Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Lahti 4 stars

Vesijärvenkatu 1, 15100 Lahti, Finland

#26 of 26 hotels in Lahti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 585 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was good and Hotel location excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room cleanliness was not OK and shower was dirty. Bathroom sink was totally blocked. Pillows were horrible.

    Breakfast was good and Hotel location excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall a nice stay for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall hotel would need refurbishing as it looks rundown. Especially the toilet. Also the walls are rather thin. We can hear people talking from the next room and from outside.

    Its in a good location and the staffs are very nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet spread is also nice. Room is neat and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was a bit lax in the rooms with regards to dust but comfortable and good night's sleep

    Proximity to the station and pretty close to everything else - good breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    The parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The parking. The parking spaces are narrow and when the hotel is full there is the possibility that your paid for space will not be there when you return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.6
    A sweaty night!
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stated price did not match the invoiced price. Pay Parking 8 € / 24h Fluffy décor and scratchy flooring. Air conditioning can not be adjusted, hot and stubborn.

    The stated price did not match the invoiced price. Pay Parking 8 € / 24h Fluffy décor and scratchy flooring. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    nice hotel stay with very good breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pet few very expensive with 20 Euro per night (I leave all hotelrooms very clean) . Windows Let Not Open to get fresh air. roomservice could be better (used glases were not changed).

    wonderful Breakfast. hartfloor in the Room. nice Restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Location ticks boxes and reception staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    being charged 8 euros for parking. Room had an odd smell upon first entering and lights in bathroom were slow to react. I had a dinner meeting with a construction client who is a big operator and they were very surprised I was staying there and recommended another establishment for my next trip.

    Location and ease of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice thoughts but the actual thing not too good of a success.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not very comfy. The room was not cleaned too well, there was lot of dust and candy papers under the beds, which we accidentally moved. Everything was a bit old and broken. On the breakfast table there was only bad old carrots and bad cucumber for vegetables. Loose tea does not stay good in open jars for weeks, but luckily they had also tea bags which were a bit more fresh.

    Nice thoughts but the actual thing not too good of a success.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.4
    I had to pay for parking, 8 euros per night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to pay for parking, 8 euros per night. Poor breakfast if we compare with others Scandic hotels. Small room. Not good place for stay more than one night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    Some BIG Issues with Scandic's Pricing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, let's see...my primary problem is with the price. I booked through booking.com and the price for the first night was 107 euro which was kind of decent. But when I wanted to stay over for another night I was told the room rate increased to 139 euro even though I was trying to stay over for a less-in-demand Sunday night. Then I go on booking.com and find that Scandic is selling the same room for $119 euro. The point is NOT that I'm staying for 32 euro more than the first night. The point is that they don't value their repeat customers. I'll be in Finland for 2 more months and I don't think I'll be giving this chain any more business. Maybe you might want to check out the Hostel Matkokoti Patria that is just one block up the street. While they don't have a breakfast or a bathroom in each room, their rate is 90 euro lower a night. Also, I kind of feel that the Scandic business model is about nickel and diming the client. It is almost like the airlines do - pay for parking, pay crazy prices for the stuff in the mini-bar in the room, pay gotcha with a client who wants to stay another night. Finally, the room was kind of small after all the space that the twin beds took up. For single travelers, they should make more room by eliminating a bed. Windows don't open to let in the fresh air. TV cable offering is limited but I'm not sure why. Maybe all hotels in Finland have that issue. Perhaps this place is not as bad as I say. But I don't enjoy the feeling of getting fleeced.

    The location next to the train station was great. The room was clean. Although I haven't had breakfast this morning, I did scout it out and it seemed very good - except there was no coffee in the middle of the morning rush. Oh, yes, and the wi-fi was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    5.4
    The room was very small but rates very high.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small but rates very high. Staff could have been friendlier, service attitude was somewhat lost. The pool downstairs was closed and the gym small & cold.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.1
    One of the best breakfast in Lahti.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is a bit much even though the room itself is very nice and the beds were kind of hard even though I tend to prefer a firm mattress.

    One of the best breakfast in Lahti. The location is greet right next to the train station but a bit of a walk from Sibeliustalo. Staff was friendly and the room itself was nice with big showers.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.5
    I arrived after 2 pm to Lahti with a buss and was very...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - I would say room itself had rather boring colors of green and gray (and white on walls). - Room size could have been bit bigger to me but it was already queen size room + bed so I bit give less minus here. - During 2nd night people next hotel room caused lot of noise when with friend we where planning to sleep. However call to hotel reception solved the issue. - there was rather small ammount of electric outlets/sockets in room like not any near bed so it was bit tricky get laptop online (I had one with weak battery/already almost dead one). - On first view the bathroom didn't seem so impressive but I would say it was better than 2 other hotels in Lahti I have visited.

    I arrived after 2 pm to Lahti with a buss and was very pleased how close hotel was to buss station. To me first impression when arrive to hotel itself, always gives me first idea of how good the hotel is. I was even asked if I travel with a car because they got the parking section for hotel guests. My room itself. I had booked queen size room as I had friend staying with me. I could have made it 2 beds in one room but we instead just shared bed because she was fine with it. I would describe the room size itself was maybe not truly queen room type to me but I didn't have benchmark very high for Lahti hotels. Hotel itself had bar services that I didn't have time to test because I was attending cosplay convention Desucon Frostbite 2017 during the weekend I visited. When needed a shower, the room had good shower in own room and they even offered sauna in evening and morning if you need one so that was good thing. The sleeping during nights was fine if I don't count someone having car alarm on parking lot going on 2-3 times but this is thing hotel couldn't effect. The breakfast itself was really impressive and I truly enjoyed the fact I was able to eat as much as want to/need to before the day would start to me. I got my standards always for hotels still so I would rate this 7,5 out of 10 on my standards. I will list the minus things on other section where I will go to detail on them. I would really recommend this for those who got good budjet for hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    4.2
    Misled by the picture on the internet, disappointed with the room on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picture of the room on the internet didn't reflect the room we stayed in at all, the room we stayed in was tired the mattress had holes in the safe didn't work the mini bar was virtually empty and there was limited tea and no coffee in our room on arrival

    Location to city centre and the family we were visiting, the breakfast was good with a wide variety of food available.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    food was very good, barman was very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was very good, barman was very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Very close to railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to railway station. It worth to stay in hotel if you come on "Lev Tolstoy" train from Russia. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Quality of room cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of room cleaning

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Very small bed and a single room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bed and a single room. The room itself is very small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Everything we needed and wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything we needed and wanted.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    convenient and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable bed, conveniently located 5 min walk from Train station, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    Near to main entrance to city center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bed cover

    Near to main entrance to city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.6
    Restaurant food(beef) very bad .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food(beef) very bad .Air in room vas not good.furniture in room we dont like.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    Beds are not wide enough for average person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are not wide enough for average person.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast is variable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows cannot be opened in room.

    Breakfast is variable. Quite crowdy, however.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the internet

    the staff was very courteous

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Easy access to rail and bus stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy access to rail and bus stations. (Not fabulous but overall pretty good)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was not working. Room was airless.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    Open the window in the room? Not in this lifetime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Closed (no way to open) windows in the rooms. Very stuffy....

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    3.8
    looks like a hospital inside
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms, bed,floor design, no go

    breakfast was OK, otherwise looking like a hospital inside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    4.6
    Mind your toes and the step!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The step from the room to the bathroom, wasn't expecting it, fractured my toe and not happy. No signage saying mind the step.

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    Staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were like a paper!! Noisy at nights. Hairdryer was poor!! Toilet smells already!

    Staff were nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    6.3
    Good hotel to stop in Lahti
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need refitting

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was excellent. Shower was large.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.3
    Hotel with good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm and noisy due to the street noise.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    4.6
    Nice swimming pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel I a no smocking one but the sofa was damage with cigarettes burned, wifi is not working at all, the look of the room is really old and not considered as "as you want this is and keep it". I'm sorry next time I will not choose this hotel again.

    Nice swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    5.8
    The hotel is right across the street from the transportation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't enjoy the twin beds.

    The hotel is right across the street from the transportation station (busses and trains from Helsinki) and only 4 block walk to downtown Lahti

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    7.5
    Staff was really helpful and positive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Traffic noises outside the window were quite disturbing. Since the location is in the middle of the traffic, then there could be something done...I have been in hotels that are also located in the middle of the traffic, but you can`t hear anything in the hotelroom.

    Staff was really helpful and positive

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.3
    Simple, easy and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad at all.

    Simple, easy and comfortable stay. Not luxury, but perfectly adequate. Great location, good value for money, extensive breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    Location, stuff, tasty breakfast, fast internet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no slippers and bathsuit (4 star hotel should have it)

    Location, stuff, tasty breakfast, fast internet

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.1
    Helpful friendly staff, restaurant ok, room value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Has two single beds instead of a double

    Helpful friendly staff, restaurant ok, room value for money

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    6.7
    Food was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking and room. Not up to par for Scandic Hotels

    Food was very good

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff and good range of food for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and good range of food for breakfast. About 10 minutes by car to the Sibelius Hall.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.1
    Perfect breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small closet for a longer stay

    Perfect breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    Great service and very comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great service and very comfortable beds. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    Nice sauna and swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reconstruction works in progress

    Nice sauna and swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    Not applicable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not applicable

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    6.7
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    my room was not properly cleaned

    location

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: