Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Original Sokos Hotel Albert 4 stars

Albertinkatu 30, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00120 Helsinki, Finland

#81 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice location close to the city centre. Very good breakfast. Very comfortable mattresses. My room even faced to the street was very quiet. I do recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an issue with shower, could not fix it to the shower mode. Air-conditioning was working strange - it felt rather cold though I was trying to set it for some comfortable temperature. In the meantime my colleague staying in another room said it was a bit too hot and he could not set it for cooler temperature. It would be also good if there would be more stuff available at reception, as they have to combine the functions of barman with reception work.

    Staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is very basic in its amenities but overall impression is quite good. Sound isolation is ok, so it is quite possible to sleep well. Breakfast is nice, freshly cooked omelets are really tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed the night for business with meetings downtown. This was by far the best value I could find. Clean, comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good quiet hotel in the Design District. Good for pedestrians with easy access to several tram lines. A dozen museums are nearby with plenty of Finnish, Chinese, Thai, and comfort food restaurants also nearby. Breakfast has hot and cold options and is decent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    differences in cleaning staff, sometimes very clean, other times just basics

    Friendly staff, extended choice of breakfast, excellent location near tram 6.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk staff were excellent. Two of the mornings of our stay we had to be gone before the breakfast would be served. When they discovered this, they told us to just come to the front desk and they would make sure they had coffee and a sandwich ready for us. This seemed to be above and beyond what most hotels would offer. They were also very helpful and informative when it came to other arrangements and sights to see.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite tiny with a small bathroom, but it worked!

    Good location and very friendly staff, the BF was excellent - fresh bread, egg station and good selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ➖ Personally, i think that the price was a bit too high, but i blame this on the holiday season. ➖ Only other complaints i can think of would be rather minor, such as a glass table having a crack inside, or a lamp besides the bed not adjusting properly.

    ➕ Overall, this hotel looks and feels very nice. ➕ The location isn't spot on some of the central streets, but the location is still central and within a walking distance to most points of interest. It's about 1,2 km away from both the train station and Kauppatori. There're tram lines nearby anyway. The area around is nice and quiet. ➕ The room was neat, with nice big windows, and even it was winter, it wasn't cold at all. ➕ The staff was extremely friendly. ➕ There's a nice and atmospheric common area. ➕ Breakfast was really good. ➕ Wireless connectivity both in common area and in the room (6th floor) was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoying: Air condition cannot be switched off, windows cannot be opened.

    Rooms to the backyard are calm; Great location for design district shoppers, close to ferry terminal Eckeröline (tram 6T)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet place not far from the city center,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheet was dirty and I even found hair on it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast the same every day

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic hotel. Crowdy breakfast room

    Good price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was already full but other parking was nearby

    Friendly staff Comfortable beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bedside table and lamp. Lighting in main room and bathroom was insufficient. Strange array of towels.

    Location, breakfast, staff, very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotelbar prices, a glass of wine 24 cl costs : 19,60 € ! No foreign television channels ( only BBC World )

    friendly staff good breakfast location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was broken a little bit, but I'm from Russia so it did not bother me ;)

    Big room, very clean, stylish, quiet and comfort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great breakfast, friendly staff, convenient location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value friendly staff very helpful, comfy room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi

    personal, locatie

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff at reception were excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if the windows could be opened.

    Good hotel in a nice neighborhood, friendly staff and stylish rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was cold (18 °C) when we arrived. Unfortunately the room only got 1 °C warmer during the night however the thermostat was set to 23 Celsius. The outside temperature was below -10 so it wasn't very pleasant that our room was also cold.

    Breakfast was really good and the room was bigger than the average hotel rooms.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Couple

    First a small additional bed which could not improve the general decoration... Then foam coming from the sink conduct on the floor... Then a computer which definitely refused any Internet connection. Breakfast was the final disappointment: supposed to be an extraordinary one, it just appeared as very common.

    Even if we hated nothing, the fact is we didn't enjoy something either...

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the reception personell were very unfriendly and not helpful. The shift that worked on the 30 December 2015 was impolite and refused to help me solve questions - such as the lack of toiletries, the lack of slippers, no wifi signal in the room. The rooms are not airconditioned properly. There were STAINS on the bed covers.

    The hotel is conveniently located, close to major shopping areas. There are nice walking well-lit areas around.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bathroom lock was broken - there was a slight chance to stay there forever since it was hard to open it from the inside :)

    The staff is very nice and friendly. And helpful. And I guess the value for the price for this offering is very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room and smaller bathroom, but if you don't pay big € its what you can expect.

    Lovely warm and cosy feeling at this hotel, great reading area to relax in and close to several good eateries. Very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They refused to give me the room I had booked until after 20 minutes of arguing I asked to cancel my booking. Then miraculously the right room was found. The soap container in the room was empty when I arrived, and stayed empty for the whole stay. My room was only cleaned once. Air-conditioning didn't work properly in the middle of summer in a room where the windows don't open.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to hang around a bit to check out..

    Nice hotel with a decent restaurant for a late meal as stays open toll 22.00 handy for tram line 6, just a pity this not pointed out! Room good, does have BBC world on TV which is better than no English tv at all! found wi-fi fell out occasionally.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    At the arrival the room wasn't very clean (all above the bathroom with hair on the floor and dusty shelves). We thought that it was just an unlucky case, but the next day (and the days after) the situation was still the same. The quality/price ratio could certainly be better.

    The hotel is well located. The city center and the tourist port are just 10 minutes walk away.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked a double room with single occupancy, and the hotel gave me a single room, saying the hotel was full, and not changing the price. That is cheating people !

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    window covering not enough to cover the windows to stop the Sun light from coming in in the morning. very old computer and location not good.

    very close to bus or train stops

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast wasn't very good. I didn't bother going the second day. The layout could be improved. It's not a very logical buffet layout

    your team are an amazing asset to your hotel. So kind and helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really unfortunate and slow Wifi, we used our own. The restaurant opened at 16.00 on saturday so we had to go out to find food elsewhere (Dennis only a block away).

    Nice and clean, good breakfast. We were able to get a rental parking space in the hotel's own garage, which was great!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing. hopefully hot water pot for tea in a room.

    Breakfast buffet was great! Not centered in city, quiet and beautiful. I like the interior and relaxed atomosphere.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I always expect the doors in elevator open autonatically, but you should always open it mannually. Shower cabine is acctually abcent.

    warm floor in the bathroom is great

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room decor is stylish, although I feel a bit uneasy sleeping beside a huge mirror. And as I said it's not in the most central area, so it takes 10-15 minutes walk to the Central Railway Station and Bus Terminal.

    The hotel is not in the most popular area but owns a quiet neighbourhood, and close to the famous restaurant Kahvila Suomi. The staff is friendly. The price is quite reasonable for Scandinavia! Breakfast included.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The temperature in the room was very low.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking a little expensive.

    Good location, good room.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Little bit noisy place at night. But since it was weekend, it was understandable and didn't bother me too much.

    Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Couple

    right in the center of Helsinki!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bit understaffed at breakfast with tables taking a little while to be cleared.

    Rooms were large and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location in quiet residential area 10 min. walking distance from heart of downtown. Friendly, competent staff. Very good breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel looks and feels old. One of the beds in the room was wobbly and breakfast was distasteful.

    Clean bathroom, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Lovely staff on the front desk.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very very nice, with a fantastic variety! The bathroom was great, and the decor was fresh and modern!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I broke my BMW 7series front bumper when i was driving to garage.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal choice very limited.

    Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wireless didn't work properly, got hardly connected and couldn't browse normally

    The bed was good and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    good location

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Conveniently located in the Design District. Easy to reach from the train station on foot.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location Clean rooms Funny and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could've done with a few more options.

    Excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were willing to let us have the room early

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location convenient for city centre and tramline (6) to meetings

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - nice staff

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed didn't look too clean

    Staff was extremely nice

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls were a little dirty.

    Breakfast was very good and with lots of different choices.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff, Great sauna, Very convenient location

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable room with excellent bed and linen, helpful staff. Rated as low allergy. Slightly away from train station but easily found by tram 6

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: