Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Original Sokos Hotel Ilves Tampere 4 stars

Hatanpäänvaltatie 1, 33100 Tampere, Finland

#13 of 43 hotels in Tampere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 766 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a very short stay. However, the room was lovely and although I did not use any of the other facilities, I was very impressed with the staff who were friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only think that can be improved, its room cleaning service.

    Ilves Hotel is really nice, located at the heart of Tampere city, close to shoping street, the staff is very helpfull. Hotel contain all needed staff like restorants, pool, souna, 24 hour rception etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was something that caused so much headache in the hotel (super strong wifi??), that we could hardly use the room, and it was not nice to work with that condition (business trip). I have not experienced this kind of a problem before.

    Excellent service, comfortable beds and the location is beautiful and practical. Nice views from the window too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the state te hotel was in, dblack spots in the shower, a lot of damaged wooden parts. Reception looked very old. I thought te hotel was old which is ok but it was not well kept.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC was not working. I asked the front desk to have it fixed. Never happened. I was staying two nights in a very warm room. For a price more than 100€/night you can hope a working air conditon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were still cleaning my room when I have arrived, but otherwise no complaints.

    Bed was comfy, view from the room was exceptional, breakfast is included and was okay. Location is great, very close to the centre. The price of the room was a bit high, even higher than in Helsinki.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought for the price there'd be some complimentary things in the bathroom such as conditioner, cotton buds etc. There was generic shampoo and a couple of moisturisers, a bit disappointed for this kind of hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    (nothing)

    Nice hotel, perfectly located at the heart of Tampere. No need for a cab if arriving at the train station, just 5min walk (downhill). The room was big and cosy, had a great view on the city & river. Many restaurants in walking distance. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wake up middle of the night (2:30) because there was an announcement about unnecessary fire alarm. I could not sleep after that long time. When We started to drive back homeI was lucky that I did not fall asleep at the wheel.

    Sauna and gym was ok.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better signage in the pool area

    We had a fabulous stay, the view from our room was spectacular, the pool suite was lovely , breakfast was delicious and Amarillo was first class.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast area a little chaotic at peak times, perhaps a little overpriced

    City centre location in a pleasant spot by the river, superb views of the town from the room, nice breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room was messy with dirty dishes everywhere so not enough staff to clear up quickly enough

    Clean room. Good location. Good bed. NIce room and bathroom.Nice staff.Breakfast timings great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pools could have been open until 12 or so in the morning (they closed at 10am and we missed it).

    The large playroom and pools are great for the kids. The architectural detailing is amazing with custom made doors and lighting, superb1980's style.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water leaking in from room above. Water and plaster fell down and damaged clothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The renovation of the famous night club was lousy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the hotel was over priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size Old hotel

    Location Staff Quiet Parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • standard twin with extra bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    ?

    The room was available before the check-in time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small

    Professional hotel service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view to city

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, hairs on the floor No running treadmill in the VERY small fitness

    Good reception

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dålig parkering

    Sängen var skön att ha sex i.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, also good speed of the free WiFi!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room cleaning only by request and quality of cleaning poor.

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • standard twin with extra bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, quite good breakfast, clean room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • standard twin with extra bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good central location. Nice swimming pool. Great restautant (best steak since long time)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking- too far away in the shops parking garage

    The breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We requested a room on a higher floor well before coming there, however our room was on a low floor. The car noise bothered our sleep slightly. The fact that we should put a sign on the door that says "thank you for cleaning" to request cleaning was unintuitive, and there was nothing in the room that mentioned this. The water pressure in the room could have been higher.

    Very comfortable beds. Breakfast was superb. There is also a sauna and swimming pool. Bathroom in the room was good.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had stunning views over Tampere from my 10th floor room. Perfect location for design district, also just a short walk from train station. Very helpful staff. Breakfast gorgeous with plenty gluten / lactose free options. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Atthis time road construction works made it a little bit difficult to reach he hotel

    The great service at the reception desk. Also the mlocation close to the shopping street.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was rather limited and not what I would expect from Sokos hotel.

    Very good location, friendly enough staff. Nothing memorable or amazing, just a basic hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    my tablet wouldn't connect to the wifi. I had the same problem all week at the Kimmel in Joensuu, so it must be something to do with that network, as my wifi was fine everywhere else.

    The welcome message on the TV was a nice touch, as was the free water. The bed was very comfortable. The bath was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The worst car parking garage I can remember ever experiencing. Was designed by an idiot. Did not see one person that did not struggle to park where only a single space, most needing guidance by companion. Absolutely disgraceful design. Wifi needed to be signed back into each time returned to hotel, needs upgrading.

    Room layout is well thought out and plenty of useable space and smart storage. Beds were comfortable, rooms quiet and ensuite Ok. Breakfast standard fare and although crowded, flowed reasonably. Good city location.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed is horrible, be prepared for the backpain in the morning. Breakfast was ok, but other hotels in Tampere have a lot better. Wouldn't recommend.

    Hotel location is good.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some noise from the night club, not disturbing at the 5th floor where my room was, but can imagine that couple floors below it can get annoying

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite a busy hotel, heated parking is good but expensive at 20 Euros/day.

    Very good choice and quality of food both for dinner and breakfast. Nice gym and pool. Nice room and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast can be better , on Sunday afternoon gym ,pool and steambath were closed

    Position & Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great staff, pool breakfast whike family enjoyed our stay definitely recommend it

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No slippers

    The hotel is wonderful

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sauna+swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price is too high for the quality of the room and parking should be free for residents

    Good choice of restaurants

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room amenities.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very generous and varied breakfast, extremely clean sauna and poll, very comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Warm pool, great breakfast, the junior suite is excellent option for families with small children

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No French TV5 channel. A bit expensive, like everything in Finland...

    Good, modern hotel. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The location is excellent and the breakfast is one of the best I've had while traveling.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast offering was ok but I have seen better ones even in smaller hotels

    Good location and good facilities in the hotel

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Original Sokos Hotel Ilves Tampere traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: