Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Finland hotel reviews
  3. Lapland hotel reviews
  4. Ranua hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Lapland Igloo

Reviews of Lapland Igloo This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Keskustie 10, 97700 Ranua, Finland

#10 of 10 hotels in Ranua

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 53 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    5.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    3.8
    Even though that the hotel is not up to the expectation we enjoyed ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No room service. No restaurants and the only restaurant available was a fast food place which is about 500m away in sub zero temperatures and small supermarket. No staff available at my ease.

    The igloo itself

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    3.8
    The photos we saw online showed a very different experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon arrival the staff who greeted us took us to our igloo and gave no further instructions. We asked about the restaurant and they pointed “nearby” leading us to believe that their restaurant would be open. The restaurant closed at 14.00 leaving us without any place to eat. There was a supermarket nearby however the fridge wasn’t working in the igloo and there were no cutlery, plates or anyway for us to make dinner. At one point our fire alarm went off and we managed to make it stop but at this point we realised no one was on the premises. We were left wih a limited amount of wood for the fire and the radiator also was not functioning. Several glass panels in the igloo were cracked or covered in snow blocking our view of the promised starry sky. We were then woken abruptly just past 8am by a man scraping the snow off our igloo...a little late for that. Since we were hoping to see the northern lights, it was disappointing that even though there were no other people around the hotels lights were all left on creating light pollution- making it difficult to not only see the northern lights but also sleep. All in all not worth the £300 to stay.

    The photos we saw online showed a very different experience than was offered.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.1
    The clean place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The glass is towards the hotel's building so u dont have privacy . Maybe its towards to north.. but it will more likely to be towards the lake and have privacy. At its right the main road so u dont feel alike private too. There were 2 broken glass but didnt affect the warmth inside

    The clean place . The sauna . The chimney . Everything was too perfect and nice it was a real luxurious place and suite . Even the bathroom was too nice with great shower . A very nice luxurious igloo. And the market is 5 min walk away only . With a lake nearby with great views

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    5.8
    It's tourist trap . Dont go there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The igloo is just near the road. If you expect To see nothern light here .. go away ! There is lots of ligths around igloo location (floor lamp .. hôtel etc..) If you imagine to Feel lonely and see the stars.. you will be desapointed. The restaurant closed at 20h30....... ?????? So if I had To sum up : dont give your money

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    9.6
    Super clean and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heating was placed very far away from the bed, so it was a bit chilly. The igloo is made to face an awkward direction, so view for one side is blocked with a fence, the lake and forest is only visible on the left side of the igloo. Lastly it doesn’t face in the direction of the northern lights. The breakfast was subpar and was the same as the main hotel where rooms cost lesser than one third. For 300£ a night could have expected a nicer breakfast in the room.However, other igloo options are at least another 150£ additional, so if you want to spend a day living in an igloo with awesome views of the snow covered trees this is a great place.

    Super clean and cozy. The sauna and bathroom were spotless and included a color changing shower. The views were great (but only from an angle). There is another hut next to the igloo for your personal use to set up a fire and bbq. The wood fireplace was an awesome touch and unlimited fire wood to keep the fireplace on all night and keep the place cozy.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    7.1
    the igloo was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    if you’re after northern lights this is definitely not the place. igloo was comfortable enough and although it didn’t have everything it advertised the staff tried their best to accommodate (ie no mini fridge but arranged us an esky). this igloo is really situated in the carpark of a hotel - so half the view is the carpark fence and its 100% not a location for northern lights but for the price of this igloo compared to others it will give you an igloo experience.

    the igloo was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    6.3
    Awesome bathroom and sauna, nice interior ambience, pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor and prepared way too soon (dry cucumbers...), reception is often closed, breakfast room fits in a hostel or motel, broken glass on top (might be there for quite some time), Wifi didn‘t work, barbecue place was not prepared, big contrast between interior and exterior apperance

    Awesome bathroom and sauna, nice interior ambience, pretty at night, special experience to sleep beneath the stars

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.3
    The whole idea is really good and very well executed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Idea is good, but it will definitely need a little bit invest (one roof glass is broken, one button in the shower is not working, grill needs repairing etc..) Around the Igloo needs also little bit cleaning, I guess it won`t really matter in the winter, when everything is covered with snow. Location good be better, too close to the city.

    The whole idea is really good and very well executed. Music system. Sauna. Staff is helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.2
    The igloo is really nice, the view for the northern lights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The igloo should have a microwave to help to prepare the food. Because, during the lower tourist season the hotel restaurant and others restaurants in the city are closed for dinner, so the microwave will help to prepare food for dinner.

    The igloo is really nice, the view for the northern lights is amazing. Is a really cool expereince.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    MISLEADING RIP OFF - Only one remaining (There is only one igloo so it's always one remaining!) This igloo is not as described, would not stay again. Paid for 4 nights but only stayed 1 night and moved to Rovaniemi. This was sold as having a lake view from which you can see the northern lights, however you can't see the lake from the igloo because of the trees and to see the northern lights you would need to walk down to the lake. As for 5 star this seemed at best 3 star to us!! The other hotel we moved to was rated at 4.5 stars and was far better than this so no idea what the stars actually mean now! There were also a number of facilities/services advertised that do not exist: - Airport Transfers (None, cost us £300 in taxi's) - Lake View (Requires you to be able to see through trees) - Dressing room (None there) - Sofa in Igloo (Not there) - Free toiletries (None) - Bathrobes (None) - Event Centre (None) - Shops on site (None) - Night Club (None) - A La Carte Restaurant (None - but there is a buffet that finishes at 4pm. If you want to eat out we hope you like pizza as there is nothing else) We raised this with the management by email and no sympathy, no offer of any money back, nothing at all. We also raised it with booking.com who have been unhelpful and have not taken responsibility suggesting we should have read the reviews to work out which services/facilities didn't actually exist.

    The receptionist was pleasant and polite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    3.8
    Leaking ceiling cold igloo, extortion priced by owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The glass had a big crack keeping the room cold, the glass ceiling was leaking on the room even on the bed. The staff had to keep coming in and out to change bedding look at the glass. We only had one night stay for my best friends birthday and this expensive stay was all spent contacting staff looking at leaks wet bed heating not working. It was horrible. Bathrobes were not provided despite included. Nobody brought any despite emails to them and phone calls. Sauna couldnt be enjoyed. Paid 330 euros and they gave only £85 back. Not sure what I paid the rest for as there was only one single bed to sleep on in the freezing cold plus a mattress on the floor. Had the worst back pain which ruined my remaining holiday I had already arranged for breakfast and was going to pay and had asked for omelette etc they said they will give it free and when the breakfast came it was small fried eggs and not what I had asked. So I would have rather paid for a better breakfast. The staff who did not have much control of anything were nice and acknowledged but could not do anything as the owner was not at all wanting to make mends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    10
    Make ur dream right
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No one in the reception after 4 pm :(

    The igloo is a amazing, easy to reach it, so warm, big, and the chiminey is good, easy to make fire, sauna amazing, and the view is everything, staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    5.0
    there’s private sanua room for each igloo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    you can never see the northern lights there. highly overpriced. the reception closed bery early. you have to call at least 5 times for the reception to answer your call. the address on booking.com is wrong. hard to find the hotel.

    there’s private sanua room for each igloo

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    5.0
    Absolutely deceptive advertising, not worth the price. No possibility of seeing northern lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    RIP OFF!! Photos are photoshopped and meant to deceive. Cabin is in the backyard of a hotel in a town. Totally inappropriate for viewing northern lights due to all the lights. And Igloo faces South! So you’ll never see lights here. It’s also not private as half the cabin is glass and you are right next to a hotel and houses.

    Comfortable cabin with sauna.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    10
    Peace and quiet + remarkable room, beautiful location, loveliest staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that concerned me walking up to the igloo was the remaining construction materials around it - piles of wood, etc., which are probably covered by snow most of the time. I was worried when I saw that stuff around that the igloo may not have been as nice in person as it seemed online, but those concerns were immediately put to bed upon walking into the igloo! We were absolutely wowed.

    My new husband and I kicked off our honeymoon with a peaceful stay here at the Igloo, and everything was absolutely perfect. We wanted some peace and quiet after the stress of the wedding, and this location absolutely delivers. We were surprised that there is only one igloo on the property, but it is clearly very new and super nice - the nicest hotel room we have ever stayed in! We were able to see the aurora from bed, and caught an even better glimpse at the tranquil lake a stone's throw from our front door. One challenge we face when traveling is my food allergies: I'm allergic to dairy and gluten, and also don't eat meat. I was okay with eating eggs there, because in remote Ranua I would be very surprised if they were factory farmed. We let the hotel know in advance and we had a custom included breakfast and lunch every day that catered to my diet. The staff's English was limited, but it didn't matter - everyone was so authentically welcoming and generous, they really went out of their way to take care of us. One of the days we were there we met a very strong English speaker who worked at the front desk, I feel terrible for forgetting her name, who had moved to Ranua from Israel. She even prepared us a wonderful traditional Israeli lunch and set us up with a masseuse who came to our room! I should say there are almost no options for food in town other than the hotel, and they are not open for dinner. However, we had such huge breakfasts and lunches that we skipped dinner every night we were there and instead just had a light snack we picked up from the grocery store maybe 200 yards from the hotel - and we had more than enough to eat! The lovely people at the hotel are a 10/10, the igloo (and in-room sauna) are a 10/10, the natural beauty of the property/area is a 10/10 - cannot recommend this place more highly when you need a peaceful getaway! P.S. BEST COFFEE I HAVE EVER TASTED!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    8.8
    Nice igloo close to Ranua zoo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some repairs should be carried out. The glass roof was leaking on two spots. Wasn't a big problem for us but it kind of spoiled the whole feeling of a luxury igloo. The price could be lower.

    Nice igloo close to Ranua zoo. Sauna is excellent and there is a fireplace. Good sound system. Nice breakfast. Very accommodating staff but the reception was closed already at 6 pm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2017

    6.3
    interesting housing with lousy breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window was broken in the igloo and it was just covered. Breakfast was horrible comparable to the price paid for the housing and breakfast. One of the handles were broken inside the shower.

    We liked the idea of the igloo, view from the roof and the sauna inside the igloo.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    9.6
    Ihastuttava ja uniikki kohde.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ihastuttava ja uniikki kohde.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.2
    Overall so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Well the food and drink in the restaurant were very good but need to add extra varieties

    What I most liked the so quiet and relax place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.8
    The toilet & Sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The top of the part of the igloo , it was broken

    The toilet & Sauna

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    6.3
    The room view is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is inconvenient if you don't have a car.

    The room view is nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2016

    5.4
    The glass igloo itself is interesting, has a great fire...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was our first day in Finland after arriving from a long flight. Based on the description we expected a resort or hotel which we could use as a reference point for our trip with a warm dinner, facilities to book activities, staff who could understand English. However, we found a deserted hotel with only one young lady, who was friendly but did not understand English and one single glass igloo in the garden. Hence we were left alone to figure out Wifi, heating and our own dinner. A careless breakfast was served from 9-10 am, while we were jet lagged and awake by 6. We had booked 2 nights, but wanted to leave after 1 night. Over the phone we agreed with the owner that the second night minus 20% would be refunded. However, despite reminder I have have yet to receive the refund. My recommendation: only pay upon departure.

    The glass igloo itself is interesting, has a great fire place, sauna and bathroom. It's good, if you are familiar with the place and want to spend a weekend in a different kind of accommodation.

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2016

    7.9
    There is only one igloo on site which was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The photos give the impression that you are in a forest but the igloo is in fact behind a hotel car park. And the actual view of the forest/nature is only partial. My husband found the decoration a bit wacky. I did not. So we agree to disagree :-) The dinner choice is very limited as there was only one nearby restaurant, pizzeria, which was ok.

    There is only one igloo on site which was very clean. The staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Whilst the igloo was an expensive for us but we went to visit some other igloos north of rovaniemi later and they were even more expensive than this one. The sauna inside the igloo is excellent. Our boys , 5 and 7 year old had a great time and they want us to build one now in our garden. So this was a big hit. So we are happy we went to Ranua for one night.

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2016

    9.6
    The staffs are very nice, they try their best even though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After I booked the room, I tried to contact the property but there is no reply e-mail from them for many days. I wish they answered my e-mail promptly.

    The staffs are very nice, they try their best even though they cannot speak good english. The location is so close to Ranua Zoo and the supermarket and the gas station.

  • Reviewed: February 29, 2016

    7.5
    Love the personal camp site, love the staffs going extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Found a guest personal garment (probably earlier user of the room) left it in sauna room's handle. If you have big baggages, you may find its troublesome to carry into the room especially during winter time from lobby area till the igloo.

    Love the personal camp site, love the staffs going extra mile to provide assistance and service, appreciated to know friendly and nice boss, glass roof at bed area, coffee machine in room

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2016

    7.9
    Everything from the fire place to the sauna and champagne...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady at checkin didn't speak much English so we got confused when dinner finishes (finished at 8pm) so we nearly missed it. Some information about restaurant opening and closing times in the booking confirmation would've been helpful

    Everything from the fire place to the sauna and champagne when we arrived. Watching northern light from our glass igloo just made the night even more special.

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2016

    6.3
    It's warm and beautiful inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1.The Light pollution is too much to see Aurora. 2.There's no oak leafs with sauna, it's different from the pics.

    It's warm and beautiful inside. Its near the Ranua zoo, and convenient to see polar bear.

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2016

    7.5
    Amazing view and surroundings to the left of the igloo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wasn't made aware before arrival that there is just 1 igloo on its own behind a hotel. The description and photos on here were very misleading. Not what we was expecting. In the photos it looks as though your situated in the middle of a forest but your not. No self catering facilities and the restaurant near by closed at 6pm so nowhere to go for dinner. The bathroom was unbearably warm. If your planning on staying with children please be aware that there are no separate rooms the children's beds pull out from underneath the double bed.

    Amazing view and surroundings to the left of the igloo. Lovely and warm and clean. Very rustic and quirky place to stay. Friendly staff although limited English language.

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2015

    9.2
    Though made of glass, it felt very private yet had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Though made of glass, it felt very private yet had a wonderful view. It was easy to book many fun family activities. Dinners were excellent. Igloo was large and comfortable for the 4 of us.

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2015

    9.6
    Very nice glass igloo with a great private area, super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Don't really have any good restaurant around, but the private barbecue dinner which the hotel arrange for us was a good experience.

    Very nice glass igloo with a great private area, super friendly staff and owner. Everything arrange well for us. Will highly recommend for friends.

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2016

    7.5
    Nice location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location and facilities. Fantastic staff

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    9.6
    staff very friendly and the igloo vers cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff very friendly and the igloo vers cosy

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: