Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rantapuisto 4 stars

Furuborginkatu 3, Itäinen Suurpiiri, 00980 Helsinki, Finland

#32 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1763 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Amazing lakeside location and very famous piece of Finnish...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refurbished rooms were ok but could have taken the aesthetic the final few steps. Some quality beds and mattresses and pillows and sheets would have upped the anti noend and this adherence to skinny single beds is just plain silly ..!

    Amazing lakeside location and very famous piece of Finnish design

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    The rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel caters to conferences and the dining room was overwhelmed. It took an hour and a half to get our meal and then one of the orders was wrong.

    The rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Unhappy from GB
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a safe in my room. No shelving or draws to use. Not having a proper wardrobe with a door on it. The underfloor central heating in the bathroom/wet room. The air conditioning not working. They did give me a fan to use but the noise was so bad during the night and it really didn’t do much. The guy cleaning the room did a good job with the cleaning but he really didn’t have an idea in replenishing my room. The cost of evening meals and the cost for lunch time meals. Having to pay for the room as if there were two people in it. OK I can sort of understand this but I should at least have got a reduction for one breakfast especially when I only have fruit, cereal and a coffee. I believe they should charge the cost of the room then as an extra add on the price of breakfast if taken. This way I would have found it very slightly fairer as I would only have had to pay for one breakfast. OK so this place is probably better for one night but no longer especially when sitting outside watching the wonderful views and then the silly people shouting when they are doing their tasks for doing the getting to know each other events and working together events. Once there it’s a little isolated unless you have transport.

    Being able to turn on the tap and drink the fabulous water. The views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    All in all despite the above very pleasant.(if we had not had a rented car our opinion would be diff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did forget to ask in advance about steps and distances between e.g.room and reception,room and breakfast area .we are two elderly people with slight moving disabilities.somekind of advance warning about this would have been useful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    For nature lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself (at least the building where we stayed) is quite old. Our room was tiny but that's half of the problem. The real disaster for me was the height of the ceiling. It seemed we found ourselves in a rabbit-hole or a cave)

    The territory is superb! Its beauty outweighs all the inconveniences of the accomodation. And it's only a 20-25 minute drive from the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel architectural design in harmony with nature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic hotel architectural design in harmony with nature as the hotel is hidden behind the trees. Awesome view to the Baltic Sea. Very nice employees who try their best to make your stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and relaxing. Great reception desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room is a little small and was very congested in the mornings.

    We stayed for our wedding night and the hotel left a gift for us in our room, which was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    One night in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of the hotel near our room was in construction, so we didn't appreciate the view from our room because of the works.

    We stayed only one night. The position in the wood on the Baltic sea was amazing, there are nice walks in the surroundings. The hotel is not far from Helsinki's center and it has a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    All in all we had a great night there, the location is breathtaking and the staff is very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the rooms are a bit too small. And would have been great if we could open the wide window.

    The staff was extremely kind and flexible. The breakfast was amazing. The style of the hotel is unique.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to visit once.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach must be much better..its not pretty .they dont care about it...

    Very nice breakfast!))good location, outside of the city, but not far from metro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Everything was fabulous especially breakfasts, the view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fabulous especially breakfasts, the view from the window and the wildlife around the hotel. It was my fourth time in this hotel, and it remains my very favourite place in Helsinki.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Amazing 60s style, would be perfect if they just rebuilt the sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sea-front sauna burned down about a year ago, and despite renovating much of the hotel (which is/was ongoing when we visited) there seem to be no plans to rebuild it. At the moment you must book the inner hotel sauna and then walk along a long corridor, across a yard, down a path, etc to get to the sea, which is far from ideal - it really is quite a long way. One of the main draws of this hotel used to be the sea-front sauna. Our room (in June there was a cold week) was cold with no heating possible. The restaurant is not great for vegetarians.

    The 60s style of this place is beautiful, it's been well kept and it feels like living in the past (in a good way). Many original features remain. The place has a very laid back and cool feel in the public areas. The coastline in this area is very lovely. There are many wooded trails to wander along and explore also. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Very impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not able to serv us in Swedish. They would get a BIG thumds up if they did, after all swedish is one of the offical languages in Finland. But we are still thankful for their service.

    Great location! A very calm and beautiful place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, great setting with access to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps not limited to this hotel, but the external public areas were dominated by guests who smoked. It might be nice to provide a designated area where anyone who would rather not get lung cancer could sit and enjoy the evening sunshine....

    We stayed for 3 nights in the 'Forest Block' which is distinct from the building containing the hotel reception and restaurant. Our room was modern, clean and tidy with all the expected facilities. The hotel is located in coastal woodland and this provides a really pleasant aspect and the internal public areas have a very relaxed feel to them. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly, helpful and engaging. There is a small bus which can be taken to the local metro station, which proved useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous location by the sea, with options to hire kayaks/various boat equipment to explore nearby. Floating deck off the hotel jetty with table where you can sit with coffee or takeaway dinner - and just take in the fantastic views. Comfortable room with lovely natural wooden theme in furniture and throughout main building. Nice food in hotel restaurant and good breakfast buffet. Drinks and snacks available from reception bar most of the day, with board and card games in lobby area. Friendly service/staff at every turn. We chose the location for a bit of a nature retreat after an intensive month long holiday in Europe, a lovely and relaxing way to end our trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    : (
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was regather poor, and gluten and lactose free options were minimal. Same with non pork options( Stuff was nervous and shamelessly reminded (3 times while I was filling the application) to swipe my bank card

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Picturous, peaceful, and extremely comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carrying the bags up and down two flights of short stairs.....

    Very comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, and a view from the room which was priceless. Only drawback was that the hotel was out of the city but then if you want to be in the city don’t stay here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean, peaceful hotel surrounded by nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant staff wasn't very professional. When my friend asked for with gluten allergy asked for gluten-free bread, the waitress accidentally brought her normal bread, which she realized only after my friend had already eaten it. To apologize, the restaurant offered her wine for free with a 10% discount on the food, which seemed ridiculous as the mix up caused her having to stay in the hotel room for the rest of the evening. This ruined our evening plans.

    Clean, peaceful hotel surrounded by nature. Good breakfast, friendly hotel staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel at the outskirts of Helsinki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vegetarian food at the Rantapuisto restaurant was yummy but kinda pricey for just a tiny little portion. We ate there the first night, but it's more interesting to head out to the supermarket nearby (there's also a little pizzeria), or there are options for food near the metrostation.

    Lovely hotel at the outskirts of Helsinki. Very quiet place, clean room with some lakeview. The building has got that nostalgic kinda 70ies feeling. Friendly helpful staff, green environment and lots of parkingplace. Nice little forest with some trails nearby, perfect to walk through to the metrostation if you want to go to Helsinki by public transport. Nice terraces and just at the border of the lake. Quiet and relaxing. Very delicious breakfast buffet with lots of options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Being by the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major construction going on and they started super early by 7-7.30am every morning right outside of our room!!! Lots of noise:-( did not know this before arrival and would have made a difference on our booking!!!

    Being by the ocean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    The location is very quiet and truly beautiful with a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very quiet and truly beautiful with a private beach and gorgeous views from the dining room and other areas of the hotel. Restaurant is also very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Best place by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no good restaurants close to hotel. A lot of immigrants in Itis center.

    Great location near the sea. Good dinner. Met little rabbit right in front of the window in the morning time and there was a white swan slowly moving by the sea. Quite and relaxing place. Strongly reccond to visit this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Very beautiful and tranquil surrounding nature - forest, sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city, so you need time to get there, and preferably own car because taxi is not cheap. Worth it though!

    Very beautiful and tranquil surrounding nature - forest, sea, islands, birds and animals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    A hotel that exceeds expectations for the stars and price presented
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna area is a little old and some outside areas were looking abandoned (maybe because of the season).

    The area around is just beautiful, you can take a bike and just go around. Amazing view from the rooms, lots of sitting areas in the hotel. Very good restaurant with great service. Big gym across the street for hotel guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    An exceptional pick in the nature of Suomi land.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    An exceptional pick in the nature of Suomi land. Tranquility is the best word to describe this place. We used to get there by the public transport and have explored the sights by foot. If you got tired of the city, book this one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the money, is better than what it looks like in the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was nice. Not the most extensive breakfast buffet but quite ample and the view from the restaurant is wonderful. Place is clean and the staff was very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    wonderful place, we want to come back in the summer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a little bit cold in the room

    The location is amazing, right near the forest and the lake, great place to relax, the room was clean and comfortable, warm floor in the bathroom was a plus) great choice of food for breakfast, very nice receptionists)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful area, peaceful, relaxing, great breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful area, peaceful, relaxing, great breakfast, friendly staff, use of bikes so you could explore the area. Close to metro and then only 15 mins from Helsinki Centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place and surroundings for a good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quite nice hotel in the woods looking down at the seaside. The place is quiet in march, you can therefore appreciate the peaceful hotel and discover the beautiful surroundings even though it is all frozen. The metro station is a 20min walk from the hotel and you are in the center of Helsinki very quickly with efficient service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.8
    Worth to stay if you have a car.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Value to stay, but the location is very far. The nearest metro is Vuosaari, but you can walk from the metro to the hotel. You can take either taxi or bus 560. You can alight at 3rd stop to walk in to the hotel. You need 10-12 min for walking distance to the hotel. If you have a car, it is worth to stay there, otherwise, you think twice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.8
    Drunk teens staggered around the hotel the whole night and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drunk teens staggered around the hotel the whole night and were crying in front of my door. I had to shut them up by myself. In the morning I found empty bottles in the corridor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Inexpensive hotel on the outskirts of Helsinki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Near the hotel the area is gradually populated by migrants. Directly on site is a construction site - laying a water pipe. They work only in the daytime, they do not interfere with sleep.

    Inexpensive hotel on the outskirts of Helsinki. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    If driving a car, here is a good choice outside of city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is outside of Helsinki city center. We drove here and the view outside is really beautiful in the morning. Breakfast buffet is great! Room is not big, but comfort enough for us. Hot shower is also great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Quiete place, nice sea view from the room and restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior of the superior room is very grey and modest, not exactly what you expect from this kind of room. However price was rather low too. Cold in the public areas, including restaurant.

    Quiete place, nice sea view from the room and restaurant, helpful personnel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Elegant beautiful gem in the forest by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin bed could have some extra room

    Beautiful simple elegant architecture, great sea view, the bed in the twin room could be a little bigger, but overall very comfortable, we stayed during winter season, will definitely come back again for summer or any other season again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel in every way
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the surroundings were under reconstruction so heavy machinery all around but it did not spoil the stay.

    Beautiful quiet location, excellent breakfast, extremely clean rooms, friendly staff, perfect attitude towards dogs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    - The beach close to the hotel is nice for a walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The metro was1,5 km away, also the supermarket. It was not a problem for us, because we had rented a car, but without it, it would have been a bit inconvenient.

    - The beach close to the hotel is nice for a walk. - Breakfast was very good. Well organized, sufficient quantity and very good quality. Best breakfast during our trip. - Quiet location - Staff is nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful example of Scandinavian style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It may be not very comfortable for those who travel without a car, but I guess it's clear from the map attached to the hotel description.

    I've been travelling a lot but so far this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Perfect example of traditional Scandinavian architecture hidden in Nordic nature. We were so happy to stay here that we also booked an extra night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Great place with a lot of human made difficulties.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a taxi from the parking to the hotel and an other taxi from the reception to the room. The Restaurant calls fish soup a patato soup, just because they put a piece of dead fish (quite cold) in it. The pats to soup was good, the dead fish less.

    Location. Rooms a little small but OK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Meet beautiful nature of Finland and interesting architecture only 20 min from Helsinki
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area and sports buildings were in construction which was not very welcoming, but hopefully they are ready soon and the result will be as great as everything else we saw.

    Special design hotel in the middle of beautiful nature by the sea. Food was surprisingly good for hotel food. Smaller rooms in separate building had been renovated in very nice scandinavian / Finnish style fitting the woods and atmosphere in older building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    I'm happy I discovered this place two years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'm happy I discovered this place two years ago. Not far from the center of the city but in the nature at the same time. All you can see from the windows are pines and the sea. And the building is designed in harmony with them. Hint: you can walk to the metro station through the wood path that goes along the coast, just turn left when you left the hotel - it takes about 20 minutes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent accomodation in Helsinki if having a car and some time to enjoy the countrysise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the room cannot be opened, just a small narrow space, almost no free air entering! At the restaurant at 10 after brakfast the lady not very welcoming staying a little bit working with mobile and the computer, even if sitting down at the end, where no tables have to be prepared for lunch. Much works being done between the reception and the rooms building, not very easy to pass through with suitcases.....

    Excellent staff, beautiful surroundings, free bike all day long, very good breakfast and dinner at a relatively reasonable price for an expensive country as Finland

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location in a green area near the beach to be relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel access by public transport is not the best. No safe box in the room. The house keeping of the room could be better.

    Location, view and breakfast was very good. The reception staffs are very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    The place around the Hotel is very beautiful, in the forest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel far away from Helsinki, and not well deserved by public transports. I sent them an email a day before to ask how to come from the airport and never had a response. Had to manage bu myself and take two buses in the night and walk 1km with the suitcases. You can take bikes for free which is good but they only have four and the Hotel is huge so you have to wake up early if you want one. We had to take a taxi Back to the airport as we had our plane early and with public transport it took too long. They said it would be around 40€ Turned out we payed 54.

    The place around the Hotel is very beautiful, in the forest and near the sea. You have a beautiful walk to do in the forest by the sea with small harbours, very Nice. Very will located if you have rented a car, a bit less if you are using public transports The Hotel is huge, breakfast is very good. You can take bikes for free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast, the nature at the location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clearness,no activities for the kids,not enough equipment at the kitcen.The first night they didnt give us the room that we booked (size),and after when i was complained they told me that they are overbooked.The next day we took our normal room,but they gave us discount for the first night.

    The breakfast, the nature at the location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Quiet hotel in the woods, on the sea shore.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet hotel in the woods, on the sea shore. Mystical place for night walks by the moon-lit shore. Fair restaurant both for a breakfast and for a dinner. Very polite and helpful staff. Standard rooms are small, but very cosy and comfortable. They are renovated recently, each one has a kettle, the windows are possible to open. There are self-service areas on each floor, where you find iron and freezer and the cloth dryer. The common areas of the hotel are pretty old, but it's one of first boutique eco-hotels in Europe, and many travelers will say it needs renovation, but I will say you will enjoy being there and value for that price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Quirky hotel for lovers of Scandi style by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a complaint but a little remote without own transport as little hopper bus from Metro station stops running at 18:00. Though this adds to the sensation of being off the beaten track. That with the right connections could be in central Helsinki in 30 mins

    Fantastic location in the woods near the sea. Sooo relaxing. Great food in the restaurant brilliant choice at breakfast too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    WE WILL BE BACK ♥
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extras are very expensive. Sauna is open just 2 hours a day.

    Beutiful enviorment and view. Very good breakfast. Helpful stuff advice us nice trip in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Land of peace and quiet in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is just perfect for relaxing & exploring. It is located near the lake, just 15 min to metro station which you can take to get to the Helsinki center (15 minutes, and you're there). You can rent bikes at hotel and ride along the seaside - very beautiful and peaceful. There are few nice cafes to have lunch in the neighborhood. The room in the sea wing is large, clean and very comfortable. Definetly recommend for those seeking for quite rest in the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    We stayed for a night - great place to avoid city buzz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing actually comes to my mind.

    Very nicely located hotel - just at the seaside (20m). And the interior is great - a lot of original wooden details in combination with glass. Like the classic design of the summerhouses of Soviet Union of 60-70s. Don't change the interior - it's really classy! :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    As we were not hurrying we enjoyed our stay a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bus arrives every 30 or 60 minutes. The last one arrives about 6 p.m. or you can walk 20 minutes from the metro station to the hotel as well.

    We liked the breakfast and our appartment a lot. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel, it takes you in 5 minutes to the metro station. The metro takes you in further 20 minutes to the Central railway station from where you can explore Helsinki easily by foot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Super location by the beach, you can go for lovely walks...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super location by the beach, you can go for lovely walks along the coast side. Great breakfast offering traditional smoked salmon and delicious cream puffs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no folder with hotel and room specific info, as I am used to seeing in most hotels; thus, I had to go ask the reception on, for example, how to access the sauna. Similarly, foods were not properly labeled at breakfast (I had to specifically ask for ingredient lists in some cases). The hotel is not easy to reach without a car or taxi (though if you like to walk, there is no trouble).

    The view from this hotel (we had a room in the sea wing) was quite excellent; it really soothed the nerves. Largely, the service was excellent, and all the facilities were of good quality as well (our superior-class room even had air conditioning that we could adjust ourselves). The superior-room sauna was quite good. We really liked the bikes that were available to guests free of charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Don't book sea-view rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    At least half of the hotel territory was dug over. Though photos are technically correct sea-view room doesn't feel that comfortable or welcoming. The room was too simple and basic, and bathroom was not comfortable at all. One of hosepipes was leaking and doors of shower couldn't be fully closed therefore be prepared for water on the floor. The breakfast was very simple, not much choice of food. Can't say breakfast was very tasty.

    The best thing about this hotel is it's location - sea is nearby and those who like hiking will be happy with existing trails. Hotel is also not far from big supermarkets if you have a car. Wi-Fi signal was fast enough and view from room windows was very good indeed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Still good place to stay in Helsinki area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've been staying here for several years, and unfortunately I observe negative trends in overall quality which are hard to break down into specific issues. The only thing I can highlight now: a lot of building work around damages the impression.

    Tried "apartment" in separate row house. We did not need a kitchen, but the room looked bigger on the picture, and it indeed was. As usual, surroundings are nice (affected by building), breakfast is quite acceptable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    We were delighted with our stay in Hotel Rantapuisto - 10/10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel view is amazing - both the forest and the sea. Great variety of delicious breakfast options. Clean and warm rooms. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice. Everyone speaks English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Summer nights in Helsinki
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning service is very poor, floors were not wiped once in 4 days and one day the bathroom was not cleaned at all. Beds were made sloppily. Although we paid an extremely high price for the rooms (because of a congress going on in the city), we were denied window front tables in the restaurant. Those were all reserved for superior rooms, which is very annoying since they were empty most of the time. With that you are not even given the chance of a window table even by going for breakfast very early. I was told that superior rooms need to have a guarantee for a table in case they don't have much time for breakfast. Very weird explanation, and it does not mean that all nice tables should be taken )in my POV). There was a very loud party going on in the restaurant the last night of our stay, with drunk guests slamming doors in the middle of the night and loud music playing. Not very respectful towards other guests, and apparently the reception did not care. The heating could not be turned down in my room, and I got a ventilator placed in my room to cool it down. I did not think this was funny.

    The hotel is located in a lovely forest with a great sea view in the outskirts of Helsinki, about a 25 min drive from the city center. The food served in the restaurant is just great, service is good and the ambiente in that setting beautiful. If you do not have a room next to an entrance door the rooms are quiet and the windows have a good acoustic insulation. There was a building site next to my room, but thanks to the windows I did not hear anything. The room equipment is basic, and the standard rooms do not have a minibar in the rooms. There is a joint fridge for all rooms in a small kitchen unit. I had a room with 2 separate beds. WiFi works great. Because of the beautiful setting I am going to go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, highly recommendable!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love this hotel! It was the 3 time, I was here. Nice modern, very comfordable rooms & spacious bathrooms (though there are several categories). Very clean. Good, very friendly service. Absolutely great is the typical finnish architecture of the main building and the location in the wood, near the water. Very nice breakfast. Only point is that you need a car; about 30 min. located from Helsinki City centre. Good value for your money, though this is Finland, so do not expect too cheap accomodation, but..... it is well worth!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Romantic
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too soft bed, cleaning lady could do more (cleaning sand from beach from the floor).

    Very good breakfast, nice location, sea view. Nearby sauna. Calm environment. The staff prepared early breakfast box. Metro in close vicinity.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Our favorite place to stay in Helsinki - so close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our favorite place to stay in Helsinki - so close to the city (by car) and also to the sea and nature facilities. Good breakfast and (the apartment is) excellent for staying with kids. Already done booking for the next year vacation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful, serene and very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities didn't include a gym. Not a brand new hotel, but clean and well-maintained.

    The location is wonderful - peaceful, serene, close to nature (beach and wooded area). Walking in the area was lovely! Breakfast was great! Although conferences are hosted at the hotel, it didn't feel busy or crowded at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, beautiful sea views, lovely beach, forest...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel, beautiful sea views, lovely beach, forest walks nearby. Easy to park and wonderful decor. Exceptional. One of the best hotels we've stayed in on tour in Europe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    A real piece of paradise in a finnish forest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing more to wish)Just may be for those,who are not keen on walking and don't travel by car the location might seem a bit too far away.

    A real piece of paradise in a finnish forest!Incredibly fascinating landscapes of nordic nature,very beautiful surroundings(wild hares and squirrels included!),very clean rooms,very tasty breakfast,great view from the window and really soft and comfortable bed!!!Want to be back again there as soon as possible!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Romantic night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfortable and there was huge amount of pillows but i like to sleep with flat pillow and that was not an option.

    Our luxurious room was good and sea view awesome. It was nice place just to relax and go for a romantic walk with a husband. Special table for the breakfast was surprise.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Best place to stay in Helsinki!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing!

    Fantastic hotel with a wonderful location. Quiet and cosy, spacious rooms and very close to the seafront. The view from the seaview rooms is unbelievable. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    Very good place on the sea shore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some elements of luck of maintenance: no number on the door of the room, broken leg of the coffee table, wobbly shower holder...

    Very good place on the sea shore. Good restaurant with rich buffet breakfasts. Relatively calm and silent area. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater was not turned on when we checked in. Even with heater on it was not very warm, rather more adapted to Nordic visitors.

    Good breakfast and clean room. Note that it is about 2km to the metro station, from there 20 minutes to the center of Helsinki.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Awesome stay close to the nature
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find something what I could complain.

    There were some problems with booking, I couldn't get the room I booked. But the stuff was super nice and they offered me a better room for the same price and gave some little presents as a compensation. The room was very comfortable and the location basically in the forest and on the beach was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Great location for a weekend although far from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant closed on Sunday :(

    Great location for a weekend although far from the centre. Still going my metro/bus was pretty easy / quick. Very good restaurant and spacious rooms. Nice open desing of the hotel even though it is oldish :) I'd go again definitely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    gorgeous stay on the shore
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    it's not my first time at this hotel, and as usual the stay was stellar. the breakfast is really good, i loved the new a la carte menu at the restaurant, everything was delicious. the wine selection is pretty decent too. the views are stunning and the foresty area around the hotel - beautiful. and it's only 15 minutes drive from the city centre. amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Awesome, definitely not the last stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for this price ! Facilities could be renovated but I can imagine the price then.

    Very spiritual place. I've never been to hotel like this. In the touch with nature anywhere you are in this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is nested at an amazingly beatuful location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small hygienic shower in the bathroom was leaking a bit, but it was fixed the same day we notified the staff. This was "the worst" shortage of our stay, the rest couldn't be better.

    The hotel is nested at an amazingly beatuful location providing comfort and solitude. The personnel is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Good for a get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not the best for people using public transport, esp. if carrying heavy luggage.

    Nice breakfast. Well-preserved 60's-70's decor and architecture in the halls and lobbies etc.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar open after 23 o'clock (but it was the mid-days between X-mas and New Year's Eve) though there's one downstairs.

    View, superior room and that little greeting in the room to greet us made our trip memorable. Architecture and the nature was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    7.9
    Very good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities are old and due that doesn't look so clear, but for the price its good proposition.

    Very good value for the money. Not so close to Helsinki, but if travel with car its perfect. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rantapuisto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: