Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kalastajatorpantie 1, Läntinen Suurpiiri, 00330 Helsinki, Finland

#24 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2211 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.2
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had some kind of technical building irregularities, because water from shower run through whole bathroom.

    Good breakfast. Spacious family room. Nice welcoming gifts for children.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.1
    Mixed, but good value overall :)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In general, the Nordic countries are always cold for me. But. Why can not be the AC turned off completely? We had to have duct tape put on to AC, plus the bathroom de-fogger is always on.. Multiple hotel staff members were as careless rigid, not smiling, just like it is normal in the culture, i think. Not used to that in a Hilton hotel anyways. The hotel has an old worn feeling. Surprisingly on the see view side wing as well, which is more expensive.

    Bed comfortable. Great breakfast. Excellent views, beautiful location :) Very helpful Concierge members

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.6
    Loved the friendly staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    House keeping was not done for every day.

    Loved the friendly staff. Particularly one staff her name was Vilia. She was so caring of my daughter who has autism. I really appreciate about her service and warm welcoming during the breakfast every morning ❤️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.2
    Great inspire of aime hiccups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mediocre housekeeping service. No towels first day. No cleaning at all one day. No replenishment of tissues.

    Friendly front desk and helpful breakfast room staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    6.3
    A good place to stay on a short trip to beautiful Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit ordinary in terms of architecture and comfort in rooms. Swimming pool cold and access to garden area limited. Bathroom OK but few toiletries supplied

    Good breakfast. Nice location if a little out of way. But near Aalto house and studio, highlights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    6.7
    Acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall acceptable. The towels are not changed daily unless you put them on the ground. I know it's the Hilton Group policy but this still feels a bit awkward for me. It's pretty hot there and we are told that we cannot adjust the air con temperature. Since the hotel is not in the city centre, there are many flies outside so we decide not to open the windows. As a result it's hot in the room. The room cards do not work well as we from time to time cannot open the room door. During our 3 night stay we have to go to the counter twice and ask the staff to fix the cards.

    Good selection of food at the breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    5.8
    Accommodation and service was good but the food left a lot to be desired
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The vegetarian and vegan options were extremely limited. The taste was subpar and service was slow and the location was not well connected by local transit

    The room was good and staff were courteous and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location during the summer time - the room not being properly cleaned was a surprise!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel room was now cleaned - it even had old empty shapoo bottles in the shower, from the previous customer I quess.

    Location is very nice during the summer - excellent for running & walking in parks around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.8
    a pretty good balance between nature & city
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    should extend the opening hours of the swimming pool & sauna. Hilton policy that doesn't reward you (Hilton honors) when you book from Booking.com

    excellent breakfast (nordic or international) hotel not too far from helsinki center - 20mn / reachable by tram / citybike (citybike station nearby, bike lanes everywhere & really safe). a pretty good balance between city & nature. plenty of running tracks available. Nice staff. seaview.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was very good, with lot of smoothies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very crowdy during breakfast, small tables very close to each other. When someone from neighbour table leaves, his/her bottom is almost on our table.

    Breakfast was very good, with lot of smoothies. Great place to go jogging (Seurasaari, UKK:n polku). Location great while weather was nice and free bikes available. If it was rainy weather and if you did not have car nor bike, this might be a bit far away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.3
    An excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite a way out of Helsinki City Centre

    Space and the shower; the restaurant in the Sea side wing was excellent - great service, excellent food and views to die for!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    The WI-FI connection was weak in our room since it was at...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Plus Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WI-FI connection was weak in our room since it was at the far end of the building. Surely the signal could be improved. Windows were locked until we requested that housekeeping open them for fresh air.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.3
    Nice views, comfortable bed and nice breakfast for a quick weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I already commented that I think a face lift would be nice for the building on the lake side, it looks a bit old fashioned. The amenities in the room were quite okay, but with room for improvement and the hair dryer is quite basic, I wished it was better.

    The best from our room was the views to the lake during the sunset, really worthing paying a bit more for that. The room is quite nice and spacious, bigger than what you would get from Helsinki centre. The bed was very comfortable and amenities are quite okay. It's nice that they have plenty of glasses in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.6
    It's a really nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would even be better if one could open the window in the room for some fresh air.

    It's a really nice location. Spacious lobby. Very friendly and attentive staff. Wonderful breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.1
    Old-fashioned hotel which needs for update. Vanamoodne ja natuke kõle, kuid samas vaikne hotell
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sauna and pool needs repairs, no bathrobe in room, no pillow menu, breakfast choice could be better, chilly atmosphere in hotel. No any positive surprise during stay.

    Really quite place where is nice to stay in warm period when you could walk around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable, but nothing fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather expensive in room service. Small TV screen. Very basic and rather cheap looking toilet, I was expecting more from a 5 star Hilton hotel. Also the interiors of the common areas in the hotel were quite old fashioned and have definitely seen better times. Everything was clean though.

    Nice comfortable bed and big functional room with many amenities. Nothing fancy, but quite nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    8.3
    100% Business Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was stunning and the staff was extremely friendly. They helped us with finding a way into the city since the hotel is quite a fair way out of the main area. It was a 20 minute tram ride to the city which isn't always great when it's in the heart of winter. It was more a business hotel than anything, but it was still lovely. The prices were quite expensive which you expect of a Hilton, and their menus weren't as extensive as you would hope, seeing as there are little to no restaurants around the hotel. All in all, if I was a businessman I'd definitely stay here, but for a holiday in Helsinki, I'd look for somewhere closer to the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.9
    Спокойный расслабляющий отдых с семьей
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Бассейн очень маленький, сауна холодная, нет никаких развлечений в отеле, не хватает детской комнаты, не хватает джакузи и разнообразных саун, раз считается , что это спа. Спа есть, но не выдают тапочки и халаты (мелочь конечно)

    Понравилось отношение персонала, номер чистый и уютный, большая удобная кровать, предоставили кроватку малышу и даже подарили утёнка Отличный шведский стол на завтрак. Очень красивый вид из панорамных окон в бассейне и сауне

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast even quite expensive (27 euro).
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When arrived there was cold in the room. And it took at least few hours to worm it. No bathrobes to go to the pool.

    Good breakfast even quite expensive (27 euro).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    6.7
    Seaside view is nice, the breakfast is 10 out of 10, sauna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is served in a separate building (the one with reception) which is quite uncomfortable during winter. The cleaning ladies come at around 6 pm (and actually once they just missed our room) which is strange. The swimming pool is really small.

    Seaside view is nice, the breakfast is 10 out of 10, sauna and pool are both included into the price of the room. Tram stop is just 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. The place is quite. Dear

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful beginning for the Year 2018
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our Deluxe King Room with view was spacious with beautiful seaview. Beds and pillows were comfy. There is plenty of parking space outside and if you prefer there is also an inside parking hall (21€/day). Excellent breakfast. We can recommend the dinner at hotel's own Restaurant Meritorppa. Good food and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place with good lunch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was too cold sometimes but we have got battery from personal. 5 km from city center(((

    Good lunch and the best location! Comfort room with tv and air condition

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room cleaning didn't happen one day u til we contacted reception and didn't take place until 1800 on another occasion. However reception acted promptly when contacted about this.

    Staff were very friendly. Location good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.9
    The room is very spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold - the heater was not working. They put a small heater in the room after we call them. It helped, but it would be better if the main heater was working.

    The room is very spacious and comfortable. The amenities are very good! The hotel restaurant is great! Worth a visit!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable for a short business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have expected a robe and slippers in the room from a 4-star Hilton hotel, which is having a sauna and the pool.

    Good breakfast buffet; nice sauna and pool; helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    4.6
    no good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is outdated and seems old. The air system stinks of mold and the heating has issues.

    the staff were easy to deal with when addressing our problems.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    4.6
    Is this a HILTON high standard hotel?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed at Seaside wing - rooms are big, view is great to the sea! however the overall experience was not to a HILTON standard (at least the one I was expecting after travelling all over the world)...to know:... -... corridors and bedrooms carpets are old, outdated -... Rooms furniture is quite old - this is really annoying for the price range of the bedrooms -... Wardrobes doors were mismatching - do not close -... The TV remote was missing the battery cover -... Bathroom shower area had holes drilled...and not covered -... No areas for kids- despite the location is Great! Would be a massive improvement to have a kids area -... The 27euro charged for the breakfast do not have a reason...as it's a fair simple hotel meal OVERALL was a not at all excellent experience for the expectations I had for a HILTON hotel. Ultimately at checkout I raised this issues to the front desk young guy that was far more interested (after I paid) to talk/give attention to the next client rather than write down the issues I was raising...

    Hotel facilities are OK for a hotel of this standard Swimming pool was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    4.6
    Highly overrated! I give it #2.5 Stars# :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I use to work on a big hotel-chain with 4 and 3 stars hotels and this hotel is NOT! "5#star" Maybe 3 stars. The bed was very uncomfortable, U have to pay extra for everything! like Tv-channels massage, bathrobe, service... I got a really small room with no view and asked if they did have a better room and yes for an extra cost! hehe On my 4stars hotels when some one was not happy with his room we offered a free upgrade if we did not have a better room for the guest. Sad thing to say was the blond lady in reception was not helpful not happy and very unpleasant person.

    Breakfast was nice and coffee was good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay if you have a car and you don't want to stay in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    swimming pool was tiny

    Beds super comfy, everything super clean, bathroom spacious, showers worked well, for breakfast there was ample choice and it all tasted fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Great location, breakfast, good value for money if room is on discount !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little outside the city (20mins) but good connection with tram,

    Breakfast was incredible, very nice location, quiet surrounding, excellent room - clean and modern, got a really good price for a king room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    I loved the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I loved the place! The staff was so down to earth, friendly and their service was impeccable 24/7. When i go back to Helsinki I will stay here again for sure. Kind regards Kjetil from Norway

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    7.5
    What you would expect from a Hilton... Good but unexciting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff could have been more welcoming and the bar was under staffed. Having waited 10 minutes for a member of staff to arrive the bar lady said that her shift had finished so it was rather inconvenient to serve us. It was 10pm and the restaurant and bar were full so rather a strange attitude.

    The location was good for visiting Seurasaari and the hotel had it's own beach and sailing/beach facilities. We had a very comfortable room facing inland but over woodland which was peaceful. The hotel bar has great views over the islands.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a Sunday the tram was not working, so transport to the city was a bit complicated

    A beautiful spot! With the sea around everywhere, the location is just faboulous

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.1
    Mixed feelings and probably wont return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was closed until 5pm on the day we arrived. I had asked for an early check in as we were attending a big family party (over 200 people) in the conference centre but that was not possible. The beds were hard and not comfortable at all.

    We liked the decor and design. The pool area was lovely and the children really enjoyed their morning swim. The staff were pleasant and mostly helpful. Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    3.3
    Lousy, period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible structure, arrived to find window wide open during thunderstorm, following which the floor had warped and the door couldn't be closed. Couldn't change room as all booked up. Room had terrible wifi reception, a/c was far too hot, swimming pool was very dirty. Altogether, it was an overpriced, under-delivered experience. Staff were dour but tried to be helpful in difficult circumstances.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    6.7
    5 stars?
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated room with many broken things. Bad air in the hallways. Prideful attitude of some receptionists. Questionable 5 stars. I've been in many 4 stars way better than this one :(.

    Breakfast, swimming pool and quietness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    8.3
    Very good breakfast, sea view room is a compulsory programm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite old hotel: hall carpets smells, old-fasion furniture. For the same price i stayed half a year before in Lotte hotel Moscow. Its a huge, unbreakable difference between them...

    Very good breakfast, sea view room is a compulsory programm to engoy you stay, huge windows. Very good hotel (in those among Finland).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful peaceful environment, best possible views from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want a small breakfast and a short morning walk in wonderful summer surroundings, nearby cafes have great breakfast deals (compared to the hotel).

    Wonderful location close to downtown but in peaceful environment, views to the bay or to a forested area in the back. Large comfortable rooms.For dinner, food is very good, but cannot match the incredible views over the bay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    10
    We liked the location and the hotel's ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The locations was away from downtown Helsinki within a quiet residential community. Transportation via a public tram was quick and easy to Helsinki's downtown attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    9.2
    Really was nice staying there at sea view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    small swimming pool and sauna . There are not enough sun beds on a beach .

    Really was nice staying there at sea view room. Just would be better to stay in upper floors there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    8.8
    nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The key card for the room stopped working all the time. Bath really small and we are not huge:) no bathrobe which was surprising. didn´t like that there was a service fee of 10€ for room service as I would have liked to order cheese platter that cost 15€ and the fee was high enough for the room to include room service. Also would have been nice to be able to order the cheese plate around the clock as we were too late to order (only until 22!) as we would have still ordered it despite the service fee.

    Very nice hotel, good breakfast, friendly staff. Liked the area, it was just a small nice walk to the open-air museum. Restaurant was good with nice terrace though it got really really hot there and there was no cover for sun. Beautiful view though. Great to have two pillows for each:)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was really good, including service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for dinner in the restaurant was too high.

    Breakfast was really good, including service. Seeing the sea gulf from restaurant while taking dinner is also really great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    6.7
    Perfect hotel and location with a lot of potential, but too many issues in the building and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanless of the rooms (both we had), the swimming pole was not what you expect of a five star hotel. A lot of little issues in the hotel : lamps broken, loss hanging toilet seat, empty bath and shower gel, chips and papers in the corners, 3rd bed not made in a family room (booked for 3),... Staff is fine but I have some doubts about the management of the hotel.

    The breakfast and the location were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    8.3
    We booked a larger room with seaview which was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the "private beach" is a 2m strip of sand, mud and goose dung. We tried to eat in the restaurant but gave up after 25 min without being able to order.

    We booked a larger room with seaview which was superb. Fantastic view of the sunset. Large stylish room. Excellent breakfast. Nice pool/sauna. Nice location in a cool district.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    Stylish, spacious comfort in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Simple but stylish and well appointed rooms. Balcony west facing with a view to the sea. Excellent breakfast and very helpful polite multi lingual staff. Proximity to the sea and beach absolutely wonderful. Beautiful area and close to the Alvar Aalto House Museum and Studio, the Didrich Art Gallery and the charming island museum Seurasaari all made our stay throughly enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    9.6
    Finland first visit
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and 2 scopes of ice cream for £19 was a bit sharp! however this was my first time and I have been told this is normal?

    Very welcoming staff and an interesting hotel with a WW2 Gun placement outside the window which I liked. the food was very good and great views form the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.8
    The scenery from the Sea Wing room was incredibly beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air was a bit stuffy, maybe because of the carpeting of the outside corridor. The bed wasn't as big as promised (the description said "extra large bed", although it was standard size).

    The scenery from the Sea Wing room was incredibly beautiful. The room was spacious and clean. The area around the hotel is simply wonderful with its café and the park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet qualilty retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Crowded dinnertime at the restaurant. As we were having lunch in the same place someone should have suggested to book a table for the dinner. On the other hand - room service was excellent too!!! :)

    Room with the bay view is marvellous. Really quiet atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    4.6
    Student type stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    4,5 star hotel, rooms are old, small rooms, basic bed in single room. I did not have vanity kit nor bathrobe or slippers. They charge 10extra euro for bathrobe, I didn't expect that, basically like a hostel. Or three star hotel. Not expected for a place that is far outside of the center.

    Nice beach side and reception area is wide and nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom rugs need to be cleaned or updated. Dingy and dirty. The restaurant is very expensive, especially for the amount of food. Would be nice to have a more casual dining since there isn't much around for dinner. Tram #4 takes you to the train station and is a good area to get off and walk from there to sights if you are a walker. Do not go to the flea market that is advertised in some publications; it is a waste of time.

    Breakfast selection was great. Very nice breakfast. Would be nice if it started at 6:00 am. Staff were very friendly and are hard workers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    7.9
    Manage to have 2 good days (weather) during my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited dining - in fact only one restaurant, although food is good. But, again limited choice on the menu.

    Great location, and away from city centre, but easy to get to city centre with tram or taxi. Ease of getting taxi to anywhere - there's a taxi queue and taxi are usually available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little far out of city centre to walk, but the number 4 tram takes you to the corner.

    Big comfy beds. Nice scenery with bar and restaurant overlooking lake. Staff are awesome. Fantastic food. Great showers

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The phone system is a bit unreliable at the moment - the instructions and the phone functions do not match.

    Hotel Kalastajatorppa is a wonderful combination of nearby nature reserves, seafront and great services and care. The gym, sauna and pool perfect the experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel to stay in Helsinki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hotel to stay in Helsinki. Quiet place which has a real seaside suburb feel, but in 20 minutes you may reach the city center on foot (if you are fast enough), either take a tram (10 min). Seurasaari open air museum is in just 5 min. And great walks by the seaside to the right from the main entrance. (Please do not forget to buy nuts for squirrels :))

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    10
    Beautiful walk by the bay/lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Easy access to downtown Helsinki by tram #4 with about 25 minutes ride. For someone who likes a peaceful walk along the bay, nice restaurants and comfortable sleep - this is the hotel to go for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    9.2
    Nice neighbourhood, delicious and top quality breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little bit retro style. But everything is new, so this is only the style.

    Nice neighbourhood, delicious and top quality breakfast. Calm and quiet. The main tram (4) and bus station are only 3-10 minutes walking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    10
    Great location and excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extra spacious. The location is a perfect combination of nature (sea side) and city life. Either for business or pleasure, you have a small swimming pool great Finnish saunas. Breakfast plentiful and a lot to chose from.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    7.9
    Say Kalastajatorppa if you want to relax quietly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - There good be better info signs inside the hotel (eg. sauna and swimming pool were a little bit hard to find using the tunnel)

    + Nice room size (King) + Breakfast was as good as the previous customer comments suggested + Location and public transportation nearby

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    10
    Pleasent stay as a present in a theme of Ball Masters, spending time with family and a anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Apparently nothing could have been better.

    I booked the place for my father and his fiance as a part of his 70th birthday present. They had REALLY enjoyed the stay: the level of the accomodation, historical reputation, location & nice surroundings, all the extra facilities (a.ga warm parking hall with a straight connection to the reception...) and exellent breakfast. From my own behalf I would say that communication beforehands with the hotel chain's booking services to make sure about few details was really a service from the customer point of view: personal, warm and solution oriented. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2017

    7.1
    The place was great though a little far from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Someone had smoked in our room before they gave it to us and then they charged us for smoking when we left. I finally got it sorted by calling them and explaining we are non-smokers. We definitely would have to inform them in advance that our room smelled but didn't because when we arrived it was too late and just wanted to go to bed. Still, we didn't enjoy this inconvenient.

    The place was great though a little far from the centre. Helsinki is a very well connected city with trams so the position wasn't really an issue.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One huge blanket on the bed. Not comfortable to sleep. Balcony light at night. The waterboiler's bottom had some stains on the metal surface. Wonder what these are...

    Bathtub and the size of the shower were good. Spacious room! Service during dinner and breakfast were impeccable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2017

    3.8
    Take something else...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard for a Hilton Hotel is just horrible. The shower doesn't work properly (not closing, water fluting) the bed is hard, it was freezingly cold and the receptionist is arrogant or and doesn't pay attention while making bookings!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2016

    7.9
    It's questionable as a 5 star hotel, but solid and nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Facilities are not in a perfect shape, some are broken or old - No free wifi in the rooms, only in public area - Room is a bit too small

    + Very friendly staff + Very comfy lobby + Amazing breakfast (was included, otherwise it's 27 Euros) + Quite and peaceful place You can get to the hotel from the Airport by getting to the rail station using I or P train and then Tram #4. Tram's final stop is 200m away from the Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would add a omlette station at the breakfast area.

    10 min drive from a center of Helsinki and you feel you are in the country. The breakfast is wonderful - selection of everything you would wish for a breakfast).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2016

    8.3
    It's questionable as a 5 star hotel, but solid and nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Facilities are not in a perfect shape, some are broken or old - No free wifi in the rooms, only in public area - Room is a bit too small

    + Very friendly staff + Very comfy lobby + Amazing breakfast (was included, otherwise it's 27 Euros) + Quite and peaceful place You can get to the hotel from the Airport by getting to the rail station using I or P train and then Tram #4. Tram's final stop is 200m away from the Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2016

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have been in the Kalastajatorppa for a second time and the quality was confirmed. The beds are great; the breakfast is rich in different traditional and international products; one of the best that i apprecietae are the swimming pool and sauna with direct access to the lake. I enjoyed much the sauna and the snow to roll; the fresh soft snow is fantasti. The pool+sauna are open 6:30-10am and 5-10pm. It is fantastic to have the sauna after a heavy day of work and dinner. Also the restaurant is a top place with delicious dishes (though a bit pricy). From the restuarant you also have a fantastic view over the lake; the sun setting, the ducks and swans. Also with HHonors you have gratis wifi. Highly recommended to stay here at the lake!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    9.6
    A soviet Finland gem!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was great for us, but for tourists moving by foot, take a hotel downtown.

    Beautiful location. Very good breakfast. An appealing charm of a lost era that has luckily not been destroyed in renovations.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast selection was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast bacon was overcooked. We weren't given a local map of the area.

    Breakfast selection was really good. The restaurant served us drinks when we came in very late and they were about to close and weren't bothered

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    10
    A luxurious stay by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was absolutely amazing and the view of the dinner restaurant was breathtaking -the sea! Staff was friendly and on top of all give us some toohtpaste since we forgot ours home :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    9.2
    perfect first trip to Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were lucky and had a super view of the water from our room. Also Maria of the staff brought us 2 bottles of champagne since I had told her it was my husband's birthday. The location of the hotel is not central, but if you're used to public transportation, it's an easy tram ride on the number 4.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    7.9
    A good place for nature lovers with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not really drawbacks, but something to be aware of: - The hotel charges your credit card automatically before your arrival, so when you arrive then they tell you "everything is already paid for". Maybe this is hotel policy but we've stayed in other high-end hotels before and paid in person when checking out. - Air conditioning in the room may be powerful, but it is not comfortable when wind blows at your face during the night. Another issue was a strong smell of some cleaning agent in the room, since the windows cannot be opened by default, only A/C works all the time. This was disturbing, so we politely asked that a window should be opened, and a cleaning guy came with a tool to open it. After that, everything was great, as we could get fresh sea air and got rid of the smell. - When breakfast is included in room price and you travel with children, then the hotel rule is that children under 6 years of age get breakfast free. This is not mentioned while booking, so if you have a child older than 5, there may be an extra cost.

    - The hotel is located in a nice place by the sea, has a lot of parks nearby, and if you have a car then you can access all the sights easily. For children, there is a public playground at Perustie 38 about 2 km from the hotel that has swings, ropes, slides etc for smaller and bigger children. - Swimming in the sea is good even in colder weather, because you can warm up in the sauna. There are bathrobes and slippers in the room, so you don't need to take a lot of things to the pool. Towels are available at the sauna. - The hotel may be old, but everything is clean, the doors are solid, the room is well-planned and comfortable, and the pool is great for children - 0,9 meters deep at one end and 1,8 metres deep at another. We were surprised that so few people visited the pool and sauna, although there were a lot of guests in the hotel. - Breakfast is really good, lots of choices for every taste - I especially liked watermelon, porridge and omelette "muffins". We did not eat in restaurants because prices are high (34 EUR for main course). I can recommend a small place called "Pizza Mix" where an Italian guy makes real good pizza, about 2 km from the hotel. - Free parking places - The price that we paid (about 170 EUR per night) was comparable to other hotels in Helsinki at the time, so we felt it was a good deal, as there were many extras that suited us well, e.g. the king size bed accommodates 2 adults and a child with no problems.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    10
    Perfect weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect. Tram 4 gets you to the city center in 20 minutes. Near the hotel there is a small beach where you can sit and watch perfect sunsets. Grocery store is 15 minutes walk from the hotel. The atmosphere in the neighbourhood is calm and peaceful. I enjoyed my stay very much!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    9.6
    Best breakfast in the hotels of Helsinki.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some noise coming from upper floors because of the wooden floors.

    Best breakfast in the hotels of Helsinki. The restaurant in the evenings is incredible.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    The room was at the Seaside wing and had an excellent view of the area. Sound proof room and the bed was very comfortable. The tram is 3 minutes walk away and gets you to downtown Helsinki in less than 20 minutes. WiFi was excellent during the whole stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had fantastic sea views and very comfortable . Modern bath and shower. Staff were helpful and friendly service excellent . Good transport links into city centre

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: