Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sofia 2 stars

Kallvikinniementie 35, Itäinen Suurpiiri, 00980 Helsinki, Finland

#97 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 550 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful environment amongst trees and by Baltic Sea. Comfortable large room- Friendly, helpful staff. Superb breakfast. Good bus to train for going to city but need to use taxi to return to hotel in evenings (good taxi service).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two signifcant problems. 1) Access. Difficult to reach by public trasnport. Direct bus between hotel and metro is infrequent and runs office hours only. Alternative bus from metro drops one about a mile away. A pretty walk but not ideal with luggage, limted mobility or in bad weather. .2) Food. I expected to eat in their advertised 'restaurant' with its Finnish and European food but was told it caters for pre-booked groups only. Very misleading. I was offered the chance to tag onto a group buffet for 16 euros if I was free at 6pm and happy to eat what they were having. 'Bar snacks' were unappetising-looking leftovers. Expensive lukewarm very old coffee was available from a thermos in bar but no kettle in room. This is not an area where shops or eateries are available. Breakfast (included in price) had some delicious fresh croissants on left side of basket, hard stale ones on right side, one of which tasted mouldy. Basket obviously just topped up daily.

    FAbulous location for relaxing on an almost-island surrounded by sea and pine forest. Incredible view of sea and islands from bedroom (with balcony).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I already stopped here six years ago. I liked it, so I chose Sofia again. Quiet and calm, beautiful view from the window. A place for relaxation. Good pool and sauna. Excellent breakfast. There is parking. We reached the ferry for half an hour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prefect quiet place. We knew it was far away from the center but there is very easy way to get in there. You can walk 20 min on foot till the nearest metro station or take a minibus (available 3 times a day) The receptionist let us to do early check in so we will definitely gonna back to this place. It was a great place for our drivers to rest after long Lapland tour.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't really get the idea, why the sauna and the swimming pool is only open for a very limited and strange time.

    a real Finnish experience. Very simple hotel, but in amazing environment. The public transport stops in front of the hotel door during the day, and even later in the evening you have to walk only 15 minutes from the main road, where the bus stops. The view from the room is fantastic: forest and sea. The breakfast is rich. I would forget so called central hotels in Helsinki and would definitely stay in a more remote hotel like Sofia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. The microwave and fridge in the social area, despite my requests, were not cleaned at all. Male staff were not kind, but perhaps it is normal in Finland :)

    Wonderful area! Delicious and enormous lunch and dinner with exceptional desserts! Localised in a forest surrounded by the sea...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't have good communication available, so didn't get the notice in time about where my key would be waiting on that Sunday when I arrived. Maybe it could have been sent sooner. Also, they had some printed material about how to find the bus stops and metro, but it didn't say anywhere that the bus receipt you received would also be your metro ticket. Once I knew that, it was much, much easier. Cheaper, too, instead of the taxis I used the first day for over 50 euros each.

    For a retreat center to get away from things and relax in nature, excellent. For a new-comer to the country trying to see the sights and not familiar with the public transport, not as good, especially arriving on a Sunday when reception was closed and no one was available to answer questions. For the price, it was a good place, not luxurious but clean and neat. Being right on the bay was amazing. I would love to take a group there for a retreat sometime. I probably would not bring in a group a tourists, whose purpose is different.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate hours for men/women at the pool and sauna. This is a cultural/religious retreat centre as well, but the hotel building is separate.

    Stunning secluded location outside of Helsinki. Great breakfast, simple, clean rooms. Nice beach 15 min walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the city. Took us nearly 1 hr by public transport. The room was sweaty and the housekeeping did not clean our room. (2 days stay) The ham tasted terrible like it was off altho' they looked normal. Perphaps it is moose and not pork. The stuff in the restaurant was distant.

    The hotel receptionist was very helpful and friendly. The forest and seashores and that the public bus service to outside the peninsula was at the front of the hotel except that it was not running in the evening & hardly running in the weekends. (3x on Saturdays during our travel in August 2017) Walk from closest bus station outside in the evenings was around 20min.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the site booking.com there is no information about a very convenient bus 816, which stop is right in front of the main door of the hotel. It arrives regularly at the hotel and you can learn its arrival hours at the reception.

    The nature is really wonderful and the place is quiet and peaceful. It's a great place to have a rest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather put a damper on swimming at the beach

    Cozy place. Nice hiking trails and wilderness. Nice selection of breakfast. Big thanks to the night staff who went out of his way to obtain our Products in the fridge at the main house Sauna room was good Transit bus comes right at the front door

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is far and I understand but bring food with you if you want to stay. Otherwise prepared to walk 45 min for even water. This is good if you want to isolate yourself

    This is close to Natture and water

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only my lack of time for enjoying ammenities.

    It is a lovely place!! Old fashion style, which I like, But efficiently mantained with perfection. Great breakfast! Ashtonishing landscapes: woods and water. I lost my cellphone and my wallet at reception desk and they gave back to me. I regreted not having time for pool swimming or sauna. It was a bussiness travel. Hope you can enjoy ammenities if you stay at this hotel. For those Who uses públic trabsportation, this hotel has its own bus stop that conects to the metro station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice Hotel, though getting a bit older. Friendly rooms with bath, but they also passed their prime years. However the bathroom was not perfectly clean, some hairs lying around....... Very nice view through the wood to the water, great location, but you need a car, about 35 min. east from Helsinki. Friendly and very helpfull staff. Breakfast OK. Value for your money; yes!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent if you want to be a bit away from the city, in a very peaceful and beautiful place, with easy access to the subway to get back into town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was closing before 2100 on a Saturday night. The restaurant had not been open all day. Luckily I called from the taxi. The location is beautiful, but also a 20-ish minute walk from the nearest bus stop.

    The surrounding Kallvik peninsula is really pretty, you're really surrounded by nature.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Must pay attention to cleaning the room the cleaning staff ...this was the only problem in this hotel!

    The landscape is wonderful! The breakfast is goooood!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouls have been honest to mention that it was ran by a religious institution because upon arrival we were dumbfounded and surrounded with a lot of icons. Also the lobby needs some renovationg. The amount of religious items was extensive. For me who does not eat animal products, breakfast was very poor but it was nice to see that lactose milk and gluten bread was present.

    The apartment was a nice and big, equipped with basic kitchen supplies, a microwave and a dishwasher. Rooms were good size and warm which is always good. Housea were located at a lake and surrounded with a lot of trees and peace.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very noisy (you can hear what people are talking in the room next to you). Breakfast started at 07:30 which is too late.

    Staff was nice and helpful. Price was quite cheap.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen in the apartment could have been stocked with a few more items to assist. It only had a microwave so it limited our cooking options which was the reason we wanted the apartment. We made do though and had a lovely time.

    The tranquil grounds and beauty sells itself. The staff were accommodating and our apartment was quite nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was so poor quality (despite the choice) that we had it the first day and decided not to go for it on the second day... 25 minutes by car from Helsinki city center

    The very good price for Helsinki area. The box where they left the key for our very late arrival, hotel very calm in the forest in front of the sea. Staff at reception was kind

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beans for breakfast, very thin walls and the next room was banging on the walls when we arrived from our late flight.

    Breakfast, the view from the back of the hotel room where there was a lake. The hotel was away from the bustle of the city. Hotel key was left for us when our flight was late.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was the electric stove on the photo but in our room it was absent

    Nice place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great! Particularly frendly staff. Helped us out of a tricky situation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location!!!! Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation.

    Very interesting place. Own church. Sauna with bath. Nature

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spooky place. More like a campsite than hotel. Long way from centre of Helsinki.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really good breakfast, a comfortable bed, a small kitchen available and A FANTASTIC SAUNA AND A POOL!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk manager was not cooperative

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind people. Nice place on peninsula. Great nature.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's great for travelling by car: a lot of parking lots.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel ignores the wishes of the customers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room with balcony. Beautiful walk through and nature reserve. The breakfast buffet was plentiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    stunning sun set

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fair walk from car park to room with luggage

    Comfortable bed, fantastic view from room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very economical, you save on price per night, but you spend on taxi, it costs from airport more than 60EUR, you should take this to the account.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little cold in hotel.

    Nice big and clean hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restricted opening hours for reception and services.

    Very beautiful and quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not clean everyday

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During all my stay the sauna was not available.

    Very good breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff, clean spacious apartment, great breakfast. Hotel grounds, large and treed, nice to walk around. Bus stop to metro, nearby. Staying here is recommended.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    not really a hotel. hardly any staff a convention hotel. arrived late at night place was locked up had to call night port room was not serviced only twin

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are a bit old style

    Location is great!

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If the hotel staff connect me I will explain.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I thought breakfast was awful. Room needs updating

    Nice staff,good parking,nice location, late in season, probably really nice in summer

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels were missing, had to ask for them. But we did get them, no problem :)

    Tranquillity, excellent breakfast :)

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely fabolous place to stay in summertime, great nature, sea view.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    terrible breakfast; no reception at 8 pm!! terrible bathroom

    the location

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hotel Sofia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: