Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotelli Salpa 3 stars

Lappeenrannantie 265, 54530 Luumäki, Finland

#1 of 1 hotels in Luumäki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1706 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice personnel, like the room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice personnel, like the room with possibility to go straight to the shore of lake. Nice clean territory. Terrific view! Very calm and peaceful atmosphere. (We were there in September.) Recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Convenient lakeside stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit near the road, but not too noisy. Curtains not good at shutting out the light for sleeping; needed extra put up.

    Brilliant swimming options; excellent modern pool and lake with beach. Boats available for hire at 6euros an hour or 10E for two hours. Good selection at breakfast, but no toaster as elsewhere in Finland. Nice wooden swing seats for two outside with view of lake. Easy access en route and good parking adjacent to building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    A true contiguity with nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather poorly designed shower floor always created a flood in the bathroom. A small baffle would certainly help.

    Wonderful place in the forest near the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing stay with a beatiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is basic and the room could be cleaner. We visisted at the end of the season, so the place seemed ready to close for winter and not all summer activities were available anymore.

    The hotel is located by a lake with a beautiful and refreshing view. Rooms are big and have a little porch on the back with table and chairs where you can sit and relax. It has a nice beach, pool and sauna – we really enjoyed these facilities, no extra charge - and their restaurant serves really good food. Plenty of parking space. Location is nice but quite isolated. If you don’t have a car there’s really not much that you can see or do in the surroundings. Lappeenranta is 20/30 mins away by car. Little tip: if you arrive after 22:00 they leave your keys in the mail box outside!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Fun at the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is quite old and really minimal. We had some problems in the bathroom: water flooded from the shower in the whole bathroom. The curtains cannot hide the light in the morning.

    The hotel offers you a lot of facilities and opportunities for your time and for staying within the nature: a beach in the lake, pedal boats, a swimming pool with hydro-massages, sauna, a small gym. You can spend a lot of time having fun at the hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Lakeshore holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel situated on the road between Hamina and Lappeenranta. Easy to find, free parking, good wifi, lots of tv channels. Really good and non expensive food for kids, bicycles for rent, lots and lots of facilities. But above all the picturesque lakeside territory for walking or sitting and watching the sunsets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like porridge a wee bit hotter but it's alright as well as having some sweet pastry for breakfast.

    Location is good. Easy to find. Comfy beds the pillows were small though (we asked for an extra one and it was provided). Sauna and indoor swimming pool were great (working hours 8-11am and 8-10pm). We didn't use the restaurant except for breakfast - usual stuff but enough to feel good. Will definitely come back. Thank you for making our stay pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.4
    Genrerally good though the property conditions are a bit old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath room floor is not well fabricated that the whole bathroom floor was flooded with water when you take the shower. You must use the provided brush to sweep the flooded water to the drainage hole. Further, the rental is a bit higher relatively to the room condition.

    The swimming pool is good to have provided different water ejecting stream for massage. Further, the sauna is just behind the swimming pool. After sauna, you can immediately jump into the cool water of the swimming pool. It is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    This hotel locates in a quiet place with a nice view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say.

    This hotel locates in a quiet place with a nice view from the room to a lake. The personnel was friendly and really helpful, a small issue with a room was solved really quickly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    More varied breakfast would be better. Cleaning service, though unpressing (which is good), could be more attantive. Sometimes at nights, silverfish can be seen in a bathroom. Quite an old furniture in the room (one chair was unsteady). And personally, I'd prefer harder mattress and not satin bed linen.

    Very good location - near the Russian-Finnish border, but away from the highway. The near road is not very busy. Beautiful sight from the window to the lake and pleasant surroundings. Good bathroom. Nice staff, speaking several languages (including good Russian). We've been provided with a baby crib and children's potty for free. Well-equiped kitchen (2 fridges, 2 stoves, dishwasher, microwave oven, kettle, 3 coffee makers and lots of pans, dishes and cutlery). We've used sleds for free. Also, one can use washing machine, firewood, fishing gear, swimming pool and sauna for free (we haven't). All in all, I think, we'll come back here, in summer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn’t look too special on the front, towards the road. Restaurant was ok, nothing special. Breakfast selection was wide, but not too good.

    Great location, by the lake. Our 3 person room had its view over the lake. Amazing pool and sauna facilities - and the hole in the ice. Our dog loved the snow and ice and the fact that he was allowed to come with us. Very quiet area and property. Great for outdoor walks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    An option to stay for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Untasty restaurant food, especially meat (hard and overpeppered) - we had supper for two that absolutely did not meet our expectations! Also it was served to the table while we were out walking so it needed to be warmed up (kind of strange for a "restaurant"). * The booking.com (or hotel - don't know) made an error in reservation - for 1 person only, despite I searched for 2 people and the rate was displayed against 2 human icons, and booking statement was about 1 room (no indication of one person only). Receptionist finally made up to double room so we had a place to sleep, but the 10-mins dialog beforehand where i was forced to prove my position, so as few euros of rate differences as "a gift" let me feel quite uncomfortable. I would name that "arrogance" rather than "hospitality". * You have to climb under the table to charge your phone putting it on the floor, since the only sockets in the room are there; you have to go down also to switch-off the lamp. Weird ). * Rush hour in sauna and swimming pool.

    Comfortable room to stay for a night, bed was fine. It was quite and we slept well. Easy to reach. Sauna and pool could be good if not so crowded. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    A perfect budget 'spa'
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing not to like here

    Located near the beautiful lake, the pool & sauna access is included in the accommodation price, as well as the breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.9
    We expected to use a pool and sauna but the only way to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected to use a pool and sauna but the only way to the sauna via open nature. It is possible to go there only in summer time. When in is cold outside it is not convenient. The description does not say that fact to people, which is direct fooling! A breakfast is very poor and limited in choise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    The staff is nice and helpful, thats about all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not stay here, the rooms smell of mold, everything is old, the building is in obviously bad shape, full of hard drinking rowdy guests shouting at 1 am.

    The staff is nice and helpful, thats about all. It seems to be very popular with russian tourists, not sure why, almost all the other cars in the parkinglot were russian.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    beautiful location with lake view, sauna and swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful location with lake view, sauna and swimming pool included in the accommodation, individual parking just infront of each individual room entrance, breakfast. the is also kitchen with microwave

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Mountaineering at the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is more suitable for one-time overnight stays than for longer stays. It looks better than in reality. Some of the food was not available later on.

    Convenient location near the main road. Breakfast was simple. We did not enjoy the wellness, just swimming in the lake - it was pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    location , friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i booked double bed+balcony but they gave me single bed and no balcony however after request for change this was settled. the WIFI did not work in earlier room but after changing to the one with rooter it worked well. The balcony needs some cleaning and upgrading. The boats on the beach were full of water and maybe should be stored under cover. Overall not big issues but small changes can make you a much better hotel. Maybe you can offer to rent some bikes to Guests?

    location , friendly staff. Good location if you are seeking peace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Strongly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be more diverse - but for this money it's o.k.

    Good sauna, swimming-pool, boats and billiard, breakfast - all included. Separate kitchen is very useful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice lakeside stop en route to Savonlinna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite paying for a breakfast buffet, one staff member decided to tell me I shouldn't take any more Karelien pastries. Some guests appeared a bit unwelcoming towards foreigners. One bed matttess was dirty.

    Awesome views of the lake. Friendly chef cooking tasty dinners.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Surprisingly - a very very good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing. Our room was facing the highway and we could hear the cars in the night. We had no idea,that the door to our department will be locked after 23:30 and we couldn't reach our room after our short night walk. Thanks to one kind neighbour,who opened the door from inside for us. There were no free toiletries,while liquid soap and shower gel were there. There was no hairdryer as well and no shower mat. In spite of that-our stay was awesome!

    We are a family of 3:parents and I.The location of the hotel is amazing! Just 24 km from Lappeenranta and you are there. The air is fresh,beautiful landscapes and lake are stunning. Hotel has nearly 40 rooms only and 1 floor-very cozy! The room was quite big,with 3 single beds,5 chairs and huge table. It also had a large balcony. We could park our car just in from of that balcony! Amazing! Staff is very friendly and professional! Room was clean. Swimming pool could be booked privately for 1 hour. The sauna was so huge and so warm! Swimming pool has a very interesting design and beautiful lights! It also has a lake view. Our room had an AC. Breakfast was so lavish and included into a room price,together with parking. Coffee was the best I ever tried in Finland! Strong and refreshing. Porridge was very very tasty! I swear,we didn't want to leave!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    one night stay on the road - and we'd like to stay longer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    They have great playing room for children near cafe, it's full of toys and board games. We couldn't get our youngest son out of it :) Nice sauna. Swimming pool was closed but we could swim in the lake, children loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    It is possible to stay with a dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is possible to stay with a dog. Costs 10 euros. Lovely beach, forest, lake, boats for rent. Rooms are simple but ok. Bathroom is quite big.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Lake side with private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lake side with private beach. Good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Room without balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room without balcony

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful view from the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standart room has only one short window on the road. No balcony, no view. The breakfast was too simple.

    Beautiful view from the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Great view of the lake, the staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of the lake, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Very Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Good location. Nice People and good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.8
    place for one night on your road
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was smelling by grilled sausages inside Location near gas station There are not waling ways so you need to run near the road

    free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place!!! Comfortable, beautiful nature, great breakfast!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen is a bit dirty

    Good breakfast and excellent location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Place not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool was closed for repairs. Bad.

    Place not bad. Clean. Lakes. Fresh air. Good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Location by the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room floor was dusty.

    Location by the lake. Quiet place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Excelent location, beautiful lake view, swimming pool, sauna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All liked it.

    Excelent location, beautiful lake view, swimming pool, sauna, friendly staff, billiards, BBQ, Hotel really liked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great. Just in front of the lake. Perfect place for relaxed vacation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    lake view and suitable privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi in a distant part of the inn left aisle

    lake view and suitable privacy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient place for those who travel by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, maybe having a fan in a room would be nice

    Very convenient place for those who travel by car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    It was a lovely short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely short stay! Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    greate location with beautiful lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    view from swimming pool is amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Location fantastica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location fantastica

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hoteln in its categhory!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good...

    Excellent hoteln in its categhory! All what tou need. Well renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Basic roadside hoten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice roadside place, points for sauna & swimming pool we had all to ourselves for an hour. Maybe a little outdated but all and all a good stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Cool view to the lake

    Stayed in July 2017

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Hotelli Salpa traveller photo gallery