Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Finland hotel reviews
  3. Lapland hotel reviews
  4. Rovaniemi hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Santa Claus Holiday Village

Reviews of Santa Claus Holiday Village This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Tähtikuja 2, 96930 Rovaniemi, Finland

#7 of 26 hotels in Rovaniemi

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2892 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    9.6
    This is a very nice, comfortable and clean hotel that has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - B
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No dislikes - was all positive.

    This is a very nice, comfortable and clean hotel that has everything you want in it. The room was clean and the transfer to and from the airport was fantastic. The breakfast selection was great too.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    Breakfast was basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It will be nice if the room comes with a view. The windows were facing other villas so we had the curtains drawn most of the time. Apart from that, it’s great.

    Breakfast was basic. Room was huge n new n clean and comes with sauna which is extremely helpful in the cold weather. Extremely convenient if you intend to spend time in Santa villa. Everyday tourists flocked in via tour bus while the village is within steps.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    6.3
    It was pleasured stay but cost performance is not good that I can say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - A
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast ends so early even in weekend.10 am is not enough for relaxing before breakfast.The staff is just given times left to finishing breakfast, it disturbs you even in Santa’s place.The places other than Three Elvees restaurant are closing 5 pm, it is extreemly early as well.After 5 pm you have no option other than three elvees restaurant.In rooms everything was perfect except pillows.They should be much more comfortable.

    The location of hotel and transfer options to city centre and airport was excellent.Personall of hotel is strcitly regards times that given.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    6.3
    Nice room/cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cottage location was a long walk and my 69 yr old mom was really tired walking from the cottage to the center of the village and get on with all the activities. The staff at the reception when we’ve checked in was good. The male concierge staff on the other side for the activities wasn’t trained on Customer service or he just definitely didn’t follow it. We were waiting in the queue then when the person in front of us finished, suddenly another couple just jumped in where it’s supposed to be our turn. We had only a few minutes left for that day as the activity timings aren’t flexible. The rude couple was asking a lot for future bookings or activities which aren’t having any time constraints and they could actually book or ask for advice at a later time or even the next day. But they still ask a lot of questions to the male concierge. Then after some time, I’ve asked the lady who had checked us in if she can point us to where is the location for that activity and she just said it’s there within a few minutes walk. So we have to hurry up as it’s almost time for closing and they just didn’t care that much for their customers.

    Nice room/cottage

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    7.5
    Breakfast with reasonable number of selections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very hot, making it less pleasant to stay inside the cottage. The quality of the hairdryer is bad, which seems to be broken soon.

    Breakfast with reasonable number of selections. The location of the hotel is right next to the Santa Claus Village. The hotel provides free airport shuttle which makes it more convenient to travel to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    8.0
    Overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Road was hardened ice and walking around can be hazardous. Saw a number of people slip and fall while walking around. Shopping is almost all souvenirs and can get boring. They can have more live music or evening activities which will make the place more attractive

    Great location - this is right on the artic circle so there is a novelty factor. Its only 10 minutes away from Rovaneimi airport and the city. All facilities, activities can be accessed from the property itself. We took the Sauna room which was brand new and very fancy

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    9.2
    Super nice hotel, friendly staff and comfortable cottage ! I definitely recommend staying there !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast for 3 days was ok but a bit limited for the price. I would have appreciated that you can order special eggs on top of what is already available in the buffet and there is only one machine for the Scandinavian waffles, which made the waiting time too long one some days. And the busses from and to Rovaniemi center are based on the opening/closing hours of the village which means the last bus to get back to the village from the center is around 6:30 PM. So if you want to enjoy a dinner in the city center, you'll need to take a taxi from and to the village and that will cost you lots of money as taxi are very expensive with extras in the evening.

    Everything ! Friendly and very helpful staff, very good cottage (even better than shown on the pictures), the private sauna in the cottage is a pure pleasure (after long days out in the cold, it is simply relaxing and enjoyable), free shuttle from and back to the airport, easy pick-up and drop-off place for all the activities we've booked through local companies. The atmosphere of the village in general brings an extra touch to your stay. Lots of different place to eat and a tank station on the opposite side of the street is also nice. If you travel with kids, this is definitely a very good compromise because you have a well-equipped kitchen and it can be helpful for families. Our cottage was cleaned every single day during our trip and this was very appreciated. And cherry on the cake : we've seen northern lights from the village on one night ... this was just magical ! We had booked for a tour the night before but it was too cloudy. So even if you're not planning to book for an aurora hunting activity, you can still enjoy the show from the Santa Claus Holiday Village (however you'll need to walk a bit away from the lights of the village to fully enjoy the show).

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    9.6
    The best holiday ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    Everything! Amazing staff, amazing place (buildings look incredible inside and out and the atmosphere is just stunning), amazing food, the room was amazing; clean, extremely comfortable, good facilities, it's great for families and also good for adventurous couples like us (Also the gorgeous atmosphere makes it both relaxing and romantic!). The best place I've ever been to.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    8.8
    So much fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - A
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was below average, as was dinner at the Three Elves restaurant.

    The cottage was bigger than expected and the sauna was something special and unique for us. The cottage had cooking facilities and a seperate bedroom to the main living area. There is so many things to do at the resort.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    9.6
    It’s homey, the staffs are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well, some walkways are a bit slippery because Of the ice... maybe add some gravel on some roads to avoid people from slipping

    It’s homey, the staffs are great... very helpful. Always smiling and ready to give assistance to customers.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    6.7
    Nice room, rest is not good from my point of view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast sortiment is a desaster for the price you are paying there... The wohle village is just a tourist money making place. There is no feeling for Christmas, because it is just of spending money. May be someone likes this. For me personnaly it was a very bad experience. Prices for food in the restaurants are extremly high. The quality I cannot comment as I did not taste it..due to high prices...Luckly we had a rental car, so we could drive to the city.

    The rooms are very nice clean and modern with sauna. The idea of small cottages is very nice and when you have a house next to the woods it is very nice . Staff was very kind It was a bit strange that a hotel would charge money ,if the guest will not wash the glasses and other kitchen facilities ....I think with a rate of 200, per night it should be possible that the hotel will do this.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    9.6
    Everything we had an amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We really enjoyed our time we don’t have anything to complain about

    Everything we had an amazing experience!!! Always clean, peaceful ,excellent location and super nice staff always willing to help 😁😁

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    7.1
    Good place but not a great one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything comes with a price. Booking price is too expensive and for each and every activity, a separate price of around 150 Euros is charged which is expensive.

    Good location. Big place to walk around and enjoy the sight seeing. It was all snowy everywhere. This place is little isolated so one cannot leave the premises for other attractions.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    9.2
    The basic cottage had everything you need plus a Sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen area was tight. The breakfast at the restaurant was poor for vegetarians

    The basic cottage had everything you need plus a Sauna. It was clean and open. Bathroom was lovely and it homey. The whole village itself was amazing. Plenty of food places to eat. The petrol station across the road does good pizza.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    7.9
    Location is very good in the Santa village and next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food is not nice. We took taxi to city centre to have meals.

    Location is very good in the Santa village and next to airport. Has their bus send you to airport.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    7.9
    Special place for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the time, the small convenience shop did not stock much food so you would need to shop in town if taking an apartment/suite and planing to cook for yourself.

    Great for families.There are so many wonderful activities to choose from

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    9.2
    Christmas Magic in Finland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food and service at the Three Elves restaurant was very poor. Eat elsewhere. Staff weren’t always friendly.

    Such a beautiful Finnish Christmas Wonderland. The Christmas carols playing, the lights, Santa, snow, cozy cabins, saunas, skiing, reindeers ... what more could you ask for. Beautiful Christmas ambience. We stayed for 2 days and easily could have stayed another 2. We had a friendly welcome at reception by a male worker who went out of his way to provide us with information about buses and the Rovaniemi area. We ate a delicious reindeer pizza at Sirmakka.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    10
    the included breakfast was not what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the included breakfast was not what we expected. but they offer a deeeelicious breakfast buffet @ the restaurant three elves for 15 euro per person, so we always had a very yummy start in the day :-)!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Great place well organised plenty to do!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved everything about it one of the best trips ever

    Loved the location, the people the food everything. We did a number of organised trips and while a little expensive well worth it.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    10
    Wow - affordable luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we loved it all !

    We loved it all! Heated floors, huge wet room, sauna, balcony with lit Xmas tree and table and chairs, high comfortable beds, wall mounted TVs with fancy back lights, perfect location & snowy views. I FaceTimed everyone when we arrived and they all agreed it was luxurious! After falling on the ice a couple of times the sauna was a welcomed feature! Staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout. Free transfers from the airport (5 min drive) take you to your accommodation to look around and drop your bags before you head over to reception to check in and get your keys - make sure you take what you need to keep warm before you leave as you won’t be able to get back in until proper check in ...this might be a longer wait for bigger groups. I was initially concerned I had made the wrong choice and considered changing our booking to a cabin, I’m glad I didn’t. I struggled to find this info about the suites before we went so to clarify...these are apartments in a collection of small buildings, not one hotel building. I think there are between 2-4 apartments per building, some of which are upstairs. Highly recommend the suites!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    9.6
    Worth it a childhood dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - B
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs are really nice and friendly. Most impressed by the luggage delivery to cottage service while check in and check out, save LOTS of effort. The airport transfer also super convenient.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - A (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having minimum 2 pax for tours at the hotels. Ex; Reindeer Safari / Husky Tour. What if its a solo traveler?

    Friendly and helpful staffs. Easy accessible to food and lots of activities to do.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    10
    Magical place for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - A (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be prepared to pay a lot for all the activities in the village. Everything is expensive but worth the experience.

    The most kids friendly place you can ever see, they are very prepared to make the children have a magical time.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    8.3
    Good for kids being at the village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No supermarket and mini mart had very few things so was difficult to self cater on site unless you had shopped before arriving. Food options in the village not great and most close by 6pm but 3 Elves restaurant was good.

    Good for kids being at the village

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    9.2
    A fantastic white way to spend a special day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - B
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accomodation is near the airport and there are free shuttle services to and from the airport, but it is still far frmo teh city center and the bus service ends rather early. Best option would be to rent a car. Didnt get to see any aurora borealis during the stay since it was snowing on the night we spent there, but that of course has nothing to do with the accomodation

    We stayed for only 1 night, but the whole complex is really nice to visit. We didnt have time to see all there is to see but what we did see was amazing. We had a reindeer ride, which was lovely and romantic since we were here celebrating our anniversary. The fact that we had a sauna in the romo was a big plus for us.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    5.0
    The staff are really kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cottage is really small though it was marked for 3 or 4 people. Basically, there are 2 single beds and a big sofa bed in one room, and there is also a small kitchen. Really limited space!

    The staff are really kind and helpful. They even drove customers to their cottage.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    10
    Facilities room and breakfast very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna -B (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that there is no small cars transportation inside of the resort in case needed like a golf cars or normal cars .

    Facilities room and breakfast very good

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    8.8
    The location of the property is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - A
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The santa claus village, is not A HOTEL. Its an apartment and during the room service they wont actually change the bed sheet until you pay them. They only clean the bathroom and make your bed and wont change you bed sheets until you pay them. THERE IS NO ROOM SERVICE, you can download wolt app to order and deliver food( like swiggy or food panda), the wolt guy will literally comes outside your apartment and delivers food. So for every problem there is a solution. I mainly had problem with Rovaniemi, they start working when sun comes up i.e 10Am and STOP WORKING BY 5 PM. Many Restaurants close by 5 Pm even in santa claus village which is terrible.

    The location of the property is amazing. To visit Rovaniemi and not stay here is a crime. We also went to city centre, another famous place in Rovaniemi but I would highly recommend staying in Rovaniemi and do all the activities inside the village. Shopping in Rovaniemi for chocolates and other random things is also good in term of variety and prices. Just buy, shop and stay in Santa Claus Village! To eat or dine out you can visit city centre if you want more options.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    Perfectly located near all attractions and activities you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Perfectly located near all attractions and activities you possibly do in Rovaniemi. The cabin was really good, clean, beautifully decorated and well heated. Sauna was percect and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    Best Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed our stay in Santa Clause Village. Almost all the activities to do is just a walk away. Reindeer, Husky rides, Moomin Snow Castle, Snowman World etc. The staff were welcoming and assisted us all throughout. They briefed us with the facilities, things to do. They have a free airport shuttle which was very convenient. They assisted us to bring the luggages upon checking in and til checking out.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    Unforgettably amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to see the northern lights from the village as there is too much light pollution

    The cabins were amazing - they were spacious with a Lounge room, kitchenette, dining table and even a sauna in the bathroom. The staff were really friendly and helpful - one night when we were away from the village my phone wouldn’t connect to the local taxi company so I called the hotel and they kindly called a taxi to pick us up and return us to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    7.9
    Unique, good amenities, well situated near airport. Staff should be more friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff were not very friendly.

    Perfect recreation of an all year round christmas feel. Clean cabins. Free transport to and from the airport.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    10
    Very nice accomodation, worth to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not like the breakfast, and I must say it was a little bit smelly in the dining area. The breakfast is served in different restaurant than 3 Elfs.

    The room is spacious and very well lit. It has sauna. The 3 Elf's resturant offers very good food, but the food came to us little warm. Still it was tasty and servise was very nice. The hotel rents for free sledge for the kids, it was very kind. We were lucky to see aurora on the sky, from next to our house.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    6.3
    Ok accommodation but a bit tacky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms and breakfast/lunch buffet restaurant were a bit tacky. Food quality poor and overpriced.

    Sauna in the room, excellent location and a nice range of winter activities offered. But you can probably find these in better hotels nearby.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    5.0
    This year was very disappointing. While the experience was nice the accommodation fell short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna -B (2 Adults + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were charged for 3 people in the room instead of 2. "Maria" informed us that we had paid 40 euros per night for 2 nights. In addition, we were told we had been "upgraded" to a "Superior Chalet". In fact the chalet was no where near as nice as the ones closest to the checkin area that we had stayed in 1 year prior. The cottage was quite a long walk away. On the morning of the Airport pickup, we were told that we would be picked up at 0400 hrs local time. No pickup showed up so we were now locked out of the cottage, with 2 large bags and 3 other smaller bags in -24 C temperatures. I had to walk all the way to the checkin area only to find it closed and nobody answered the door. I waited 25 minutes and eventually heard a van in the distance and flagged down the driver who apologised profusely.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.6
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing that was a bit annoying is that if you want your room cleaned or fresh towels they charge you extra for this. Please read the information book in the room as it tells you in there about hidden charges. Luckily we saw it so didn't get charged any extras.

    Loved that it is so close to the airport, they offer free transport to and from the airport. The place is just magical and lots to do. We stayed in a suite which was amazing. Also loved the sauna in the room.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.6
    was quite an experience, friendly atmosphere and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    basically none

    Restaurant provides good food, desirable to offer more vegetables , also a free guided tour of the village, its history, how the village was constructed etc

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    The staff is very friendly, especially Jary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - B
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is common. The snowman park is monotonus.

    The staff is very friendly, especially Jary. The sauna is good. The kitchen is also well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    Loved the sauna in the cabin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked to be provided with shampoo and conditioner as we got in late (just because most places do so we didn’t have ours), however, we could purchase some at the shop the next day.

    Loved the sauna in the cabin. The kitchenette also was great. The staff were very helpful and the buffet was nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    Difinately worth to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there're bit more Kitchen supplement would be better, bowls were missing.

    Location is very good, just next to Santa Village, everything is walking distance. The cabins are cute and cozy, Little Kitchen is a plus if you wanna make some own food. Sauna is comfortable after the outdoor activities. Stuffs are friendly and helpful. The Santa Village is a dream land for kids.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked new deluxe suit with expecting more luxury. It was with instruction view instead of forest view! And also smells heavly paint! If you allergic or have small kids dont book new suits. Cottages are better. I told the reception but they didnt care.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a beautiful property which looks like a winter fairy land. Its totally magical and everything u would want to see in Rovaniemi is just right there. I would strongly recommend this one

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    9.6
    Yes, we went to see Santa without kids...and we loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna -B (2 Adults + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We couldn't get our shower head to stay up so that it was above our heads. Dinner at the Three Elves was okay, but the chicken was tough! Everything else was fantastic!

    The resort was in the middle of nowhere, yet only a 10 minute drive to the airport. We walked from our cabin each morning to the lodge for breakfast. It was so comfortable in our room that it was hard to even get out of bed! We even had our own sauna! All of the roads were plowed so it was easy to walk in the snow. There were trails nearby so we were able to walk in the woods and enjoy the snow. The shops were conveniently located close to the lodge so I was able to eat, then enjoy the shops. My suitcase did not arrive with me, but I was able to get toiletries at the Christmas store. I want to go back in the summer to see all of the things they have to offer! It is very easy to book excursions at the resort. They even have their own reindeer!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    10
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast time is from 7:30-10:30. Consider extend it for another half an hour?

    The room is big and warm. There is a sauna room in the bathroom. The staffs are very helpful and warm-hearted. This place is in the middle of the village. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect pre christmas holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole experience is beautiful specially in december just before christmas. We got lucky and experienced perfect winter with snow and temperature around -20 C. Must see for children and adults alike (if you are keen of Santa claus). Liked the Moomin snow castle. And sauna in room is very welcome.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.2
    Good Hotel and good service. But should improve breakfast more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast and restaurant. Breakfast doesn’t have many choices I try one dinner and one lunch in the restaurant but the meal isn’t good, only acceptable.

    Location, staff and service (transfer, carry luggages to room)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative to share!!

    We had the most amazing time here!! A lovely 30 min walk from here to the Santa Park. The staff were all very friendly and the food was delicious! Lots of variety at breakfast and great choices for dinner in the 3 elves restaurant. It felt so magical!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    8.3
    The food, the Arctic Circle crossing, Snowmans World and all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Reindeer ride is horrid! Any animal rights person would see this as disgusting. Having the reindeers in a free roaming area and pay to feed is fine. But to make them sit tied up in -24°C waiting for the next rider is sick. And especially because the reindeer is wedged in the middle of 2 sleds!! That's the only thing I would remove!

    The food, the Arctic Circle crossing, Snowmans World and all of the lights.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    9.6
    100% happiness delivered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Top cosiness, great surprises: unexspected meetings with Santa (dinner, breakfast); very kind personel, breakfast and dinner - great choice of food; lots of attractions around (reindeers, husky, Moomin snowcastle); 100% happiness delivered

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.6
    Worth staying! Can enjoy holidays with Santa Claus and sauna in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna -B (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not cheap for staying and it was too late to book this hotel more than two nights in my case, but I think it is worth spending money and times with your children.

    There were a lot of wonderful things we had received from this hotel and the village. Meeting Santa Clause, enjoying sauna in the room, playing with snow, comfortable and clean beds, nice shopping area, easy access from Rovaniemi airport by a shuttle bus and very helpful staff. I would recommend any travelers especially for families with small children.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.8
    Staff & Cleaning service were disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hotel and facility are amazing but it is not acceptable how they deal with the cleaning service. We booked a suite for $500/night, we came into the room, the cutlery and dishes were still in the dish washer from the previous guests. The cleaning services only change towels, they don't clean the room, and when we asked about it, they said it is extra charge or we have to clean ourselves, even if we want to clean ourselves, there are no detergents. How can this be? When we asked to talk to the manager, they said he is nit available today. Now this is a rip-off

    The Santa Claus Village is very glamorous and the atmosphere was amazing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.2
    A happy stay in Santa Claus Holiday Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - A (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food in the Three Elves restaurant wasn’t good enough. There was not much choice for breakfast. The chicken breast for the dinner was too tough. It was too commercial that we have to pay for everything, like visiting the husky home, reindeers, etc. We have to queue 1.5 hours to take photos with Santa Claus.

    The village was beautiful with lots of facilities. We can spend two days there. The room was cosy, comfortable with a private sauna. The staff at the reception were welcoming. They transported our luggages to the cottage back and forth to the reception which saved us a lot of efforts to carry them. The free transportation for the airport was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    5.0
    It was not the disnelyland Christmas experience we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - We liked to be close to some activities we wanted to do - but after 24hrs we were bored -The staff is completely disconnected and they dont have information about the different events on site -Christmas celebration there is on the 23 and NOT 24 - no one informed us before hand and when we arrived on 24 nothing was planned and we missed it all -Room does not have napkins or paper towel to wipe (only toilet paper) -Breakfast and dinner was included - it was ok but people’s hands were all over the food buffet- -All shops close very early there 5-6pm max - so left with no choice than the gas station to go eat - restaurant on site are not better than the gas station - It is a touristic place and not a disneyland experience (bunch of shops put togther and no one knows what is going on in the next one that is literally 5 meter away) - staff is ok but the staff of other resorts in the village were much more accomodating (we stayed in different resorts on site) - if you want the wilderness experience go out from the village and find a different place - if u want a kids experience - u can stay in the village (2 full days are more than enough)

    Ok for 1-2 night stay max not more Liked room and sauna Liked snowmobile ride

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.3
    Just in the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - A (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is quite small.

    Just in the village. Convenient and very clean. Village also provide snow boards for kids to play. Nice to have sauna in the room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    10
    Superb experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walking distance to the main lobby/restaurant

    The suite cabin is really great. The sauna and the kitchenette is really a plus. The hotel’s staff is also very helpful ( esp the receptionist) and check-in/out is not a hassle at all. Another highlight would be dinner 🥘 is inclusive along with bfasr. something beyond my expectation.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    8.8
    The Christmas Ambience & Lightings in Santa Claus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We wanted to explore the Moomin Snow Castle BUT they're selling TWO Days tickets only which is highly inflexible & expensive! Should have single day ticket.

    The Christmas Ambience & Lightings in Santa Claus Village really bring up the festive mood. We enjoyed the snowmobiling, reindeer & huskies rides by The Snowmobile Park.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    6.7
    Village aesthetics and ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Main bedroom bed is too high on a ceramic floor, would likely fracture skull if you fell out of bed. Alternative pull out bed in living room was uncomfortable. Room keys kept locking us out.

    Village aesthetics and ambiance

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    7.9
    Fun place to stay for families or adults to behave as kids 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to pay for everything as an additional cost

    Located 5 mins drive from airport. Check in was fast and friendly. Chalet as warm, cosy and spoylessly clean. There are several activities to do but mostly you need to pay additional for so don't go here on a budget and think your accom cost covers all. Breakfast options were poor and a gloopy tray of eggs not appetizing. Breakfast in The 3 Elves is expensive at 24.50 euro each. Checkout was good, bags collected from chalet to avoid having to pull through snow. Fun place to visit

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    7.5
    Santa clause village - magical stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast half board was underwhelming compared to the brilliant dinners.

    Cabin was great and location brilliant. The dinner meals were delicious and good choice.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    10
    Hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was excellent. Rooms were new. Food was very good and local. The owners led by Inga were superb hosts. Can’t have chosen a better destination for holidays.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    10
    Excellent Family Santa Visit Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to be commented.

    The Hotel was EXCELLENT! Service was fantástic. Food was very good and all around was a memorable stay. The Owner Inga and her husband have made a great location for family. Wishing all the best of lucks in present and future.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    3.3
    The rooms were not up to standard and very dusty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were not up to standard and very dusty. The food that was included was almost inedible. Such bad quality and no good choice. Staff were unfriendly in the restaurant. Everything in the village was an “extra” and so made the huge amount we paid for the room even more expensive. Totally overpriced and not as enjoyable as we had hoped.

    The rooms were not up to standard and very dusty. The food that was included was almost inedible. Such bad quality and no good choice. Staff were unfriendly in the restaurant. Everything in the village was an “extra” and so made the huge amount we paid for the room even more expensive. Totally overpriced and not as enjoyable as we had hoped.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    6.5
    too touristy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna - B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i requested with more than 3 emails to be right near the reception area due to health reasons to walk in the extreme cold weather , not only did they ignored my request, they allocated me to the fathest end,. like the last cottage. if they tell me the room i booked superior category is far end section then i would have paid to do the other category which was old rooms but still thats my choice correct? then the key didnt work after walking back room (10 mins) in extreme cold weather under of -10. they dont care about their clients , period except the manager whom i belive is the owner or co owner.

    just cos its inside the village.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.6
    Walking in a Winter Wonderland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was perfect!

    The Santa Claus Holiday village is every child and child at heart's Christmas wonderland. Having visited in late Autumn we were lucky to have a little amount of snow but for two Australians it was amazing. The cabins were cosy, beautiful and we felt very at home. Especially having a private suana and own Christmas tree. The breakfast was fantastic with many options- even waffles and we enjoyed a veggie burger and cocktail at the Three Eleves Resturant. It was well priced (we expected it to be a lot more) and meeting Santa was a memory I'll keep forever as he was the kindest Santa I have ever met. A great place for couples, families or friends, you will love it!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    7.5
    The staff are very friendly and the village looks great, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no opportunities to see Santa unless you line up and all other activities are at a charge with not even a discount for those staying at the village. Check in is also too late, 4pm.

    The staff are very friendly and the village looks great, a real winter wonderland. The half board food was really good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.6
    An experience of a life time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better meal choices for children

    The rooms (suites) were spacious, well designed and very comfortable. The beds were comfy. The staff were very helpful and the whole experience was amazing, we loved it.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    4.6
    Very dissapointing and felt robbed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It didn’t snow granted not there fault but the cabins were all chucked together and beds were so uncomfortable. Everything was expensive and food wasn’t great. I booked a visit with Santa and he was rubbish. We had photos put in a usb and got back and most were blurred. I took my son there for a once in a life time trip and it’s just one big tourist trap. You are better getting a nice hotel in the town and taking the 15 minute bus ride into Santa Claus village. It’s free to see Santa and free to go in

    The people were friendly

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    8.8
    The room is very cosy and lovely decoration for x mas, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They charge 3 euro per bag for the luggage service to be deliver to our cabin, as we don't come from airport but from their own lobby?! the breakfast area are full of people

    The room is very cosy and lovely decoration for x mas, staff are friendly and very helpful to assist us to book the tour and service. facilities of the hotel and santa clause house is nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    Nice and cosy feel of the cabin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom and shower was too minimalist, e.g we could do with having more towel racks and hangers. Also, they did not clear the trash daily throughout my 3-day stay.

    Nice and cosy feel of the cabin.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Magical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The buffet food for the kids could have been hotter at times. Not much else to find fault with really!

    Just pure magical! The location right next to Santa Claus is brilliant. Loads to do at the village from Reindeer to Husky Rides! Free sleds at reception were great for the kids! The cabins were beautiful (inside and outside) - clean and a sauna too! Restaurant food was surprisingly good as we had heard otherwise prior. A buffet of chips and chicken nuggets for the kids is always well received. There was also a healthy option for the kids too! All in all a magical weekend!!!! Pick-up to and from airport great and punctual! Reception staff very helpful too with any queries we had!!! Breakfast and evening meal was included in our stay too which is standard for Christmas season. For the icing on the cake we organised for Santa to come visit our kids in the cabin before leaving - the look on their faces we will never forget!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Chrismassy feeling + private sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom could do with more hooks to hang your stuff. Also we had one bad experience with probably one of the managers standing at the reception with short red hair. Extremely rude - and when we asked her about the timings for the restaurants around - she told us she has too much work to do, to know such details! When we went back and asked her to book us a taxi, she just waved at the computer screens and said they were not working, so to go to another counter!

    We booked a cabin and it was lovely staying right in the middle of the Holiday Village. The red decor really made you feel Chrismassy. The bathroom had a private sauna, which was wonderful since when in Finland be like the Finnish! Also the bathroom was larger than most hotels in the Nordics. The staff were all wonderful and helpful, with one exception. The breakfast spread was decent if not excellent. Also perfect walking distance to go see Santa. Would definitely recommend staying here for a minimum of two nights.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Incredible. It is a must to stay here in Lapland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottage with Sauna -B (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The payment process went wrong... Our business card is linked to our booking.com account as we use it for business primarily and we secured this booking thinking we would pay at property another way as planned on our booking. However before we knew it the hotel had debited the entire amount. Showing up as SANTA CLAUS HOLIDAY VILLAGE on my business account did not go down well with my boss!!!

    If you are thinking of going to Lapland then definitely book here!! It is incredible. Trust me. We were worried about it being too commercial but everything felt so authentic. The music in the street, the decorations, the staff dressed as elf’s. Father Christmas was amazing!!! He was enormous and so so brilliant. The cottages are just lovely and we did not want to leave. They have thought of everything.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    6.7
    Cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy neighbours who kept banging their doors and your room rattles a bit. It’s okay if it’s done a few times but kids running, stomping around and going in and out every few minutes was annoying. No water bottles given so prepare to buy or boil. Sauna in bathroom had a funky smell, so did the shower curtain. Daily cleaning is not included so you have opt for that if you need your trash taken out etc, not an issue if you stay for 2 days or so.

    Location; very convenient to go back to the rooms after doing the various activities around the village. A number of good food options. The village has a cozy feel especially with the fairy lights.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.5
    We had a fantastic stay and I would recommend it to everyone of all ages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dinner in the Christmas Holiday restaurant was awful. We had pasta and pizza and both were served cold and not fresh.

    The cabins with the sauna were amazing. They looked beautiful from the outside and inside and were very comfortable. The whole atmosphere in the village was fabulous. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Overall cute Christmassy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cottage with Sauna (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Considering it is a tourist place and quite a drive from the airport you would think the shops would be open later than 5. So wish the other shops would be open till later other than the Christmas house. Also the breakfast buffet didn't have much vegan/vegetarian options and big enough variety.

    The atmosphere was very cute and festive , the sauna in the room was a nice plus as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Santa Claus Holiday Village Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: