Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santa's Hotel Rudolf

Koskikatu 41-43 (Check-in: Santa's Hotel Santa Claus, Korkalonkatu 29, 96200 Rovaniemi), 96200 Rovaniemi, Finland

#18 of 21 hotels in Rovaniemi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 726 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Very good location, clean, close to grocery stores,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This summer is very hot. We did not feel an inflow of air even though we opened the big window. We felt that the central heating was still switched on during this hot summer (although it might have already been switched off). The desktop fan in the room seems not have a wide coverage. I think a more powerful stand fan could cope with that.

    Very good location, clean, close to grocery stores, restaurants and supermarkets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Surprisingly good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pleasant surprise! Did not expect much but the room was clean and modern with comfy beds. The bathroom was a bit outdated but overall the stay was better than expected. Hotel was very quiet probably due to very few customers, might be different during the high season. Because of the heat wave the room was terribly hot as there is no AC, but you can't expect that in a budget hotel like this. However there was a small fan and you could open up the window for the night. Good value for money, would go again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Good price for very nice hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was in 600m far away sisters hotel, so this was very uncomfortable

    Comfortable room, tea and coffee set and fridge, near to shops and in same building asian restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you arrive you find a sogn saying that for check-in you need to go to another hotel which is approx 10mins walk or 5 mins drive. Its not such a big deal but its not ideal either.

    Great location for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    a very economic visit for unspoiled travelers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no open window at the room - it is a shame in a place that has wonderful fresh air to enjoy

    . simple but comfortable room. a kitchen and an iron spot. good for an independent travel rich breakfast is served in the Santa hotel, 15 minutes walk from the Rudolf hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for a relaxed few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance between the reception and the actual hotel, wish we knew about that before walking all the way to the Hotel Rudolf for check in.

    The Chinese restaurant downstairs was the best Chinese in town. Also great to have the TV available to watch all the world cup games. Close to town as well, only like a 7 minute walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thicker curtains would be a great idea as with so much daylight the room can be bright.

    Walking distance to town centre and to the bus stop to Santa Claus Village. Unlike many places the hotel is very quiet so if you need sleep you can sleep with no issues. Direct phone to staff should any assist be required. Staff absolutely fantastic, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Cheaper in an expensive town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't cleaned during our stay (3 nights) and every time you come in from the snow it's hard not to get wet boot prints everywhere.

    Basic but adequate. Cheaper than other hotels, easy walk into town. Had a fridge so could buy food/breakfast and keep it cold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    It was just fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to go over 500m in the snow to receive a keys to our room. It would be great (and I guess normal?) to have a reception inside the renting place. Receptionist asked me to write my ID number and sign some documents. Not saying it was wrong, no idea how does it work in Finland, but it made me a little bit suspicious as the only answer I received for my questions about it, was 'it is a police document'...

    It was small, but cosy and very clean room. Price for the room corresponds with the standard, what was actually absolutely fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice and cheap, as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't informed the reception was in a different building, a few minutes walk from the hotel. Not too bad but not so great walking with your suitcase back and forth in the snow. And the radiator was useless in our room, although the room was not cold(the radiator is the only way to dry your clothes).

    They agreed to check me in earlier than stated which was nice and the staff was very friendly. And the location is perfect considering it is a small city center so you're close to all the shops and pubs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Location is near city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check in process is troublesome. You will have to walk about 600m to Hotel Santa Claus for check in as there are no staff in Hotel Rudolf. This will be a huge hassle if you're alone and you have to drag all your luggage to and fro

    Location is near city center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    3.3
    Never ever stay !!! Waste of ur money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First u have to check in some other otel before u go and thats why it seems more close to center ! and they write this down in small letters and let u know this after u booked the hotel , so we went there and had to go back to center for check in ,Beds are really uncomfy , and room gets cold at night even cold weather blowing from the window , and noise from outside and from other rooms sounds just inside ur room , worse than a public dorm

    Nothing at all , dont caught by the location and look for somewhere else ,complete disaster and worst place i ve ever stayed in my 34 year old life!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Great, comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby in Santa’s Hotel rudolf smelt terrible, like sewerage, thankfully the smell was completely fine in our room.

    The room was comfortable, quiet and warm (very important when travelling in winter). We arrived very early and were able to put our luggage in a storage room free of charge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    Room was clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is at Santa Claus Hotel and no shuttle is offered to Hotel Rudolf so you have to drag your luggage roughly 900m uphill through ice/snow/rain/wind at whatever time of day you arrive (11pm for us). Be prepared for the walk, or take a taxi. Also, the airport shuttle only goes to Santa Claus Hotel so if you need to catch it, be prepared to drag everything back the other way!

    Room was clean and tidy. Price was good for the time of year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    We booked this hotel because it was the cheapest during our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to check in at Santa Claus Hotel and they don't offer a shuttle to Hotel Rudolf. This wouldn't be an issue except it is both icy, and around 800m uphill from Santa Claus Hotel to get to Hotel Rudolf, which is both difficult and far when you are dragging luggage. I thought it was odd for the price point that there is no hotel shuttle - even the airport shuttle doesn't go there. So be prepared to walk in the ice/snow/rain/wind between the two, dragging your luggage, or get a taxi, to check in to Hotel Rudolf. FYI Town is about a five minute walk downhill to get food (you walk through it to get from Santa Claus Hotel to Hotel Rudolf).

    We booked this hotel because it was the cheapest during our stay period, which was over Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location but run-down facilities
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel over ll had a bit of a run-down feeling to it. Bathroom looked like it needed a reno about 10 years ago. There was a door to the next room through which we heard every move the neighbors made, which kept waking my partner up at night as they got up at 3am two nights in a row. Had to check.in at another hotel in town so after finding the Rudolf hotel, we had to head back to town to check in which was quite annoying after a long drive there...

    Parking was right outside and offered plug-in heating. Location was great, 400 meters from the city centre (shopping, restaurants etc).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    2.9
    I should choice an another.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, we arrive at the hotel, and then knew we had to go to the another place which is about 800m from the hotel to leave our luggage. Then staffs didn’t tell us we also had to check in there. So we went to the hotel, and returned AGAIN. No staffs have kindness to their guests. In addition to that, the bathroom was not clean, positions of the outlet were not convenient, and the worst thing is the wall was so thin that every conversation could hear from the next room!!!!!!I couldn’t relux at all. I will never recommend this hotel.

    Wifi is good. The dryer of wind was strong.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Best Hotel option in Rovaniemi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As mentioned, breakfast was served at the Santa Claus Hotel downtown. Quality of the breakfast was good and compensated for the transit.

    The staff was really friendly. The check-in is done at Santa Claus Hotel downtown and then we walked 600 meters to Hotel Rudolf. This is OK if you don´t have too much luggage, or if you have a car. Price was fair for what we got. I recommend this hotel if you are visiting Rovaniemi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.9
    Never book this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loads. No reception. Checkin has to be in another hotel, which is more than 600m walk with -20 degrees in the snow, without prior notice. No room cleaning. No towel changing.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.6
    Bad customer service and very unhelpful team for my experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service when we need help for miss the item at room. The receptionist and GM only provide the Finland's web site, which don't have any email and contact number in web site. We have request them to contact the house keeping team for check the item we miss. The receptionist and GM told me, they cant call the house keeping team ...etc. They have provided unhelpful and very bad service for it. We will not introduce this hotel to anyone in the future.

    Free parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    Private bathroom, location, hairdryer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)No areas where you could meet with people. 2) No check-in at the hotel 3) No spoons, cups in the kitchen 4) the room was not cleaned during all our stay there

    Private bathroom, location, hairdryer

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Great stay and wonderful staffing made it pleasant and perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I had to check in at one place and then walk to the other.

    Great staff!! Couldn't have asked for better. I enjoyed all the amenities in the room, from heating up water and a blow dryer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location and clean, but too expensive during tourist season
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money - since it was December when we stayed there, the hostel-like hotel was extremely expensive with no extra perks.

    Close to town and easy to access excursions and activities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Relatively cheaper in Rovaniemi as a single traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't know I have to go to Santa Hotel or check in.. The noise insulation is very poor that I can hear sounds from corridor and neighbour rooms.

    Relatively cheaper in Rovaniemi as a single traveller. Adequate facilities e.g. hairdryer, towel, water boiler, tv.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They don't change towels, someone spilled some sort of sweet drink on the stairs, 2 days later, they still didn't clean the stairs. everything was sticky. The rooms are small. It is annoying that you have to check in 800 meters away.

    Wi-Fi is decent. Location is OK, rooms was partly renovated (old bathroom), cheap for Rovaniemi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    Very bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout 11. Worse than worldwide standard. Very small. Got code but no use had to get key from main hotel . Usually staffless hotel you use this code to enter room. Very bad. Don't recommend. Also toilets in kitchen they say out of order. Real reason was don't want to clean it. Sad case

    Close to town, OK price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    separate check in and building location. The airport shuttle only go to santa claus hotel for your check in and then you have to walk about 700m. I think it will be difficult for visitor with many luggage.

    Value for money, location is great to visit artikum and quite easy to reach the center once you know the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    2.5
    Disgrace ! Frustration.!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Disgrace ! We were traveling as a group and we had to stay in different places in some places as Rovainemi. When I was making our reservations, was not a comfortable area. We were in the car on the road, was noisy, bad internet... So, When booking for the 2nd hotel (Santa's Hotel Rudolf), I made a mistake on the chek out date ( 7 nights while it was supposed to be 5 nights ). I noticed that, when we doing our chek-in in the otel. So, We told the receptionist the situation and pleased to up date our chek-out date as 5 nights not 7. At first, they sad that 'you have to inform this to booking.com and they should inform us in writing' We sad ok and did it. 2. day no answer, 3. day booking.com sad, we pleased from the otel, to up date your chek-out day, But they refused us ! Upsss.. pardon? how can it be? we'll can't stay 2 nigts more and Have to pay ??? Second time we go to recepsion and sad you can't do that, It's not ethical ! we do not cancel, we just want to edit, there is mistake. For example, if I accidentally wrote 1 month, would I have to pay 1 month??? or 1 year??? even will never stay ! Their answer was the actual bomb ; 'our hotel is like this' !!! What do you mean? It mean your otel opportunist ? Finally, Neither the hotel nor booking.com did the correction. we paid for 2 nights we did not stay. I gave it someone 2 nights stay as a present. After all, I am not sure to working with bookin.com again. They were inadequate to find a solution. Frustration.!

    Nothing !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    It has everything one needs, so it is a decent choice, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not open the window in the room and the air in the room was stiff.

    It has everything one needs, so it is a decent choice, with a very good location, fast internet for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    Location was quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit confusing, that we had to get our keys from a different location, but it worked out well.

    Location was quite good. A bit outside where it is not too loud, but everything in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived 1hr early than the check in time. It was heavy snow that time but Instead of accommodating us they instructed us to go to the reception of the hotel that is kilometer away from hotel Rudolph. Service is very poor . If we have a choice and if my card wasn't deducted yet prior to our arrival we will not choose to stay in that hotel!

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.8
    Unacceptable check in process
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to check in at hotel Santa Claus which is a distance away considering that you have to drag your luggages upslope in the snow by yourselves without hotel service. They should at least provide a shuttle to and fro.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The cleaner was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    5.4
    Only thing attrative is the relatively low room rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to walk to another hotel to check in, i arrived late in evening and check-in place wasn't that easy to find without a taxi ride from train station

    Wasn't much really, perhaps only affordable place could find on Christmas Eve within my budget of Euro80 or less

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    Worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It didn't bother us, but some people would probably get annoyed if they had a lot of luggage carrying it from the check-in point to the actual hostel.

    Love how central we were (within walking distance to everything). We could see the Northern Lights from our room (facing out towards the Arktikum)! Kitchen facilities were good. Very quiet too!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Staffs at the hotel Santa Claus were really friendly though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The width of cartains was a little bit short, so we could not cover the window width completely. The keycard was not so user friendly, we would need the instruction manual or pictures.

    Staffs at the hotel Santa Claus were really friendly though they seemed to be very busy. The room was clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    2.5
    poor experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer and no electricpot in our room. But when we are going to check out we see that there are new hairdryer and new electric pot in the cart outside.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    2.5
    Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Check in half mile away, dragging cases through snow for twenty minutes uphill is not great.

    Nothing. Horrific hostel. Felt I was in an army barracks. Stained toilet. Uncomfortable camp beds. Truly awful experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    7.9
    Cheap as which is a hostel not hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    which is a actually a hostel and the location is not same building as sister hotel- Hotel Santa Claus, need to walk around 20 minutes to reach the place.

    The room was clean and cosy, value for the money

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.5
    Reasonably priced basic accommodation near city
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic accommodation for very reasonable price. Had everything I needed for one night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    I love all there
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was ok

    Clean nice and cheap i love the place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    The rooms are very basic but clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic but clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, quiet stay in the center of Rovaniemi
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small fridge didnt work.

    Great location, very quiet and comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    Not even a staff, you have to walk 15 minutes to another...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not even a staff, you have to walk 15 minutes to another hotel to find them Room card cannot not be identified sometimes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.0
    Miserable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I had to book in via another property 700 metres away which I had to walk in minus 27 degrees

    nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Distance to the office
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to the office

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.8
    This is a non staffed hotel so it is inconvenient to check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a non staffed hotel so it is inconvenient to check and take assistance if needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.0
    Near to City Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over price.

    Near to City Centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Location was sooo good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small of groundfloor

    Location was sooo good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    need to check in at another place

    clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Value for money!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Good place for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No one told us that we had to do the check-in in another hotel - We also had some problems with the reservation

    - Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Rudolf perfect for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eating vending machines

    Comfortable n quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.1
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi wasn't working properly. Battled to connect

    Very central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.0
    Leaving was the best option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic cramped accommodation. No staff and poor facilities.will not return.

    Very little

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    derelict, not so roomy, very bad, slow and unstable wifi

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.1
    Easy parking & an excellent chinese restaurant...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelled bad.

    Easy parking & an excellent chinese restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.8
    The room is much older than it is shown in the picture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is much older than it is shown in the picture. It is more like a economy inn instead of a hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast at all

    Location is good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    2.5
    Your information on the hotel procedure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your information on the hotel procedure

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.1
    A good budget hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity of everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.1
    Fairly close to everything, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk nearly 1km for the breakfast buffet. In -12 degrees it's not really ideal.

    Fairly close to everything, good price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.1
    Nice Hotel, willing to book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reception in Rudolf, which is inconvenient for check in.

    Room is clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.3
    Good location, Comfort & Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception

    Location, kitchen available, clean room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.4
    Location is OK!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite small

    Location is OK. And there's a kitchen.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    4.2
    Cheap but there is no reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reception there and it is too far...and it is not clear to let us know where the reception is..,

    Cheap price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Good location and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of reception in the building

    Good price for a private room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.4
    It was private
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's not a hostel at all, everyone gets a private room and there is no common area, so not a place for backpackers looking to make friends

    It was private

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    8.3
    Great for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great for the money! Very quiet and peaceful place. Accommodation in close proximity are much pricier... One straight road to the town which is 5 mins you can always see the town from this a condition as its one straight road :) Rooms were a decent size. Bit boring if you want things to do in the hostel, as there isn't anything. But, loads of places to go and things to see so it shouldn't be a problem. Tips for Rovanemi: go directly to the activity website of what you want to do as in the excursion shops/tourist shops they add loads... I.e the zoo is only 15 euro entry and a 20 euro bus away but it costs 140 euro plus if you book through the tourist shop! Crazy!!!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    The property was surprisingly nice, clean, and in good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Since Rovaniemi seems to hardly clear the sidewalks, instead putting down gravel, carrying the bags there after checking I at the lovey Hotel Santa Claus was quite literally a drag. Without bags, it is a perfectly fine location.

    The property was surprisingly nice, clean, and in good condition. While this property is not staffed, the personnel at Hotel Santa Claus were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were able to store suitcases there which made other activities easier.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    7.9
    Basic no frills .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just outside town centre . No booking in desk need to use sister hotel in town not that near. Had to make and strip own beds .

    Basic no frills . Clean and tidy good for short overnight stay on a budget .

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    Warm, clean, calm hostel, available for booking even a month...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comparably distant location from tourist center, but in general still <5 min from center.

    Warm, clean, calm hostel, available for booking even a month before Christmas.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    6.7
    The room is fine, simple and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sound proof is bad, can hear clearly next rooms conversation. No shuttle to airport, have to go to Santa hotel to check in and take the shuttle.

    The room is fine, simple and clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.3
    The landlord is very nice and welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It could be better if the price is lower.

    The landlord is very nice and welcome. Location is good which nears to supermarket and train station. Room is tidy.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.1
    I liked:
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I didn't like: - only one towel per person - we had to prepare our beds - a bit too cold and we couldn't do anything about it

    I liked: - the location close to the center and to everything one needed. - it was clean - we had no problems with noisy neighbors

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: