Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti Helsinki 4 stars

Eteläinen Rautatiekatu 4, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00100 Helsinki, Finland

#99 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 950 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    All in all i enjoyed my stay and happy with the staff, please keep up the hospitality and the house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The colour green had me putt off and the carpet looked out dated in the corridors.The size of the room meant to be a suite but that did not much the value of the size if the room.

    It was close to all places i wanted to go and night clubs as well as all shopping malls. The train station and my place were i attended the concert.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The Hotel offered the opportunity of comfort and convenience to make my stay in Helsinki great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very convenient location to just about everything to see in Helsinki! If you get the bus or train to the central station, it is a 10 minute walk (max) to the hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient, and the breakfast was great! @letsgoseeitall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.5
    Nice Stay Near the Helsinki Central Train Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, spacious and new rooms. Decent selection at the buffet breakfast. Good extras in the room like a refrigerator, kettle and blow dryer. Friendly staff. The location is nice to be close to the central train station, but a bit of a walk to get to the central park and Helsinki Cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable, nice, clean and very good located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like everything

    The hotel is an amazing property, clean, with very confortable and clean room and very kind staff in reception. And the Location is perfect we didn’t need public transport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the breakfast ran out close to the end of the serving (e.g. oatmeal). Not a major issue and another reason to have a bit earlier breakfast :)

    Location is pretty much perfect. Right in the center of Helsinki. There are plenty of shops and restaurants around. Also close to the central railway station with good transportation around Finland. The room had some renovation done and it looked great. We loved the room. A bit too soft bed and pillows, but that's more a matter of taste. Breakfast was good with all the basics in the selection. Breakfast room was large enough so that you'll have a table even during rush hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Love the service, location and cleanliness of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower area. Water tend to flow over to the toilet area. Making the whole toilet very wet after a shower. No Wifi signal especially for Android phones in all the rooms. Stayed in level 6,5,4.

    Location. Right next to the main bus terminal & metro. Tram station to the ferry terminal close by too. Walking distance to all main shopping areas. Excellent service from the staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    2 nights stay, no problem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You may walk a very long way from the elevator to your room. Spot lights in the room are not calming. No sleepers in the room. The lid on the bathroom ceiling was left open (hanging down, almost hitting my head all the time), and was still open at the 2nd day of my stay.

    Personnel was very helpful. Good room: practical and useful decoration. Good breakfast. Spacious lobby. Several places all around as it is at the very center of Helsinki. 5-10 min waking distance from the train station (if you manage not to freeze :)) I can definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Wi-Fi signal almost non-existent in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi signal almost non-existent in the room. But is in full strenth if you step out of the room's door into the hall. As for the rest, everything was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.8
    Mediocre hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was ok, but the hotel was under construction and dust was everywhere, the breakfast was mediocre and the room was cold without any chance for waremer air.

    It was ok, but the hotel was under construction and dust was everywhere, the breakfast was mediocre and the room was cold without any chance for waremer air.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    3.8
    Not freindly staff and hotel and not good for value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a very long wait 20minutes wait till I could check into the hotel. slow staff. Breakfast buffet poor when compared to other hotels in Helsinki. Room was smaller than it should have been. Very small bathroom, after shower all bathroom was wet not enough space. Horrible purple color as soon as you enter the room my god !. I was informed that I cannot collect Finnair points at this hotel as I had booked the rom thru' booking.com, other hotels give the points even when booked thru' booking.com. Hope this can be answered. I will think twice before I book this hotel again as I travel often

    nothing was good at this stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Recently renovated rooms with different themes, very good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was given was located directly above a bar. Considering this was a week night stay, I doubt that the hotel was fully booked. The live music night went on until about 00.30...not so cool when you are travelling on business. Unfortunately I realised this way too late, e.g. when already in bed and did not want to get dressed and go down to the lobby to ask for another room.

    Recently renovated rooms with different themes, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Well located, renovated room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good

    Excellent location, close to many attractions and also to the excellent tram service. Extensive breakfast buffet. Very good on-site restaurant. Room delightful, bright, fully renovated and lovely design features

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location, terrible check-in process
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in process was just terrible. I was about to process my check-in when a lady representing a huge group came to ask for information. Behind me was already a big line. The staff member who was attending me asked me to wait for a moment while checking the groups details. I’ve waited for almost 30 minutes while at the desk watching her checking everything until I asked if I should just change lines and she said yes because it would take a while. Altogether the check-in process took me almost 1 hour! When dealing with huge groups there should be a special desk line to attend them and that’s where the lady at the desk should have redirected them instead of allowing them to cut the line.

    Good breakfast, perfect location, huge room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room designs, great location, clean and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be more diverse in terms of vegetables and WiFi could be better (several times interrupted).

    Loved the room design - summer flowers (you can chose among different designs). Staff was very friendly and replied fast at my requests. Great food from the bistro/room service. Very good location - walking distance to market square, national museum, railway station for the airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is always a safe choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was quite full and the waiting time at the reception felt long.

    After my previous visit, the rooms had changed remarkably. I loved the new decorations! The rooms were very beautiful and cozy. Also the bathrooms were renovated, which was good. We all agreed that this hotel is always a safe choice: clean and quiet with excellent location. The breakfast buffet is also diverse.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    The location is excellent, the city has something to see,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is not delicious, there is a lot of unnatural food, juices are clean water, the staff forgot to put towels, paper, forgot how much to put, the sauna is small, the pool too, the constant noise from the doors from all apartments. Helsinki itself is a gray, cloudy city, with a lot of drunken people, Arabs, Muslims, a lot of Japanese, Chinese, gay, the city does not leave the best impression. Although clean and beautiful.

    The location is excellent, the city has something to see, but a maximum of 2 days. rooms were clean, the reception is open 24 hours

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Everything was great, except for the cleaning - convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    badly washed sheets with some stains, no towels in the room (had to call the reception), dirty bathroom floor

    Everything was great, except for the cleaning - convenient parking, location, breakfast, sauna and pool. Would totally recommend the hotel. Hope the cleaning services can be improved.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    Very good localization and quite tasty breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of room facilities is very low. Very bad air condition, there is no possibility to open the window. Bathroom looks like in 2 stars hotel.

    Very good localization and quite tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Quiet room despite being located in the centre (which is an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel rooms need some restoration and cleanliness was not top level but otherwise it is fine.

    Quiet room despite being located in the centre (which is an advantage - you can reach it on foot from the railway station and go shopping at Kamppi). A very good (large choice) breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel was undergoing renovation so some facilities were a bit hit and miss. Provision of in room tea/coffee facilities as a matter of course would have been appreciated.

    The location to public transport and central Helsinki was excellent. The breakfast buffet eas very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you take shower, water may be all around bathroom

    Location is great, right next to Kampi station, staff is very helpful and polite. Stayed in one of the renovated rooms, very good impression, stylish design, very comfortable bed. The hotel is under renovation, but I didn't have any inconveniences because of it. I needed to leave before breakfast, so I was offered sandwich and coffe to go, it was really nice. Great stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.5
    It was comfortable, or price was reasonable, room was excellent, staff were excellentt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything - loved my stay except that drilling during the renovations but then, I understand your workers need to make some noise!

    The bed was beautiful. Loved the extra facilities, eg the gym, sauna, and swimming pool. The receptionists were just beautiful and professional even under pressure from all us guests. And huge shout out to your room cleaners who, whatever you pay them, are always polite, extremely hard workers, beyond the call of duty just like your receptionists.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    3 days in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel restaurant was only open from 6pm and while appeared to be reasonably priced the menu was limited with no alternatives to choose from. I guess if you don't eat seafood do not come to Helsinki as they seem to serve salmon 100 different ways

    The location was very central and that is why we selected this hotel. The buffet breakfasts were excellent in the quality and choice available. Our room on 7th floor was very quiet and had a pleasant outlook.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.8
    the room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    we just stayed there for one night to relax and rest but unfortunately in the morning due to construction work there was so irritating noise that caused headache for us and we could not relax and on other hand room was so cold and we could not make it warm. nobody informed us about this noise and problem in hotel when we reserved this room.

    the room was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located just 5 minutes from the Central railway station. The room design is very interesting. The service is excellent, the staff is super friendly. And the sauna was a blast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Close to the railway station and the Kamppi Mall and metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to the railway station and the Kamppi Mall and metro station. The breakfast was really good, and there are a pool and a sauna in the hotel. It was a surprise that there was an iron in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice to stay here but a bit expencive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains are not sun blocking and in northern country this is problem if you want sleep properly

    The hotel is under renovation but i got the luck and the pleasure to be in a new designed room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    Polite staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one lift working at one time due to refurbishment. Took 10 minutes for a lift. Stairs shut off from lobby but toilets on second floor. No kettle in room. View over the bins. No croissants.

    Polite staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.7
    Very nice staff, but poor accomodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very hard, and it felt like there where an inlaid bed-wetter linen on the madras. The room was old and worn-out, with broken bathtub. The wire-less network wasn't able to give a stable network connection for work, and you didn't have a wired connection to use instead.

    Very smiling and helpful serviceminded staff all around. Good well-cooked a'la carte dinner.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.5
    Good locations with restaurants, train station within...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small bathroom and high bath to step into for a shower. But they are renovating the rooms, so this will probably change in the near future.

    Good locations with restaurants, train station within walking distance. Despite the renovations works, no major disturbances or noise.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.2
    Great location, excellent basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very pork-centric and the eggs appeared to be blended liquid eggs. The decor is dated.

    The location is excellent, right near long distance bus and rail stations. The staff were immensely friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    4.6
    Not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not so good, rooms are small, dark and dirty. It was rather cold in the room and bathroom is stinky.

    Staff was really friendly and helpful, breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    4.6
    Can not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel really needs improvements, it is so old, uncomfortable in every thing. We were 3 adults, 2 beds and 1 sofa which was very uncomfortable. No coffee machine in the room, which you find almost in every modest hostels. Bathroom was terrible. There was a bath, where you should climb, lift your feet, and be very careful not to fall. The edge of the bath was sharp, really scary. The shower water stayed on the bathroom floor, I had to clean and dry the floor every time after taking shower. So 3 times every morning and evening. Windows of the room are thin, you can hear noise from streets, all thou windows were closed (we stayed at 5th floor) I can not recommend this hotel to anyone,so sorry, but honest opinion.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    the sauna was excellent in the suite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sauna was excellent in the suite! Also the triple room was comfortable, even the narrowest bed but as we all know, the location is the biggest plus for this hotel! We will come again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.1
    Gr eat location - a short walk from the main train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very tired looking. It was on the process of a well needed refit when we stayed, so the hotel were making a few improvations. We didn't get the room we booked and breakfast was very busy. I epect that in a few months (end 2017) then this hotel will be greatly improved, but for now it's ok rather than excellent.

    Gr eat location - a short walk from the main train station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    When in Helsinki stah at Sokos Presidente
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    Third bed in room was only a couch. Too small for an adult.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Changing of the Linen and sheets
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Changing of the Linen and sheets

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    I was on a business trip to Espoo and the stay was good and the trip went well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Courteous, efficient staff. Helped with planning my stay and travel to and from Helsinki.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower had no proper partition so the whole bathroom becomes wet.

    Location & staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd opening times for pool and sauna

    Big, spacious. Nice room. Friendly staff. Central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Vegan options are available at breakfast, you just need to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Vegan options are available at breakfast, you just need to ask for them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Bed extra comfy and dinner delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so easy to get it cooler in the room. We were a bit too warm

    Bed extra comfy and dinner delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Location and elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late in check in

    Location and elevator

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in the heart of Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely the best hotel experience ever in Finland: modern and quiet room, nice staff; great location, very giorno breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.6
    Competent staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricy, not clean, no value for money, breakfast room was very dirty.

    Competent staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Location in the city center, short walk to the bus station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location in the city center, short walk to the bus station and the train station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    There was not internet signal in my room, i complained a...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night

    no internet connection

    There was not internet signal in my room, i complained a lot, but no help from the desk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Ok location, nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To much paperwork to check in, even though the rooms was booked in beforehand with credit card. Food (lunch and dinner menu) to special..

    Rooms ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Hotel staff was really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff was really friendly. They remembered my husbands birthday. Even the birthday card was hand made.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Food was not the best for 4 stars hotel standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin by Ivana Helsinki
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not the best for 4 stars hotel standard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.6
    Disapointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too old and the bathroom was in really bad conditions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and facilities including buffet breakfast were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place in the super center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is bit cold but the bathroom is quite warm.

    The location is superb. The breakfast is very nice and refreshing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Very confortable and clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Bad timing...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation is underway in the reception area and half of lifts also didn't work

    Location is good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Breakfasts were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    6.7
    70's room was not yet renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    70's room was not yet renovated. My colleague got a renovated one, which was much better.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.3
    Dated but good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refurbishment made reception area very noisy.

    Excellent reception staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.1
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in room was not reliable

    great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff, easy to find, own garage under the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Garage was little bit small, for a big car the spaces are small. A bit out dated interior of rooms.

    Friendly staff, easy to find, own garage under the hotel, great location

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    4.6
    Only location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad food at breakfast buffet, worn rooms, Room was smaller than it should have been. Terrible bathroom, not enough space under the shower, all the water went on the floor, cause the shower-room wasn't placed correctly!

    Only location!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.6
    Very helpful staff who arranged late check out for me when I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very helpful staff who arranged late check out for me when I had to change travel plans due to illness also sorted discounted (and very comfortable!) taxi to airport. Location is perfect, close to station, and airport bus stop. Generous breakfast & excellent value for Scandinavia. Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    7.5
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Also not able to adjust the room temperature.

    Central location. Very spacious hotel - enormous breakfast room with a variety of food options.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.6
    Location (very close to the Central Railway Station), food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    radiators didn't work in the room (in general it was warm inside and we actually didn't need them)

    Location (very close to the Central Railway Station), food (buffet for breakfast), politeness of the reception staff (provided relevant information about the main sights in Helsinki and the way to get there and also bus schedule from Helsinki to Porvoo), good Wi-fi in the room

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    9.2
    The location is great and the hotel is really really nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There's no slippers and no hot water, no tooth brushes and toothpaste. The heater in my room kept making noises that awoke me up at 6o'clock. That was really bad.

    The location is great and the hotel is really really nice and beautiful. The staff provided a good service.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.8
    Ideally situated in the centre of town, less than five...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms would have been nice.

    Ideally situated in the centre of town, less than five minutes walk to the railway station and airport bus stop. Very clean and warm, helpful staff all fluent in English,

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    7.9
    Fabulous central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poorly handled fire alarm exercise at 2am ( thankfully turned out to be a false alarm )

    Fabulous central location. Magnificent breakfast buffet. Splendid sauna and swimming pool facility.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    7.5
    Well positioned with restaurants, bar, night clu and sauna...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although perfectly clean the style is rather dated with bathrooms in particular in need of modernisation.

    Well positioned with restaurants, bar, night clu and sauna on the premises. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The drinks in the bar were extremely expensive €14 for a Malibu and Coke, €8 for a pint of local lager. I think this is typical of Finland as a whole but it was still too pricey. The breakfast was not good at all.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel was really clean, comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    4.2
    Centrally Located
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Staff were not friendly..poor maintenance...old building. Choice of breakfast food were limited compare to other hotels of the same price range.

    Centrally Located

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    6.7
    Much closer to the city centre than I thought.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room service menu has so few options it's hardly worth bothering, then there's a 12 Euro service charge on top. Bathroom could do with a good deep clean - the facilities are so old I think it's hard for the room cleaners to produce a high standard in their work. The hotel is so huge, the breakfast room feels like a school canteen, so many people packed in together. It's not really worth the money you pay - go to Scandic instead - the breakfast is way better there and it's a much more serene experience.

    Much closer to the city centre than I thought. It's quite an experience as it's such a quaint and outdated hotel, you feel like you're in a timewarp back to the 1970's. Quiet rooms.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    My booking, check-in and departure all went smoothly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My booking, check-in and departure all went smoothly. I was able to manage my visit with complete flexibility and get over travel between time zones. I found it easy to explore Helsinki from the Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    5.4
    staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms were bad. The tub was literally dangerous to get in and out. It was ridiculously narrow and bevelled at the sides to stand under the shower.

    staff helpful. Location convenient

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.3
    Close to the downtown area (easy walking distance).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although the breakfast was good, it becomes "boring" after day 4/5 with everything the same as the previous days. Tourist hotel and breakfast could be over-crowded if you went for BF between 8:00 and 9:00.

    Close to the downtown area (easy walking distance). Quiet rooms. Close to the Helsinki central train station. Very good free WiFi.

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: