.

    Location and building was very nice! Late checkout was also possible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    excellent luxury time with my darling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed, large enough , bathroom, very clean, wiev to harbour, breakfast, excellent fish, lobby bar, nice polite people and company, soft lounge music, will tell all my friends to find Haven

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Very helpfull staff, need to stress the attentiveness and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While the breakfast is pretty good I'd like to suggest to offer dry sparkling wine together or instead of the local sweet.

    Very helpfull staff, need to stress the attentiveness and assistance of Maria (the recepcionist). Bar of the Hotel could be proud of its stylish and cosy atmosphere and which is more important - perfect choice of drinks. The location is close to ideal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    See above!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything is wonderful at Hotel Haven! This was our sixth time of staying at Haven. It is wonderful to be by the harbor with a good view outside our window and excellent home-like facilities and service! Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.1
    Adequate not excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    understaffed, receptionists did everything. Awkward shower access. too many steps to/from the restaurant.

    Adequate not excellent - comfortable room, clean, friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Haven is addressing any problem we saw - they will be renovating the rooms where the carpeting needs to be replaced.

    The room was great. We loved being in Helsinki again and being at Hotel Haven again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    SUPERB IN HELSINKI!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel location is superb: Next to everything that is interesting in town but still in a very calm street. The hotel staff was SO KIND and attentive. The decor of the hotel is very chic and sexy. And last but not the least, the room was very fashionable, clean and neat and the bed extremelly confortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seems a bit overpriced. No special rates for loyal customers who come back.

    Excellent location - just walking distance from Central station. Everything is in the proximity. Very quiet street at night - absolutely no noise. Professional and very friendly staff, they answered all my questions and extended my room till 2pm without any problems. In general - charming atmosphere at the hotel, and great breakfast with local food. Pickled salmon was delicious!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Becoming a business/conference hotel.

    Brilliant location, and lovely staff throughout. Very kindly recommended an amazing restaurant -- Nokka-- 15 mins walk away.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable, clean hotel, will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    10/10 for the bedroom, comfort and service. Only thing was I wish there was Sauna facilities in the hotel itself. We were advised to use Hotel Kamp's Sauna for Euro25 each person, Hotel Kamp is the sister hotel of Hotel Haven. In my view, for a lux hotel like Hotel Haven, it is mandatory to have a Sauna. Even most 4 star hotels like Santa's Hotel or Sokos have Sauna. Overall, still a fantastic stay.

    Beautiful breakfast, excellent Karelian Pasties!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.5
    Something very nice, something average.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was quite small. Toilet is 2 m from the bed and only slide class door between toilet and bed. Mattress could have been better. Room was too warm. Parking is very expensive. Hotel does not have sauna and swimming pool.

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast is very good. Location is the best you can have in Helsinki. Bar is very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fact that the hotel is expanding into an adjacent building meant there was drilling from noon to 4pm each day of our stay. It would have been appreciated if this information had been shared at the time of booking. There seems to have been a change of ownership/operator and both restaurants - the bistro and the formal restaurant seem to have changed hands. The bistro is now slavic rather than Finnish. The formal restaurant is only open for special bookings for dinner. It is where breakfast is served. The restaurant looks very tired and uncared for at present.

    We stayed in this hotel on our last visit to Helsinki in 2014. The location is fantastic: right by the harbour and the Esplanade Park. You're a stone's throw from Senate Square too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Ipod docks in the room.

    Great beds, good size rooms, decent choice of breakfast (buffet). Problems very quickly resolved (rogue smoke alarm kept beeping - instant room move/upgrade - no hesitation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    The staffs are very kindness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel breakfast isn't very good. I need a little bit fresher salmon, ham and vegetables. And they don't have a cleaning serves weekend.

    The staffs are very kindness.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Great location, very friendly staff and lovely rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having breakfast included in the price and then having to pay extra for a cheese omelette is a bit mean spirited.

    Great location, very friendly staff and lovely rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    very good hotel, excellent location in the City, time there was too short !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the first room with partial harbour view was good but the on moving to room with full harbour view very impressive and worth while, albeit the same size.very comfortable beds and well designed very clean bathroom. Breakfast in period part of hotel very good with helpful staff.

    great central location in Helsinki and as we had car the underground garage was excellent for ease of access, service lift comes right up to bedroom floors. very helpful and knowledgeable reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be more accommodating, more responsive to requests for information. Hotel could be clearer about the breakfast setup...a bit confusing.

    Cute boutique hotel. Felt very, very safe although the location is a bit off the beaten path and on a side street that is somewhat desolate. Felt like it was very central and within walking distance of many things.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Timeless favourite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The luxurious and comfortable feel of everything from the bed and the bath to the breakfast and the bar. Extra points for the excellent tasty porridge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prime Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited room dining choices even no enough describtion of the dishes. The room was hot, unable to open the window. The breakfast buffet was limited too and same every day. There is no laundry during weekend.

    Location , breakfast restaurant view was fabulous . The staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    very nice stay in the heart of helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air con is too high even if you stop it so rooms are quite fresh. No spa or pool.

    Very nice staff and location can't be better. Rooms are nice but unfortunatelly windows can't be opened. Breakfast very nice in the old building.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Haven traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: