Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Finland hotel reviews
  3. Southern Finland hotel reviews
  4. Helsinki hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Scandic Grand Marina

Reviews of Scandic Grand Marina This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Katajanokanlaituri 7, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00160 Helsinki, Finland

#106 of 290 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4593 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    The whole stay was a very positive experience, reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The whole stay was a very positive experience, reception staff very welcoming, polite, helpful and respectful. Rooms excellent, beds comfy. History of the building very interesting and conversion into hotel excellently done.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The beds very comfortable and the rooms lovely . The breakfast buffet was one of the largest I’ve seen - great selection

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    4.2
    The breakfast and the location were ok.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So basically it comes down to value for money. I understand that during Slush you overpay everywhere but the question is: how much should hotels take advantage of the high demand? I don't know if a 4* Hotel in Finland should be in the same price range as Marina Bay Sands etc.. It also seemed to me that the hotel was understaffed: we had water dripping from our bathroom ceiling. It was difficult to contact the front desk and when I notified them of the possible flood, nobody came in to check our room and there were also no apologies etc. So in conclusion: It's an OK hotel for maybe 60-70€/night (40€ in a cheaper country), but not at 279€/night.

    The breakfast and the location were ok. (Not good nor bad.)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    5.4
    Good location, close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far to expensive compare to other hotels in Helsinki or similar cities, rooms had incredible small windows, less new furniture inside, overall it seems an very old place

    Good location, close to city center

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    3.3
    That is not 4 star hotel Price for the hotel is very high.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very old. Plastic shower equipment doesn't work. Room design is very poor. Personals training like for 1 star hotel. Nobody tell us where is elevators located.

    That is not 4 star hotel. Price for hotel incredible High. I think, you should send me money back. There are a lot much better hotels in a market in this area. I am always trust booking.com, but not in this time.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.8
    Good location, nice staff, comfortable bed/room and a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location, nice staff, comfortable bed/room and a busy but good breakfast. They can arrange a quite affordable shared taxi to the airport. Check it out at the reception!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.3
    Quiet spot, yet in the heart of the city with a harbour view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not expect an exceptional breakfast. But as a compensation, the restaurant is one of the most beautiful rooms.

    Quiet spot, yet in the heart of the city with a harbour view from some rooms. Charmful building.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To be honest - for a 4 star hotel and €143 later - the single room looked rather disappointing. It was clean and tidy, but that is about it. The front desk also presented with a more or less frosty reception - maybe that‘s a typical Finnish welcome. Next time I‘ll go in the youth hostel for half price.

    Good location, clean

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.5
    It was a good experiment and I enjoyed and will again to choose this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As I mentioned above to have fried eggs in breakfast and good bad

    It was an excellent elaborated breakfast but fri eggs were missing Bed was to small that was single of twin bed it was bit uncomfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Made my first stay in Helsinki a pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful art deco hotel in a very central location. Very comfortable and clean room with an exceptionally generous buffet breakfast every morning. Staff were friendly and made my stay a pleasure.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Brilliant location for the hotel, great access to walk into the city and nearby sauna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were two single beds pushed together, despite asking for a double, so they kept sliding apart.

    Great location, great breakfast included, and lovely communal areas such as the bar and reception.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    Very close to city center, market square , pretty easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very close to city center, market square , pretty easy to walk around or you can take tram. Beds were comfortable. Varities of breakfast. Enjoy my stay here.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    6.7
    OK if that's your only option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - No convenient public transport nearby - Totally crowded, especially during weekends - Bedsheets in crazy expensive only room with king size bed were still from two single beds - Very uncomfortable beds - Not really helpful staff (your problem is your problem...) - No Scandic loyalty program points when booking via booking.com - Unguarded luggage storage

    - Spacious room - OK location (but there are plenty better located hotels at similar price) - Well working internet

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.3
    Very good choice, you willn't regret it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Window can only be opened around 10 centimeters, limited number of international TV channels. There were hair from a previous guest on the walls in the shower.

    Very good location, very good value for money, very friendly staff at the reception. Nice breakfast buffet, nice furnishing. Everything you need is in the hotel (Fitness room, Sauna, Restaurant)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.2
    Well placed for Viking, elegant accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unnecessary mix up at checkin. Their system had changed my surname from what Booking.com had supplied. Took 30 mins and my documentation to sort out what happened. Staff inclined not to believe me Hotel is very elegant but brown pervades. Bit depressing. In room dining is very limited and very expensive

    Very close to Viking Terminal. All facilities even laundry.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location, good option for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As for me 19 degrees in a room is not enought - it was just cold, no option of additional heating, hotel restaurant very short menu, ironing room a NIGHT MARE (so better iron before), taxi prices in Helksinki crazy high, very tall stairs on the entrance (forget that taxi driver or anyone from hotel staff will offer help with your 30kg luggage on the icy stairs).

    Hotel located jus on the harbour, minutes walk from beautiful water front boulvar in Helsinki. Big property with nice reception and good breakfast (not many VEG options, but for meat lovers will be good). Handosme bartender ;)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.3
    Great location close to the heart of Helsinki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was chaotic, not enough seats and tables and people milling about everywhere you turn. No order to the madness and overall an overwhelming experience. Suggest you go early or late. We went at 9.30am.

    Great location close to the heart of Helsinki.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Splendid place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good. Only one UK TV channel which was a bonus!

    Amazing breakfast, lovely bedroom/bed and bathroom/shower. Very relaxed. Quiet, close to docks but near to city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.8
    The location is great for tourists of Helsinki - and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and bath were a little tired - e.g., safe door was missing and towels a little thin, but the overall value was well worth the downsides.

    The location is great for tourists of Helsinki - and the reception staff were great for giving advice as to restaurants and arranging taxis and return to airport, for example. Breakfast buffet was impressive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable large hotel in a historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing not to like, the hotel is part of a large chain and provides comfortable hotel accommodation across Scandinavia. In this case the hotel is located inside a very large repurposed early 1920’s warehouse.

    The room was compact but not too small and was well designed and well appointed. Breakfast was an impressive buffet and dinner in the hotel restaurant was convenient and pleasant. The hotel is perfectly located if you are going to catch the Viking ferry to Tallinn (we were) and is an easy stroll to the Market Square, the small ferries around the harbour the city centre.and the wonderful art nouveau, Art Deco and secessionist style apartments.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    5.8
    Good but not a comfortable place to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awful awful beds - worst I’ve had in any hotel, which is saying a lot. I’m short, they’re plastic military style mattresses. WiFi was quite weak

    Nice staff, decent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    8.3
    Environmental friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was smaller than expected and beds were uncomfortable.

    Environmental friendly hotel. There were paper bags in the bins instead of plastic and they also had recycling bins in the room. There were glasses instead of plastic cups and no miniature plastic shampoo bottles.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay--again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't really anything we didn't like. We couldn't open the window but after we asked someone to open it, it was fine. Also, we had to relog into the wifi a few times per day, but it took us just a few seconds, so that was okay also.

    It was my second time visiting this hotel and the first of my friend. My expectations were on a high level since my first stay was awesome. What can I say? It was definitely a great stay again! From check-in to check-out, everything was perfect and went smooth! We loved the free breakfast--it had everything to offer (more than that). Free towels, a comfort bed, very nice staff who could fluently speak English. Nice and quiet area, about 10minutes from the city by tram #4. We'll be coming back! Thank you! :-)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay in Helsinki
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows cannot be opened, they have an odd system, but I only wanted to open them to take a few pictures anyway. There was a constant noise from the heating system, which apparently worked all the time (although the radiator was cold), but nothing extreme. I could sleep very well through it.

    It's a great place to stay, right in the city center, close to the fish market and the main attractions, the ferry stop, tram lines, anything you need, really. My room was small, but comfortable. I even had a tea kettle in the room, which was very nice. Everything was clean, the wooden floor was warm and smooth. The breakfast was great, as there is a lot to choose from. I truly enjoyed staying there and I'd do it again when I get a chance to visit Helsinki.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great city; great hotel; Friendly people.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That other colleagues had a room with a water boiler and tea bags. And it was not my case. Rooms great, but a bit small ...

    Almost everything good. Excellent service check out online. Excellent Breakfast. Very clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    7.5
    Great location in a very expensive city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels were very small and thin. We would have expected better given the price we paid.

    Very convenient location. Within walking distance of most of Helsinki's attractions. Ideal for catching a ferry on the Viking line. Room was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    A great place to stay in an old atmosphere, close to the city center but without the tourism hassle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    To start with, the overall atmosphere was exceptionally quiet for such a big hotel, almost home-like, maybe because of the old building and structures, renovated most eloquently. The room was not big but nice and quiet. The personnel without exception was most friendly and helpful, full points to the hotel management as well. The location is great, just in the harbor and close the the actual city center. And finally, the breakfast was the best we have enjoyed for quite some time, absolutely all included.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.9
    I liked the restaurant design and the taxi parked in front...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not heated proper. Bathroom required renovation.

    I liked the restaurant design and the taxi parked in front of the hotel and available 24/7.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.2
    Child friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windows in the rooms are smaller than my liking

    Child friendly. Cheerful and accommodating staff, washer and drier, discount for children at the restaurant, play space, etc. The location is excellent as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    5.8
    Good location but not very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was overall tidy but there was clearly places that haven't been cleaned (especially in the bathroom). The floor was very worn out and our blanket in the bed and the lamp on the table had some discolouration (stains) on it.

    Location was good, easy public transport. Breakfast wasn't anything special, but well made and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    5.8
    Not as good as expected and was overbooked when we got there: we got 1 room of the 2 we asked for!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    looks like the hotel needs an internal refurbishment ... it is ok but a bit old fashion and not up to modern standards. also, we did book 2 rooms and when we got there was only one left due to some IT issues... this is unacceptable!

    Good location, good breakfast, staff was nice and professional

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel but a bit far from main tourist attractions
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - a bit far from the centre - no slippers in the room - no free newspapers available - the rooms are not as beautiful as they seem in the pictures

    - good restaurant with very good food - location is ok - the breakfast is very good, only missing a fresh fruit salad - the facilities are great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Good, but could be great with more attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not enough counter staff. Have to wait 20min + just to pay for an item. Even more frustrating when you see staff in the office who won't serve you

    Nice Hotel, great restaurant in a good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.5
    Always a pleasure to stay at the Grand Marina, we shall return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometimes the breakfast is a bit chaotic with long delays on clearing the tables and bringing our fresh replacment food.

    Hotel is good and I know it over many years of visiting on both business and for pleasure, it's good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic short break in a modern Scandi style hotel in a quiet convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been really nice to have a kettle and some tea bags but not a deal breaker. Evening dinner menu was not bad but maybe a little more vegetarian options needed.

    The breakfast was amazing, the location, so lovely to walk into the centre of town also the lovely bar area and our rooms were clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    7.9
    A simple stay for those wanting to make the most of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were starting to get a bit old, especially the bathroom. Breakfast was really busy, a decent selection- most of the hot items were not hot due to guests leaving the lits open.

    We mostly enjoyed the history behind the building and how this was integrated in the renovation. Room was quiet and had all the features we needed for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location, walking distance to everything, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No/little view, not a nice looking hotelroom in comparison to the price, just ok standard. At arrival there hung a clearly used towel in the shower, but elsewhere cleaning looked ok.

    Perfect location, walking distance to everything, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.6
    good not only for business but also for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing special

    1. Breakfast is very good. It is to start officially at 7 o'clock but available before 7 for customers who need to start earlier for some reasons such as flight schedule, meeting with clients, and so on. 2. Front staff is not so bad, maybe more than others.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.1
    Nice and cental
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking very difficult as well as expensive (18 Euro for 24 Hours, if you lucky to find a parking space).

    Nice Hotel, near the water and city Center. However, lots of Business travellers (congress center right across the street). Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.5
    Great, except for the bathroom flooding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom flooded after every shower. The hotel is aware of the issue, but all they did to fix it was to provide us with a wiper to wipe away the flood (without any explanation, it was just there in the shower). Also, the staff kept leaving a dirty rag cloth after the housekeeping visit everyday. They didn't vacuum the room either. Everything else was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The photos showed the hotel on the water and it is not as there is now a conference Centre blooming the views Rooms not very well cleaned and bathroom tiles and corners need updating

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast room often very crowded and took a while to find a table. There were no tea/ coffee making facilities in room.

    Location, building architecture, sauna, view to harbour from room was great with lots of activities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.5
    Great central location with easy access to main attractions and nice restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would appreciate detailed information on where the sauna and ironing room are located. Also, especially winter time, the corridors decor might seem a bit dark (not too much lighting).

    Great location! Just 5 minutes from the Market Square, the Helsinki Cathedral and Uspenski Cathedral. A fantastic starting point for foodies as there are many good restaurants serving authentic and modern Finish cuisine. The hotel itself has a good restaurant and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towels were not very white, like they were not well washed.

    Location. The hotel has a laundry room w wash and dryer that you can you for a small fee. Very good buffet breakfast with several options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    3.3
    This hotel needs to improve their room cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So disappointed in the cleanliness...disgusting...the tower and bedsheets inner....second day, I found the towel with two black dusties...I wonder where it was from....how they did....and the bedsheets inner....so yellowish....disgusting...why they did not full cover the inner and made customers saw this easily...and chair...I never sit it...I saw something duties inside...I do not understand how they manage the cleanliness. I feel like I stayed an awful....hotel...It was nice in Helsinki except this hotel.

    From the disappointments....I cannot find a good thing in this hotel....sorry

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and relaxing after a busy day of sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar service was alittle slow with only a bartender. Evenings could get alittle busy so you would have to wait.

    Check in was fast. We liked the location walked just about everywhere we went. The room was clean and the hotel is far enough away from the busy area so quiet time was great when needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    10
    LMcC bovis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No atm machine inside the hotel.

    Beautiful Helsinki and the people.The hotel is closer to the harbour, pool, bar and restaurants, shops, tourist attractions like museums and parks Everything is absolutely fantastic! Staying in our hotel is wonderful!😀

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    10
    Perfect for exploring Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is particularly good for arrival by viking line to explore the city. Staff exude professionalism, handling queries with aplomb. The facilities are great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.5
    Modern, clean and centrally located hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is right on the port and a lovely area to walk around at night and during the day. The restaurant and bar in the lobby are very nice and the food was excellent. The rooms are extremely quiet and comfortable. The staff were very helpful, courteous and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    9.6
    Very good sensible choice of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had 7th floor room. Very large but windows could not be opened.

    Location next to ferry to Tallinn and proximity to city centre. Lovely converted old building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel to recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really. All things are good. If the staff could reply my pre-living enquiry email, it will be even better.

    very good room facility and very clean. The location is very convenient--close to the city center, close to port to Suomenlinna, close to Viking line Ferry Terminal, all in walking distance. Specially, the breakfast is wonderful!!! Very rich and delicious!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    7.5
    The place is near the ferry terminal, so for travelers this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows are not comfortable.

    The place is near the ferry terminal, so for travelers this hotel is the best. Breakfasts are very good. Beds are comfortable, pillows are not.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    5.4
    Too much noise in the room from the air cooling system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too much noise in the room from the air cooling system. Magnetic card not working every evening when coming back to hotel. Lack of inspection for the room cleaning: the desk chair was covered by dirty stuff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.5
    very good location, especially if you travel by viking line.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast area was very overcrowded, very hard to find a table.

    very good location, especially if you travel by viking line. city center within walking distance or just few stops by tram.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a quick visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit pricey for a single room but then Finland is expensive so I guess for a private room with great location, it was worth it The bed was a bit too soft for my liking

    Great location It was near all points of interest, and near the Viking Line port if youre taking the ferry to Tallin Breakfast was great! My flight was delayed and they accomodated my request to adjust my check in date.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    10
    International
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a busy International hotel and I liked the atmosphere a lot. Different travellers from all over the World! Busy Lobby! Very good breakfast Buffet. Friendly staff! The hotel is located at the wanterfront, 5 Minutes Walk to the ferry to Tallinn, the marketplace, the sea Pool, City Center. Perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    6.3
    Location is very good, size of the rooms is good, general...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a bit tired, dark corridors, dark carpets, worse breakfast compares to other Scandic hotels (Stockholm and Bergen), Very reduces staff at front desk

    Location is very good, size of the rooms is good, general facilities were OK

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay in a historic hotel by the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing to complain about.

    The room was nice and quiet and spacious. The buffet breakfast had a huge selection of foods to cater for all tastes and there were numerous tables available both inside and outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay. Hotel was ideally situated for what we wanted to do and see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower needed a good clean due to some mould. Greater selection of eggs needed at breakfast other than scrambled or hard boiled.

    Excellent location. Large part of city within easy walking distance, particularly the markets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    5.8
    Could be perfect but so many faults...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We’d arrived after staying in the wonderful Scandic Downtown Camper in Stockholm, and this fell flat on so many levels. It’s an old hotel but rather than retaining Art Deco charm it just feels dated. We stayed on the 7th floor and the skylight blinds didn’t shut properly, so let too much light in first thing in the morning so we didn’t sleep that well. No iron - we had to use an ironing room (not air-conditioned) a floor below. Sorry I know the hotel is old but it doesn’t need to be old fashioned. It was 20 years ago I had to use an ironing room. Rude bar staff. Ridiculously priced mini-bar. Breakfast was hit and miss.

    Walking distance (even with big luggage) from the ferry was why we picked this hotel as we were arriving from Stockholm and heading into Tallinn a couple of days later. For that alone I’d say this hotel is perfectly placed - and some of the nicest bars and restaurants we went to at the marina are a very short walk away. Reception staff were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was ok but on such a good hotel it would have been nice to get an omelette and pancakes.

    Very nice hotel, staff and location. Good room with comfortable bed. Good bathroom with nice shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable with easy access to tram lines and ferries, close to the open market and quiet at night.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could perhaps provide a light blanket for the summer months? Not in our room, but in the corridor, there was a slightly stuffy smell.

    Everything was as I had expected after having stayed at this hotel also in 2010. The room was clean and the beds are comfortable. The free WiFi worked very well. The staff at reception is very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the variety available at breakfast very much and the food is of high quality and very tasty. The air conditioning worked well - at night, one has to turn the temperature down, otherwise it would be too warm under the duvet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    9.6
    It has a good location although it is on a peninsula and...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It has a good location although it is on a peninsula and seperated from the city centre. The members of the staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. The buffet breakfast is as varied as anyone could ever wish for, and very tasty. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, quiet yet central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a wonderful stay at the hotel, however I was unhappy with the management's handling of a 12-hour power-out in the area. Whilst staff were instructed to find and pay for alternate accommodation for some guests, those guests who agreed to stay in the hotel (a convenience for the hotel) were not offered any compensation whatsoever. We had to insist on a partial refund for spending a night in a hot room devoid of electricity. Whilst I understand that the blackout was not the fault of the management, the electricity company -- and not customers -- should be expected to shoulder the cost of inconvenience.

    Big hotel in a convenient yet quiet location. Very close to central Market Square, Esplanade park, public transport and the city baths. Great staff, large comfortable bedroom, excellent breakfast, decent wi-fi (free).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    8.8
    A good location for a city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No service on the terrace.

    The room was modern and comfortable. Having breakfast on the terrace and looking at the hustle and bustle of people going to and coming from the ferry.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    5.8
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The details could have given the costs of parking, as this was not clear. The hotel decor was tired, and the standard room we were in was small.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Faulty safe in room and had a problem getting it open. However, staff were as helpful as possible and eventually the problem was resolved. Might be cautious about this in the future.

    Fantastic location very close to the Market Squate, the local boats, Viking Terminal and all the main sights. Beautifully converted old warehouse. Lovely breakfasts. Good value for being so central in Helsinki. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    3.3
    Great location, but the hotel is a "mass production". It´s more like a youth hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are VERY small. They do not clean the room during your stay, they just change the waste bin bags and make your bad.

    Location is good, breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything. For a so called 4 star luxury hotel they need lessons in definition! Room not ready at check. I was there at 5 and stated check in 3. No apology. No robes and limited towels. Paper cups in room! Not good ecologically and not replenished. Overall tired room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    5.8
    No es la experiencia que esperabamos de un Scandic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff were very friendly but in general, the experience was not what we expected from a Scandic. From a disappointing room to an average breakfast, this is not the stay we were looking for. Room was super noisy and the hotel is really really dated. Not value for money at all. the breakfast is overcrowded and tables are left dirty for long time, you have to approach one of the waitresses to have it cleaned. I do not think we will stay here again.

    Staff was friendly. Close to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived a day late due to flight cancellation Initially problem with booking but staff sorted it and upgraded us for inconvenience Very professional Great central Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    Go for it, its a good one :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't know if that's Scandinavian thing but I would expect a bit more from 4* hotel - toilet paper is rather basic not smooth and silky (I am not posh but I like my comfort :-)) - no normal cups on a room, just paper ones - rooms are a bit dated and used - meaning furniture shows sign of extensive use (scratches, grazed) - I have found x2 items after previous guests (charge leads)

    In overall it was a really good hotel, especially for - we had super king size bed which was huge (obviously) and super, super comfy! Choice of two different pillows was a bonus - breakfast was extremely tasty, in form of a buffet with huge selection of food (salt, sweet, pastry, fruit, veg) - check in was smooth, staff very helpful to show on a map where to go and what to do - Viking Line ferry office is 5min away, so day out trip to Tallinn is very easy to organise - location is great - Market Square with trams is about 5min (walking) away, Central Railway station is about 15-20min (walking) - nice clean bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    4.6
    Definitely not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not comfortable - the bed / mattress, was very old and uncomfortable, curtains let a lot of light in (which is not ideal in the summer when there’s almost 24 hour light), the room was very noisy, the shower ancient and tiny. Breakfast was overcrowded each morning. All in all this was most certainly not a 4 star hotel. Disappointing

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast is great, staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is tiny, the bed is very uncomfortable, cheap sheets, mattress is thin and keeps coming off. The location is close to the port but it is a walk to all major sites.

    The breakfast is great, staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.3
    amazing location yet it wont meet your expectations all in all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no toothbrush kit (have to pay for it) - no bath robe - no iron - no complimentary water - no big blankets just 1 meter width blanket (its international hotel should have big ones for foreigners) i wouldnt recommend it

    Location is outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Scandic Grand Marina Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: