Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 4 stars

Kluuvikatu 8, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00100 Helsinki, Finland

#64 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1557 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    OK, good location but expensive
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not related to this hotel in particular but I find the hotels in Finland and particularly in Helsinki vere expensive for what is proposed. If your wish is to have a nice stay in a really nice and convenient hotel, well, ther eare others plans. If you want only to have a room where to put your luggage while visiting or for having a quick sleep, you can also find something else.

    The location is perfect, close to the main train station, walking distance to the bus station, shopping center and the harbor. You can find several bars and restaurants around and there's also a sauna in the building!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer...hope to be back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Great location, delicious breakfast, comfortable bed, quiet room, clean and well equipped with all the extras, two restaurants downstairs to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    A convenient hotel for a short stay, close to the Railway Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small, no room to spread out the cases

    Top marks for the staff, really helpful and informed. Not only the receptionists, but the breakfast and the cleaning staff as well. Very welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice one night stay on the way to Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view, but it’s ok for one night stay.

    Very convenient location. Close to the train station, testaments and cafes, and sightseeing bus stop. Neat, clean functional hotel. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    I can't even imagine any better place for hotel -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lost the lottery - got the room on 2nd floor with windows to the inner yard. So, no direct sunlight... :(

    I can't even imagine any better place for hotel - 200metres from train station, the Cathedral, old town. Superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and easy - close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was easy - booking in, storing luggage, eating, drinking, finding my room. It was so close to everything I wanted to do. On the whole I feel I chose the right place to stay. The room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little outdated. Also when I would get paper from the toilet roll holder, the toilet roll fell off onto the floor. Doesn’t normally happen to me! :)

    Central location, the single room was spacious, friendly staff, excellent selection of food at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Ideal location, as much central as possible but in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location, as much central as possible but in a quiet street. Super friendly staff. The breakfast was delicious and the large choice. Large superior room. Good restaurant opened on Sunday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Not a good value money vs quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was not done properly, very noisy (same floor with a family with children and on the last night someone was speaking quite loud on the telephone). As a minus also the fact that I had to eat half of the breakfast at a table which was not cleaned from previous guest (all dishes, glasses were crowded on the table).

    Location was the best and the only plus for the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    The hotel's top selling point is its location, mere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower drained in the middle of the bathroom and was a bit messy to use. Bath products were skimpy. Exterior windows did not open, which would have nice for some ventilation/fresh air. Hallways felt a bit dated.

    The hotel's top selling point is its location, mere blocks from the main train station, other transit points (ferry to Suomenlinna; tram stops serving Viking Line terminal for transit to Tallinn), and main downtown sights. I stayed here two nights (Saturday and Sunday), and contrary to what I read in some other reviews on Booking.com, I found the stay to be quiet and comfortable overall (my room faced an internal courtyard, though the windows did not open). Staff was friendly and eager to assist upon check-in. Good array of meal choices at breakfast, including various gluten-free options. Though the breakfast was busy (especially on Sunday morning), additional seating in the adjacent restaurant was opened up, so that ample seating was available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Hotel is left back in time and maid service was lacking.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned well. Dirty towels used for cleaning were left behind, empty toilet paper not replaced, used mugs not cleaned.

    The hotel was left back in time. The rooms were old fashioned and the toilet was like a throne in the middle of the bathroom. This hotel need an update desperately.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, abd nice staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    .Front desk was quite crowded (lots of group travelers) at my check-in and check-out time, I waited for a long time to get access to an elevator.

    .Quite friendly staffs, even I could not catch up the breakfast time (6:30AM), they offered sandwich and coffee at front desk .Quite close to Helsinki central station and Helsinki cathedral

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend this hotel + would stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service could have been quicker + more organized - but this is not a criticism of staff, more of management.

    The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Food was of high quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was very, very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very, very good. Location was convenient for all visits, restaurants and shopping. Excellent bed. Windows could open. Nice people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Easy to find from the train station and so close to everything a visitor wants to see and do. Lovely, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff, room and location were all excellent. Good breakfast and the staff stored some luggage for us while we did a side trip for 2 nights to Lapland. Thoroughly recommend this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I emailed asking about parking before I travelled and nobody replied

    be ware if you drive, cos they don't have parking.. you have to pay for parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    GOOD HOTEL FOR FIRST TRIP TO HELSINKI
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress is too soft and uncomfortable, so I feel pain in my back at morning, I expect more for breakfast like honey also dishes smelled egg.

    The location of Hotel is very good near all things! Staffs are very helpful and nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    stayed overnight before departure for Helsinki Airport where nearby to Railway Station
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In bathroom, there's no door glass or slide from shower... water split over on the floor to get wet.

    Thank you for telling us about Pihlajakarkit sweets when we had our breakfast. Hv bought 2 packets of this from supermarket.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good choice for business travels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was rather small.

    Large choice for buffet breakfast, very good wifi, sauna, 3 lifts (you don't need to wait long to get one), location, very nice and very helpful staff, hotel bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff was warm welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is tipical for Sokos chain, it would be great to see some changes of assortment. The furniture and aspecially bathroom facilities in Superior (!) are very-very old

    Staff was warm welcoming. Location is Great. Family room is spacious and can suit even fo 4 adults

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel in the heart of Helsinki, perfectly located. My room was small and with a poor view, but comfortable, clean and very apt for one person. The breakfast is very good and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Central location but housekeeping needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    House keeping can be improved. Upon arrival, the glasses in the bathroom were dirty (had the previous guests' toothpaste leftovers in the glass. Also, room wasn't cleaned until around 3:30pm, and the didn't replenish the amenities (shampoo, conditioner). Only the dispenser on the shower wall was used.

    Room upgrade to a superior room, but directly facing McDonald's. Room was quite spacious. Location was relatively close to the central station, and it's really convenient to the sites and plenty of restaurants/coffee shops nearby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Confy, employees are very helpful and friendly and has a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise on the street was easily heard in the room. On both nights woke up at 5 am with noise on the street.

    Confy, employees are very helpful and friendly and has a good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some dust on the floor, under the bed and close to the walls. That did it help my allergies.

    Location. Internet connection. Helpful staff. Awesome breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Window view was into the internal side - so we saw 4 walls only, but it's not that bad if you do not intend to spend the whole time in the room

    Very good location! We arrived by train - it's 400 meters from the central railway station, in the heart of the city. Breakfast was incredible, a lot of variety of food. We also went to sauna - it is included in the price: very clean, a lot of space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    central location close to main shoping are and the central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms are pretty basic and old kind of cold in the room but portable heater was provided

    central location close to main shoping are and the central sration nice stuff good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Every member of staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved EVERYTHING!!!.

    I had asked for 2 pillows when booking and I got them .This was the nicest hotel , and staff were very friendly ,especially Elina but it was never a bother to ask any staff member for anything .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit oldish style

    Excellent location!! 3min walk from the railway station and in the heart of the beautiful Helsinki. Very good amenities in the room and free WiFi. We had an early flight and we were served breakfast at 5.30am.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable hotel in the city center, close to all key...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No swiming pool. I guess it's the only minus

    Very comfortable hotel in the city center, close to all key attractions and railway station. Very rich and tasty breakfast, big room (don't understand why it can't be booked for 4 persons).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Centrally located, exceptionally clean, spacious (superior) rooms and a great included breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is an easy 5 minute walk from Helsinki Central Station. Our superior grade room was enormous and had ample room for three adults and our luggage. The included breakfast was great quality and had both hot and cold options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    No Tea and coffee making facilities in the room I booked - ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Tea and coffee making facilities in the room I booked - When I questioned the staff about this I was told this was only in Premium Rooms !!! I Was not aware of this FACT when I booked I think I should have been

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    3.5
    Convenient to a lot of spots but room is not comfortable that you don't want to stay in, too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Should not provide a twin room for three people, too narrow in space, cannot move around. Cleaning service is not well done. Toilet's ventilation is not working.

    Location and breakfast. But staff started to pack all the food before 10am for their own conveniences.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    They had interesting organic toiletry at sauna, not like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had interesting organic toiletry at sauna, not like the cheapest boring ones. Staff was friendy and they were willing to help and to give information about restaurants and sightseeing. We liked the hotel a lot!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location and friendly staff. Recommend for stays in Helsinki!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    These was no space to eat breakfast at the breakfast restaurant so we had to walk with our plates across reception to the "extra space".

    Lovely large room with huge mirror and comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Great stay, loved the hotel, location, and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good selection at breakfast, the Sauna is good too up on the roof. Staff were all excellent, location is fantastic right there in the centre of Helsinki, and plenty restaurants nearby to eat at.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    The wait time to check in was long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wait time to check in was long. The staff explained that it is normal to have a long wait time at check in. If this is known, having more staff at the desk during that time could reduce the wait.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    We had to leave for the airport at 4am and the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not enough light in the room and we would appreciate in-room coffee/tea facilities.

    We had to leave for the airport at 4am and the hotel arranged for a coffee, juice and sandwich for us at the reception upon check-out!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    We were departing very early in the morning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning staff should be encouraged to pay more attention to the details....

    We were departing very early in the morning. The staff took the initiative to make fresh coffee and sandwiches for the road. Great stuff. Additionally, the hotel is very close to the train station and close to the main square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Location is perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning services could be better, the towels were not changed during my stay at all, but anyway the living was very good =)

    Location is perfect!!!!! Breakfast is nice! personnel is perfect!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small (for one) and too tight at the "desk" area.

    Excellent breakfast. Heated tiles in bathroom, warm room. Location could not be better. Very close to railway and bus station, as well as to the market and main sights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Wish that I had stayed here the whole trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi worked well on my laptop but not on my phone. Sauna hours were a bit short. The lighting in the room could have been a little better.

    Room had a great design, cosy, modern, and clean. Comfy bed. Pretty quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant place to spend a week-end
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room made in Finnish modern traditions. Tasty breakfast. Atmosphere of real Finland. Strategically brilliant location of the hotel - in the city center!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.4
    not good not bad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast was endin at 9.30 during the weekdays!It was so eraly for me!'and during the breakfast there was always a rush from the staff!

    almost nothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels were a bit dirty. Apart from that, no problems.

    Excellent location - just a short walk from the railway station and shopping centre. Best value hotel I could find during my search. Nice staff. Good sized room/bathroom. Good choice of breakfast. Comfortable nights sleep here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    The location is perfect, room is big and the beds very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the room little bit strange, the breakfast is ok

    The location is perfect, room is big and the beds very comfortable. The stuff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    The bed was ridiculously comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would've been nice if they'd had more breakfast options for vegetarians.

    The bed was ridiculously comfortable! The facilities were very clean and the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location, good breakfast, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sauna is only open for two hours a day (for men; three hours for women) that are hard/impossible to make when you have business dinner obligations. These should be extended or at least alternated between days for men and women. Told the receptionist who said to forward to manager.

    Great location, good breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    4.2
    Old fashion hotel required renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashion hotel, furniture and all facilities are not modern and need to replace or repair. Sauna working hours are not suitable for family. There were very noisy guests and situation was not managed by hotel. There are no enough space at the reception area and at the breakfast.

    Hotel locates not far from railway station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Gluten free options at breakfast & good range of food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a facewasher & the hand lotion sachet wasn't replaced after the 1st day

    Gluten free options at breakfast & good range of food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    What a lovely surprise !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    The hotel is located in the centre of Helsinki, close to the Central railway station, shopping area, bars and restaurants, subway and tourism attractions. Perfect ! The trip was short but what a lovely surprise ! The city is simply welcoming you, he people are amazing, I have discovered a vibrant city with people enjoying life and a wonderful weather. Great location, great staff, so friendly, polite and helpful as I haven't seen in quite some time ! Everything was perfect ! I highly recommend this hotel and definitely I would come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    One of the best single rooms I've stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In contrast to the room itself, the bathroom was a bit cramped. No plug for the sink!

    The "standard single room" was one of the best I've stayed in. Well designed with plenty of space. Plus a proper lounge chair which meant I didn't have to sit on the bed to read. Friendly, welcoming staff. Breakfast was good but incredibly busy so difficult to find a space to sit sometimes. Good location within walking distance of the harbour & the train station. Good wi-fi signal. I had an early flight but coffee & sandwiches were made available before I left the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in the heart of Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were lumpy and flabby.

    Lovely and close to the centre. Friendly staff, efficient booking taxis, breakfasts good and we had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent as was the service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slippers were not included in the room price. Additional €3,5. Yet, I can understand the environmental reasons. :)

    The hotel is very well located, in the very heart of fabulous Helsinki, walking distance from any significant landmarks. Also very easy to get to from the airport, with a direct bus (615) that leaves you at the Central Railway Station. The room was very cozy, the breakfast was tasty and very diversified, the staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Most perfect location and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a little bit bruised up, but they were very clean and neat!

    Amazing location - the hotel is very close to the main train station, historical center and shopping street. Everything within a 2-minute walk, yet there is no noise from outside in the hotel itself. Good breakfast buffet - a great variety of foods, many places to seat and enjoy morning coffee. Services - sauna on the 9th floor is very good, women and men use it separately (women can go in from 4pm until 7pm, men - from 7pm until 9pm-ish) Staff - everyone was friendly and very eager to help. Right on the reception there is plenty of information about Helsinki and things to do.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the receptionist made me wait in line for a long time, when it was my turn.. finally. I asked her, where is the parking, she handed me a flyer with a map. why did I have to wait in line for her to hand me a flyer? couldn't she of just gave it to me without me having to wait for a family to check in?

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    Not sure why they get 4 stars. 3 tops. Poor value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like to complain a lot, it's very hard getting all aspects of hotel management correct but this was a very average experience. Breakfast was awful. Almost too many people for seats. And at least half the platters had no food on them. The whole place fairly run down, plumping problems in my bathroom and a faint sewage smell never far away.

    Not much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Comfy stay, busy breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is served on weekdays till 9.30am, and I went around 9am. There wasn't much food left, and the tables were full of dirty dishes. They were clearly very busy on that particular morning, but you would hope that they could manage the situation a little bit better. Some bonus points though for the fact that at check-in the staff had recommended avoiding the last breakfast hour and enjoying breakfast earlier, but this isn't always possible.

    Fantastic location. Friendly & helpful staff. Clean, quiet room & comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was too warm although the temperature outside was between 45-60...and we even opened the window.

    Great location and staff. We were jetlagged and the staff worked with us to take care of the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.0
    Unless you like rooms that are like living in a loud Japanese sauna, stay away.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms. First room was tiny, reminded me of beingin a cheap Japanese hotel. Heat in both rooms was set at 28 C and could not be tyrned off. Like being in a sauna, sweated all night. Windows in 2d room coul not be opened. Reception did not answer multiple calls we made to correct situation. Crowd of very loud drunks outside window on street partied until 4 AM. Staff ignored problem affecting many guests.

    location excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.4
    Room over-heated, windows would not open, reception did not...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room over-heated, windows would not open, reception did not answer repeated phone calls, high level of pedestrian noise, way over-priced for value. Never again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, close to many attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was very loud when we got there, with many men talking loudly and smoking. There are many Sokos hotels in the city, and that made the taxi driver confused.

    The location is very good. It was close to several attractions, restaurants, shops and to the harbor. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    4.2
    Room was dirty, there was puzzle of hair and dust on the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was dirty, there was puzzle of hair and dust on the floor, curtain had water drop stains and also tear marks. Fire alarm was covered but patches/pandages by previous customer that the cleaning stuff hadn't removed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.5
    Ok for a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna was not what you'd expect, especially in Finland.. My daughter's -couch turned to- bed was not comfortable.. One of the smallest bathrooms we have ever seen. The hotel needs urgent renovating..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Good location and convenient transport ion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities a little obsolete.

    The hotel in the city center and go to train station by walking 15 minutes.There are some tram line and subway and shopping malls nearby hotel.The staffs also friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    Comfort, but not the high quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater and the facilities are kind of old....but the room is clean, so that's fin. There is no a "Water boiler", not quite convenient. The breakfast is good!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.3
    Location was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bottle water were expensive. Wish sauna is available longer hours during the night, especially guests are only back to hotel after a long day of sightseeing.

    Location was superb! Sauna

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, cosy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was intermittent. Had to hold the phone on certain positions around the room to get reception. Not ideal

    As a solo traveller the bed and room was perfect. Small and cosy! And a lovely bath, with complimentary bubble bath, at the end of a long day walking around Helsinki. Location was spot on also. Right in the heart of the city and walking distance to everything. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet very good also with many different options available and fresh whole fruit which was great to chuck in the backpack for the day

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    Ordinary, good location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com booking did not show which took ages to sort out. Very ordinary hotel but location convenient, near rail station, shops and some 'sights'. On that basis would recommend if you only had a brief stay in Helsinki.

    Staff helpful and patient in sorting out a problem I had.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.5
    Quite OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms definetely need renovation. The restaurant is quite small and overcrowded during breakfast, no places to sit, should wait with the plate :(

    Location is good, but at nighttime quite a lot of noise from the street (from local communities).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    8.8
    Front counter service needs improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is really too soft . The spring mattress needs to be changed. / counter staff was a bit slow in attending to customers. They were just so focus on one customer at a time. If there are a few customers, they could have ask their request first n if it's just a toilet key, they can get it done right away.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK and plentiful but I would have enjoyed some jam or marmalade for the toast.

    Room a good size, staff friendly and helpful provided a plug missing from the wash basin as soon as we asked.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    location was excellent, bed was comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was little bit cold, air conditioner or ventilation was bit noisy

    location was excellent, bed was comfort. Free sauna for hotel quests on the 9th floor was a good boonus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    The wide choice of food at the breakfast buffet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel didn't have one-large-bed option for the standard double rooms, you have to get the slightly more expensive superior double room.

    The wide choice of food at the breakfast buffet. The location was super!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful breakfast and ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor points -- Staff was friendly but could have been a little more helpful; for instance, this was our first exposure to rooms needing the keycard in a slot for the lighting to work. Arriving jetlagged made that hard to figure out on our own, and the staff did not offer that tidbit; we had to call down when we could not figure out how to turn on the lights. They perhaps are understaffed at the front desk for the size of the hotel; waiting was common although, when available, they were very friendly. Hotel was pricey; I know Helsinki is expensive, and the location and breakfast made it worth staying there, but the rooms were nothing special, particularly for the price. Still, I would recommend, and would stay there agin.

    Major points -- Outstanding breakfast buffet, really fabulous. Terrific location on a charming pedestrian street between the train station and the Esplanade, and mere steps from a Metro stop. Walking distance to all the key sites, including the harborfront. Nice sauna on the top floor (although only one, with use times separated by gender). All in all, a very good choice.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: