Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Arkipelag 4 stars

Strandgatan 35, AX-22100 Mariehamn, Finland

#5 of 17 hotels in Mariehamn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 836 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire hotel is back in the 1980's and everything needs to be renovated. The breakfast selection of hot items was poor.

    The location was close to our customer where we were having a meeting in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative ! Real Aanland hospitality ! A tour desk may be missing as no excursions are propsed from The town , Yet For just one night , in between boats crossing the Baltic, it can be also perfect just for rest. The Bycicle are on for free which is Great !

    A real Gem in the Baltic sea ! Wonderful view from the harbour facing rooms. Friendly staff and very efficient !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Overall experience very good. Staff friendly and helpful- both at reception and in restaurant. Room meticulously clean, bed very comfy. Didn't use sauna but outside pool good with plenty loungers/seating. Lovely varied breakfast. Excellent location - 5 minutes in taxi from ferry terminal - right on sea front and near the beach. Lovely stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, from the friendly, enthusiastic staff to the spacious room with a super comfortable bed and a large balcony overlooking the sea. It was a dream! Breakfast was perfect with lots of Åland products on offer. The icing on the cake was the flying of the Australian flag outside the hotel entrance during my stay. A real VIP touch. Thank you again for an amazing stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At night there was a lot of noise which is why my score for facilities is a little bit lower.

    The hotel is centrally located. The sauna was nice too. The breakfast in the morning was excellent! There were lots of local delicacies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I totally enjoyed my stay at Arkipelag. Located on the waterfront, in the heart of Mariehamn, the hotel offers many facilities, including a sauna, casino, bar, restaurant, bingo and so much more. It is a place for Ålanders to gather and socialise. A hub for tourists and the only place to stay while visiting Åland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The room was very dirty. Dust everywhere; the curtains sticky to the touch and there were a number of missed spots in the bathrooom including some bodily waste on the basin. 2. The air was extremely dry! Very sore eyes and throat causing an uncomfortable sleep. 3. The noise from the air con extractor outside of the room, hummed all night. 4. Very poor selection of movies and only news channels in English.

    Great location & Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was spotless and spacious with a seating group and a balcony. Staff was amiable and always helpful. You can borrow bikes for free to explore Mariehamn. The hotel is perfectly located both close to the sea and city centre as well as the main buss stop. Delicious breakfast, very fresh products with a lot of choices of warm and cold breakfast. There were even local products available such as ålandic pancakes, yoghurt and muesli.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have appreciated early breakfast at 7 AM, unfortunately only available from 8 AM. The staff made an effort and accepted us in already at 745 AM.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sauna can be used only between 5 pm and 7 pm. It can be booked privately after 7 pm. - It is not comfortable for working people. Sound isolation is not good.

    Tea pot in the room and local apples on the receiption. Tasty breakfast. Sea view from the room. Near to shopping street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you're an early bird, the weekend serving time for the breakfast is at 8 AM. The (free) sauna could have longer opening hours.

    The room was already prepared, although we arrived 1,5 hours before check-in time. We could use the sauna (and the small indoor pool) for free every late afternoon. The breakfast was really good and varied with lots of local produtcs. Bicycles were offerred for free. The room was rather big with a nice bathroom containing both a bathtub and shower. It's a nice view on the sea side. Free tea and coffee and a water boiler in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot complain.

    Helpull and service oriented staff at the reception desk. Also the restaurant staff was very helpfull. Good service and attitude also when travelling with our dog. Nice pool and chillout area for customers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor, indoor, and sauna arrangement needs work. There is a 5 to 7 pm drop in for the sauna but it is not a "drop in" and more like a "gong show". Hotel would be better of to make it open to rental for all hours or put a 16 year age limit in place.

    Central location and good room size. Breakfast was very good. The staff was very good. Parking was a breeze.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, very friendly and helpful staff, quiet room, nice design, spacious room, very clean, very good breakfast, we received a great deal of attention

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A noisy nightclub-fight on the street...:). Nothing else.

    Excellent bacon and eggs at the breakfast. Good coffee. Fresh fruits. An option to make your own fresh orange juice. Easily accessable location by a car. American cars making V8 noise on the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inget.

    Stort och fint rum. Trevlig personal. Utmärkt och riklig frukost. (Bastu finns också, som vi dock inte utnyttjade. Likaså restaurang som såg ut att ha god mat). Parkering utanför. Rabatterat pris denna gång som gjorde att det prismässigt kunde konkurrera med andra hotell.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night. There are no quiet rooms, open air band on one side, pub crowd and rock music on the other.

    Helpful and efficient staff cheerful greeting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our rooms (337) was not properly cleaned when we came back after a day out (June 25). Not properly = towels on the floor. Sofa table not wiped. Dirty glass left on sofa table. Info prior to visit was that we could borrow bikes, but they were always occupied. There was no way to change one hotel room from suite to double when using booking.com. Staff in reception on June 24 were too junior to take any initiative themselves (to change one room).

    I liked the Åländsk frukost. I liked the outdoor pool. I liked the live band that played on June 24.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free loan of bikes. Very good breakfast:) Very good quality room:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good selection of food, with Åland flavours. Their bread is really good and I enjoyed their croissants. The Åland cakes were really tasty too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking would be even better.

    Great breakfast and luch!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the stair cases is worn out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden Restaurant was surprisingly good. Water in bathroom hot. Everything very clean. Convenient locale

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some noise in the night from the nightclub because our rooms were on that side of the builing

    Everything was really fine and perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Tea /cofee in the room :

    Location Price Nightclub Downstairs Very Friendly Breakfast Lady :) Wi-Fi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderful facilities ! want to visit to this hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    gluten free bread options on the breakfast.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Rooms were nice size ass well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious rooms. very comfortable stay. Personnel was really nice and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room too cold and problem with the drainage

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    spacious, comfortable rooms; good breakfast; excellent location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel by the harbour is excellent. Spacious room with a balcony, comfortable bead, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free bicycles

    Large new, clean and excellent location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exercise facilities

    excellent breakfest and comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The opening hours for the sauna and pool could have been more generous.

    Nice staff. Nice balcony facing west.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sauna can be used only between 5 pm and 7 pm. It can be booked privately after 7 pm.

    Nice big room with beautiful sea view, very friendly personnel (we arrived at 7 am and they gave us a room right away). Location is top and around 10 min by car from the main port.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There was a construction going on, and during the day there was occational drilling noice (I never heard it as I was gone during the day). This did not disturb my husband, but might be annoying for some.

    Usually Arkipelag is more expensive than the hotel I use on my trips to Mariehamn. This time they had an offer, which made the 4 star luxury very affordable. My husband was with me on my business trip and had to stay in the hotell all day due to hip injury. The facilities were great: he could sit on the room balcony & watch iceyachts passing by, and in the bathroom there was both shower and tub. The breakfast was "good standard breakfast", nothing really exeptional, but nice and fresh with e.g. local juice and cheese.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There could have been more facilities. The club opens on wednesday. One cleaning lady dropped all the clean bed sheets on the dirty floor. Not a good thing when you are allergic on dust mites.

    Really nice staff at the lobby. Classy interior that we really liked. The location was perfect because it's only one minute walk to the city center. Got sea side of the hotel with no extra charge.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the hotel is a bit oldfashioned and would need some renovation and modernisation. Currently the hotel is not on the level that you would expect from a four-star hotel. Also the staff should be more friendly towards its customers. 180 euro price per night offered us a poor price-quality ratio.

    Location is perfect in the city centre and just next to the sea. There is a nice outdoor pool with many seats to spend time in the sun. Hotel room bed is very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from restaurant and nightclub was very loud and went on far too long . Food in restaurant not as good as others nearby

    Lovely big room nice pool and sauna

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well, the hotel turns into a disco at 22 p.m. Restaurant is outdoor and buzzing like in a pub. Food limited and kitchen closes at 22p.m. Staff is rude and unhelpful. Absolutely not worth the money. Refused to charge me a single room instead of double. Breakfast not a 4 star. Furnishnig outdated and I got a suite. Wifi didn't reach my room and it wasn't the last room on the floor.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi was not working well, balcony bit poor condition, bathroom from the past and bit worn out.

    Pool nice, breakfast superb, hotel's public sauna nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Couple

    Although we were on a high floor there was a lot of noise from the street. There were people revving motorbikes late at night and the noise from the night club just up the road was very loud until around 03:00. Then in the morning we had the noise of street cleaning machines. Our room was on the opposite side to the water front where we had expected it to be quieter. Unfortunately we had to sleep with the balcony door wide open as our room was so hot. The bar inside the hotel was never open. The only bar was the one by the pool. We were disappointed there was nowhere to get coffee and a snack during the day. Surprisingly there was little disturbance from the casino.

    The hotel was extremely convenient for the convention centre. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom very well equipped with separate bath and shower.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was hot and air felt stuffy, even if it was not hot outside. Toilet seat was shaky.

    Good location and excellent breakfast! Room was surprisingly big.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was arranged clumsily with the toilet under the washbasin. The reception area was not welcoming and needed brightening up and reorganising.

    Breakfast was generous and the balcony made the room very pleasant. The location on the seafront was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we missed was a tea/coffee-maker in the room.

    Good location and comfortable room at a very good price. Breakfast greatly improved since an earlier visit, much local produce.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cleanliness of the fridge in room 312 was not acceptable.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool and bar outside. Sunny side in the evening!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The weekend night life across the street made it impossible to sleep.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no air conditioning in the room and I could not get WIFI in my room.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to bus stop and cruise ship shuttle

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel had Wi-Fi issues...

    Friendliness and cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi did not work at all.

    Breakfast with plenty of local products. Good sauna.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Hotel Arkipelag traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: