Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Katajanokka 4 stars

Merikasarminkatu 1 A, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00160 Helsinki, Finland

#17 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3409 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet did not work at all at first, we had to use a lot of time to fix it, but after that it was ok. Friendly reception staff was taking a really good care of the problem. I think there was still too huge difference between the staff in the reception and the staff in the restaurant. In the restaurant, I experienced a lack of education, not always so friendly staff, fruits and vegetables were not fresh during the breakfast and often coffee, milk etc was empty and no staff nearby. The staff from restaurant also forgot to put sauna on for my colleague so it was cold at the time of reservation. Small things and easy to fix too!

    The staff at the reception was exceptionally friendly and did their job with a pleasure but not too serious. Room was really beautiful and there was more than enough space. Location is also almost perfect. I liked the atmosphere in the hotel and the history gives a little bit of extra to it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No individual air-conditioning in each room, and windows are shut. After you spend the night sweating you can ask for a special handle to open a window and try to get a breeze. No room service, average breakfast. Places the aesthetic and history over actual comfort.

    Prison rehab'd into hotel, big rooms (very big), good amenities, beer tap in lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No more coffee machine available on breakfast (it used to be last year).

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, all issues were solved in reasonable time. Authentic atmosphere, peaceful place, beautifull area around the hotel, comfort bed and pillows, silent room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a little out of town, but the tram stop is literally outside. I had no problem getting around to my business meetings etc from this hotel.

    I loved this place. It is expensive, but that's Finland for you! It was my last hotel on a long business trip and from the moment I arrived my stay was fantastic. The staff are lovely, the building is fascinating, the rooms are comfortable and SILENT, shower was amazing, breakfast, everything really!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price! That week during my stay was extremely busy for hotels in Helsinki and it cause sky high prices.

    Ineresting place to stay knowing that there was a prison in the past. Staff was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very expensive hotel unfortunately and I was disappointed that thd sauna is only free to guests on the weekend.

    The breakfast was outstanding and the ambience of the converted prison is special. The suburb of Kataranjokka has some superb examples of Art Nouveau architecture and a tram stops close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive comparef to similar properties. Rooms too hot. Limited hours of sauna

    Location in Helsinki was great. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Functional gym. Unique hotel was interesting being a former gaol

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too hot because couldn't open window and there was no aircon. Heaters seemed to be on. Stayed for 3 nights and room was only partially serviced each day.

    Location great. Breakfast was substantial with good variety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff very pleasant - just really didn’t tell us much about facilities etc. when we checked in - no information about hotel or Helsinki in room - we had to keep asking - staff very helpful when we did ask though

    Fabulous atmosphere- this was the old prison - cells converted into very comfortable rooms so very unique. Lovely & quiet, comfy bed, tea & coffee making in room great. Fabulous location - tram stop right outside the door so easy access to everything but can walk into main town if you want - 10 - 15 minutes. Fabulous breakfast in underground restaurant - nice spacious grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not possible to open the windows there, so my wife couldnt sleep well at night because it was not enough air.

    Breakfast was exceptionally good, the building and the interior are very stylish

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cosy but with nice design and very clean. I could feel the spirit of Finland -by the art and local products -which is great when you travel for lesuire. I had amazing time visiting corridors and taking pictures of this historical venue. It really looks like a prison but not in a bad way LOL :) We had great time walking around the hotel taking pictures and trying to find original details around. The only thing that didnt meet my expectation was -that there were no ghosts LOL ;) I really enjoy that stay, and I've already recommend others to stay in your hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ran out of food at breakfast, then out of cutlery and plates. Coffee was terrible, even when changed to "fresh", which it really wasn't. In this kind of a place would expect a proper coffee machine or at least fresh coffee that tastes nice.

    Friendly welcome,professional service. Room lovely and clean, also very quiet, which I liked a lot, no noise from corridors or doors slamming like in many other hotels. Great breakfast options, even if bit messily laid out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a super cool hotel which is a former prison! Many prison features have been kept and it is really cool just walking around inside and outside of the hotel. The rooms have no creepy prison vibe though; very cosy and decorated beautifully. Comfortable bed and nice, airy bathroom. Great breakfast with everything you could wish for. Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is slightly out of the city if you are wanting a city centre hotel, but we still walked to the centre in 20 minutes.

    The hotel is an old, converted prison. The rooms are spacious, with great decor and very comfortable. The bathrooms were also great. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was more than we expected. Lots of choices, hot and cold, to suit all tastes. Very close to the Viking ferry port if you are heading in or out by ferry. We walked there in 5 minutes. The bar is great, and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the dinner in the hotel regular but my husband liked it.

    Everyone who goes to Helsinki should stay in this hotel; it is better than any other tourist attraction in town. It is extremelly interesting to stay in a building which used to be a prison until 2002. Room is very comfortable, location is good and breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    The hotel was really nicely designed, preserving the historic feel but adding lots of luxury and comfort. The room was a good size, with a very comfy bed and fab shower. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts were really good - lots of choice. The tram stops right outside the door, making it really easy to get everywhere too. We thought it was great value for money and we'd definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - I didn't find the staff especially attentive; I am usually getting much more of "let me check what I can do for you" and less of "tough luck" from the reception in other hotels - guys, if it's raining outside, of course guests bring sand on their shoes; how come you weren't able to clean it from the room for 3 days? I mean, yes, you changed bed linens and towels and all, but do you not sweep/vacuum the floors? seriously? at this price level? - it was unfortunate that sauna was closed throughout our stay; being in Finland and not being able to visit sauna, hmmm... (- I am not going to criticize the size of the room; it was really small, but then again, I think that was a part of the charm)

    - the hotel certainly has its atmosphere; the ex-prison bit is a bit gimmicky but not in a bad way - I liked the location a lot; a quiet part of the city, in the middle of art-deco architecture, and yet it's less than 10 minutes walk to the city center - the breakfasts were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the characteristics of the place, if we think about the past of the building. Lots of details kept, but still transformed with really good taste.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was bit uncomfortable. Did not an option for a hard bed.

    Staying in an old jail converted into a hotel was a unique experience. Staff was very polite and helpful. The history room is maintained as an original cell.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks, need better coffee, too bitter and no cream...otherwise can't fault the hospitality there.

    The staff were amazing and really helpful and kind. The room was amazing and the bed was super comfortable. Definitely would go again.😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sauna is open only in the week end for limited time. Saturday morning when I was there it was out of order.

    Really good location, very close to Helsinky city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool and limited access to sauna. The lounge was a bit small and there was often a bit of a wait at the reception as there was only one person on. It’s a short walk or tram to the City Centre, but buy tram tickets before you get there as there you can’t from the hotel

    The design of the hotel is very unique. It means that some of the rooms are a bit small but it’s got character. Very interesting place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was slow. No vacuuming. Until we asked. They only change your sheets if you stay longer than 4 days. But no problems to remind them. Very friendly. Fantastic place to stay. Highly recommended.

    Breakfast, the room, the hotel, location. Excellent place to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant and helpful - quirky building with interesting history - number 4 tram stop directly outside straight to city centre - in any event easy to walk to all sites too

    Breakfast is very basic but sufficient- would have like more fresh fruit Our room on the second floor had the largest windows of the building - made it surprisingly warm even with the heating turned down

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was such a surprise! Impressive decor, wonderful staff who were very friendly and helpful! It's not in the main tourist area, but it's totally worth the 5 minute tram to get there as it's in a quiet area, and close to the sea, as well as the Viking Line terminal which was convenient for us!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice theme linking the hotel to the history of the building’s past use. Excellent restaurant, tram stop outside of the premises and easy walking distance to the town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn’t change anything!

    Brilliant location near the port and tram 4 stop. 8/10 min walk into town. Great hotel located in a former prison. Staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was staying in an older room I suspect that had a bath/shower combination. This was a con as being 5ft9 , the bath was small and I didnt sit in for long . There could have been an anti slip mat inside the bath when showering, I really had to be careful in case I slipped. The shower door seemed counterproductive as lots of water still managed to get on the floor !

    The beds are very comfy and the room was spacious ! . Blackout curtains were an advantage. Very quiet and considerate surroundings . Lovely decor !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing:-))A very Nice stay

    The beds are very good and very comfortable, the breakfast was very good to. Nice and Ouite area, the hotel also very quite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit cold

    The hotel located very quiet and peaceful area yet connected with the city center easily. Tram 4 stops every 5 min, in front of the hotel. Very kind staff and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cosy, comfortable, and quiet room. Nice bathroom and very comfy bed, and a good breakfast selection. The reception staff were lovely and helpful. The location is also nice and quiet; the number 4 tram stops right by hotel making it very fast and easy into the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to write here

    Since my last staying in Katajanokka the carpets on the floor were replaced with new ones. If serious, if anybody wish find most "exotic" hotel, please choose Katajanokka. Maybe the idea to reconstract the former prison into a hotel is not new, but just in Katajanokka its realization is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The previous time we stayed here the room was perfectly clean and shine. So now it needs to be improved. We founded the dust and dirt here and there, especially in the not visible places. The only one channel in russian if it is important for someone, but for me it doesn't matter.

    It was the second time we stayed in the hotel. The room was bigger this time and the view was better as well. Unforgettable atmosphere as usual. Everything was on a top level, service, breakfast. Extremely comfortable bad! We could enjoy the sleeping till afternoon. And silence of course. Sometimes it seemed that no people around here ) no noise, no any sound at all !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent choice at breakfast time. Hotel is in a good location and the tram outside runs very frequently. Room was comfortable and warm- shower was excellent always hot water available no matter what time of day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great stay in Prison. Nice room, wonderful shower and great fun looking round the converted prison. staff are great and breakfast was fab. Located very close to city centre only 10min walk or 3/4 stops on tram (stop write outside hotel).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite a little distance from the city centre, the hotel still located in a great position. Outside the hotel, there is road train stop No.4 and you could reach centre railway station in roughly ten minutes. Also, the Uspenskin Cathedral is at 5-minutes walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast was also nice with plenty of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned well, not cleaned at all, including bathroom, on a couple of days... a 7 night stay. Lighting could improve, difficult to see in wardrobe area. No shelf or table to put suitcase on Room keycards required recalibrating several times Wifi access erratic

    Comfortable warm beds, good sized room, iron& board in room and good to have a safe in room. Great location, easy walk to CBD and tram stop at front of building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting system in the bedroom was frustratingly unintuitive.

    Great breakfast and quiet location but still walkable from central station. Very comfortable bed !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions to find the hotel from the station were a bit unclear - we walked but would have been much easier to get the no 4 tram which stops right outside

    Comfy bed, great breakfast. Hotel decor really quirky and interesting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms contained a kettle with instant coffee and some teabags.. for the money we'd spent on the room I think that a Nespresso or other would be more appropriate. The iron, as with most hotels, was not steam but an electric straightening iron- not ideal. These are the only points that could be improved, but honestly we had the most exceptional stay.

    Great staff and breakfast, the bed was super comfortable and we loved the fact that so many features of the original prison were kept in tact. Very close to central Helsinki and a short walk to our favourite restaurant in the city, SHELTER. All in all a superb experience. As the property is an old prison, the walls were thick and so sound did not penetrate - we had a VERY restful night!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small for a couple

    An old prison turned into a nice hotel, and the whole thing really works. Excellent staff, nice breakfast, good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything. Even the early bird breakfast which was more of muesli bars and tea and coffee. Still a nice touch for those leaving early.

    Seriously good finnish breakfast, everything was top notch. Nice accomodation - no need to hire a taxi to get to the center which is mere 15 minutes of pleasant walk away, cute bathroom. Exceptional friendliness of the reception staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was lovely and very easy to get to via public transport from the airport. We had been given directions from the hotel previously to catch the train from the airport and then catch a number 4 tram which stopped right outside the hotel. We bought a travel ticket that covered us for the whole trip for all modes. The rooms were comfy and although bijou, we expected nothing more as this used to be a jail and the décor has been sympathetically done. The breakfast was amazing and a real opportunity to fill up as Helsinki is not the cheapest place to eat and drink. For an average meal with drinks you will be looking at 80-100 euro. We ate in the restaurant; we had a 'taste of jail' starter to share and 2 main meals plus 4 glasses of wine (100 euro) Very tasty and the staff in the restaurant and the reception were lovely. The location of the hotel was ideal; on an island very near to the docks and sea. The city is a 5 minute tram ride or 10 minute walk. Make time to visit the fortress island. This is well worth the 5euro boat ticket and if you have a travel ticket is included. Amazing to take a trip on a boat when the Baltic is frozen. The weather was -14c but was pleasantly sunny; the cold is not an issue as long as you wrap up well. We bought thermals and Sorrell snow boots and at no point did we feel cold except when we took our gloves off. For a lovely cheap eat, try the old food market on the docks open from 8-18.00 except Sunday. Also be aware that most traditional restaurants are closed on a Sunday (and/or Monday) evening and lots of attractions and museums were closed on a Monday too. All in all, we had a fabulous time. Lovely city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very decent, the same every day. The restaurant staff, mmmm, lacks connection with the guests; well who wants to say a basic hello or be friendly with the guests in the morning?

    The hotel has history. And they refurbished it into a clean, chic, comfortable, and modern hotel. The reception staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel is not in the center but tram line 4 is in front of the hotel which takes you to the center in 4-5 stops. But you can walk it too and you’ll have great little areas to discover. The Viking Line port to Tallinn is 5 min walk. The hotel is in a quiet residential neighbourhood so you are assured of a good night sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some are above.The absence of information about additional services (for example I forget slippers).

    The decor and design of the hotel Very interesting. Good place for specific photo-session. It is in the former prison. The quality of the rooms are amazing: shower, bed, design, everything, expect chair I hurt my leg several times and iron (very old and surface is highly dirty even black) The breakfast is wonderful, it is some kind of Scandinavian style. The staff is friendly and helpful. We have visited some kind of small museum: former prisoners cells, it is incredible, But unfortunately we found it accidentally.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it usually happens - the first impression matters. And if the first impression is made wrong then it leaves some not good feeling. We liked the hotel and everything, but the receptionist who welcomed us didn't do a good job. Her smile was as fake as her eyelashes... Important thing - what do you expect in Finland? Sauna? Yes, we did. But to be in a not-cheap hotel and have to pay 10€/hour/person for a sauna on top, that is not what you expect. We didn't get the right Finnish sauna experience. Too bad :(

    We liked the hotel generally - the design, rooms, halls, breakfast was really good, the idea/concept of the former prison, location is perfect, surroundings etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better. Especially not much cheese option there.

    The hotel has really nice atmosphere. You feel the prison especially enter your room because door is really small :) Bed is really comfortable. Tramway Line 4 is passing through in front of hotel but no need to use because Senato Centre is 10 minutes walking away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choose the larger rooms. My colleague's room was tiny (old cell). My room was spacious and nice. However, what I didn't like was the staff at check-out. I had ordered a taxi in advance and when it didn't show up, the staff didn't seem to care at all. My colleague walked with crutches and we were potentially going to be late for an important meeting. The "I don't care"-attitude wasn't helpful. We found our own taxi.

    This is an exciting place to stay at. Its prison history makes it different and interesting. I liked how it feels both as an hotel but still you can imagine how it was as a prison. The redesign is well done.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot milk in the breakfast and the orange juice wasn't natural, they had low quality packaged juice instead.

    Hotel was a prison before and it's well decorated reminding the customer that period. You can even visit 2 old cells. Super comfortable beds in a very nice and spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a tiny bit further out of town but it is walkable and there is a tram stop right out front of the hotel if you dont want to walk.

    I loved this hotel! The staff and facilities were incredible. Its great value for money. Definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved this hotel. The location is excellent. The staff was friendly and willing to assist and share their passion for Katajanokka. The beds and bedding were very comfortable and the room was beautifully decorated and spacious. Breakfast was top notch! We also liked the location, the tram station is right outside. We would not stay anywhere else in Helsinki and happily recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the largest room I stayed in Finland except resort. Actually, I loved all staff in reception both morning and evening, who are detailed, patient, carefully and so nice. I lost my credit card when staying, they found it and help me to keep. Back to hotel itself, the location is good, plus historic feature, which made me delight to look around in the hotel. The last thing is bed is so comfortable, which make me get up too late. :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be perfect if the house keeper replenished the used vanity kit and more variety of breakfast. It's a shame that the sauna comes at extra cost.

    Very interesting to stay in a prison converted hotel and the architects did a great job! They still maintain a historic cell which is open to the public. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Good value for money!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was at the same level as the last time I stayed there. Great quality, I had this time a better room with a private sauna. Staff very helpful and good buffet for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slippers in the room would be very much appreciated, esp in winter

    Great breakfast, and a very comfy bed. Loved the location - quiet and peaceful, surrounded by the sea, walking distance from the market square and Esplanade.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably one of the best hotels in Helsinki. Located in the center of Island Katajanokka which is 15-20 mins far from cental railway station by tram or on foot. The hotel is re-constructed base on a old jail. With super modern, characteristic and humble luxury design, it brought me an excellent stay experience. Much of choice for delicious buffet breakfast. The Island Katajanokka is also great for visting, as its with numbers of beautiful old building over 100 years history. The view of the north jetty is worth seeing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast! Our room was a Classic Queen Room which was perfect for couple. We had a dinner at hotel's own Restaurant called Linnankellari. We can't praise enough the food, it was super good (you can have everything lactose free!) and the staff was really kind. We loved the atmosphere and the beautiful design of the hotel. Hotel is within walking distance from the city center. Tram stop is in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were extremely comfortable, couldn’t believe it used to ve a prison! Staff were very friendly and helpful, enjoyed looking around the place! They uave some original remains from the time it used to be a prison! Plates used for the breakfast buffet give you a little chill! Would recommend to stay here due to convenience!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was not great ... probably too "Nordic" for my taste, not a great selection of pastries but a rather large selection of cheese, ham and other salty dishes, which is a classic in Finland anyway ... but still not a fantastic selection. They could easily improve their breakfast offering. Finally, the access to the sauna was rather limited for the hotel guests. It would be far better to have the sauna only offered to the hotel guests ...

    Very friendly staff and a very nice hotel - very good vale for the money ... the room was large enough for accommodating a family of 4. A hotel which is not far from the city center with a tram stop which is by the hotel (very practical). The restaurant offered very good meals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    The hotel is amazing! Very cozy and charming despite being a prison in the past. Beds are extremely comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast cooked freshly and offers many options. Transport is on the doorstep and it’s located a few minutes from main attractions! We loved everything about it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hoped to see a ghost, but no luck

    Interesting interior (former jail), 10 mins walking to the centre. Parking is free for weekend at the nearest streets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water given in room (though you can drink tap water) and was a little cold.

    Love that it's an old prison - very cool - and you can go and see two old cells. Good location - very easy to find way around

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed is veeeeery soft which is not my favourite :) Windows are quite high (or very low), don't expect a view from this hotel.

    Nice room and the place is quite special. Nice people smiling in their prisoners outfit :) Breakfast buffet was quite awesome like the room where it is served. Few minutes walk to some bars & restaurants, next to the huge Cathedral and 10 minutes walk to the Senate place and main avenue. Quiet place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The public transport system in Helsinki in general is well organized, but the city layout is wide-spread and the same stop can be at diffrent sides. e. g. round the main station. Watch out. Tram number 4 goes directly to the hotel, only when we were there a traffic jam happened and we had to go.

    Beds like in heaven - I slept so well. Sauna is fine too, please be aware to reserve it in advance for privacy; very nice staff and a big breakfast buffet. Terrific!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be very useful and nice if you could install in the bathroom some small shelves or racks as It was almost impossible to keep my cosmetics bag in the bathroom as the only place you could put them was on the margin of the sink.

    I had a very pleasant stay at Katajanokka hotel in Helsinki, located in a very beautiful and quiet neighborhood at a walking distance to the city center and main shopping locations. The hotel was very quiet, breakfast was delicious and had plenty of choices, the bed was very comfortable and also the room temperature. I also liked the fact that the air conditioning / heating system was not annoying at all in comparison to many other hotels. I liked the shower and the heated bathroom floor. I would definitely stay again at Katajanokka hotel in Helsinki.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good.

    Love this quirky hotel. Reception staff were always nice & friendly. Just a short walk or tram ride to/from the city centre. The rooms are stylish, comfortable & super quiet. Nice breakfast with a good variety of hot & cold food. I would definitely choose this hotel next time I'm in Helsinki!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like about this place. It’s all around awesome from staff to facilities

    Absolutely love this hotel. I stayed there in early 2017 and came again this time bringing friends. The beds are so comfortable and the breakfast is the best I have had anywhere in my travels. Great quality and variety of food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bodyhair from previous guest found on bed - Not such great value, but few places in Helsinki are

    - Located in a quirky building that used to be a prison with original elements preserved - Room overall pleasant and well-equipped, though on the small side - Comfortable and soft bed and pillows, quality bathroom - Good breakfast - Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good.

    We had a very comfortable and very quiet small room . The front desk staff were extremely helpful and efficient. The hotel had a great breakfast. The tram into the centre was right out out the front and went like clockwork every 12 minutes or so. Helsinki is a fascinating place to visit. Recommend the free walking tour as an introduction http://walkingtourshelsinki.com/free-weekends-html/

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Katajanokka is very conveniently situated for the centre of Helsinki and for the ferry port. It is in a quiet corner of a small island. A former prison, it makes an interesting place to stay. The management have left a couple of the cells as they used to be and encourage guests to visit this part of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice available on the buffet. Tin mugs and plates are available, if you want to continue the prison theme at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small (although with all the necessities for a comfortable stay).

    I enjoyed the style of the hotel: keeping alive the history of the building (it has been a prison!) in a tasteful way. Good location. Very friendly and helpful staff. It was also convenient that breakfast was served already from 6.30.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good.

    When I booked it was for the potential 'quirkiness' of the hotel. The reality was a luxury stay in a beautifully transformed building. It was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional. My only regret is not having a top floor room so that I could have come out onto the open prison wing each morning! Though it looks as if it might be out on a limb, it was only a 15 walk to Senate Square along the harbour or 5 minutes from the tram stop outside to the central area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet seat was a bit broken, but nothing major. Just your normal wear and tear over time.

    Interesting hotel built in an old prison. You can still see that it has been a prison and they have left most of the structures there like they were. It still feels nice and not anything like a prison. Room was modern and clean. The location is nice, especially if you are headed to Katajannokka harbor like I was. It's just next door. You can get to the hotel from/to city central by tram which goes like every 10min or so almost outside the door. The breakfast was good and plentyful. Everything you can imagine was there and all was prepared well. I really enjoyed my stay and will probably come again in the future as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As for me, the parking fee could be more attractive for hotel guests. 10-15€ seems Ok, 21€ is quietly high.

    First imagine - little bit far from centre but it's really close, easy to reach the main streets. The house is significally transformed from prison to hotel. Everything is well-organized, the stay is quiet, the beds/linen are extremely good. Nice place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was very comfortable. we like the design of the hotel. you can feel the prison breakfast was incrediblly good. it is close to market square. tram is front of the hotel. rooms were clean. 15 20 minutes to walk to center

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Katajanokka traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: