Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hämeenlinna 4 stars

Possentie 7, 13200 Hämeenlinna, Finland

#1 of 4 hotels in Hämeenlinna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor air conditioning (room was sweltering despite mild outside temperature) and very noisy. Elevator was several rooms away but was so loud we could hear it all night long. Entrance to hotel from parking lot was via garbage alley. Overpriced for room size and lack of comfort.

    Property was very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People should know about prices, especially alcohol. Bring your own wine--otherwise you pat 22 euros for a 3 euro bottle of wine. (In shops that 3 euro bottle wuill only be 9 or 10 euros.)

    There are no restaurants nearby, so after a good walk to the center of town and back, we had dinner at the hotel. It was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovation and building sites around the hotel made the location not all that picturesque. Restaurant was pretty slow in getting the food to the table, despite there being only a handful of customers. The restaurant space could have been a bit more cosy and the food - while ok - was forgettable. The food was not worth the price, not unpleasant but I feel it would have been a better deal to go to the town for dinner - some nice options within a few hundred metres.

    This was an "All right" stay, nothing fancy but everything functioned. The location next to the lake is fine. Breakfast was quite pleasant, though - again, nothing out of the ordinary but nice and clean... Very dog-friendly and a good location to stay with pooches since there are good urban green walks right from the doorstep!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you don't want to drive you have to eat in the hotel. The restaurant is ok but the staff are very slow and often you have to approach them to place an order. This has happened to me on a previous visit.

    Good location within walking distance of the station but someway from the town centre.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information in English about the towns interesting history

    Very close to the Railway Station with a lovely view of the lake' and a short walk across the bridge to the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Near to railway station overlooking lakes. snack and beverage provided whole day. walking distance to town center and tourist spots.Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food on May 1st...!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls, no mini bar, no chair (just two stools), no hair conditioner,

    Very clean. Nice location by the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy and friendly staff, great breakfast :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was in rennovation. Parking was extra cost. Beds were not comfortable (the extra bed in particular)

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very small and No tv

    In a very convenient place not to far from city centre, had a kitchen with stove top and fridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing big.

    Special surprise for the dog.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location by the lake, spacious room, great breakfast, value for money. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there could be a furniture beside the bed

    It was comfortable, nice, we felt good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Building work in progress, therefore very limited restaurant facility and no bar. Breakfast room was untidy and tables were not being cleared, so people had to sit on tables with dirty plates etc left there.

    Convenient location for town.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wi fi only worked in the reception area, even though the advertising said that it was available in every room.

    the staff were really great; the sauna was terrific - one of the best I had. The situation by the lake is absolutely lovely, and the station is .2 km away, so I didn't need a taxi!

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were surprised that the hotel doesn't offer a mini fridge in their standard rooms anymore. Since we were travelling with a baby, we found it an inconvenience. We got a standard twin bed room, although we had put in our reservation that we preferred a double (queen) bed. There is no AC in standard rooms. Our room didn't receive proper cleaning during the three days we stayed there. No clean sheets (not even after we had accidentally gotten some baby food on them) and no clean drinking glasses even if both of them had clearly been used and needed replacing. The room was quite dusty as well, so no dusting had been done in a while either. The hotel has a large parking lot, but the cost is 11 EUR/day, even to the guests, and you always have to pay that whole day fee to be able to have your car there (since the parking has a fee 24/7). The 50 % off parking deal was available to certain Finnish S-Card owners only (same national chain as the hotel), which meant that only very few are able to make use of that deal. That was propably why the parking was almost empty all the time. The hotel seems to be under some renovations still, and the hotel's restaurant was not in use because of this. Our assumption was that the breakfast had temporarily been moved to a somewhat ill-equipped conference hall, or maybe that area was to be renovated as well. There were no signs that informed about the renovation, so we assume that this hotel normally doesn't have gaping holes in the walls with a view to the pipes, as we saw in our floor close to the elevators. All in all the hotel seems pricy, with all things considered and as it stands now, I would not call it a four star hotel, but a three star hotel with basic rooms and necessities.

    The service was good and the personnel were helpful and considerate (we appreciated the surprise Christmas gifts). The continental breakfast had good variety, and the Christmas food was a nice touch. Wifi was good.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning in the room.

    We were at the hotel quite early, but our room was already ready, which was nice. Nice staff. Quiet room, no complaints there. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are grey and not very cosy to my taste; price is high, which is usual in Finland.

    Good location on the lake, nice personnel, tasty breakfast with good variety

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was overpriced for what it is - it's a nice place, but quite dated in the main areas (the rooms are more modernised). In addition to the cost of the room, the parking was expensive also. It is worth noting however that this is the case across Finland, not specific to this hotel. Not entirely sure if slippers/robe/tea/coffee were included in the cost of the room or not, or if we would have been charged extra for using these items (we didn't use them).

    Good location. Friendly staff, particularly in the restaurant. Wifi worked well. Rooms comfortable, clean and well maintained. Climate control. Nice bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel was near center

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Close proximity to the train station

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    High price. Not possibility to change temperature in room or to change blanket on thin one, because was too warm for me.

    Location. Satff. Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, close to center and the walk around the lake

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room on the back side, not so good view

    Good location, nice area

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was really good. Near from the station, cruise bay, and beautiful scenery. Hotel stuffs were kind. Rental cycle was available.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: