Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Simonkenttä 4 stars

Simonkatu 9, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00100 Helsinki, Finland

#58 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2868 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit expensive. Considering what you get it's ok, but bit less would be nice.

    Amazing location and rooms. With rooftop bar, restaurant and just generally great hotel with all the service you need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lost my pillow case. Was luckily quickly retrieved. Curtains did not block the light on the edges. Not nice if sundown is at 11:30 PM and sun up at 2:30 am. Room not hoovered during our 4 day stay with lots of dust everywhere (floor, edges and light fittings ).

    Good breakfast with hot items. Centrally located and conveniently close to shops and public transport. Good bath towels. Comfortabel beds. Ice machine in the hall. Elevator directly from hotel to the Mall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television reception was not great as kept cutting off and asked reception to check into it, not sure if it was done as problem continued. Wilted flowers at reception and breakfast room bothered me somewhat.

    Location excellent, staff professional and helpful and friendly, breakfast very good, the rooms are comfortable and spacious. I have stayed I this hotel along the years and will continue to do so.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It may seem a bit pricey but that's to be expected from this type of hotel in the city, imo.

    Nice rooms and bathroom. Taxis are always stopping there so it's easy enough to get one even without calling ahead. It's attached to Kamppi shopping center that has some restaurants. It's maybe a 5-10 min walk to the central station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a bit pricey but that's to be expected.

    Nice room and bathroom. Attached to Kamppi shopping center which has some restaurants. Maybe a 5-10 min walk to the rail station. Location was good for our purposes. There always seems to be taxis there so you could easily get one for the airport even without calling ahead.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel centrally located within walking distance or one tram stop from central railway station, shopping centres and many tourist spots. Clean, comfortable and quiet rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fruits (like pineapple) weren't cut very well at breakfast.

    There was a little convenience store in the lobby, which came in handy when I realized I had forgotten my toothbrush at home. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is perfect, next to the Central railway station, in the center of the city. The staff was very helpful. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was abundant. On the day of our departure we were kindly served an early breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    --

    Very comfortable bed, great breakfast with lots of options, including regional specialties. Perfect location; near train station and easy access to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower cabin in the room is a little bit problematic, it doesn't cover the whole shower basin. So, when you take a shower, the whole bathroom gets wet. The closet in the room is so small, in fact it is not even a proper closet and when you travel for business, it is really very important that you have enough space for your stuff in the closet which is lacking here unfortunately. At some times, especially within the rooms, I felt really cold and could not find anyway to increase the interior temperature.

    The hotel location is perfect, just close to the Kamppi square which means the location is really central. I have stayed in this hotel several times and the hotel always keeps a certain standard level which is quite above the average. The personnel is always kind, the hotel breakfast is good and the rooms are quite spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it was the most basic room but yhis is not the first time for me staying on a budget room. Space was so less. There were not enough room from the beds. Also, the bathroom wasn’t nice either. When you take shower, everywhere goes wet. And there were no wardrobe. As i said, i had stayed in the budget rooms many times this was the lowest value i got for the money i paid.

    The hotel was clean. Lovation was very good. Staff was helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mentioned about small room size couple of times but no action to do any reasonable improvements from front desk side. Cleaners forgot to do their job once in a while. Too weak shower pressure, bet it is saving water.

    Easy access to garage, which is exepensive though. Friendly breakfast staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, doesn't meet expectations. Lacking amenities in the room like a kettle to make a cup of tea, Bathroom only offers strictly the essential (no complementary toothpast /brush / slippers or anything really.) Cleaners service very poor, only did beds, left floor and room desk dirty, trash left inside.

    Location is quite good, very central. Good Breakfast. Room decoration is acceptable, neutral and modern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know it's a very small thing, but here goes, because I actually took notice of it (negatively): I have stayed several times at the hotel, because of the location and because it fits my routines such as working at the hotel room at night, but this time I got a room without coffee maker, and I like coffee when I work :-) Maybe they changed the policy, maybe it was because of the room - I don't know. If so, consider assigning business rooms with coffee maker :-)

    Location is very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't have a perfect Italian espresso ... :) but I'm sure they'll be there soon!

    The room was very comfortable and quite. The Hotel is located in central position, near to the railstation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The cleaning on the rooms can be better, as the cleaning is very frivolous and the floor was not brushed or vacumed almost whole week that we stayed there, in any of the rooms that we had.

    The breakfast was, very nice, lot of things to choose, and good quality!!! The restaurant we didnt use it, as we were for business trip and we were eating out for most of nights, although our night off, we tried to eat in Mas but there was not available table, as it was Saturday night. The bar had nice selection of drinks and the whole area of the bar is unique as you can stare the whole Kampi square. The reception staff was always friendly and ready to assist. In general I highly recomend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room little bit cold. I think windows and outside wall is not insulated good enough and air conditioner was turned to max but no hot air was coming in.

    Nice location, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a really annoying bright light in the bathroom that you can’t turn off. And there’s a small window in the bathroom, which means that the light will come into the room. Called reception at 1am as I couldn’t sleep because of the light, and was told it’s a safety light (never heard of such a thing). Generally staff are friendly but could be more active in problem solving.

    I really liked the decor of the room. It was clean and comfortable. The location is central and convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Scandic Simonkenta hotel is right in the center of Helsinki. Modern and nice furnished. A room was large and comfort, clean and fully equipped with everything you may be in need of, with a great view of the Kamppi chapel, Simonkatu and Central railway station ahead. Included breakfast was rich enough - a large choice of every kind of meal. Free options: WiFi - ok; gym - really small and most of the time is busy; sauna is nice, clean and really worth to try. Friendly staff, the room was cleaned frequently. Main Helsinki streets with shops and restaurants are 2 min away from the hotel, so as most of sights are not so far (if you are not lazy or dumb). I do recommend!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room not cleaned and needed to be chased up with reception who then sorted Still feels a bit dated despite the update

    Great breakfast Central location Good sized rooms Friendly reception staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Containers for shampoo/gel should be placed on a wall next to shower otherwise they easily can be knocked down by a wrong movement - which actually almost did happen. A note to a cleaning staff - cleaning is not complete by just sweeping dirt under the beds I was asbsolutely amazed not to have a tea kettle/cups in the room - thought to be a must for a good European hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little bit chilly

    Very good breakfast! Very friendly staff! Spacious and comfortable room, great bed, nice bathroom, silence everywhere - very comfortable! I loved staying in this hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for a family of four. We constantly had to juggle to find space for luggage etc The bathroom was also small.

    Fantastic friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the location was right in the centre of Helsinki and within easy walk of everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com reservation had not come through. Hotel managed to provide accomodation, however. This transpired at check-in.

    Excellent location, spacious double room. Professional staff. Good standard Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    but the overall cleaning of the room and specially the bathroom leave a lot to desire from a hotel of the rating, lot of hair and dust all around, needed a good clean

    Bed lovely and confy,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Why was I charged MORE than I'm supposed too! The amount was supposed to be 1,8890.26 Euro (approx. 2,214 USD) and I got charged for 2,274 USD (why is there almost an extra 50$)?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Isn't Finland very expensive? But even a country with high qualities.

    The wonderful Helsinki and Finland - all as the best, so even weather, some sun, some snow.. Scandic Simonkenttä .. the best location and guarantee for celebrating Finland100. Thank You! We ll be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    The rooms are very clean and super comfortable. The breakfast is amazing! The hotel is only a few minutes away from the train station in Helsinki - so it's a perfect spot to stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Extra Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really inconsistent room cleaning. There for 5 nights and room was only made up twice, despite hanging the sign on the door, no one bothered to make up the room.

    Nice new refurbishment - the hotel looks good (much better than pictures) and staff are very friendly. Particularly liked the €20 of vouchers to use in the mini shop.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are 'ok good' but a deep cleaning could help as dust has accumulated in areas not covered by daily service.

    New MAS restaurant is surprisingly good for dinner, that clearly exceeded expectations. 5 am breakfast snack availability at the checkout desk was another excellent surprise. Other than that, follows Scandic standards.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is small. The bathroom is small. Because of the hotel's location, the room is noisy. The room is cold enough, the air conditioning is not enough. The staff does not arrange the room during the day.

    Breakfast is excellent. The room is clean but small. The same with the bathroom. The location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The heating was not working in the room. Although the receptionist brought us an electric heating device, it was very small and could not warm the room... - there was some garbage in the room (paper with a chewing gum!)

    -friendly and helpful reception -very clean -big and comfort room -quiet room -amazing and huge breakfast! The best ever! - Nice bar and lobby - excellent location!! Next to train station and all sights! - excellent wifi signal Would definitely stay again!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New room was freezing once I entered. I adjusted temperature to the highest, but it was still too cold.

    New rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are very uncomfortable. Cleaning didn't do anything beyond making the bed.

    Excellent location in the heart of Helsinki. Very close to the central train station and important businesses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast contents were same while I stayed 2 nights.

    I love enjoying bathtub rather than just shower, bathtub was wonderful because longer and deeper than the other hotels in Helsinki I stayed so far!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Decaf coffee is unavailable, and herbal teas (called tisanes) are rare.

    The staff were extremely accommodating, especially the receptionist who helped my companion translate her dietary restrictions into Finnish. (Google Translate results were laughable.) The breakfast buffet has a wide variety, from eggs and breakfast meats, hot and cold cereal, breads, whole, cut and pureed fruit, and offers I would have expected for lunch such as salad greens, deli meats and pickles.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in staff should possibly look for another job, did not seem to like what they were doing. Liquid soap in the bathrooms are fine if the pump-mechanism works but they were all broken and nobody seemed to care about it as they were broken two consecutive days. I have stayed in this hotel many times since it was new and things seems to be going downhill in terms of service and customer care.

    Breakfast is rich, there is even a good selection of gluten free bread and cereals nowadays.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very central, close to the nice boulevards with lots to see or just to walk around. Also close to a modern shopping mall for whatever purchases you'd need. A lot of road-works made it difficult and time consuming to get out of the city center in the morning however.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Extra Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor language skills of staff - no russian and poor english could not put 2 beds together in 1 room, but did so in 2nd -why? noisy room - lifts and ventilation could be heard no parking discount for guests (other hotels (including Scandic Marski) sharing same parking space have it)

    breakfast, location (Scandic Marski has a better one), cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms with permanent air con; impossible to stop. What a waste of energy.

    Excellent breakfast. Very central location. Comfortable rooms, aside from heating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very well located in the heart of the city, close to the train station (max 5 minutes walking distance) and shopping area. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some renovations going in on our floor - but the workers made every effort to keep quiet and as clean as possible!

    We arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight with an 8 month old baby, and asked for early check-in. The staff at the reception were very kind and helpful, and got us immediately a room with a baby cot. This made our stay especially comfortable and nice. The location of the hotel is very good in the heart of Helsinki. Good and rich breakfast was included, and helped to get a comfortable start for the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel as we were leaving early the next morning from the kamppi bus station which is just minutes from the hotel. While we were staying, the hotel was undergoing some renovation work, but this did not cause us any inconvenience. Although very centrally located, the hotel was quiet. The breakfast was really impressive with a whole section of items suitable for people who are vegan, vegetarian or on a gluten free diet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facility

    The room was the quietness that I ever stayed in. Room was basic decor but very comfortable. Tea/coffee making facility would add greatly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing the courtyard/entrance provide a somewhat dull/sterile outside view. (Though the rooms are as nice as others.)

    Three words: Best breakfast ever!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were given for our 7 night stay was right next to an outside elevator used for ongoing renovations which started every day well before 8am. We declined this room and were given another one a few doors further along the corridor. Housekeeping initially was of a poor standard and we finally complained on day 5 asking that bedsheets be changed and the room thoroughly cleaned as dust had accumulated throughout the room and bathroom as well as inside the wardrobes. Then some small personal toiletry items disappeared including personal shower caps which are not supplied but can be bought. They were replaced free of charge. The other items had gone. Some internal renovation work was also ongoing on a daily basis with workmen in the lobby and breakfast restaurant, etc. Overall and despite these few negative points, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel although management should perhaps address the issue of their housekeeping staff and make sure they are adequately trained..

    Excellent location and facilities. Next to large shopping center with food courts, supermarket and main bus station. Short walk only from Helsinki train station. Varied and extensive buffet breakfast. Excellent beds. Free WIFI. Great sauna and small gym available free of charge to guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It fit our needs perfectly, so I don't have anything I can add here - when I stayed in Finland about 3 years ago, I also chose the Scandic Simonkenttã.

    The Scandic chain is reliably very good. We chose the Scandic Simonkenttä for its location - just a walk away from the car rental place we used, easy walks to major sites. The breakfasts were quite good with lots of variety, including gluten-free offerings (we don't need that, but I did take note of that inclusion). The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful with our questions and requests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls in this hotel are very thin. At 8 a.m., I woke up to the sound of the people next door having sex on their creaky mattress. At 9 a.m., a construction crew started pounding as if they were dropping things on the floor above me and drilling into the walls. No way to get a good night's sleep here.

    The hotel is in a central location, near the main railroad station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly expensive - nearly 400 euros per night for a small room and very small bathroom. No ability to make tea or coffee in room. Plus ...two nights parking 101 euros. Quite ridiculous prices in my opinion and beware they say they have parking on site but it is public underground parking at these crazy rates.

    Location is good and is a typical modern business hotel. Without any charm or personal touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to know how to control the room temperature, no instructions at all Bathroom had some mould in the grouting, which doesn't look good or clean

    Very relaxed atmosphere, excellent central location. Very wide range of food at breakfast, Building work going on, but noise kept to a minimum. Useful shop in foyer for anything you had forgotten.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor, scrappy and thinly filled pillows......I wouldn't have them in my own home.

    Very nice, clean sauna area. Nice breakfasts with an overwhelmong choice of items. Charming and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness. Our room included the shower gel container of its previous occupant (not Scandic issue). This was reported to reception but still awaited us on our return from sightseeing etc., not cleared / cleaned. The breakfast room was also poorly cleaned with radiators having crumbs etc on it from many previous occupants and the pigeons could have happily fed off the food between the radiators and the windows. I guess the easy part of the main floor is cleaned but otherwise .... This did put us off Scandic group hotels and we only used one Scandic hotel after this one and that we had pre-booked. Disappointing.

    The hotel is centrally located. It is part of a shopping mall and offices complex. It does NOT have its own on site parking, parking is in the complex car park; no discount is available for hotel guests. Parking for two nights cost 72 Euros (arriving mid afternoon day 1 and leaving after breakfast day 3). Reception were very helpful re sightseeing and information.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom looked like a little bit "too simple" for the name of the hotel (and for the price).

    Breakfast is better than other (same level) hotels in Helsinki

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a bit disappointed with the cleanness as on the first night our room was full of confetti paper from previous gest party. This was solved the next day but some stains on the sofa pillows and dirty spots in the bathroom were never solved. In any case I believe this was a punctual problem as no other guests mention any problem with cleanness. We would also like to appreciate all the attention given by the staff when we expose the problem for the second time.

    The hotel design and decoration are very nice. We also loved the wooden floors in the room and the view. Breakfast was great and location perfect, right in the city center and very close to all public transports.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really stands out in this place, it's a generic hotel without much individuality. Everything about it was pretty much lukewarm, including the cocktail I ordered in the hotel bar, one of the most expensive and worst tasting GTs I've ever had.

    Location, location, location, it rarely gets better than this. Fair weekend price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in the restaurant was rather slow. There was air conditioning/fan in the bathroom going on all the night which was a bit annoying.

    Staff at the reception were very helpful and friendly. There was a possiblity to print documents anytime which was very helpful, too. And the breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kettle and coffee mugs in the rooms please, especially since it is so cold in winter, nice to be able to just have hot water for tea in the room. No bikes left for rental, even in the morning No universal adapters for guests to borrow. For alot of business travellers this is important so don't forget to bring your own adapter. No hand or body moisturiser - or is this standard for Helsinki? Would really help with the dry cold

    Great buffet breakfast selection USB cable in the TV so you can charge your smartphone Excellent location for Helsinki close to public transport and key attractions and shops, malls

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows not great (and only provided one each and one spare without asking). In room safe very small.

    Fantastic location near station, shopping centre and bus station ...but still quiet enough. Good value for money too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were passing through Helsinki on our way back to the US from SE Asia and had accidentally packed our electric plug adaptor in our checked-through luggage. The hotel room electrical outlets were all 2-pronged European outlets and we had to go to the adjacent shopping center to buy an adaptor that let us plug in a computer. Many hotels have at least one universal outlet that can be used with a range of plugs.

    The room was very comfortable, with a window that could be opened and closed. The breakfast provided a delicious assortment of foods and the shopping center immediately adjacent to the hotel was very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am quite satisfy with this hotel. Good location nearby the central railway station, close to the main center and there are some shopping centers around. And it is not far away from some city views . The staff are professional and warm heart. Breakfast is the best one I ever ate.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room and bathroom, dirty hall, dirty luggage room, dirty lift. Room in need of repair!!! Everything is old, dirty and scratched. Room was very very cold!!!

    Personnel, breakfast was not perfect, but good. Good location. Kettle in the room to make coffee and tea.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to replace our key cards a couple of times because they would not work

    Awesome atmosphere and the hotel in general offered very good service. Free sauna and huge variety of items for breakfast (a lot of gluten free options, including 3 types of bread on a separate table for avoiding contamination!). No carpet in the rooms, only wood floors. Close to a huge mall. Great experience, highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff seemed to work the morning and come in at random times, asking if you want the room cleaned (even on the last day)

    Lots of food at breakfast, and lots of variety. Falafel for the veggies, as well as some fruit and pastries. The location is amazing, directly next to 2 main shopping centres, (you don't even need to go outside to visit them both!) as well as the bus station and a 5 minute walk from the Train station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room over-heated for our taste; the heat-adjustment dial on the wall had no effect. We opened the window, but noise from outside was disturbing. It was difficult to find the entrance to the hotel from the underground car park.

    Central location with parking facilities and good public transport connections.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are terrible, especially the pillows. Even tough the hotel is nice otherwise the state of the beds actually overruns all the good things, and adds up to a very bad experience from business travelers point of view.

    The location is excellent, staff is friendly and breakfast is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My email wasn't replied before the trip. And a small gripe that it apparently wasn't possible to get a bottle of wine delivered to the room as a surprise. Otherwise everything was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bar restaurant on Sunday evening - but plenty of local choices nearby Getting stuck in the basement as electronic key gets erased if it is near your mobile phone

    Central location. Good sauna times morning and evening. Great meeting spot to start the day for breakfast - good selection of buffet set up - continental; cooked; fabulous choices of bread and coffee on the go all the time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom interior design. Of course I can't complain but some more update would be nicer.

    Well balanced proper way of service. I didn't find any small things that may bother guest. That's a good thing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had two single beds in my room instead of one big bed. The front desk was under-staffed. It took quite a time to get through.

    Value for money. Central location in Helsinki!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds on wheels, so they moved around, which was disturbing. Room was cold. Selection of fruit at breakfast was paltry.

    Classy hotel in excellent location. Superb disabled shower in private bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The electronic keys are not efficient. My card was not recognised in the elevator, and i had to try also multiple time to enter in the room.

    Nice people working there. The food at the restaurant is OK.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and the fridge was locked. Also no tea or coffee making facilities which is poor for a 4* hotel. Bathroom also small with a claustrophobic bath/shower.

    Great location, short walk to the main station, the main shopping area and two malls on the doorstep. Hotel was quiet and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect location, nice room, very friendly atmosphere. especially loved the staff's care: on Sunday I had to leave before the breakfast started, so they let me choose a sandwich and coffee from the lobby shop for free.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival, after some time, my booking was finally found under my companion's name when I booked and paid for it. 07:00 the construction workers started banging outside.

    Location was good. Comfortable bed. Satisfying breakfast buffet. Friendly bar staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only downside was that we were not able to keep the room free of charge for two additional hours beyond the regular check-out time, despite our extremely late arrival (just before midnight). This would have been nice as we were travelling with a baby.

    Perfect location, good (albeit crowded) breakfast, very nice and accommodating staff. Good price for Helsinki. The rooms were clean and well organized though kind of 'outdated'. We asked for a crib and a kettle an both were waiting for us in the room as we arrived.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Simonkenttä traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: