Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hostel Domus Academica

Hietaniemenkatu 14, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00100 Helsinki, Finland

#102 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4125 hostel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for backpackers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Very spacious bedroom and bathroom. All necessary facilities inside, including a little refrigerator. Nice position, next to the city center. Lovely staffs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great Location, great staff and perfect room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Best Hostel I've ever stayed in, large room with kitchen and a huge bathroom, all very clean and organized. Staff extremely polite and willing to help. Great location, close to amenities and public transport in 10 minutes is in the center of Helsinki.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.6
    Hot summer yet I enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a weird situation in the morning (xd) For what I understood weather in Finland during summer is not like "super hot" but during my time in there, there was a wave of heat going on in which that you wanted to sleep with the windows open; In the backyard there was some people working-out (which is totally cool) but playing semi-loud music a 6.30am was a bit something.. after a bit someone (a fellow host - I presume) shouts "turn it down!" Which did not happen. With the heat on going, semi-loud music I just had to close the window in which the noise was reduced but the heat stayed. In addition, I think that legally you can start to make noise from 7.00am xd yet dunno if the noise came from another place besides the hostel or maybe was part of the venue - it just happened.

    Helpful and friendly staff, super easy access to get to rooms. Smooth in general!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.9
    Practical and Affordable.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 2-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much to dislike. Location of the building may vary according to accomodation.

    Room has a small kitchen and fridge. Quiet campus. Nothing fancy. Price is reasonable in an expensive city like Helsinki.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.8
    The room is very comfortable, ideal for a couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price is quite expensive, but you are in Scandinavian, almost everything is expensive there.

    The room is very comfortable, ideal for a couple. The neighborhood is pretty calm, but at the same time near the center, you can visit many places by foot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.2
    Really good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 2-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very inconvenient to have to take the dishes and utensils for the kitchenette from the common room in the main building and to return them before checking out (if your hands are carrying the luggage you cannot carry the tableware, and vice versa, so you have to go there and back twice, which consumes your time); opening the entrance doors with the key the way the locks are designed is very inconvenient if you have something in your hands; having to use the key even in the elevator does not make sense and is inconvenient, too. A kitchenette without an electric kettle and without dish soap and sponge is nonsense. My roommate and I had to boil water for tea in saucepans, which was very slow.

    The hostel is actually a part of a student campus located in a few buildings 7-15 minutes from the main railway station. 10-20 minutes from the city centre. The rooms are spacious (and so are the bathrooms), the beds are single (no bunk beds). The staff is friendly. You will find free city maps at the reception. There is a luggage storage near the reception, a common room as well (combines a living room with a big flat TV screen, sofas and chairs, and a kitchen). Everything (everything) is clean, there are individual lamps and enough sockets; a kitchenette in the room is what you need, and a supermarket is just across the street. And the price is lower than for the rest of accommodation in the area :-)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.2
    More than a hostel for pretty reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 2-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no tea kettle nor microwave in the kitchenette, some pots were also missing

    Quite spacy room, comfy bed, big dining table, lots of storage spaces and great location in close proximity to the city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    A very flexible, polite and attentive staff.
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cannot open the window and get a fresh air.

    A very flexible, polite and attentive staff. Good location. Clean. Quite. Spacious in the room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    All was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the Sauna should be open in the evening as well.

    All was good. I liked to have a mini kitchen and a fridge in my room and a supermarket at the corner. The staff is very frindly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.3
    Good quality for money in Helsinki
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The walls of the room were dirty. Towels were changed once during the stay (6 days). Pretty expensive breakfast.

    Very good location - close to the center and the bus / tram station. Location in a very quiet area. Very good wireless internet. Large room with kitchenette, refrigerator, stove. Good price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    5.8
    My room is next to the main road.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 2-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room is next to the main road. Lots of noise. If i close the window it will be came soundproof. Since it is July no Ac no fan so I have to open the window.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.8
    Huge amount of space for a reasonable price, with a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Huge amount of space for a reasonable price, with a little kitchenette to make your own food if you don't always want to pay Helsinki restaurant prices. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Tram is nearby, and the bus station is a short walk away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.8
    It's not so far away from the central station (20 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was in the A building and it's very far away from the reception. The breakfast it's expensive and it's not a very good one (few options to choose). The building it's quite old and doesn't have a "hostel culture" (may be, because Helsinki it doesn't seems to be a very exciting city)

    It's not so far away from the central station (20 min walk) and it has a good price relationship.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.3
    Cheap and centric and clean according to the price :P
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not very clean, I advise to bring towel and flip flops. But for this price in Helsinki you can not expect much more. The people living there are mostly students.

    The location is perfect. Just a few minutes from the central station. Internet was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.9
    Location, wifi and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A stove but no saucepans or similar. No kettle. In short there was kitchen but it wasn't possible to make a cup of tea or coffee...

    Location, wifi and staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.7
    Ok in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a different building (100m away) from the reception, kitchen, luggage room, etc. The luggage storage room was open (unlocked) the whole time and our luggage was moved around (separated from each other) when other people put theirs, to the point that it was hard to find below other people's luggage.

    The private room was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice big room and excellent value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They didn’t offer to provide a new set of fresh towels during our stay of 6 nights.

    Great location with everything in walking distance. Big room, clean and comfortable, better than a low budget hotel but priced like a hostel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Quiet, clean and comfortable place in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect place for a short trip to Helsinki. Rooms are clean and spacious, bathroom looked like new and was also very clean. The Hostel is located conveniently in walking distance to the city centre and to several bus and tram stops. We stayed on 6th floor, our room was very quiet. One very minor issue: there were only twin beds instead of doubles available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Very good place near to the city centre and the railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Photos of this accommodation looks little differently than reality. Bathroom was very small, shower was actualy on the toilet, so you can use shower when you´re on the toilet if you want :-D. But still... very good vallue for that price and unexpected comfort for the cheap hostel.

    Very good place near to the city centre and the railway central station with very kind hostel staff. Hostel is nice and quiet. For that price I highly reccomend this place. Very comfortable beds. Small but nice kitchen, ready to use and wardrobes for your things.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Cheap, very clean, very effective staff, not far from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing ! Everything great.

    Cheap, very clean, very effective staff, not far from the center. A place to do your laundry, a place to work-out, and close to two supermarkets. Very practical to travel with comfort and without paying too much.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.5
    Very nice staff and a good hostel with only a few annoyances.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fridge gave off an annoying humming all night long and the curtains was put up in a way letting in a bit much light into room. The wifi in our room was not strong but elsewhere in the hostel it was good. Cleaning was good besides the floor.

    The staff was really cool, friendly helpful and efficient and in the room we heard no sounds from the outside at all which made it nice to come back to after a long day. All in all we felt like we got value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A kettle for tea would have been nice. Some soap and detergent too.

    Staff is very friendly and helpful. A supermarket is available right outside the hostel. The hostel is about 10 minutes walk from the central train station, which is easily accessible by public transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Great hostel in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostel is well located and it has a well equiped kitchen where you can prepare your own meals. The staff is very kind and the rooms are great. Good quality-price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apparent wasn't clean, I actually bought some cleaning stuff and cleaned it myself. And there was no toilet paper! You cannot expect to buy it yourself staying for two days?!

    Friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.0
    No clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we were given was extremely dirty . Thanks to a young blond woman, we were given another room which was much better, but still. The rooms need more cleaning.

    The people who are working at the reception are extremely kind. The people for the cleaning must be replaced by others the sòonest .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    Very calm and comfortable hostel with friendly staff, only wish it was a little cheaper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although nice, it is a bit pricey for a hostel, and sadly the sauna times were very limited (especially for women as the hours are very early). Still, a free sauna. You must pay to do your own laundry.

    The facilities were all very modern and clean. The location was excellent, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    6.3
    Just another hostel (without a locker in the room)
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 2-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No security locker in the room, and that's a big deal. I stayed in a room for two, so it might be different for you; however, you should still get a padlock. The hostel consists of several buildings, and it was not that easy to find mine even after checking in and getting a map of the hostel area as a hint.

    That was quite an ordinary hostel: not too expensive, rather easy to reach, with a 24-hour reception desk. Guest seem to be able to have a sauna in the morning, but I could not try that, as I was checking out too early.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.5
    Clean and quiet accommodation. Seems a bit pricey, until you realise that Helsinki is very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single bed was a bit on the small side and rather low. OK for a few nights though.

    Spacious room with cooking facilities, although no microwave. There are no pots or pans in the room but I believe they are available upon request at reception. The whole place was very quiet. I could have been the only person in the building for all I know. The en-suite had a great shower (+ a hand-held shower at the WC for…well you know!). Towels were provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sharing facilities were all in the same place not easy to enjoy them. While many guests were trying to watch tv it was a queue for ironing and people making food all in the same room. I found it quiet expensive.

    good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.1
    i liked the wifi in each room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i recomend a special area for smoking in each floor so we dont have to go all the way down each time we want to smoke

    i liked the wifi in each room and the bathroom space and cleanleness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    First of all, I loved the atmosphere there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are needed to be renovated a little. Would be nice to have more kitchen stuff in the room (dish washing gel, brushes, paper towel)

    First of all, I loved the atmosphere there. Felt myself a student again in big international society. The room was ok with a small kitchen corner. Beds are quite comfortable. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Perfeita
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that more electrical outlets in the room would be necessary for the amount of equipment we have to charge the batteries these days.

    Right price/quality, near public transportation, good neighborhood

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.1
    internet connection at the room is excellent,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we need a smoking area in each floor so we do not have to go all the way down every now and then

    internet connection at the room is excellent,, the bathroom and toilet excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Great value for money in the center of Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money, conveniently located, kitchen in the room, clean, friendly staff. Would definitely stay again. Reception is open 24/7 which is very convenient, the store is just across the street and bed linens/towels are included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    Location - just a 15 minute walk from the central bus &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic accommodation, although you're getting what you pay for. No curtains on the windows, the blinds don't block out all of the light in the morning.

    Location - just a 15 minute walk from the central bus & train stations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Good location set in the students dormitory, about 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location set in the students dormitory, about 15 minutes walk from the city center. Rooms were fine, clean and the reception was very nice and helpful. Also, they had a social room with TV, where we could watch the World Cup games.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    8.3
    Very basic accomodation, good for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would stay here for max one night because the shower flows into the bathroom toilet area. Overall comfortable for one night. No toiletries like bathroom soap. Takes ~20 mins to get to downtown by foot.

    The room is very basic but it is clean, easy to access, in a safe location. I would stay here for max one night because the shower flows into the bathroom toilet area. Overall comfortable for one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    8.3
    good for people traveling alone or in pairs and looking for accessible price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had a very particular smell. It was not bad, but it was a bit odd.

    Price is accessible, room is clean and sufficiently big and I believe it is very well located. The best trait about this hostel is the staff. Everyone is very nice, polite and always ready to provide a good service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    6.3
    The location was ok, the room was very big, the bed was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom, toilet and the sink were not cleaned completely. I saw dust and some remaining materail (even hair) on the sink in the bathroom. The toilet was also not completely cleaned.

    The location was ok, the room was very big, the bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    8.3
    Good hostel in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soap was not in the room (Small peaces of soap were after other guests).

    Good hostel in the center of the city. Big and light room. Nice view on the gulf. Bathroom was in room. Sauna was in hostel. Quietly was in room. Markets were next to the hostel. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.2
    We were very happy with our easy and friendly stay. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn’t as clean as I would have liked. The cups and plates were dirty.

    The beds were clean and comfy and general facilities were great for the amazing value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.9
    Bare-bones family accommodations in Helsinki during the summer months.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was a bit dirty when we arrived. We left it cleaner than we found it.

    The staff was helpful and pleasant. But this is a BUDGET accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.1
    Cheap-ish accommodation in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The curtains were insufficient and let in way too much light, sleeping in late June was difficult. The room could have been cleaner. The shower would flood the whole bathroom, with no rug to help. No soap or shampoo provided. Only 1 towel.

    Good location, relatively cheap for Helsinki.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    8.3
    Budget and comfortable accomodation near the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location near the city center, 10-15 min walk from main railway station. There’s cheap self-catering option in the supermarket (K-Market) nearby - they offer cheap coffee and take-away food: sandwiches, pastries or salads. The staff in the hostel is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    8.8
    EXCELLENT would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's only a small thing but a microwave in the little kitchenette would have been nice, but it did not detract greatly from my enjoyment of my stay

    Excellent location, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.8
    impeccably clean & spacious university dorms on summer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    rooms come with an oven apiece but could use some common supplies (e.g. tinfoil, to bake a pizza)

    impeccably clean & spacious university dorms on summer rental

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hostel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. The price was also reasonable comparing to other accommodations in Helsinki center.

    The hostel was located on a quiet street and in walkable distance to Kamppi and railway station. There were K-market, Alepa and some bus/tram stations nearby. Wifi was available everywhere in the hostel. So there were definitely improvements since my last stay. The room was clean. Common area and kitchen was nice. There was also kitchen in the room with dining utensils but you had to take the kitchen utensils from the common kitchen. The staffs were quite busy but very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    7.9
    A bit complicated to navigate all the buildings in which the different facilities are.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception is in one building, I stayed in another building (that I could not find at first...), breakfast is yet in another building, sauna is in the fourth building. Also, my building had weird electric keys and the first receptionist did not explain how they worked. When I returned, his female colleague was super helpful and explained how the keys work.

    Friendly and very helpful staff at the reception and also in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    excellent location, close to trams, buses, walking distance to city center, basic but clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no kettle in the room, and no detergent and sponge in the kitchenette to wash dishes

    spacious double room, spacious bathroom, fast wifi, friendly and very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    5.4
    Big room with table and desk.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had not been cleaned when I arrived. I could not get another room as the hostel was fully booked (and I arrived late so the cleaning service had already gone). The staff made sure that my room was cleaned the next day but even then it was really done in a hurry and it wasn’t actually clean. There were no real curtains so I slept badly for 3 nights as it does not get dark in Helsinki in June. This is one of the few cheaper accommodations in Helsinki but I will rather pay more next time than stay at this hostel again.

    Big room with table and desk. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.1
    - clean and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - No towels in the kitchen to dry cleaned dishes - it was not possible to clean dishes in your room, you always have to go down (why then have dishes in the room?) - the rooms were smelly - old/wet - I loved that it said that towels were included. Yet, you should know that this includes exactly one towel per person. No additional towe for hair, hands or simply the dishes. When asking about that, the staff got really defensive which spoiled my experience a bit. - you need to leave your key at the reception whenever you leave - the building and entrance looks really shady and not at all welcoming

    - clean and comfy beds - very clean shower! - you could cook in your room - it almost felt like a small apartment - close to the beach (10 min walk)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.9
    Location is excellent and staff are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kettle in room to make coffee - no toiletries.

    Location is excellent and staff are very friendly. Rooms are basic . No toiletries including toilet paper are supplied. No kettle in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.8
    Good place for us to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 3-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Key did not always work Late one night We had to evacuate for a fire false alarm Small kitchenette with nothing to cook with

    Location close to city Reception staff were very very helpful We had a lift in the building Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.8
    The dorm room is just for 2 persons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 2-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not located exactly in city centre but it's still good. A bit pricy.

    The dorm room is just for 2 persons. You don't have to complete with others for toilets. Room is so nice that it was even equipped with a small kitchen and utensils (tho no detergent provided) and tables for each person.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Facilities were disappointing. I chose one with a kitchenette but then discovered I had nothing I could cook in the oven with. One had to "borrow" sharp knives, pots pans etc (and there were none without handles so would not fit in the oven) from the common room downstairs, where also one had to wash them up. This meant that I could not cook what I would have done, and so I had paid for facilities I could not use. It also meant many trips up and down to the crowded common/cooking/tv room. My bathroom was never cleaned in the 7 nights I was there; the "air conditioning" made the place stuffy and hot, it felt like 30 degrees rather than 20 and the pillow was dreadful. (go to IKEA for a reasonably priced one)

    Location is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    Very good and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have added instruction for visitors arriving by air and wish to take public transport to the hostel using same train ticket.

    Near central train station, 8 and 5 mins walk from subway and tram station respectively, easy access to city attractions; affordable room tariff, clean and helpful staff. Cooking facilities are adequate to cook simple meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.3
    The location close to the city center, the room was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a kettle would have been nice

    The location close to the city center, the room was quite spacious, there's a fridge in the room, WiFi worked perfectly, it was quiet, good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.1
    Clean room in Helsinki for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad smell in the corridor. Staff is competent but this hostel is so big with so many customers at the same time, that contact is neutral or cold.

    Clean room in Helsinki for a reasonable price (where everything else is so expensibe).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.6
    A great inexpensive choice in lodging for Helsinki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were exhausted when we arrived and got to our room only to discover that there were no kitchenware supplies in the room. We had to go three buildings over to get kitchenware. The laundry needed cleaning and the dryers are in need of vent cleaning. Only one of three dryers seemed to work at all. The washing only took a half hour but we were in the laundry in an attempt to get clothes dried for a total of three hours. The benefit was that we could converse with young people visiting Helsinki and staying at the hostel.

    Our room for three was very spacious. Nice size bathroom and shower. The location is great and we walked the entire time we were there except to get our luggage to and from the train station. The breakfast for 8.5 euros is a great bargain. All who stay should take advantage of this plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t have baby cot for free.

    Have lifts to access the rooms which is wonderful for the baby stroller, have a fridge in the room which is very practical and the private bathroom was super clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.1
    Ok budget accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's an old house so the rooms are a bit worn out. There was also a funny smell in our room during our whole 4 day stay - maybe it was the sewer?

    The hostel is located at the city centre so it's very easy to get everywhere. The staff was very helpfull and the kitchenette in the room is very handy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.3
    Good hostel with amazing personal in 24/7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Good hostel with amazing personal in 24/7. Room was clean and nice. Also, hostel provides a lot of tourist advises and free wi-fi and PCs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Affordable and may consider next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wifi is accessible but not so stable.

    Communicative and friendly staff, good location (walkable to almost every famous sites!), simple but clean and commodious room with kitchen and fridge (therefore you can make your own meal), near the supermarket and CVS.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slight stale cigarette smell despite being non-smoking Confusion about room capacity - has 3 single beds, but is listed on booking.com as 3 adults + 3 children. The children cost no more, but no extra beds are available when over 4 years old.

    Location convenient to city centre but still quiet Own bathroom and cooking facilities plus communal kitchen Luggage storage available Good security (key needed to access to most areas) Big room with lots of storage space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Buy from nearby Kmart and make your own preparations. Borrow utensils from hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No frills mean no room service. Hostel Cafeteria is also little far.

    A self sustaining hostel room. Those who want to cook their own food will love it. No frills but all amenities make it a perfect stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.8
    acceptable for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can't open the window, just a little

    The Location of the Hotel is very Good, you can just walk 15min. to the railway station. The room was not nice equipped, it was to empty, no pictures, no flair and a little bit dirty... it was like a hospital, but for one night is it ok. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you miss any pots or water kettles, you can find in the common kitchen by the side of reception. If you need shampoo, you need to buy it in the market outside the hotel. But the hostel can provide you a small soap also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.1
    Place to sleep - that’s it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 2-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Zero “cozy feeling” since all the furniture is white and low quality.

    It’s a solid option to sleep if you don’t have to spend time in the room, quite cheap for the location and options in Helsinki. Well located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.3
    Very Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was hot in the evening and there was no fan.

    The reception staff was extremely good. They were very helpful and had perfect solution for all our queries. We had a medical requirement, immediately they identify the nearby hospital and gave us all directions. We were able to loan all necessary utensils.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    8.3
    Superfriendly staff. Good location. I might be looking for more comfort, but the price is OK
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really good location. I stayed at the Building A and I had my own bathroom and small kitchen. The kitchenware can be borrowed from the common kitchen. Staff is superfriendly! Thank you! I might be looking for more comfort, but the price for the service is OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.9
    Great location and breakfast. Spacious rooms. Accomm old but everything works.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very stuffy. Pillows are terrible. The luggage room should be monitored better - access by staff or tags on bags.

    Great location, excellent breakfast, kitchenware available for cooking in our rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    5.4
    not good experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is kind of scary. what is worse is I don't know why I was asked to pay again even though I paid on booking.com before I went there. I insist I have paid it, so the staff finally let me check in. To be honest, I don't know what is wrong happened until now. He didn't give me a reasonable excuse why I am asked to pay again. I finally checked in after a long while. besides, I do have some pictures to show the room, but my phone is out of battery at the moment.

    price is kind if nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    Private bathroom and incredibly clean room in a very city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you are staying not in the main building, it might be a little hard to find your door right away, and need to pass through too many doors. Sometimes the key doesn’t work and you need to figure out which side to place it or try multiple times. Saw some other travelers confused with those keys. But that’s a very small thing comparing with the facilities you get for this price. Loved the overall experience staying at this hotel!

    Private bathroom and incredibly clean room in a very city center of Helsinki with a great value for money overall. Super friendly staff, and awesome online registration system.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    8.8
    This is quite good place to spend one or two nights for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was alone so I liked everything in your Hostel.

    This is quite good place to spend one or two nights for the lonely voyager. It is good for me but if I travel with my wife I should book another place. Thank you, Booking.com!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is in a student dormitory so the rooms were simple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worth mentioning that you need a cable for the internet. The room was not cleaned properly but I guess was because we were at the end of the season.

    The hotel is in a student dormitory so the rooms were simple but comfortable. Really helpful staff. Underground packing.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostel Domus Academica Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: