Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Finland hotel reviews
  3. Lapland hotel reviews
  4. Rovaniemi hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Santa's Igloos Arctic Circle

Reviews of Santa's Igloos Arctic Circle

Joulumaankuja 8, 96930 Rovaniemi, Finland

#16 of 26 hotels in Rovaniemi

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 178 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    8.3
    The hotel asked me 3 times to send the flight details,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel asked me 3 times to send the flight details, although they confirmed getting the information all the time, confused the schedule of inclusive walk. Included transfer is not private, although the price of booking with services is high.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    We had great moments there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We had great moments there.staff was wery kind and helpful.it was the one of the best room ı stayed.very comfortable and very clean rooms.a lot of option in breakfast and all of them was delicious.who worked for restaurant they were very kind.dinners were also very good.thanks for everythingı will advise here all my family and friends.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    8.8
    Great property, near to santa post office and cafe, park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo with Activity Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You would need to carry luggage in cart by yourself to the room.

    Great property, near to santa post office and cafe, park. Good for one night stay/ experience

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    3.3
    Wanted to be outside the hotel more than in it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too close to city to see northern lights. Glass igloos partially geared glass and frozen in bottom layer. Glass igloo purpose to see Northern Lights and not worth the price compared to other options such as Golden Crown Glass Igloo In Levi. Poor food taste and presentation. Short waiting staff and staff overall.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    Overall, we loved our stay in Rovaniemi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The taxis are expensive to go into the city center. It cost about 45 euros round trip.

    Staying in the igloo was a fabulous experience! We loved the sauna, the staff was accommodating, & we were walking distance to the husky farm & village. We are glad we booked on booking.com because it was the best value for the igloos.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything. Team was so helpful. Have cars picked me up and drop me off airport. It is soo pretty! I wish I can come back again when there’s snow for a different experience! It is 600m away from Santa’s Village, 5mins to the airport, 10mins to the city. Look for bus no 8 between hotel and city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night

    great place to visit in winter everythin is excellent... staff location is very near the santa... so a must visit i recommennd and hotel is clean.... i highly suggest thisplace with kids take room with sauna

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Must stay at Rovaniemi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to fault really. We had an exceptional time there and would love to come back

    Friendly and welcoming staff, room decor and cleanliness. Thanks so much again for making our stay so memorable :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.3
    We spent two nights in Santa's igloos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent two nights in Santa's igloos. They are very cozy and definitely offer something a little different. We were lucky and got a good display of the Northern Lights on our first night. It was very enjoyable viewing them from the comfort of the igloo. The breakfast was good and the staff very helpful. It's also only a short walk to Santa's Village where you can meet Santa (even in April!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.6
    It is our honeymoon trip to Finland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didt notice there is a sauna facility in the hotel. Would be great if we did. Other than that, everything is just perfect.

    It is our honeymoon trip to Finland. The hotel knew it and offered us a free meal at their Arctic Eye restaurant and also a free bottle of blackberry juice inside the hotel room. Their signature reindeer dish is by far the best reindeer dish that i have had during my trip in Finland. Wonderful service by Aksel at the restaurant, John from the front desk. The hotel room is modern and stylishly designed. Although we did not have the luck to see the northern lights. We certainly had a great/ memorable stay at the igloo and would defintely recommended to all people visiting Rovaniemi. Wish to go back in the near future :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    5.8
    Nearby Santa's village and the staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced. If you want to take a picture of it, just go but not highly recommend. The room is tiny and it's not that worthy.

    Nearby Santa's village and the staff was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.8
    I liked that the hotel did us a favor by bringing us and our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked that the hotel did us a favor by bringing us and our luggage from santa claus village and then dropped us back to the railway station on their own expense !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.6
    A special experience if there is aurora
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If there is no aurora, it is just a normal hotel which does not worth the amount of money.

    They provide shuttle service to the city Centre which is very convenient. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night

    Range on food menu for dinner.

    Everything was great as well as both the male staff that assisted us in our check-in and check out. Very friendly and informative.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent staff with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo with Activity Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price is a little unrealistic. If you are going to see the Northern lights you will need to take a proper tour or better yet head further north to Levi.

    Excellent staff with great food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    8.8
    Like lottery, if you have seen aurora, you will feel very worthwhile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Glass Igloo with Activity Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. I don’t understand why there is no luggage service in a such expensive hotel. We should move our luggage from lobby to igloo in the snow by ourselves. The staff only kindly suggested us can use snow board to make it easy to move. 2. The staff never ask us the final time for taking food in breakfast time, just pack all the food so fast at the end of breakfast time. It would be better if they can remind us the breakfast time is going to finish.

    It’s a dream hotel in Lapland Finland. The most popular hotel. Excellent dinner, excellent breakfast. They prepared hot soup for clients, Chinese clients well like the taste of breakfast. I commend the restaurant for the meal. Pick up service is good. Room in line with expectations, just as seen in the photo. Surprising part: the hotel arranged for an hour of snow hiking at night, with a professional leader, it was a great experience. Also very grateful to the Santa Claus photo exchange gift roll, which is very practical and value gifts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and well maintained igloos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a 10-12 mins walk to Santa Claus village! (Not ideal to walk when it’s -10 to -20 degree outside!)

    Love the heated rooftop (melts all the snow away), and the spacious bathroom! They also gave us a quiet igloo as it was our honeymoon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is not as large as expect. No other facilities/ activities at the site. So nth can be done in the resort. We must go to santa claus for activites. Better to have offers for joining activities at santa claus. And its better to have the service to deliver our luagguage to room as its too cold and a bit diffucult to do that during snowing.

    The breakfast n dinner is great. Both the salmon n cod are tasty n fresh at dinner. Food variety is wide in breakfast time. Good to have shuttle transfer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    7.1
    Nice glass igloo but nothing much to do onsite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have 3 persons and need to add extra bed which I have communicated earlier via email. When I checked in, I asked if extra bed has been added and taken care of and was replied yes. When we got to room, no extra bed. I texted front desk and no replies then again still no replies. Ended up they were on the way bringing extra stuff for the third person but could have replied me coz I thought we may have to change room.

    The glass igloo was fairly new, clean. We went on a snowy day and the glass roof has defrost so can still see outside. We need to move to Santa Claus village the following day and when asked how to get over, we were told to walk...with our luggage...on a snowy day. I asked for shuttle and they said can drop us off on the way to City Center. Ended up no shuttle the next day (weekend) but they have arranged a taxi, free of charge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    9.6
    It’s awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only bad thing is about it’s checkin time. It’s so late. 4 PM, it’s already dark outside in January. Check out time is 11AM when the sun just rose. :( hope it can be solved. Still highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

    It’s awesome!!! So beautiful, just the same as picture show. The staff is super super nice (we have bothered them for so many times). Good commuter service both to and leave there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    9.6
    It was a once in a life time experience sleeping under the glass igloo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We used the tablet in the room to contact the reception if we can have our breakfast sent to the igloo but there was no reply. We ended up missing the breakfast.

    The lady who provided airport shuttle was super polite and helpful. She helped us with our luggage, showed us direction and places to visit. The location of the hotel is really good as well, just a few minutes walk to the Husky Park and Santa Village.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    8.8
    very good service, I am sick (fever) and arrive at 1:00 pm (...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very good service, I am sick (fever) and arrive at 1:00 pm ( check in offical is 4pm) Hotel gave me a room a little bit early. thanks for kind arrangment. Good pick up service. But Price seem high, I think it is Christmas season. Anyway, highly recommanded

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    6.7
    breakfast was quite nice, and the room was generally clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The housekeeping didn't show up for our room during our stay, it appeared that this place is still quite new, and perhaps the staff is still under training.

    breakfast was quite nice, and the room was generally clean and comfy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We took the bus from the Rovanemie train station to the stanta clause village, so it took us a bit of walk to get there (around 15 to 20 minutes). If the location of the hotel can be listed on the map would have been easier. (we did the google search but it was not very helpful)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    8.3
    The best designed and practical igloo in Lapland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The best designed and practical igloo in Lapland. Very tasty and great breakfast packed in fridge the night before (no restaurant at the time of stay). Live aurora alert sms send from hotel staff is very handy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    10
    Excellent Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Glass Igloo with Activity Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The igloo is a bit small for 3 people.

    New and modern igloo, excellent service, on our departure day, it was heavy snowfall, they take care of everything and drive us to airport. Breakfast box is prepared in the fridge on a day before. Although it's cold, it's delicious and with many things. They arranged very nice restaurant for dinner. Walk to the Santa's village only a few minutes. We have seen the northern lights on the first day stay, amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    10
    amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing negative there. i really like it

    everything was more than amazing, the atmosphere, in room breakfast, all the facilities were beyond amazing. i even saw the northern lights because of the alert they provide

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    7.1
    Is a one time experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor was cold, breaskfast was brought in the night befofe. It is mostly cloudy which i cant see the aurora in the glass igloo.

    Overall i think i book the hotel because i wanted to see it in a glass igloo

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    5.0
    The igloo was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction work going on from 7am to 7pm. For the amount of money we paid for this place, did not expect that. It's like a deserted construction site :( very disappointed.

    The igloo was nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    8.8
    For as expensive as this hotel is it would have been nice to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For as expensive as this hotel is it would have been nice to have some extras in the room. A vanity kit or separate soap, shampoo and conditioner.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Perfect on everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect

    Perfect on everything

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    7.5
    Igloo in the arctic cirle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo with Activity Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The helpfulness of everyone and the uniqueness of the facility Igloos very comfortable with own private sauna..😊

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    9.2
    Everything but price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive

    Everything but price

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    3.3
    No
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s really too dark and to get to the room is a challenge. If there are no northern light, is totally not recommended for a stay

    No

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.2
    The room was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was great! Really comfortable! The private sauna was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    5.0
    The staff in the morning was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The igloo is very small. Heater is not adequate. No heater in the bathroom.

    The staff in the morning was nice. Restaurant staff and food was correct.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    All of the staff were great,The buffet was delicious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All of the staff were great,The buffet was delicious and room was very clean!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    10
    Negative
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Negative

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    3.8
    not recommend to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night

    location , staffs and organization

    None

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.2
    Helpful staffs, nice food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Helpful staffs, nice food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    8.8
    Plan your special stay eg. anniversaries or birthdays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff arranged a complimentary transfer to Santa Claus Holiday Village by Benz which was surprisingly helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    4.0
    not worth of the highest price in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    small room with simple furniture and poor room service

    not worth of the highest price in the world

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    9.2
    It was amazing we enjoy our time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drones flying above our igloo!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    6.7
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of toiletries and complimentary items for price!

    The staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    7.9
    There’s a private sauna room inside the igloos,which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s a private sauna room inside the igloos,which is pretty awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    5.8
    Will not come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small and lack of amenities. Nothing special for the price we pay other than selling aurora which is not a guarantee.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    5.8
    There is no toothpaste or breash.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no toothpaste or breash.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay and enjoy the sky - very romantic ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The light from the smoke detector and from the air conditioner was a bit annoying during the night.

    Instalaciones, diseño y desayuno

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    5.8
    the meals at hotel terrible, it causes food poisoning for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the meals at hotel terrible, it causes food poisoning for me

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    5.0
    Lighting, bathroom facilities, room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting, bathroom facilities, room size. Actually, not worth to pay for such standard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    5.4
    hotel not ready yet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Glass Igloo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    hotel not ready yet. breakfast restaurant not ready yet. toilet was cold

    Stayed in November 2017

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Santa's Igloos Arctic Circle Traveler Photo Gallery