Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Kotka 2 stars

Kyminlinnantie 18, 48600 Kotka, Finland

#11 of 14 hotels in Kotka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable parking, tasty breakfast, friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. Few times per nights we woke up due to sound of kicks. Room is very simple. For ex. there is no teapot. If the price is 50 euros, that would be fine. But the price is 99, so the price is too high.

    Comfortable parking, tasty breakfast, friendly people

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Basic motel with access to Kotka center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was too old and I did not sleep well at all. Also double room was too narrow and I had to climb over the bed to get on my side..

    Easy access by car or bus to Kotka town center. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Dear Ser's!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dear Ser's! My name is Benteleva Tatiana, my friends and I stayed in Your hotel one night from 8th to 9th July. According to booking money were taken for 2rooms (4 person) before our arrivel. But after our visit again from my bank card were taken more money 103,50 EUR. Please, check and let me know, how I can have my money back. Thank You.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    6.7
    Nice people , shame about the place .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sauna was out of order for the entire week I was there . Did not get the room advertised and booked . Coat hooks hanging off the wall when I arrived (though fixed later ) . Told on arrival "Not to freak" as the place was under renovation ?

    People were great , welcoming and hospitable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    5.4
    Horrible cold room with both a draft as also the aircon running at cold.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have no heating and the aircon runs all through the night even when it is minus outside!. Absolutely ridiculous. This is so strange for a place like Finland. Horrible.

    Breakfast was acceptable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    They should upgrade
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    I had a room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Good, value for money overnight stop
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    If you knew how that trip changed my life, you wouldn't believe! ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very polite and friendly. The room was cosy and nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Basic hotel with quite nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic hotel with quite nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    the rooms were clean with a heated floor in the bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    there was no power socket near the bed.

    the rooms were clean with a heated floor in the bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Nice and clean as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean as always. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    5.0
    We got what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got what we expected. Good sauna and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Quick check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quick check in. Excellent breakfast. Clean and quiet Comfort beds.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    The hotel is not right in the center, but we were able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is not right in the center, but we were able to get bikes and it made the trip unforgetable as we managed to see all the sightseeings. Breakfast is one of the best ever.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.9
    Ideal position for getting around by car.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the corners were not particularly clean; rest of cleanliness ok. Heating could not be turned up further. Temperature however sufficient.

    Ideal position for getting around by car. Everything you need for a business hotel. Good breakfast. Matresses comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.9
    The location is perfect, free parking and free wifi just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room may need renovation, but it is ok for a short stay.

    The location is perfect, free parking and free wifi just what is needed for a short stay in the city while travelling with a car. Breakfast is diverse and tasty as in all Cumulus hotels chain, you won't stay hungry for sure. The room was clean and tidy. Clean towels, hot water, hair-drier.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed overnight on a Saturday and Sunday; my room was not made up on the Sunday (bed not made, bin not emptied, bathroom not cleaned etc). Additionally, contrary to the facts stated on Booking.com, the hotel no longer operates a restaurant - had I known this, I would have stayed elsewhere - and the recommendation I was given at reception for a local restaurant open on Sunday in fact turned out to not currently be open at all on Sundays.

    Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful, friendly staff that even tried to call over to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast tables are crammed into a corner of the reception area. Only a couple of tables outside - even those on a very tiny spot. The building and the place could certainly do this better.

    Very helpful, friendly staff that even tried to call over to a restaurant to ensure us a late meal close to closing hours (didn't work out, but not her fault). Comfortable beds/rooms and completely noise proof rooms although situated next to the E18 main road. Perfect for a road stop! A nice, standard Nordic hotel breakfast.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Browse Scandic Kotka traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: