Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Radisson Blu Aleksanteri Hotel, Helsinki 4 stars

Albertinkatu 34, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00180 Helsinki, Finland

#42 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1756 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and satisfying stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minus for breakfast being so crowded on Sunday morning that you couldn’t find any free tables even out in the lobby. Also the saunas opening hours weren’t very generous.

    Plus for (good!) breakfast buffet until 11 and checkout until 12. Room was quite spacious and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable Business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi would cut out often but still usable for working

    Good sized rooms, good choice for breakfast. Friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. Good selection in the gym room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Very nice staff, old room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy (ground floor) and accessible through quite old looking corridor. The room looked only partially renewed.

    Nice staff, good breakfast, clean and new common areas, gym and sauna

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator/ stairs to the room was a little confusing at first, requiring many turns and locked doors.

    Room was nice and comfortable, breakfast was good with several gluten-free options available, as well as omelettes for order which was nice. The location is good for walking anywhere within the city centre area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Bottle of shampoo was left in my room from the previous...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottle of shampoo was left in my room from the previous person. Showing the shower had not been properly cleaned. Also the shower kept flooding the washroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    Reception personnel polite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning personnel did not clean. Left room untidy last day before check out. Bed uncomfortable. Old furniture. TV mostly Finish channels. Expensive room service.

    Reception personnel polite. Location very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathroom a bit small

    Excellent staff Good location- 1-2 km radius from museums, cafes, restaurants, etc. Clean, quiet Very comfortable pillows and bed Complimentary coffee, tea and water at reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    The location is very good, near the city center, rail...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I choose such hotel categories I expect to receive such basically things like daily towel exchange and bathroom showers for both guests in room. And the housemaid to not take my key card from the room!!!

    The location is very good, near the city center, rail station and ferry ports. Helpful stuff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay in centre of Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not up to par. Not enough sittings for the breakfast too. The rooms are quite fully booked, so I had some room at somewhat like a basement entrance, though it is at the 1st floor. Room key card did not work

    The staff was really pleasant. Very friendly. Check out was very easy. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    8 days in Helsinki
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Uncomfortable bed in single room. Thin mattress atop regular mattress was too soft and would shift during the night. 2. Dinners at hotel restaurant were overpriced for average quality food. 3. "Luxury" hotel should not have scratchy towels.

    Very helpful and friendly front desk staff. Good shower, great wifi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a design district stay with quirky decor and high quality finishes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was chaotic & 2 out of 3 mornings the coffee machine was out of order. Only one morning were we offered tea/coffee at the table. There were insufficient tables in the dining room and tables weren't cleared. Insufficient staff to keep everything replenished - two mornings there was no butter left. The quality and selection of food was good but it was a poor experience.

    Beautiful rooms with high quality furnishings and bedding, were provided with interconnecting rooms as requested. Offered Radisson Blu membership to reduce cost of breakfast & free water provided. In room wine provided at reasonable price (for Helsinki). Reception were happy to call a restaurant to make reservations for us. Bag storage was convenient and very secure

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    HIGHLY RECOMMEND
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant place to stay - great room, comfortable bed, choice of pillows/duvets for best sleep - food at their restaurant was beautiful, great location. Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Even extended my stay an extra night - would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Solid location, ok experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -floor is a little aged, creaks -a little small for the price -tv is angled where you have to sit in chair rather than watching straight from bed

    -good location, only 10 minutes walk or use the 6 tram to get to center -good service, employee opened the door for me at 3am when I forgot to slide my card in the side slot -quick check in and check out, very efficient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a distance between the nearest tram stop and the hotel. Unfortunately we had heavy luggage to drag over on foot all the way. The road to the hotel was too bumpy for our suitcase wheels and one wheel fell out eventually. We eventually had to take a Uber ride on our way back to the railway station. It cost about 13 euros.

    Without luggage, we had a pleasant walk to Stockmann shopping mall. On the way there, we also found two sushi lunch buffets at only 11-12 euros weekdays and 14-15 euros weekends. The hotel also has a free sauna. The room has everything we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    It is well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given rooms in floor -1. The windows of the room backed onto a car park, so the view was of the windshield of a VW van parked 1m from our room. The staff changed us to another room higher up, behind the lift. Where the bed was small and the WiFi barely reached. I am surprised that a hotel of this standing has rooms like this.

    It is well located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Electric outlets by the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower flooded the whole bathroom floor! Had to put towels around the glass walls! The small mirror placed so I could not use it to see my back.

    Electric outlets by the beds. Easy to charge our phones! Nice backyard for relaxing in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Relaxed efficient and surprisingly good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed a Do not Disturb sign at the door. Housekeeping knocked a half hour before checkout and interrupted my yoga routine.

    The staff was friendly and very helpful.The breakfast room had a warm ambience and not impersonal. The omelette maker can hold his own in Paris....Perfect! The bed was super comfortable And they served Kusmi tea at the bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Pretty City Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive for the size of the room, the state of the shower & furniture and the variety at breakfast

    Nice old building, very nice receptionist, good location close to down town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful breakfast buffet and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed in the historic part of the hotel and the bathroom could use a renovation: there is no floor heating and no towel heater, so we found it difficult to dry wet clothes in the bathroom. Also the floor did get a bit cold in the bathroom despite this being in the middle of the summer. The TV was OK but a bigger TV with more channels would be great for rainy evenings.

    The breakfast buffet is wonderful, very tasty, fresh and clean, and many options! We especially liked that you get your own coffee pot to keep at your table. As for the hotel room itself it was quite wonderful: spacious and with a high ceiling and beautiful windows. The sauna in the basement is a big plus and it was clean and tidy. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel's location is great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable and well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cinnamon buns are no longer served in the afternoon. I did not receive any Radisson rewards although I became a member on arrival and ate in the restaurant a few times which entitled me to discounts.

    Beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Choice of 5 different pillows and 4 different duvets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Very cosy. Wonderful roof tops view I had. It was actually a tiny room for one, but so well organized that I felt very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    The bed is the most comfortable one that I have ever tried...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If picky, I would suggest you could improve the breakfast and provide more choices.

    The bed is the most comfortable one that I have ever tried so far. It makes us have a very super nice sleep last night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was small and the machines were old, there was also no doorman to help with bags.

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again. Overa great experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Loved my stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like about this hotel.

    Loved my stay here. Everything from the room to the colleagues working there were fantastic. The colleagues on the reception couldn’t have been anymore helpful & the colleagues in the bar were a pleasure to deal with. I’ll definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the navigation inside hotel is a bit complicated as it consist of several small buildings separated by stairway.

    Nice small hotel. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Lobby area and restaurant are beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is cold outside in the winter of course, but unfortunately also in hotel room was not warm even though the ''heating'' set to max temperature - it doesn't do anything. I had to ask for 2 additional heaters to have a normal temperature inside.

    Lobby area and restaurant are beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Good place to zone out, very quiet, if you want to meet interesting people this is not the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC was impossible to operate, the directions and what actually happens when you press the temperature settings are completely off.

    Location, Friendly and helpful staff, good price for the room in off-peak season. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor housekeeping. We came to hotel , got the key , and surprisingly room was not cleaned! Sad but true. Next day we had poor cleaning and no coffee cups and water . To get them we had to ask for it. Come on Raddison you can do better !

    Great location ! Awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    The location is really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is tiny, the room has very strange design, air conditioner didn’t work at one room, so we got another. The elevator in the old building is very loud and not comfortable at all. In the lobby you have really loud music in the evening, so it is not possible to use it for a conversation. The fitness club is not good maintained. And just interesting fact: you got a twinnings tea in your room, but in the lobby you have a kusmi tee ( for 4 euro per cup).

    The location is really great. People at the reseption very nice and made all reasonable wishes come true ( like early breakfast and room changing). Check in was great, Check out is perfect . And complementary coffee and buns between 3 and 5 p.m. we didn’t use it , but it looked tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room heater was broken, so we got ice cold room. Staff find 2 extra heater so it last we got our room warm, but floor and bathroom floor was still ice cold beacuse there was floorheater. Very disapointed...

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Good overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the reception want's to collect more private information that is necessary to register them in their customer register (email, social security number), and it requires firmness to get them remove those. The shower produced enough water for getting a shower, but as it was apparently meant to be ecological, the amount wasn't luxurious.

    The rooms and bathrooms were big for the price, the beds comfy. The reception was friendly, no queues when we arrived and left. ¨ The lobby bar was also a good choice to get a quick night cap, although the atmosphere was a bit cold for a longer stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    We would recommend the hotel, but would make clear statements on both pros and cons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Strong cons: flooded bathroom in which there was even a squeegee for us to try to wipe the flood ourselves. Another con: not regular room service. In fact, during our 6-night stay, the room was arranged only two or three times (and by request).

    Two immediate highlights from the hotel experience: excellent staff (very supportive and educated) and rich breakfast (I mean, really amazing! A plethora of variety on cold and hot meals, with global and local food offering)! Also the hotel location is plus. It's not immediately at the harbor nor in front of the main station (which we find great as it's quieter and more peaceful), but it's still literally walking distance from the main areas of Helsinki.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Marvelous staff ready to fullfill all your wishes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to suprise my better half by doing spontanious stay in this hotel. I booked the hotel room on the same day as we arrived. I asked the hotel staff to make something special in the room, and we ended up having some sparkling wine and delicious pastries and fruit in our room waiting for us as we arrived. They even managed to put electric candles! Marvelous work in such a short notice! Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    I liked the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work in my room 320, generally poor throughout hotel, which is strange for Finland, and must be a temporary problem. Gym too pokey-there was an alternate elsewhere for another 10 euro but did not try.

    I liked the staff. Room is nice, relaxing space and private. Breakfast was good and good espresso.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Thank you for the wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you for the wonderful experience! The staff is very friendly and professional. The breakfast has a lot to offer - including a rich choice of glutenfree food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice cosy and comfortable hotel not far from main activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main complain is about room climate control: it was pretty cold there because of its location, and the batteries were off. I asked for help at reception, stuff got the information but actually did nothing to change it. In fact I had to sleep in clothes and under 2 blankets to stay warmed at nights. Breakfast had everything that you might need, but still if we compare it with other hotels' breakfasts with the same fare policy, it will be pretty poor.

    First of all, I wanted to stay at a hotel with some history and Aleksanteri Hotel was a perfect choice for that. The whole building was old in a good meaning of this word :) I got a room in the farest end and it's atmosphere was authentic as I wanted. The room itself was perfect also, clean and bright bathroom, cosy and comfortable bed, 2 windows with view on the Theatre building. Hotel facilities were also nice: a small gym, hot sauna. Loyal fares for cocktails at the bar. The hotel has excellent location, a bit far from main touristic routes, but still close to all main points of activities: 800 m till Kamppi, 900m till Stockmann, 1 km till Observatiry Hill.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows cannot be opened - no chance for fresh air. The water easilly escapes from the shower cabin - you have to clean it with the towel. A little overpriced for these reasons.

    Good breakfast. Nice lounge bar for the evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel in the center of Helsinki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit outdated. Hallway carpets were not clean. Breakfast not the best in Helsinki. The very high bed can be uncomfortable for some. Difficult to navigate in the hotel.

    Good hotel in the center of Helsinki. The rooms were comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    The bed is perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with heating, it was very cold to sleep at night. Lack of slippers :( The kettle in the room was rusty, it was unpleasant to use it to boil the water

    The bed is perfect! It's good guests can use mini bar as a fridge, don't need to take shower gel and soap with you, all is included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location in city centar, close to food shop and train station
    • Group
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit older than I think it will be

    It was very short stay.. just ovenight.. It is in city centar and very easy to reach from central train station. Kind stuff, room was clean and warm. Great coffie machine with tea and coffie for free

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect room and location for what we wanted. Fantastic staff, great breakfast.
    • Group
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing , it was exactly as expected and planned , which was great.

    We had a 22 hour stop off in Helsinki so decided to get a nice hotel and so a mini photoshoot while there. The Business suite here was beautiful and worked perfectly for us. Central too for seeing things and food was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    This hotel felt very cozy yet sophisticated on a spot on location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In winter time room floors (bathroom & main area) felt very cold. Other than that my stay was great.

    The bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly, helpful and made me feel welcomed. I would definitely consider the hotel for my next stay in Helsinki. Also menus were full of interesting local flavors to try. The fridge is just brilliant idea!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very clean and tidy. The hotel is ideally located away from the busy streets, yet within easy walking distance from all the central sights. Our business class room was big and very comfortable with everything you might need for a relaxing stay. The two large windows had a nice view onto the adjacent old theatre building. The Aleksanteri Lounge on the ground floor is a cosy place to have a drink and a light meal on a rainy day. I'd like to give special thanks to the staff, who were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a messy

    Sauna. Location. Taxi booked. Treats before 5 am for guests who left early. EXTREMELY FRIENDLY STAFF! Comfortable bed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    For two people feeling under the weather, this hotel was fully equipped for us to lounge and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Saunas were separated by gender, so my partner and I couldn't enjoy them together like in some other places we stayed, but it was still nice to have one available when needed.

    The bed was so big and comfy which was perfect for when my partner and I both came down with a really bad cold. It was also great to be able to store our luggage at the hotel while we explored a bit before heading off to different cities in Finland. We even got to check in early which was so great! The people working at the front desk were so friendly and so helpful. Would definitely go back - I actually already have :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff was really helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was much overpriced. 3 min walk, in a fashionable cafe Ekberg beakfast is better and almost twice cheaper

    Staff was really helpful and friendly. Classical style of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel! Very confortable bedroom and very nice and relaxing atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many locked doors to get to the room (that I could simply open with the key) and veeeeery old elevator.

    The stuff was very friendly and helpful and the room was absolutely faultless. The reception area is very nice to just sit around and relax. Extra points for offering free coffee and buns on the afternoon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.8
    I was happy to leave after one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very old and the curtains had big stains. Other rooms were worse and very dark. Some rooms are on the ground floor next to a parking lot. The overall impression of the rooms and corridors is shabby, old and dark.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice comfortable place to stay in Helsinki. Close to City Centre but far away from Convention Centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view outside my room wasn't great. I could see a giant digger. But there was no noise.

    Check in was prompt and efficient. Lauri was very helpful. Safe Deposit Box in room was locked by previous guest. Promptly came with toolkit and unlocked it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Great affordable place close to plenty of things
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym had everything but definitely could use some upgrades.

    This place attracted us due to price and space. They had a large family room (big family here). We LOVED the bun and coffee hours at night. Amazing how something so simple as free buns can make one happy :) The rooms are retro/modern feel. Beds were cozy. Showers had hard, good pressure. There are some great places right around to eat and a market across the street. Sauna in basement was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the most beautiful hotel! We had the best bed, so soft (but not too soft!) and comfy, also they have a bath! I love baths! It felt luxurious in every way to stay in this gorgeous hotel. Perfect location. Beautiful lobby. Quiet but central location. 4 AM small breakfast offer. Really lovely quirky, happy and well mannered staff. LOVELY. (Also, there is a magnificent Thai, Koi, I think it is called, right next door!!) Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    It was a perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not remember anything I did not like.

    Our room was upgraded to business-class one for a little additional payment. The new room was fantastic: large, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent as well. We spent a really nice weekend in Helsinki and will be happy to stay again in this hotel next time!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice staff - needs a renovation
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was so hot that it was unbearable to sleep in so we ended up checking out early. The rooms were a little outdated and it was complicated to access the room.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was better quality than described by other reviews...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was better quality than described by other reviews I saw here. Really great restaurant options within a very short walk. Would be a great base for a "foodie" vacation. Staff cheerfully agreed to a very late checkout since I had a midnight flight. I took finnair airport bus to central train followed by uber to reach hotel. You do not need to be flying finnair to use this excellent and convenient bus

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, far enough from the busiest streets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoration of the room was too old fashinoned for my taste although clean and looked like recently renovated.

    Excellent location, far enough from the busiest streets. Parking area right next to the hotel building. Good breakfast, very comfortable beds, spacious room with high cealing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    3.3
    Avoid. Poor customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They downgraded me when they didn't have my room available! And they tried to charge me the same price as the larger room would have been! The worst customer service I have ever experienced by a hotel when it was their mistake. And the rooms were tiny.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in good location.
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom would need some renovation as it was impossible to have a shower without watering the whole bathroom floor.

    Nice hotel in good location. Our room was airy and light and the bed was comfy. Nice gesture from the hotel was free afternoon coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Anniversary dream night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We celebrated our wedding anniversary and the staff upgraded our room and left a postcard congratulating us. Made a massive difference comparing to typical hotel nights. Highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Enjoyable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was bitter tasting.

    Breakfast excellent. Our room "Bettie's Boudoir" was decorated with full sized dance girls painted on the wall and provided a whimsical and touch to the room. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    2.9
    It is not a 4 star hotel , by the european standards is more of a 2 star hotel!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (-) room very very small , cold and dirty: the dust layer on the glass window did not allow you to see outside... (-) position: not so close to downtown (15-20 min by walk), close to tram (almost 3 min walk) I paid 170 euros per night for a single person in a very small , cold and dirty room!!! Horrible! I would not recommend it for free!

    Breakfast ok...could be improved Friendly staff that wants to help you Free internet, working properly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Large new designer hotel in the center of Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room slightly small (but still reasonable).

    New, well designed hotel. Very good location, easy access to public transport and by foot. Extensive breakfast. Nice sauna area. Thanks for the baby bed, that was already set up when we arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    a great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfortable, but the pillows smelled a little bit weird.

    Nice big room, styled in a 19th century look with advantages of the modern world. Spectacular old elevator in the renaissance part of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    I liked the double bed as opposed to the Finnish twin bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the double bed as opposed to the Finnish twin bed system and the number of pillows afforded to the bed. I also liked the bathroom which had the standard Finnish shower, but was slightly bigger and had extra shampoos and things (other hotels did not). The breakfast offered by the hotel was also great. The streets around the hotel had a lot to offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfy hotel in a very nice neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on-property parking; public parking around the corner reasonably reliably available and accessible but certainly not cheap. Gym a slightly lazy effort.

    Convenient location in a nice neighbourhood, within walking distance from city centre, shops, restos and sights. Travelling with a baby, the extremely helpful front desk put us in a disabled room, with loads of space and easy access with the pram. Hotel offers bikes for loan, which is very nice; but there are only 2 of them so on nice days, availability is an issue.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    The personnel was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather small - not very much bigger than the bed. Although the breakfast was said be really amazing it was not overwhelmig ... not bad but not wowy. However, they presented it really nicely.

    The personnel was very nice. The bed was very good and we even had a bath tub in our bath room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The creepy painting in the room. It added to the haunted feeling of the hotel room. View wasn't great since it was a car park.

    Comfy bed. Big room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful stay in an unusual room
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting from the elevator to the room was a bit tricky

    The room we got was a very peculiar one, it even had a name "Betty's bodouire" and looked like a room of cabare dancer with all those decorations and paintings on the walls. The stuff was as usual in Radission hotels - very friendly, helpful and nice. The bed was super comfy and room very clean. The bathroom had all the things needed. Next morning we were heading to the West Terminal 2 to coach the morning feery to Tallin, this proved to be a great location to reach the port, while still being close to the city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed one night in this hotel with my wife. Room was overpriced, 140 EUR. Usual price is lower in this hotel but it was a Saturday and the rate was higher. My personal opinion is that any price over 70 EUR for this accommodation is overpriced. First of all, we did not get the room that was on the picture on booking.com. We got a room on the third floor, which is a far away from the elevator in the old wing of the hotel. We need to with heavy luggage thorough several doors and one stairs to reach our room. Two doors you can open only with a key card. That things are confusing. Corridors have the unpleasant smell. The other thing that is very irritating is a flood in the bathroom floor every time you take a shower. After that you have to hop around to avoid puddles. You need extra towels to put on the floor to solve that problem. On the reception know for the problem but it seems that they do not care much for that. Room number was 325. Stay away from that one. In the room is some kind of small King's bed, not wide enough for two persons. Bad is shaking every time you move. I wake up with back pain.

    Breakfast is good and position of the hotel is 10-15 minutes walk to the city center. Lobby and restaurant are nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Cosy hotel in the design district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have loved to have a pool! Unfortunately we did not use the gym/ sauna facilities.

    Very cosy hotel, does not feel like a chain. Nice homey design. Good location in the design district, although a bit off from the main centre (15 min walk) The bed was super comfortable and breakfast yummy!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Bed was very comfy and breakfast had lots of variety - eggs,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was very comfy and breakfast had lots of variety - eggs, sausages, wonderful Finn smoked salmon and lots more. did not use any of the hotel amenities since a friend picked me up in the morning and dropped me off in the late evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.4
    Not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room does not correspond to a 4* hotel. Dirty windows, missing soap in bath, the fruit salad of the breakfast was (literally) frozen,... not value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is what you can expect in the cathergory.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little bit problematic to bring the heavy suitcase to the room. i had to walks some stairs and there were no elevator to the floor where i stayed.

    The hotel is what you can expect in the cathergory. It is placed in the city center. the staff was kind and professional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    An excellent location, staff was very helpful especially...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An excellent location, staff was very helpful especially Jonne the executive manager. Hotel umbrella saved me! The bathroom has extra tap for the toilet (Muslims would love it)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Great, rich and healthy breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great, rich and healthy breakfast. The room was ok, although I expected a bit more. Nice neighborhood, aside from the rush, with lot of culture life around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel and best bed ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room door that was a bother to a wheelchair user. Steps up to breakfast room and no wheelchair ramp.

    We loved everything about this hotel. We were worried for a minute when we arrived outside the hotel and saw a couple of steps leading up to the main entrance. Those are a bother to a wheelchair user but then we saw the sign pointing out that the wheelchair accessible entrance was just around the corner. That entrance was fine. Our room was spacious and super wheelchair friendly. The bathroom was also fantastic and super accessible. Our only complain would be the room door. It's heavy and closes immediately. Even though I always had my boyfriend help me, we always struggled a bit getting me and the wheelchair into or out of the room. That should be easily fixable though and I hope they read this comment and fix the door. If it weren't for that I'd say this hotel was perfect! The breakfast was fantastic! There was a accessibility problem there though, two steps leading up to the breakfast room and no way around them. The staff in the hotel were absolutely wonderful and lovely. We got a super early check in and late check out without a problem which made all the difference to us due to inconvenient flight hours and my disability. That made the trip so much easier and enjoyable. Last but not least the hotel bed was the nicest bed we've ever slept in. We loved it and slept wonderfully during the stay. Where can we buy one? We were also impressed by the pillow and duvet menu although we didn't use it.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: