Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Finland hotel reviews
  3. Lapland hotel reviews
  4. Saariselka hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Northern Lights Village

Reviews of Northern Lights Village

Rovaniementie 3222 E, 99830 Saariselka, Finland

#10 of 57 hotels in Saariselka

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 360 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I was hoping this would live up to my expectations....All I have to say is WOW. It definitely did. I booked this to celebrate my 50th birthday. My partner and friends joined us. We had cabins 1 and 2. (As other reviews say...if possible book a cabin between numbers 1 and 20. You will be facing the forest and in the perfect location to see the Northern Lights, if you are lucky enough to see them. Just email Northern lights village regarding any requests, they are very helpful). The cabin is perfect... it has a very comfy bed, sofa, loads of cushions, 3 pillows, fan heater (which makes the cabin very cosey), kettle, small table, some tea and coffee, minibar (including 2 small bottles of red wine, 2 white, coke, 2 small tubes of pringles, chocolate, nuts, I think the other cans were beer and possibly cider - prices were €7.50 for wine, can't remember the other prices sorry). Hairdryer, towels (2 large and 2 small), loads of toiletries (ritual shampoo, conditioner, lotion, body wash), tissues and toilet roll. Shower was fab although you do have to watch the amount of time you spend in it...10 mins of hot water max..but this wasn't a problem for two in a cabin. Sometimes one of us had a shower on the evening and the other in the morning to be on the safe side. Just remember to put the toilet roll on the side before showering. We suspected the WIFI wouldn't be any good in our cabin due to being so far away from the reception area but it was brilliant. We took a tablet with us for some entertainment in the cabin while enjoying the views, having a little drink or getting ready. Plenty of electric sockets to charge cameras, phones etc. Loads of storage for clothes, hooks for coats and 6 coat hangers. There was a button on the wall which activated the heated windows in order to clear the snow. What a fab feature! The price of the cabin includes breakfast (7-10) and evening meal (5-8). Self serve and plenty to eat.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    9.2
    Most scenic place in Lapland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stunning location, great set-up, all local attraction in a stone throw away. Half board was include in price. Breakfast and dinner buffet were of excellent quality.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    8.3
    Everything was great but the only thing that could be better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great but the only thing that could be better is proving the trolley service to carry luggages to the cabins. We had to drag our belongings all the way from the reception to our room on the snow. Luckily, our room is not far. If you get a room which far from the reception it could be a nightmare.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    9.2
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the whole atmosphere of the place. Great location, awesome cabins, close enough to walk to town, but far enough away to feel removed and in nature. Loved the laser heated glass windows for sky views. I would absolutely come back here.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    9.6
    A beautiful establishment and a beautiful way to experience the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been a few more games or activities for the main building. Understandably difficult to strike a balance between peace and serenity versus keeping occupied/having fun. Entry to the Ice Bar & Restaurant incurred an entry fee which seemed unnecessary and excessive if you were staying at the hotel. It's opening times were quite restrictive.

    The Aurora cabins are a beautiful way to experience the northern sky. The food in the restaurant was great. The main building and its fireplaces were cozy. The staff were helpful and friendly. The proximity to Saariselka Ski Resort is very handy. Transfers were available using the hotel's services.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    9.2
    Awesome location to see the Aurora
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The buffet felt a little 'institutional' but there was reasonable variety and plenty to go around.

    The Aurora cabins were excellent. We loved the glass ceiling, really comfortable beds and cosy warmth. The whole operation was very efficient and booking activities was very easy.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent place for aurora hunting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent place for aurora hunting. We are lucky enough to see aurora inside our cabin! There are varieties of activities offered at the daytime. Places are clean and staff are helpful. We would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything! This place was everything I envisioned and more. I couldn’t say enough good things about this hotel! Rooms were beautiful and staff great!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    10
    The place was lively and close to the Saariselkä centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was lively and close to the Saariselkä centre. The Aurora cabins were beautiful and we had the opportunity to see the northern lights from them. It’s beautiful to look at the star filled night sky from the cabins. The food was nice and Staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the northern lights tour by the lake and by the border taken through the hotel. It was a small group and they took very good care of us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will keep coming back :)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    9.6
    Extraordinary display of lights, great snow activities, good food, relaxed lodge like feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee quality, turn lights out when the aurora is showing.

    Good quality lodge like atmosphere. As per the marketing - we actually did see a fantastic light display lying in bed through the glass roof.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    7.5
    It says the mini bar is included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night

    It says the mini bar is included. In the end we had to pay for the drinks. The only reaction was sorry that the information was missing in the cabin. Not a very high service level for a place where you pay a few hundred euros a night

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.2
    Great cabins, loved them!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great set up in the lodge. All well done Tours were great and staff lovely. Only issue is to watch for the meeting time. Every one is 15 mins ahead except the huskies. Granted they do send lots of emails, but we missed it. We showed up and they said they just left. We asked if we could get a car or taxi to the farm. No. It’s not like we’d be anywhere else and the staff could have called us in our room to come when we weren’t there considering we paid 270 euros - now it’s gone, no refund. They also said nothing else was available. Luckily I went online and quickly called several places and found 2 slots for that day, determined to find something, they didn’t do anything. The huskies were our favourite. When we are receiving multiple emails for every tour, a reminder would have helped, even at check in when we discussed the number of tours. Or a sign in the lobby of meeting times when we are spending a lot of money. Or a text. Something. That was a big miss in service. We complained and they were nice but no accommodation at all. A free drink or little extra would have been nice given we stayed 5 days and 4 nights. And lost 270 euros when we didn’t have to.

    Great cabins, loved them! Warm and private enough. The views are amazing at night. We saw the northern lights from inside.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    10
    This is without question the most relaxing, fairytale...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's nothing to not like. If I was forced into being REALLY picky I'd complain that I can't go every week! Two flights away from London Heathrow but Finnair were perfect too so nothing negative to report.

    This is without question the most relaxing, fairytale location I've ever visited. All the staff were welcoming and didn't have the word "no" in their vocabulary. The atmosphere was easy & relaxed. The excursions were well organised and very enjoyable. You wouldn't realise that these people do these trips to many groups multiple times per day - you're treated as the only people visiting. The food was simple but excellent, exactly what was needed after your day out. The aurora cabins are much warmer than expected, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    9.6
    A very different expereince for someone from the warm Southern hemishpere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cabins, with views to the sky, were compact but more than spacious enough. The common lounge area, with a simple lunch buffet available all day, was great - - no need to worry about when your activity would finish, relative to when food would be available Easy to sign up for activities and the staff on the activities were friendly and engaged

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    9.6
    The cabins were beautiful and the property was just gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charging for using the sauna felt very unfair. Also the dinner in the ice restaurant, whilst the food was lovely, we left hungry and felt that it was very overpriced (especially since you had to pay for drinks on top of the meal price)

    The cabins were beautiful and the property was just gorgeous

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    7.5
    Northern Lights - well done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For what we paid for the room, mini bar should've been free - also no tooth paste and other essentials that a hotel/motel/air bnb would provide, again that's a minimum given payment.

    Activity packages were good, buffet breakfast/dinner was amazing, room was nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay at a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not enjoy the aurora hunting by snowmobile. The ride was very short and the route was not interesting. Also the chosen location was not ideal with light pollution from two of the main towns nearby. For this trip two groups were combined - the snowmobile group and another aurora hunting by heated sleigh. This made the group very big and not conducive to enjoying the serenity and ambience of the location.

    I like that getting to and from the airport to the property was very convenient - the local airport bus literally drop and pick you up from the property. Quite often this is an issue with remote locations. I enjoyed the aurora hunting from the Finnish-Russian border - the location in itself was interesting. Our guide on this trip was most pleasant and informative. The aurora hunting by snow trekking was good, again due to having a good guide who gave us a real snow trekking experience in the night. I enjoyed my lesson on cross-country skiing (despite my many falls) - guide/instructor was very patient even though we must have bored him to tears. A good guide is really key to your experience.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.2
    Highly recommend it for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a bit surprised by the number of extras which I would have thought would be included, such as €5/cabin to help you get your luggage to the lobby and €15/night for the aurora alert service (which increased from €5/night last year).

    Great cabins and the half board was very helpful in a remote location. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Having the option to go downhill skiing was a great way to spend the day and then go aurora hunting at night.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    9.2
    Great stay! Would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish that the glass roof had blinds or could tint to be darker as sometimes it’s hard to sleep at night with the light from stars and other rooms. Also no one takes your luggage to your room...you have to carry it through the snow yourself. The food was average. Considering what you pay you would expect more in small areas.

    Loved the glass roof and the whole trip was amazing. We didn’t see the northern lights on our stay (beginning of Jan) The activities were organised and ran on time. Highly recommend the husky sledding.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    6.7
    The atmosphere and activities are great. Rooms are cosy. Massively overpriced for the quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Despite the luxurious prices there is nothing luxurious about the hotel. If you are not one of the lucky ones in the side row there is no chance of seeing any of the sky due to all the light. The cleanliness is questionable, there was a very bad smell in our room throughout the stay, couldnt figure out if its the drain or the carpet next to the door. Room service is limited, we had our room cleaned once during our stay. The complementary breakfast was ok, but the dinner was very bad quality and repetitive most of the nights. There was two single beds with single matress toppers ...

    Excellent location, great tours and activities. Cosy Cabin.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.5
    The hotel setup was great, the rooms were fantastic, staff...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only let down at the hotel was the food. Breakfast and dinner were included and it was very very average. There were many couples we spoke to who made the same comment about the food. It was not a cheap place to stray and when you have been out and about all day you want to come back to something decent to eat and unfortunately it was not to a good standard.

    The hotel setup was great, the rooms were fantastic, staff were friendly and tours were fun.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.3
    very enjoyable and would recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed 4 nights and the menu was very repetitive, Desserts for dinner were very ordinary There was not enough unflavoured tea bags

    Staff were very helpful and friendly, Andrea at front desk was especially good. All guides on activities were great Would have liked more information on the activities in the room so decisions can be made prior to coming to book EG time the activity starts, how much walking is involved and if there are any restrooms available

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    8.3
    Great location and activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom in our cabin had terrible smell coming up through the drains, not sure if this was a fault with the drainage or a common complaint due to the design of the drainage. Waiting to find out, I was in cabin 76

    Great location and activities

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    7.1
    There was a lovely atmosphere inside tbe cabins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed at and was disappointed with some of the finishing touches. The bathroom was poorly designed and nothing seemed to be quite right. I really would have expected better for the price. There was none of the usual toiletry accessories usually found in expensive hotels. The floor was coming apart with lots of gaps between the planks. The ice built up at the door to the restaurant building and was becoming slippery and no maintenance was done on it. I was disappointed to be told I had to pay extra for aurora alerts considering this is why they have these cabins.

    There was a lovely atmosphere inside tbe cabins. The bed was very comfortable. Tbe heating was was also adjustable adding to comfort. There was space around the bed to move. I loooooved the aurora windows and that you could heat them to clear the snow. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was great thst they supplied warm clothing, boots etc for all the optional winter activities. The location was great, just out of the village away from the lights for aurora watching but close enough to walk in for shopping or a meal.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    10
    -Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -Nothing to dislike -we missed the northern lights due to weather

    -Great location -Our cabin was one of the rear row lining against the forest so it had great views of nature

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    10
    Great Even Without the Lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Meal options felt very limited. I’ve bar wasn’t ready yet!

    I stayed here 1 night and at Kakslauttenen 1 night and preferred my stay here! Smaller property but offers a lot and the Aurora cabins were very spacious and pleasant to stay in.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    3.8
    Over priced very unhelpful rubbish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Customer service rubbish, no information about resort or the town ..... if you ask it's like pulling teeth !!!! When you check in you then get drag your own luggage through the ice and snow to your cabin. Food mediocre and repetitive, staff and workmen eat guest buffet food in the restaurant ..... It's like a staff canteen. No housekeeping, half a bottle of shampoo and half a bottle of shower gel .... That's It, not even a bar of soap to wash your hands!!!!!. Very very overpriced. Do not book the tours and experiences at the hotel go into town 5 mins away and book with Husky tours..... same trips half the price. The services eg sauna is only available 1 hour for men 1 hour for women and if you want to book mixed session that is only available 1 hour a day and will cost you 15 euro. Everything little thing you ask for there is a charge attached. Very boring unhelpful resort eiukd never recommend much better and cheaper in little town of Saariselka.

    The igloos are very nice

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful cabins, fantastic activities managed by the friendliest staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cabins in row 1-10 definitely have the most privacy. We were in this row (upon request) however I would have been a little disappointed had we not been. Our cabin (2) had a window in the door which reduced privacy further - perhaps a roll down blind to cover this to allow more space to get changed etc would be beneficial.

    The staff at NLV could not have been more accommodating. From the beginning of our stay were we met with friendliness and staff willing to go above and beyond to help us have a great time. The cabins are beautiful also. The tours are fantastic - we partook in searching for santa, the reindeer day, husky safari and two Northern Lights Safaris and could not have been happier with the activity itself and the professionalism of the guides.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    7.1
    Clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet seats and bath shower too close within the bathroom due to the cabin design. Resort does not provide free shuttle bus services to nearby bus stop at city center (only 10min walk across the road) which I feel this is necessary to give guest a great experience instead of charging guest $5 euro per pax for such a short distance drive.

    Clean room. Good reception services. Good food from breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    5.0
    It’s great if the skies are clear and aurora sightings are daily - makes it worthwhile for with gla
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cabin is too small, the slanted roof and glass panels were too low and we hit our heads numerous times. Don’t like the water heater where we have to wait 30 mins between each shower for water to heat up. There’s no privacy as our cabins is facing another cabin. If the lights are on, other guests can see us through the full glass panel. They should have installed blinds. The glass panel on the main door facing the full glass panel also do not have any blinds. Very inconvenient as everyone have to take turns to change in the toilet, the only private space in the cabin. But the toilet has a funky smell so not exactly pleasant! Don’t like the €15 charge for a special buzzer if Northern Lights is sightedand reception will alert us. This should be a complimentary service, considering the price we are paying for the cabin! There’s no telephone to call reception or house keeping. Live chat doesn’t work on mobile or tablets so if we need anything we have to walk out in the cold to reception!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.3
    The cabin skyline glass is exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff Amber gave us a vey poor experience. She offers bad hospitality, unfriendly, everything is impossible, you have to go to the manager to get anything done.

    The cabin skyline glass is exceptional

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Anything!

    Wonderful! What place!!! It's under construction, it will get even better! The cabin is super cozy! Me and my sister had a simply delicious salmon soup! Amazing place, one day we will be back in the winter !!! The guide Eerikki is a professional of excellence! It is clear that he loves what he does. Committed, efficient and willing! Not to mention that he understands photography and takes great photos!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of capacity to make direct contact with reception - the cabins do not have phones. Given the property exists to provide visitors with the best possible opportunity to see the Northern Lights, a more effective system of alerting visitors when the lights are visible, such as a non-intrusive alert system connected to each room rather than charging visitors 5 Euro to ring their mobile number, would be a great addition to the services offered by the property.

    The property was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    9.2
    A lovely stay in a snowy wonderland :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More options needed in lunch and dinner. Thankfully, the chef kindly prepared some chicken for us during dinner on both the nights. It was a relief for us since we do not eat other types of meat.

    Super awesome views of the Aurora lights from the cabin. That trumps everything else...goo or bad !!! Plus the husky safari was excellent :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel caters to large tourist groups. The dining area consists of large wooden tables and long benches on either side of the table -very similar in appearance to picnic tables. There is no lounge area other than about nine chairs tightly packed around a small stove type fireplace. Food was buffet style and though plentiful was rather mediocre and meals must be taken at hotel - included in roommate. Igloo rooms had small bathrooms and shower head was so close to toilet, one could not avoid wetting toilet when taking a shower. No amenities like a shower cap were given. Soap was in wall dispensers. No room cleaning unless you either stay more than two nights or make a special request.

    Individual cabin accommodations that were quiet and had sitting area. Location in serene wooded area. Nice staff. Ability to make activity reservation at hotel though more expensive than in town tour agents.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    8.3
    Superb accommodation and super, helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were quite hard, could feel it in my back after a 3 night stay. Minor thing but housekeeping visit every other day; for the price, it would be better for them to visit every day and make the beds/restock the mini bar. We dropped something under the bed and it came out so dusty - hadn't been cleaned for a good while!

    Gorgeous, well equipped aurora cabins with beautiful views located in a stunning setting. Great breakfast and dinner buffets with a meat, fish and vegetarian option. All the staff, from reception to tour guides were so friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded expectations, and iglools are perfect for northern light viewing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to do socially after dinner.

    The igloos were amazing, great views to wake up to and to see the northern lights from! Village is within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing! maybe the location of NLV is a little bit far away from the restaurants in the town.

    I will definitely come back to live in this hotel in the future with my family or lover!! I love everything in this hotel, the sauna and ice poor was such a surprise, the ice bar was super cool, the cabin is so beautiful with its view and the decoration.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    7.5
    You will get the most of Aurora here (right above you) if you are lucky enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A curtain should be installed on the door of the Aurora cabin to avoid lights from opposite cabins entering the room in the middle of the night. The hotel should consider adding hooks inside the washroom to hang clothings.

    The reception always answers our inquiries

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    5.0
    Do not recommend or expect a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food choice is awful. The worst I saw. Little neutral food. Only curry, reindeer and etc. only potatoes. No even tomatoes during lunch. We paid for the lunch additionally. Told the staff that there was no chicken already. We were waiting and waiting and didn’t get it. But we’re charged at full for no food. Had to go to nearest pizza next day after the same situation during the dinner. Nothing to eat. WiFi... forget about it. They have it, but it’s not working at all. Seems like wrong setting in router. It gives IP and then kick you off. For 600 euros per night you expect great service like in Maldives for such price. But there was a lot of Chinese noisy people. They didn’t abide rules. In dinner zone were sitting in outer clothes. Seems like a hostel. For our “good morning” staff was just ignoring us. Even nowhere to hang on the towel in a bathroom. Toilet paper just stands near the sink. Economy? In such expensive place? Not cosy place. If not a glass ceiling, we would just hate this hotel. Reindeer trip was also the worst that could be. All deers were connected like a train. You sit in this deer train and that’s it. Just like sheep 25min non-stoppable monotone ride. Really expected a lot of this stay. Not worth at all.

    Aurora cabin is very nice. Warm. Heating of the window is super cool and useful. Beautiful territory

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna-area still under construction. Seats at restaurant not very comfortable. Towels should be changed daily.

    good breakfast and satisfying dinner. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    6.3
    Money isn't the way. Kindness is. Will not visit again.
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi is absolutely not working in the cabin. There's wifi available in the restaurant. Therefore, whenever you need to use wifi you have to visit the restaurant. Inconvenient in this sense. There's a black and white side to everything. Same in Northern Lights Village. Please don't use money for excuse. " It's 70 Euros anyway". This hurtful sentence will stuck with me forever. Sad and pathetic reception. Please stop using money for excuse. If there's a set price for everything, the village will never succeed in tourism. Money isn't the way. Kindness is.

    Food was pretty great in the restaurant. In a place like this, where everything is in extreme conditions. Extreme nature conditions, extreme coldness, and wild horrifying cold wind. A warm sweet bun or a bowl of hot soup is so comforting and reassuring. Fresh, simple, natural ingredients in every meal. Restaurants staff are the best! They are very helpful and attentive to personal needs. Dinner has desserts as well! They really put thoughts and lots of efforts into every meal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    8.3
    if the price was lowered slightly i would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night

    How the toilet and shower are set up is a bit of an issue. I understand theres limited room but an open fronted shower with the toilet directly in front of it means the toilet is wet from spray off the person showering and after the shower you have to dry the toilet and surrounding floor area before being able to use the toilet

    The units are as they were described and comfortable. The view through the window / glass roof was good. Northern lights were not visible. The dinner and breakfast buffet were good with a reasonable choice of foods. It was more a novelty to stay there than actually expect to see the lights. For me the cost of a nights stay does not equal what you get. I would say its value would be about $350 euro rather than what i paid but thats just my opinion. I cannot really fault anything other than the cost and the toilet / shower set up

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Magical honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Northern Lights Village was magical. We stayed here for a week for our honeymoon and would visit again. The staff made the stay wonderful. The guides for the activities were amazing. It was great watching the northern lights from our room. Food was great every day and there was a great choice. The activities on offer were better then we expected and ended up doing more then we had originally planned. I would recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    9.2
    A fantastic, comfortable stay in winter wonderland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a fancy, expensive hotel they skimped out on some items. For example, the tea and coffee they offered was the cheapest you could find in the shop. Same with the toilet paper. It's not a big deal of course but was just at odds with how nice the place is and how much it costs. WiFi also didn't work.

    The location and the views from our accommodation were incredible. It was such a fantastic experience and worth the extra money it cost us. Staff were very helpful and food tasty. The house was really cosy and romantic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    5.8
    Great accommodation but not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food included was really average, given the price we paid I expected much better quality. Disappointing you had to pay to go the the ice bar. Whilst the accommodation was amazing, they charge you for absolutely everything. I wouldn't stay here again. Also too much light pollution around the property so very limited chance you will see the lights.

    The room was beautiful and the bed was really comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    8.3
    We had a wonderful experience and time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasnt fresh towels everyday and the wifi was weak , The minibar wasnt refilled everyday and there was no diet coke I would also recomend better wine selection.

    Breakfast , lunch , activities , room , location and it was a great trip

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They just adjusted a final time on our trip but didn’t tell until we were waiting for the original time. Just a slight hiccup!

    Everything that was on the brochure was reality! It was superb! Everyone loves what they do!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.2
    Cabin under the stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The glass ceiling in the Cabins is amazing, perfect views under the stars. The ice restaurant is a nice touch. The food throughout was good. The feel of the place is very high end and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    7.1
    Snowy holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction work ongoing, finishing of cabin still lacking details. Dinner included, but not very good quality food; you would get better in a workplace lunch cafeteria. Soup lunch for extra fee, tasty but mainly broth. All in all, for the price you pay, you would expect a bit better quality food, as there all in all is hardly justification for the price.

    Peaceful place, cosy cabin, very friendly personnel. Location good, gives peace but you can walk easily to the center of Saariselkä. Free coffee available in the restaurant. Good quality beds, lovely view. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing, and not just because we didn't see any northern lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were so-so, and the dining experience was generally awful. Signing in at each meal with the elderly, uninterested woman who spoke little English was a consistent exercise in frustration. The main virtue of the hut we stayed in was that you didn't care if you tracked mud or ice onto the floor, because no one would ever notice.

    Dog sledding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    9.2
    Convenience of included meals, location of facility to town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast buffet could have used a little more variety. Wifi in cabin didn't actually work.

    Convenience of included meals, location of facility to town, staff's eagerness to assist and ensure a good experience, options available for activities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    4.2
    服務與收費不相稱
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you pay over EUR 500 per night you expect something better. Upon arrival we were told that the room is ready, but when we enter the room the previous guest was still there! The air conditioning system in the room went out of order and we nearly could not survive under the low temperature. The staff had not been very helpful, not even in terms of providing information on aurora, which is the main purpose for us to be there. There was very limited facility in the room, and the wifi sometimes is not working well. In short, the price is much higher than what the service reflects.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    9.2
    Overall lovely experience in a unique location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was buffet style only . Check in missed a few pieces of info about the cabin functionality. More advice on what to bring would have been helpful as we were very cold until we stocked up on expensive thermal gear. Traditional ski gear just not warm enough.

    Cabins were lovely. Good options for activities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    10
    Really cosy cabins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasnt a lot of signage, e.g. how to get to the reindeer farm or the village. Food is ok, varies every day.

    Really cosy cabins. Beds are 2 singles pushed together but very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.1
    Perfect Aurora Cabin! Nice decorate with large window
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sauna is under construction Too many tours / groups to share the restaurant Breakfast buffet - not much selection, empty tray no refill Dinner buffet - i am not expect the luxury hotel offer dinner buffet but not up to standard

    Beautiful resort and stunning view surrounded With Reindeer farm Nice Ice Bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    7.1
    Hotel village with great potential, but need better planning and management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel and facilities are expanding too fast (from 20 to 80 cabins in about 1.5 years), and things and services are not catching up despite that the staff are obviously working very hard. The boss and management need to reflect on this, and restore the needed quality and value for money. Otherwise, visitors will prefer other locations. Things in general are quite expensive there when compared to other hotels'. Location is comfortable and scenic in Winter (especially when covered with snow). But not sure about other seasons as the place is quite dug up and developing fast.

    Staff in general are working very hard and helpful. The free supply of Winter outdoor suit is excellent. Cabin is comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    10
    Winter wonderland; wonderful service and attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sky was cloudy when we were there...but I can hardly blame the hotel for that!

    The property is immaculate and stunning. The floors in the bathroom are heated! (I loved that!) Laying in bed and looking up at the sky is awesome! Customer service is unparalleled; Filip is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful cabins and Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to share our private taxi back to the airport with other guests which we didn't mind at all as it is more eco friendly. However they charged us all the same so they ended up profiting from this and refusing to discount our taxi ride for sharing which I thought a bit unfair. One suggestion would be to provide soy milk at breakfast. Many people are vegan/ have allergies/ intolerant/ would choose soy milk over cows milk and I saw it was sold in the supermarket over the road? Also a sunflower spread would be nice also rather than two types of cows butter.

    All the staff are lovely and really went the extra mile for us which makes such a difference on magical trips like this. They made sure our dietary requirements were met with lots of vegan options. All the food we had tasted delicious and fresh and it all looked lovely. The hotel is in a faboulous location, it feels so private and secluded yet there is a short cute walk to local restaurants, pubs and supermarket! (Taking the sledges was fun)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay for 2 or 3 nights but not more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We knew before departure that there were some work in progress in the northern lights village. We stayed there 5 nights and our cabins was situated next to this work. It started to make noise every morning at 7.00. We would have preferred staying in a cabin at the opposite side of the work (there were some free cabins there). The excursions proposed by the village are nice but are expensive in comparison to what you get (ex : we waited one hour before starting an excursion or excursion was shorter than mentioned).

    We enjoyed the room, really cosy. We also like the food which was excellent. The excursions guides are really nice, and friendly. They explained us many things about life in Lapland.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    10
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The transfer from the airport was excellent but a little pricey at £70 euros each way . It's about 25 mins in mini bus. We went on the husky safari for 2 hours which was with an off-site facilities which too be honest left me feeling uncomfortable with the way the dogs appeared. The experience was great but not sure about animal welfare.... I could be wrong here but just did not feel good for the dogs.

    If you are looking for something a little different you will certainly find it here. The accomodation is wonderful. We went in November and the scenery was breathtaking. The staff were incredibly friendly and I must mention Dan and Alex who were very approachable and helpful. The aurora hunt on ski mobiles led by Alex was simply exhilarating and real value for money. while we did not get to see the lights this trip is a must. The chef in the safari hut deli drivers Avery palatable expedition both morning and night. The reception area is well managed and most welcoming. I would recommend this location and also request cabin 1 to 10 if possible this looks straight out on the woods and the night sky from the vast window is stunning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.2
    It is an amazing destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Signage is lacking coming in and out. The snow makes points of reference ambiguous. Some guests in groups from the Far East can be a bit obnoxious, loud, with poor respect of personal boundaries.

    This has the feeling of an Arctic Outpost (no kidding). It is charming in its own way, services are basic. No phones or TVs in the cabins. Excellent WiFi, excellent cellphone reception in the cabins. No maid service. Cabins are actually quite cozy, we were never cold. To us, the food was outstanding considering the location. Fresh, interesting variance. There is a very pleasant camaraderie among the employees that filters through.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant but overpriced for the product you're receiving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disorganised, still under significant construction (tools, machinery and workers nearby), hot water supply extremely short (cut off 6 minutes after shower commenced), orientation of Cabins lack privacy (could see into most cabins very well walking to the reception from my cabin)

    Unique concept, fantastic way to see the lights, close to Saariselkä village, close to woods.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful setting for the property and an easy walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful setting for the property and an easy walk to the village shops. We were there in early November, a good walk in the snow. Dinner could have had a bit more variety. Staff were very friendly and accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    7.5
    The property is very new and clean. Accessible by car or hotel airport shuttle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room does not have hooks for coats. The hooks in the bathroom are placed above the sink and does not have enough space for bath towels. The room size is good for triple sharing.

    The service at the restaurant is very good. The staff walked us to the cabin and I thought that was a very good gesture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    10
    Amazing visit to Lapland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we couldn't stay longer.

    Place was amazing and the staff were super attentive and responsive. They made an extra special effort to accommodate some dietary allergy issues and it was greatly appreciated. Overall just super friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast and dinner are included which are quite nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast and dinner are included which are quite nice. The room is clean and new while the aurora cabin is excellent for viewing northern lights.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    10
    Sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sauna

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Excellent stay and greta and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent stay and greta and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    9.2
    We liked being able to see the Northern Lights from our room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked being able to see the Northern Lights from our room with heated floors and heated glass. We really enjoyed their buffets.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    Excellent resort, lovely location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent resort, lovely location and facilities. The staff were all lovely and really helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    Very nice Hotel.
    • Couple
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    9.6
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the igloos are amazing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.2
    Generally was very good, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast and the buffet dinner are not that great, not many varieties

    The staffs are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    5.8
    Good design, good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aurora Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far, shuttle service needed to be paid, dinner is aweful

    Good design, good view

    Stayed in January 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!