Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lapland Hotels Ounasvaara Chalets 4 stars

Antinmukka 4, 96600 Rovaniemi, Finland

#10 of 21 hotels in Rovaniemi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1134 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - great place to stay. Bit out of town but near the forest and ski area which we really enjoyed.

    great breakfast and location. Good too to get the bus for the Santa village.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Had really a great stay with a true Finland experience thanks to the private sauna in the cabin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cabin was very nice and confortabile. The privat sauna in the cabin was a great surprise and we really enjoyed it. The whole property was very calm and quiet. Excellent experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Cottage was nice and clean and beds were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Chalet (5 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was so noisy neighbours partying outside we could not sleep before we called the police. After that they were more quiet. When you go from sauna to river you have to walk through the restaurant. Food at the restaurant near the river was not very good if you compare the price...

    Cottage was nice and clean and beds were very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    A recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    We had a standard-chalet. It was clean and quiet and big enough for two. We enjoyed the private sauna in the chalet. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. The restaurant Rantasauna (open air) is beutifully situated at the riverside and serves good burgers and steaks. We stayed two nights in Lapland Hotels Ounasvaara- one at the beginning of our journey an one at the end. We would book it again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Not a bad house, no complaints.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a bad house, no complaints. Quiet, unpretentious inside. Bedroom on the first floor, second bedroom on the second (walls are not fenced off). Quite steep stairs upstairs. The accommodation of the dog cost 20 euros and to be honest, in my opinion the price is overstated. In most of these houses the accommodation of the dog was free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful chalet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location, lot of space, beautiful sauna. The breakfast was also very good. We enjoyed the magnificent Midnight Sun, on the 21st of June - summer solstice day. We really recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Great stay. Would rent again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no screens on windows. This allowed bugs to come in if we left windows open or too much heat to be retained if we left windows closed.

    Facility was very clean. Breakfast buffet offered plenty of choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Shoulder seasons shenanigans
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (5 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The chalet did sleep four, but it was tight. We would have gone for a slightly larger chalet had we understood the actual size, but it was great value for the cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Loved these chalets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Chalet (5 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought based on the information we found that there was a hot tub available. The only hot tub is within a separate spa, which was a bit of a bummer.

    Adorable chalets outside of Rovaniemi. It was cozy, and the sauna was a really fun extra touch! There is a small, simple kitchen that we made use of as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast buffet spread.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little dusty. And the mattresses were not firm enough

    Good breakfast buffet spread. Just far from the madding crowd of town, but close enough to walk. The ski school is just a walk up if you are into winter sports

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice long weekend with friends in a chalet with your own sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I would suggest improvements in something it would be to keep the radiators on before guests arrive as we arrived to our chalet on a freaking cold day and the room was not very warm, but after turning on the radiator in half an hour the chalet was warm enough. The dinner buffet was maybe lacking a little imagination although nothing to really complain about.

    Nice big and clean room with a nice view to the riverside. The beds were very nice, like diving into a cloud. The best part is having your own sauna! Location was good, e.g. the city center and Santa Park are not a long drive away. Safari tours can pick you up directly from your chalet which was very good service. Breakfast buffet had also gluten free options (porridge, bread..), and at breakfast you could make your own crepe but that was not gluten free. Staff was very friendly and helpful! I'd like to stay here again :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    excellent resort, close to all attractions.excellent service.first class breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No barriers on drop down beds and child rolled off in the night and bumped head.could do with higher bed guards all the way to the end.also extra pillows would have been nice.also tell people on website towels are included to save us bringing out own.

    Amazing service, arrived early and chalet was all ready for us.breakfast was an excellent bonus and staff helpful and could not do enough for us.bonus having ski slope on door step.first class.sledge available were a great bonus for kids.underfloor heating a real bonus especially when it's so cold outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and we loved our chalet but the dining options were inadequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Buffet meals (breakfast and dinner) offered very limited choice. Eggs for breakfast for example were scrambled or boiled. No fried, poached or omelettes.

    The view from our chalet over the lake was great. The private sauna was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    We loved the chalet and taking our luggage by sled!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We showed up with about 15 minutes left during morning breakfast - but they had already cleaned up and taken all food away. Evn after we requested just a few minutes to make plates.

    We loved the chalet and taking our luggage by sled! can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    3.3
    no one was cleaning the room/half a chalet for five days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no one was cleaning the room/half a chalet for five days, so it is actually an apartment, not a hotel. very mediocre food, especially dinner. no facilities except tiny lounge area around the fireplace, which was always occupied. when we arrived, no one would help us take the luggage 300m through the snow to reach a tiny half a chalet. staff do not smile. They take the breakfast away sharp at 10.00 even if they see that people are still eating. insanely expensive for what it is. I am writing this from a luxurious Austrian ski hotel that costs less than this one in Finland. impossbile to adjust heating -- it had a mind of its own. the hotel reception is not open during the night in case one needs something. the only thing this hotel has is a location near ski slopes, but then no one would go there for a skiing holiday -- you go with kids for santa claus reasons...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    location is between santa village and train station, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything is good, but the way to get there is only taxi, so it is a bit inconvenient, but taxi is not expensive.

    location is between santa village and train station, and also you can easy to catch the tour bus at this hotel. The each house is very clean and pretty huge. staffs are very nice. Also, nature is very good around the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.8
    Chalet next to lake with beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House (number 70) inside not too stylish (had nothing to do with photos of the hotel on booking.com), bathroom quite big but no storage place, shower door broken, bathroom dustbin broken, heating not easy to regulate, beds too high and soft. Dinner buffet quite poor for the price (39 €/adult)..

    Chalet next to lake with beautiful view. Good location if you want to ski.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    A lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was served until 10am, we arrived at 09.50am, at 10am all the breakfast items were promptly removed, so we only got to get juice and some bread on the first morning.

    The location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (5 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not advertising ski resort one membership Staff on arrival not helpful or friendly other staff throughout the stay were a lot more friendly and helpful

    Scenery

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    We had a lovely time and glad we stayed at the Chalets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast ok. Would have love omelette . fried eggs though. Coffee was great. For a chalet for 6, two shower rooms would be ideal instead of one. Chalets actually looks bigger in pictures . But once we got used to it , it becomes cosy.

    Love the area. Beautiful . peaceful , Quiet. Lovely walks all around. The lake . the ski slope-absolutely beautiful scenery. Shame we did not see the Northern Lights whilst we were there for the 5 nights.Thoroughly enjoyed the husky ride.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Location and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chalet was for 6 people but did not have table settings for 6. Needed more Pots and pans, plates, knives, etc. I also didn't like how the room wasn't cleaned every day or how fresh towels and more trash bags and toilet paper were not brought to the room. We had to go every day to ask. This is a completely self catering and cleaning location.

    Location and great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Chalets were very clean and spacious and great location.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not opened in the evenings for food. So we had to travel to Rovanieni for dinner. The breakfast was not great and the staff in restaurant very rude.

    Chalets were very clean and spacious and great location. The staff in reception very helpful. Really enjoyed skiing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely recommend and return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff in the resturaunt were quite abrupt when I asked for fruit juice for my young Grandchildren at 10am! Lots of people were also complaining about this as one woman in particular was rude!

    The manager Kimmo Nelin was so proffesional and extremely helpful even before our arrival. He made our stay so relaxed and was most informative. Excellent location close to all amenities and activities. The only fault was the fact that although Breakfast is served until 10am, EVERYTHING is cleared away even slightly before and with my 3 young Grandchildren I felt exceptions at least for 10 minutes should be allowed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Lovely chalets and good location, staff could be friendlier especially at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a disaster. They were literally taking the food away as we arrived and were not very pleasant or helpful about it. We understood it was till 1030 but they started clear up at 1015. No dinner options either and its in the middle of nowhere!

    The cabin was great, very spacious and lovely and warm. Really appreciated the late check out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable but facilities for eating should be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is advertised as having a restaurant, it does not. It has a room where breakfast is served however you are unable to have lunch or dinner at the hotel which means a 40€ round trip to town for lunch and dinner. There is a cafe on the ski slopes however any time we went near it was totally full so we were unable to eat. Also, the breakfast was cleared at 10:00am sharp! The breakfast area was very busy and even though there were people queuing for food it was cleared away in front of them, I presume to be taken to the kitchen and binned. A real shame as this really let them down.

    The location was close to the airport and close enough to the town centre. I loved our chalet and it provided a really authentic feel. Perfect location for ski slopes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Incredible - We didn’t want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is the most beautiful hidden gem! Every single one of the guides and reception staff we dealt with were incredible and couldn’t do enough for us. The cabins were out of this world as were all of the activities and the wildlife park - I could not recommend this place enough!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    great breakfast, surrounding area excellent for hiking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    we were disappointed to find out none of the restaurants were open, so you had to walk to the city centre to get a decent dinner.

    great breakfast, surrounding area excellent for hiking, though a bit far from the city centre - either you take a taxi or walk 6km there and back (nice walk if the weather is fine).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    except transportation, everything is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No public transportation during weekend , even in weekday ,just a few bus go there, difficult for traveller without car, must call taxi.

    Very relax and quiet!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing beachfront cabin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcast weather meant no chance of seeing northern lights. Restaurant did not offer dinner (possibly because the season was just starting and complex was rather empty).

    Large unit, great facilities (including private spa), great location (on frozen waterfront - October stay). Could easily stay a week here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling of the loft was a little too low.

    The breakfast was good. Chalet was clean and quiet. Car could be parked beside the chalet. Very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    We witnessed Aurora here, in mid-August, even though it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The summer time just finished, low season, so most facilities are closed.

    We witnessed Aurora here, in mid-August, even though it was not yet the best season to view Aurora. Chalets not in city centre, less light pollution, good for viewing Aurora, that's why I chose to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value and cosy accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of any, if I have to choose one that will be no free upgrade to better cabin as we have it upgraded last time.

    Buffet breakfast included, excellent value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Small and traditional Lappi hotel for short or longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Areas of improvement maybe missing internet and non clear tv channels.

    Nice, peaceful restaurant with good food and breakfast. Breakfast was included in the room price. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    great "hut" experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    great "hut" - sleeping loft for the kids veeerry comfortable beds for the adults spacious sauna in bathroom mosquito nets on the windows shutters for 24h daylight good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    There was dirt in the room and the internet photos were from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was dirt in the room and the internet photos were from better cottage. On breakfast there wasn`t enough gluten free choices, even if we sent them e-mail before our trip. Beds in upstairs were pretty old.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful new cottage.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staircase to the second floor of cottage is steep, and may not be appropriate for small children. However, there is a safety gate for kids on the second floor. The territory around the cottages is a little grim. No flowers, the kids playground is old and falling apart. The flow in the river is very strong and the swimming place is not appropriate for young children.

    Beautiful new cottage. There is a kitchen and a nice table for 6, comfy armchairs. Three bathrooms! A terrace with view of the Kemijoki river. It is possible to get to the river right from the sauna. Lots of storage space. Three full bedrooms + couch in dining room + loft. The breakfast is nice in a beautiful cafeteria.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    looked better on the pictures, the sauna tiles broken/microwave-damaged, but quite good breakfast)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not much to do starting mid of april - the slopes are closed, and this hotel is just about serving skiing guests. hauski /dog riding - closed, the barbecue place nearby was not filled with woods, when asked about wood from reception they said this will disturb nearby guests, so they did not want to provide wood and pointed to some other barbecue place located far away, which was awful considering that we could not really go that far with a small kid. i think they smile at reception very well) but not really kin understanding that we came here for couple of evenings to enjoy barbecue ) and paid a over thousand eur for it .. ... so this was quite weird to hear that fire place in front of us cannot be used. the Santa claus - was intersting to see, but, this was way too commercialized, they claim free entrance but then disallow taking pictures inside and charge u 50$ their own picture with santa. so - quite disappointing experience.

    good breakfast, the houses are quite ok inside, but the village itself is not that nice looking as in the pictures ... it looked more like a camping.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money, perfect for families with small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The chalet that was assigned to us was a bit of a walk from the main reception and restaurant area -- that would be OK for us adults and our teenage son, but at times challenging for the two toddlers. Good thing that they allow taxis to pick us up and drop us off directly at the chalet. Would have been better though if we were given a more closely located unit, but for the price we paid (we got a really low rate plus a discount), it's still huge value for money :) The shower facilities were a bit dated, so maybe that can be improved; but the sauna inside the bathroom made up for it. Also no room service facility, so you either stock up on your groceries and cook during offhours, or eat in the restaurant (which closes at 10pm), or from outside before heading back to your chalet. There are no convenience stores outside the resort, so that was a bit challenging for us especially when the kids wanted some stuff, and it's about a 16 to 20 euro taxi ride to the city center. I think the bus system works well and could have made these trips to the grocery or city center easier and cheaper, but we just did not have time to explore that given our short stay in Rovaniemi. The reception sells some candies, chocolates, chips and some pastries, but of course the selection is expectedly limited. Lastly, maybe they can add more -- and larger -- pillows :)

    We booked a standard chalet for our family of five -- my husband and myself, our teenage son and our 5 year old girl and 3 year old boy. The chalet was very spacious and our teenage son immediately claimed the loft area and our two little one alternately went up to play there and also with us at the main bedroom. That said, the space alone was more than enough value for money for us PLUS the private sauna in our bathroom :) The buffet breakfast that came with the room rate was also a huge plus, because it was a pretty wide selection and certainly filling especially before we head out for our activities for the day. The kitchen was fully equipped but we did not get to use it since we only stayed a couple of nights and did not want to bother ourselves with getting groceries and preparing for our meals; for our short stay, we thought it would be OK to either have dinner at the restaurant on our first night and on our second night we looked for a Chinese restaurant near the city center, which made our entire family very happy -- we're Asians, and during long travels like these we sort of get to a point when we miss our staple rice and Asian cuisine :) The staff was likewise exceptional, very friendly and very helpful with directions and everything that we needed. We felt very much welcome when we arrived, check in process was fast and smooth, and we were likewise well-assisted upon check out. Staff is consistently nice and friendly -- from the reception, to the restaurant staff and even those who clean the area. And of course, we felt very safe in the resort area. It was also peaceful and quiet, we knew the other chalets were occupied but the distance of one chalet to the other was more than enough to provide complete privacy for each family or group staying in the chalets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    An excellent cottage-alike hotel near the nature in Rovaniemi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wanted to stay in a cottage-alike hotel near the nature, and Ounasvaara was just like that. Our chalet was just next to the Ounasvaara slopes offering a very nice view. The chalet was very comparable and spacious. We really appreciated the sauna in the chalet. The breakfast was reach of options and it was tasteful. When we go to Rovaniemi next time, we will definitively check if there are available rooms in this hotel. The Santa Clause village is only some kilometers away from this destination and were happy to visit it too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice chalet, but not quite as convenient as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to booking we read a review saying there was a grocery store 500m away. However the closest mini-mart turned out to be about 2km away, and was not a very nice walk along a highway and over a very windy bridge! As a result we didn't self-cater as much as we had planned and spent more on meals at the hotel restaurant. Also, we wanted to explore some of the forest walking trails, but they all started at the top of the hill. Can only take the ski lift up if you're skiing, so other options would be hiking up or taking a car. Not as convenient as we initially hoped.

    There was a great buffet breakfast that filled us up for hours, the bread was fantastic! Within 5 mins walking distance to Ounasvaara ski school where you can rent equipment.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Lapland ski resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel,log cabins beautiful,comfortable and warm.restaurant and bar in lodge very good. Food choice excellent,and very tasty.Staff friendly,professional and helpful. Would recommend for couples and families.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.5
    The free breakfast was exquisite.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have a big party, be sure to rent both sides of the chalet.

    The free breakfast was exquisite. Staff was very friendly. If you are skiing at the local park. This is the Hotel you want to reserve.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.5
    The complete breakfast, the size of the houses and cosy...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not that clean, a bit noisy with the road close but it's not terrible at all.

    The complete breakfast, the size of the houses and cosy decoration, the sauna in the chalet, the fact that we could have our dog with us, the proximity with the ski station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.3
    For most excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some chalets are a little bit far from the reception/restaurant, and the stairs in the chalet are too narrow. There is only one bus to go to the center of the city, that means that you've got to call a taxi every time (anyhow I think that the quality of this structure is largely higher than those in the center).

    The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever tried. And the private sauna in the chalet is just super, even if the bathroom is not really big. The chalets are new, quiet and warm. The breakfast is plentiful and the structure's restaurant, even though a little bit expensive, offers Lapland specialities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    Such a beautiful place we really would like to go back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a beautiful place we really would like to go back again(spring or autum time). Everybody was very kind and helpful and the nature was amazing,exeptional.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.9
    perfect for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    chalets living space was small. The breakfast was not refreshed. The kitchen was small and basic - no toaster!

    the sauna in chalet. the location of chalets and close to ski resort. the whole resort is very clean. I would recommend the resort

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable with Scandinavian Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is on the other side of the river from the train station. Since there was no public transportation, we were obliged to call taxis every day which was very costly while the accommodation cost already a lot during high season.

    Very beautiful and well equipped bungalow. Everything was super clean. The sauna was comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.5
    Great place overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff unwilling to go extra mile but were definitely ok, although there's a kitchen, they don't provide a few tea bags, sugar, coffee and obviously in the cold its not easy to go and buy some.

    Location, warm comfortable cabins, nicely fitted. Easy to park

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    4 nights in a winter wonder land
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very soft but that's a personal preference

    The hotel had everything that was needed for our break, staff very helpful, half board upgrade was well worth the money. Close to lots of things to do.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cottages (aka Chalets) were just built on top of each other, on the other side of the main road to Ounusvaara itself, so you don't feel part of Ounsvaara resort. Clearly the place does well and at some point they've expanded and this was the area they chose to build more cottages. Cottages themselves are fine, but you do feel like you have been built on a parking lot. I was rather hoping it'd be a bit more in nature and/or scenic. I was curious before arriving how they'd managed to pull of the ski/wilderness thing inside a city. Well they haven't, you still do feel like you are in a city. Perhaps I am being too harsh on it as I stay all over Northern Lapland in wilderness hotels and cottages. Another bug bear, was that at 8.30am in the morning they came to clear the cottage next to mine and left the transit van running in front of my cottage window for half an hour, which was unsightly and noisy. The parking place was empty in front of the cottage being cleaned, why park in mine? The walls are also a bit thin on the cottages. When I went for breakfast at 10am the entire dining room(s) were full of dirty plates. There was not a single clean place available. There was no sign of any staff cleaning tables either. I had to clear a table myself. Considering they serve breakfast til 11am, this I found was pretty poor.

    Cottage (aka Chalet) was clean, warm and welcoming. The actual place, Ounusvaara seems like a great place for skiers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.1
    Family friendly but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is used by package tour companies so there is constant chaos with all the change overs. The cottages are quite small and basic with some cleaning and repairs required. Overpriced for the Christmas season for what it is.

    A wonderful cottage away from the buzz of the main city. Very family friendly with lots of snow play for kids. The food was plentiful and tasty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Only stayed one night, beautiful luxury chalet, a little remote.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the location on a main road. The shop didn't sell much, and that was the only shop within walking distance (as we didn't hire a card whilst we were in Finland)

    Loved the accommodation :-) Very comfy and cosy

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.8
    staff is helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the WIFI is awful...i could say it seems like no WiFi. location is quite far from the city, better drive or Taxi when you go out.

    staff is helpful. The Chalet is quite large and clean, warm. it is relax & comfort when you stay. nearby the skie, good for family trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    10
    Very special experience for our stay in Rovaniemi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The number sign of the chalets should be more conspicuous . It it not easy to find our chalet when we check in at night.

    Very special experience for our stay in Rovaniemi.Especially for my son,it is wonderful for him to see the chalets with snow and he just feel like lived in the fairy tales.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    The Breakfast is really good, the staff is really friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Breakfast is really good, the staff is really friendly and helpful and the room is very nice too. It is a hotel that I will definitely pick again if I come to Rovaniemi in the future.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.6
    Cozy apartments, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The junior suite isn't worth the price. We downgraded to a standard apartment and loved it!

    Fantastic breakfast. Really nice and cozy apartments! The flexibility and friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    8.3
    A happy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maintenance staff were not following and checking on things. The shower screen in our unit was broken. From the look of it, it has been broken for quite some time.

    The chalet has two adjacent units but it is still very quiet - you can,t hear any noises from your neighbour.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    Location is great for skiing, we stayed in early November...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is great for skiing, we stayed in early November before the skiing season, so it was a little far from the city centre. But its not a big problem if you are joining all the tours which almost all of them provide with hotel pick up. Everyone knows where the Charlet Hotel is. Great cottages, love the spacious area and sauna room. Small kitchen that enables you to cook simple meals also. Breakfast buffet has quite variety of items to choose from. Staff are very helpful and nice. Would recommend for sure.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.1
    Pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was not safe. Evening meal options limited. We originally booked as chalet hotel rovaniemi and what was offered on website was not available.

    Breakfast was wide selection. Central location. Friendly staff. Taxi service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Amazing, no more words needed
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i can say is that you have to get there by taxi, about 15€ but is not a problem

    We arrived there and everything was perfectly arrange, staff was really helpfull and place was perfect! We could see the ski slopes from the room it was amazing!! And also the room was clean, warm and really confortable! Also breakfast was great!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Great stay, nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work inside the apartment, work in the restaurant. Although theres nothing the staff could do but when I called to ask if theres any problems, he was very nice and friendly.

    Breakfast was good! Its located in the hotel restaurant, just a little 1 min. walk from our apartment. The apartment was big, and enough space for 4 of us. Kitchen was good space, although there was no fork at all to be found. Toilet was spacey, and the sauna was good! Nice view as well!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice & comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location will be abit far from the main town. Definitely need your own transport to reach the resort.

    Comfortable stay with this cottage stay. Equip with kitchen facilities and come with sauna inside the toilet. Come with good BF & free parking facilities. Resort is just walking distance to the ski center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Lovely chalet, great breakfast and fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful lady at reception, brilliant sauna in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Expectations exceeded
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Beds were comfortable. Quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Location and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was 1st 2 days and needed a fan or ac

    Location and excellent staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC in the cabins, veeeryyy hot...

    Very good "beach" restaurant and sauna fascilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed the stay and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a/c

    The beds were comfortable and place was clean. Didn't use the sauna as it was toooo warm when we were there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Really nice stay. Perfect for families with childs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nice chalet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Quitness and closeness to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was good

    Quitness and closeness to the city center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Food is very good, very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too small.

    Food is very good, very enjoyable. Staff is very helpful. Location is far from town but we like the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Car essential cabin for 2, not enough room for 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is only for skiing. The restaurant was only open for breakfast because of the low season.

    Nice cabin. Good for 2 people. Clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was great and the Chalets are great for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great and the Chalets are great for families...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location, sweet cabin, very good breakfast, fun to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, sweet cabin, very good breakfast, fun to have sauna in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    The sauna, and the view from my chalet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Chalet (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, and the price of the rooms.

    The sauna, and the view from my chalet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Decent place to stay for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Chalet (6 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre, staff were sometimes quite abrupt

    Close to town centre, decent chalets, great sauna inside

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lapland Hotels Ounasvaara Chalets traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: