Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beachcomber Island Resort 3 stars

Vuda Road, Mamanuca Islands, 000 Beachcomber Island, Fiji

#1 of 1 hotels in Beachcomber Island

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 235 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Luxury, paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little hard but nothing you can complain about when it’s so cheap and being where you are!

    This place is the most beautiful place I’ve seen and even if you are in dorm it’s comfy and clean amazing place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    The location was good and there was plenty to do on and off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room they showed us to was horrendous- we booked a double room but it was tiny and the cubicle we had for a bathroom had no privacy- the bathroom next to us could see right into the shower and toilet! We complained and thankfully they upgraded us to a lovely beachfront bure which was much better and cleaner too. Now onto the food- Food was very bland and often stale- very expensive for what it is as it is basically the same thing every day- sausage, salad, veg and some type of meat and fish which tastes pretty rough (about $750 over 4 days on top of accommodation!) water isn't even included in this at lunch or dinner so expect to spend another $300-500) between 2 people if you want to have any alcohol beverages and anything except from tap water to drink as drinks are extortionate in price ($9 for a fiji bitter which was one of the cheapest drinks) We booked water sports two days in a row - both days it was cancelled on us without reason and the staff just laughed and didn't apologise which was a huge shame. The kayaking is also not included even though it says non-motorised sports are meant to be complimentary on the leaflet they showed us and shrugged when I pointed it out! This place is a good place for a backpacker vibe if you want to rough it but for the price it is very expensive - you would be better going to serenity island which turns out so much cheaper and the food is incredible and the place is much cleaner.

    The location was good and there was plenty to do on and off the island

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful place, nice people, great price...would love to have it staying the same, just greener
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The island is powered by a noisy and smelly fuel generator - renewable energies facilities would be much more appropriate, and necessary for the quietness of occupants. There could be more green and organic in the catering service and resort operation.

    The location is great - this island is just magic. The staff is friendly and welcoming, and propose lots of activities for people to share and meet. The bures are simple but everything is in. Food is simple but good - everybody share the same meals at the same time, this is great for conviviality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Within an hour of Denerau and more touristy and suited more to younger and party goers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beach coral remnants made it quite difficult to enter the water, though water was clean and clear

    Food was buffet style and part of the package. Our Bure was huge with nice outlook to sea and close to beach Several happy hours during the day. Island very popular with day visitors and can get a bit crowded at meal times

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    2.5
    The worst experience ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the worst experience ever. Girls take care if you going there, the guys are really rude, especially at the bar. I had a problem my first night there, to resume you, a guy from the bar attack me, he hold my arms trying to take my glass (because I put my own gin there) I almost fell off, he was really rude, he shouted me , finally he took my glass and throw it on the sand. I complete understand now that I shouldn’t drink there but I didn’t know that before and he didn’t explain me as well. (Considering that my English is not my first language and it isn’t good). I felt really bad he made my holiday a disaster and really I thought he was going to hit me. Anyway girls take care there. Staff unfriendly, some people that work at the buffet or cleaning are okay. The buffet is not good. Plus it’s far away to be “the party island”. I spent my Saturday night and it was empty and boring. Everything expensive as well(bottle of water 10 Fiji dollars). The violence is never good guys :)

    The beach only.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    The water was beautiful and have a good great area for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything costs extra such as beach towels and recliners. The laundry service was charged per item. The food was rather bland.

    The water was beautiful and have a good great area for swimming. The rooms are cleaned everyday so it doesn't get too much sand. The snorkelling activity was quite great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Great, social place to start your island hopping trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst I was there I thought the food was pretty good but in comparison to the resorts on the other Yasawa Islands (like Barefoot Manta, Barefoot Kuata) it definitely wasn't as good even though it's the same price. Drinks were also slightly more expensive than the other isalnds.

    Great starting point for my trip around the Yasawa Islands. Hostel rooms and bathrooms were good and they have warm showers which is a luxury in Fiji! Party vibe very much depends on the crowd. The first night it was super quiet but the next night we were dancing on the tables and up til 3am, and apparently it was the same the night after that. Either way it was a really good place to meet people and the free snorkelling trip was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful island, would return in a heart beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Set meal times (an hour each ) could be a little bit annoying. Wifi not very good but to be expected for the location.

    Beautiful location - you can't much closer to being on the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful especially for arranging onward journeys. Evening entertaining was really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Bure’s were great not modernised or commercialised like a...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of non motorised water activities cost money to use should be free to encourage active healthy lifestyles.

    Bure’s were great not modernised or commercialised like a lot of others, staff friendly and very helpful if requiring something

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Great place to chill out and get away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow - Water Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Food was good and you can have as much as you want, staff very friendly. Very chilled out. We’re 28 and didn’t feel old or out of place, there were families there too, but it wasn’t busy. Lots of stuff to do, amazing snorkelling around the island, great weather, great cocktails

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Food is poor for the amount you pay , I have stayed at other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is poor for the amount you pay , I have stayed at other resorts in Fiji for the same price and received much better quality food. The island is too small to enjoy a two night stay as there is little to do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    Skip It...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food here was actually the worst. Way over priced to eat the SAME POTATOES AT EVERY MEAL. Meals consisted of carbs and leftovers recycled at every meal. If i wasn’t paying $100FJD a DAY for food i would’ve starved myself. Very empty when it claims to be a party island VERY disappointed... just skip this island and go elsewhere.

    island itself is nice. good beach. nice for 1 day. Great dance show.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    Tired, boring and old resort with bad food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was usually pretty awful...sometimes inedible. Maybe its OK to serve poor food to daytrippers who will never be back. This is NO LONGER A PARTY ISLAND...maybe 15 to 20 years ago it was. Now it is pretty rundown and the word is out that there are MANY BETTER places to stay. Not many backpackers staying so no vibe. Too many day trippers crowding out the restaurant.

    The island was small and nice enough. Free wifi around Reception area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    There was plenty of food, as well as morning and afternoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I begin? The food was truly AWFUL. It ranged from ok to disgusting and inedible. The diesel generator was loud and close to my room. The bar was completely EMPTY most nights. It IS NOT A PARTY ISLAND!!! Its crowded with day trippers at lunch so there is a big queue to get the boring food. Bad value for money. DO NOT STAY HERE there are so many better resorts. OCTOPUS RESORT was a million times better.

    There was plenty of food, as well as morning and afternoon tea( although it was extremely poor quality). The island is small and the sunsets on the Western side were nice. My room was comfortable with nice wooden features and a small serviceable bathroom ( missing any hot water most of the time).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Friendly, fun, long happy hours and good food. Oh and your on an island paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dorms were separated into female and male - not good for couples!

    Friendly staff helped us upgrade to a double room and couldn't have helped us out more!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    To be fair I could have informed myself a bit better before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be fair I could have informed myself a bit better before booking. What booking.com is informing you about is the 99 fjd you have to pay in addition. Thats for food including breakfast, lunch and dinner. They're always serving buffet and it always was enough but never tasty. At accommodations I stayed at later I spend half the money a day, always ordering really tasty a la carte options. So they're completely overcharging you for food you have to take and which isn't even nice. There is no cheap way to get to the island, you're paying at least 110fjd one way- would be quite fair to mention that. If you're travelling on a bula pass, there are better places to go to. Not really much to see at beachcomber and the activities are quite expensive. All in all i wouldn't really recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Not cheap but great night on a small island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed 1 night at the Resort and came to the following conclusions: -the ferry to get there is pretty expensive (110 FJD one way per person) -accommodation is not cheap for what you get -you pay 99 FJD per person for food. Food comes in buffet style at fixed times (breakfast 8-9am, lunch 1-2pm, dinner 7-8pm) and is not the best that you have ever eaten, but fair for 99 FJD... (drinks are not included) --> if you add up everything, it does get pretty expensive for one night -I think we were 'lucky' that it rained in the evening as it cooled things down a bit. I can imagine that the rooms can be very warm (no A/C, only fan)

    -the staff is friendly, and plays music/sings when you arrive/leave. The night we were there, there was a nice dance performance -Not too often you can stay on an island where you can walk around the entire island in ~10 mins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Close to Nadi and a good start for the Island hopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the food was okay but not really good It is an old resort and you see and feel it. They could renovate it With the current food and condition it is absolutely overprized, even for Fiji

    Close to Nadi and a good start for the Island hopping Friendly staff It is nice to be on such a small island

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Island was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn’t as good as other islands and there were fewer options.

    Island was lovely. Free WiFi at the bar was handy. Washrooms probably need updating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    A little piece of paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is pretty basic, and limited especially if you’re a vegetarian!

    Staff are so lovely at Beachcomber! My partner was unwell and they did all they could to ensure he recovered quickly! They moved us to an air conditioned room and regularly checked on him! Everyone is so helpful and friendly. The beach is gorgeous and there’s a relaxed atmosphere by day and more upbeat of an evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    The island is very small so it’s nice to experience that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dorm had around 100 beds and no aircon so was hot at night. Food was average, served to you so portions were small.

    The island is very small so it’s nice to experience that. Snorkelling was lovely, activities provided during the day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful desert island
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food isn't the best and is in a buffet style for all three meals of the day. There is a menu for you to order independently, the Fijian style food tends to be much nicer.

    Staff were amazing and so friendly, is the kind of place where people remember your name. The staff sing at various times of the day, which is amazing, if you happen to have your birthday there, then you're in for a treat! Accommodation is basic as expected for a Fijian island, but clean and comfortable. The island was pretty quiet at night, but you can party on if you like as the bar is open til 2am. There are plenty of activities and trips to go on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Be on a small island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very bad at front desk ! No smile , No efficient , looks dumb... you don’t want to give them your money ... Room are very old , in wood , like rabbit cages ! Food is disgusting , you seem to be in school cantine ! Forget this and just go to this island for a cruise by day but do not stay there !

    Be on a small island

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Really nice small island but no where near worth the amount they are charging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The horrible and overpriced meal plan. We payed basically $100 a day each for a cheap buffet for breakfast lunch and dinner! Felt like being in school again.. having to queue up for ages to get a really disappointing and cheap meal. If your vegan or veggie there is slim pickings for you unfortunately. The staff at reception were really impatient with some other guests as well, and weren't as nice and enthusiastic as the other resorts.

    The bedroom was big, clean and right on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful island but a party island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Party island so not very peaceful and we felt old at 30!

    Beautiful island, professional and helpful staff who worked hard and were very friendly. The food was also very good and good value as part of the compulsory meal plan. We also liked that the resort served afternoon tea and cake. We had a simple private room (one up from dorm) - the room was basic but was fine for us (just as long as you aren't expecting luxury). We'd recommend visiting but bearing in mind that it is a backpacker island and during our stay music played until midnight

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed there one night to transit to another resort. The food is really average but will do for budget travelers. The room has basic features and is really hot at night. I had the seaview bure.

    It was affordable and it was a festive resort. I guess it is the perfect resort is really for young backpackers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful island
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is not worth 100$/day, me as a vegetarian didnt have many options, I could always have side dishes, there are always three different kinds of meat but no vegetarian option. Most of the cocktails I had weren’t of good quality.

    The island is beautiful and well mantained, you can walk around in a quite short time, the pool right at the beach is nice. The snorkeling equipment is cleaned after every use and snorkeling by boat is offered for free, a spa is available and there is a new program everyday, day trips are offered. There are three different ferries back to the mainland (morning, midday, afternoon), some are of extra charge. I had a really nice bed in a dorm which was located in a house at the beach and really liked it, there was a hammock right in between my dorm and the beach to hang out, it’s not windy at the beach and the sand and water are beautiful! The staff is really friendly, there is a little shop as well. Beach bags and sunbeds can be rented, with an extra fee you can pay by credit card.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally overpriced, if you want to see Mamanuca Islands choose a different resort/island, Beachcomber is a nice island itself with a beautiful beach but the quality of facilities and food especially is low. Food is more like in a cheap hostel rather than in a resort which you could expect from the price. Total waste of money

    Friendly staff; good customer service;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Beach and the island is very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow - Water Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main reception lady was not very friendly as compared to other staff which were awesome. The bedsheet had stains and double bed in our room was joint by two uneven single bed that was not comfortable. The island or resort was quite due to few tourists so no parties as we were expecting from place known as party island.

    Beach and the island is very beautiful. Staff is amazing (except the receptionist). You can swim with fish literally on the beach as they come so close to shore in big numbers. There are plenty of activities you can do to spend time. Kayay, snorkeling, diving, parasailing, fish feeding, coral viewing, etc. and some of it is free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were most expensive out of the islands that I visited. It’s described as ‘party island’ but it is very tame. Food was a bit canteeny style but was ok.

    Nice to get to experience such a small island, I stayed in a 10 bed dorm which was very clean as well as the bathroom. The beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Surreal and beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 4 bedroom dorm wasn't very clean, we weren't sure if the bathroom had even been cleaned as someone's hair was all over the shower - eww! Never mind, washed it away and carried on.

    What a beautiful place to stay, a tiny little island that you catch 2 boats to get to - so remote and picturesque! Great staff, lovely food and lots of fun activities like volleyball, snorkelling trips and great entertainment in the evenings! We saw lots of Fiji dancing, fire dances, limbo competitions and much more! The Fijian people are the most welcoming and wonderful people you will meet! If you're looking for white sandy beaches, crystal clear warm water and some "Fiji Time!" .. Then go to Beachcomber!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    2.5
    I haven’t been there because of the cyclone, I booked just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I haven’t been there because of the cyclone, I booked just one night in this island, and they took my money from my account TWICE, for nothing because I couldn’t go there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Food buffet was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a mouse under my bed :(

    Food buffet was great. Staff was SO welcoming. We were there during a bad cyclone and still had a blast. Clean bathrooms and beds (mostly), and good bar. Good spot for meeting other travelers. It wasn't very busy though when we were there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    It was a good combination of fun, friendly and relaxing wound all into one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was smaller than the picture and could do with more power points. I found the bathroom and toilet proximity too close for a long stay but was fine for a couple of days.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It was quiet because it was far enough away from the beach to get a good night sleep. The location is amazing especially for the snorkeling and value for money is good. I enjoyed the alfresco buffet style food and atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place to discover for one day/night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mosquito nets in the dorm.

    Picture perfect mini island which can be discovered in less than 10 minutes. Great staff, good food, white beach and free wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.3
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow - Water Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish food, cold upon delivery...drinks watered down, rooms should have been renovated 25 yrs ago, beach dirty, water pressure non existent, food horrible quality and flavour..always a lack of equal food for everyone, I expected bottom level accommodation but this was far below that

    Snorkelling off the beach good but current can be strong

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Lovely location with a 360 degree beach surrounding the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely the 'party island', plastic crockery, dorms with hundreds of beds, no charging points because 'things get stolen when they are left in the dorms' (quote by the lady on reception), cold buffet style food that is served by staff providing minuscule portions

    Lovely location with a 360 degree beach surrounding the island. Fun evening entertainment (karaoke), nice afternoon/morning tea

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Lovely spot but hated the compulsory meal plan which made my partner sick!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow - Water Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The compulsory meal plan and the times meals were served. Need to offer other food options in between the meal times. Food not great and made my partner sick. Compulsory meal plan was very overpriced for what you get! Need more free activities.

    Fantastic location, good bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    The food was very delicious and a lot of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks were very expensive, a bottle water was eight dollars, so you should bring some bottles with you from the main land.

    The food was very delicious and a lot of choices. The room, a Bure, was big with comfortable beds. In front of the Bure many small sharks were swimming in the morning time and you could watch them hunting. The stuff was very friendly and the pool a good option, when the sea was too rough to swim.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful location no need stay more than one night. Extremely disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The majority of the staff were rude and didn’t even acknowledge you. The food was so repetitive . Activity’s that we’re schedules never even happened. The day trippers got served food before the staying guest . There was nothing to do when it poured with rain they supplied no movie or anything. It felt like you were asking a massive favour when ordering drinks

    Location incredible

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location- resort needs some attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is disappointing. Buffet style/ school dinner. Same food most days. No drinks included. Not good value for the 88 FJD per day. No comfy areas to sit- just picnic benches. This isn’t great on a rainy day! Rooms could do with a little update.

    Beautiful little island. Not really party party. atleast wasn’t in low season. Great activities and staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful party island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warning if you’re staying in the dorm rooms, there is no aircon, only fans. Which you would expect. But this is no fun on a hot hungover morning. We were not told on booking.com that there is a compulsory $88fjd charge per day for food. We thought we were just paying the room price and as we were on a budget this did throw us off a bit. But the food ended up being great, plenty of options so it was fine in the end. But just make sure you include that cost when budgeting! Otherwise it was all great!

    The food was great! Dorms were clean Free water from the bar - didn’t get sick from it Friendly staff The daily activities they offer free of charge Amazing snorkeling Party vibes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and fun in dorms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    stayed here over christmas, was good fun as party on christmas eve, fun and friendly and cheaper than other islands for drinks (advice - bring a bottle of something before you get to islands as drinks rack up) - beach volleyball with locals was so much fun!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    4.6
    Incredibly disappointing. But staff were kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's quite clear the new owners don't care for this establishment. It's slowly falling to pieces and the staff do their best with what they have but it's just not worth it. The food is horrific. My partner used to visit this island alot and has only fond memories of it until now. The beds were two single beds pushed together but still made with separate bedding as one bed was a good 5cm higher than the other. We complained about the state of things and was upgraded to one of the new airconditioned rooms. Even still, you'd have to pay for a NZ 5 star price to stay in the basic rooms. It's just not worth staying on the island. This review is no reflection on the staff that are working there as they aren't paid much for their trouble and they are still courteous and kind but it is truly sad the state of the "resort"

    The island itself is wonderful. The beach at your door step

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    The location and the shore are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff were really rude and didnt help at all. Not that much as a party... they ddnt have options to do during the day and less during the night... pretty boring to be honest, but the place is heaven.

    The location and the shore are amazing. Also sunsets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    An OK place to stay... Shame about the food...
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The compulsory food plan was over priced and underwhelming. The food was rather bland and pretty generic.. In some meals there wasn't even enough food for all of the guests. When you add the price of the food plan onto the stay, which I thought was very expensive, I would say it let the whole experience down... Was a shame

    A nice island to stay. The beach and surrounds were kept clean. The water around the island was clean and the snorkelling was alright. The bar was good. It was very quiet when I stayed but I could see on a busy night it would be good fun... I stayed in one of the double rooms. The room was clean, but it was obviously a bit outdated and needing a freshen up. The bed was two singles pushed together, which was a shame. Overall... OK

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice atmosphere, staff try to get everyone involved in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food got a bit repetetitive after a few days, same thing every day. We had no water in our room for 24 hours as there was an issue that needed resolved. Also were told we could drink the tap water as it was filtered - actually it was not at all filtered and was salty. Perhaps this was why we didn't have water for 24 hours while they fixed the issue.

    Nice atmosphere, staff try to get everyone involved in activities, great place to meet people. Beautiful beach, warm water for swimming. Nice food and good portion sizes. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    Beach front bures were positioned beautifully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow - Water Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small thing but even on the pamphlet given to me, it stated that kayaks were complimentary.for house guests. When you go to get the kayak, this is not the case and you need to pay for hiring.

    Beach front bures were positioned beautifully.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.4
    Staff are very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The accommodations need serious maintenance. They collect a lot of money but its obvious they don't spend much on maintenance.

    Staff are very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    All staff were super friendly and always helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all perfect for me!

    All staff were super friendly and always helpful! There was a great variety of very nice food and always plenty of it.Awesome beach!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decent buffets, lovely ocean surrounding the island. Takes about 10 minutes if you go slow to walk around the whole island. Friendly staff and a great dancing and fire show.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    2.9
    Disappointment9
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroach in the dinning area Most staff are not welcoming and not smiling only a few Nothing to do in the island only drinking cocktails Not worth the amount paid for Unorganized

    Buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Amazing stay in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Turtles in a concrete pond at the back of the island - totally unnecessary they are lucky I didn't free them.

    The staff were like a big family, amazing and couldn't do enough for you. Everything was sooo clean. Beach and water are beautiful. Food basic but good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Awesome trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was fairly pricey at the bar. £2.50 for a can of Coke is over the top. But don't let this deter you it was a great place to stay, just take your own drinks and snacks.

    Lovely staff, good entertainment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Wounderful staff but wouldn't return, other than for a day trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food really wasn't great for the price you pay a very limited choice. The island is very small and supposed to be a party island but it was very quite, we were only there for 3 days and found are selfs getting quite bored. The price to hire the JetSki are ridiculous.

    The staff were really lovely and helpful. The beach and snorkelling was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    It is closer to the mainland, you do not have to travel so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small island and because it was windy the snorkeling was not the best option. Did a day trip to other islands, but instead of showing us the resort, skip one island and allow some time off

    It is closer to the mainland, you do not have to travel so far. Staff is friendly and the room was cute. Food good too. The place is better for young backpackers, not what I was looking for, but still ok. Some nice day trip to other islands

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Very unhappy for what we paid for and what we actually got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the rats and mice in the resort room, birds eating the food provided for guests before guests got to it. the transfer costs to and from island, all extra and the food that was presented for the money was an insult. the resort needs a complete up-grade especially the pictures on the web site, very miss leading.

    the crystal clean blue/ green water

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful tranquil slice of paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dorms squeeze in as many beds as possible. Often advertised as a party island but is more relaxed than that- though music does go on until 2am.

    Beautiful white sand beach. Good choice of food. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful location, great place, clean, friendly staff, good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good vibes, amazing staff, clean, beautiful, good activities, good food, perfect! Also met a lot of great people as the meal times and activities are really social!:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely island. Accommodation needs some attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow - Water Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of maintenance needed in our Bure. Doors sticking, broken latches, broken ceiling fan, curtains broken from their tracks.

    Fabulous island. Sand, coral, tropical fish. Huge meals and good choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of all the resorts I've stayed in Fiji. Beachcomber really needs an upgrade of the facilities. Bed sheet looks dirty, shower is old and dirty. I saw a rat in the dorm room. The turtles look miserably in the tiny pond when the ocean is meters away. Some staff don't look happy working there. Singing and dancing feels like work that they don't really enjoy. If you stay in the dorm, the only place you can hang out is the dining area and the bar, there's no hammocks or sunbeds or anything on the beach. The so called party island doesn't have any party vibes.

    Very pretty beach and view. Some staff are really nice. Food is good. Hot shower is the best!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Beachcomber is great but they need to think about their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beachcomber is great but they need to think about their variety of visitors and also cater for those not wishing to drink all night in the bar. Outdoor cinema option or something as an alternative to going to bed early would be in their favour, as would some form of exercise class - not typically Fijian I know but being cooped up on an Island you need to be able to move as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Gorgeous beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely didn't like the food and the cockroaches around the food layout bench and table and the mouse in our room that ate our snacks. I am allergic to chilli and found chilli in numerous meals that were not stating chilli. One cockroach crawled in our plate as we decided to see what would happen if we weren't pushing them off the dinning table.

    I loved the Bure and the beach and the Staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Good for 1-2 nights, beautiful beach w/ below average rooms and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful island, excellent location, great beach and snorkelling nearby. Dated rooms and facilities, food was less than average, we stayed for 2 nights and we had enough but overall enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero entertainment after dinner even though they advertise Bula dance every night. The place was deserted after dinner. I had the premium room and it was pretty dated. Only activities included was snorkeling and fish feeding, other rentals were expensive. Front desk staff wasn't very helpful.

    The food was quite good and they had more than enough food for everyone, unlike other resorts that run out of food regularly. Food staff was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Perfect island escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were amazing and made the experience one to remember! Such a beautiful island to live on for a week with great food and entertainment. Comfy beds and a great community feeling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Awesome experience in a tiny island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some water activities could be cheaper (or even free) as you get charged for almost everything except the snorkling gear.

    The location is awesome. We stayed in a individual double room and was quite clean. All meals are included and they are very good specially the breakfast. We really liked the environment with young people and couples. Snorkling is good there althgouth there are better places around Fiji Islands.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Small, little, lovely paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I slept in the lodge hotel room, and there is 24h noise of the island power generator that you will constantly hear. It's not the end of the world, but it could bother some.

    The place is lovely, small Island, white sand, perfect for snorkeling and relax. They brought you out for sea feeding and coral watching twice at day for free :-) It gets quite crowded on the weekend, and it's mostly filled with young people 20 to 27 yo. The staff is super nice and lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful beach, nice food and good times
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 4% credit card surcharge here is higher than most other places in Fiji that only charge 2-3%. Overall, it was a very expensive dorm room stay - but worth it.

    A wonderful place to spend a couple of days, if you're an easygoing, hostel-friendly kind of person. The beach is amazing, and the food was great too - it's catered like a school camp, only much nicer. I stayed in a Falekau female dorm (separate to the main, huge dorm room) and this was a great decision as I had a lot of privacy and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautifuññ small island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot

    The water was pristine. The food eas good and they added a morning and afternoon tee in between main food. Small but beautifuñ island

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice place for one or two nights max
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dorms were so large with so many beds crammed together making it extremely hot ! The food was average and was very similar at every meal.

    They had a nice swimming pool. Staff were very helpful and carried your bags to your room for you

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    6.3
    I was totally mis sold this by booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was totally mis sold this by booking.com. When I booked it was apparent through website that I was booking a twin room for 2 people. When we arrived they were only expecting 1 person. I was unable to change my booking even as I had booked through booking.com. It was a very frustrating experience. I am unlikely to be using booking.com in the future as your webiste is really not clear on how many people you are booking a room for and I cannot afford to make this mistake again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Staff and atmosphere were absolutely incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The boat transfers are abit expensive, but that's not Beachcomber's fault at all.

    Staff and atmosphere were absolutely incredible. We stayed at this resort for 3 nights. Left to see around Nadi for 4 nights (hated it and left early) and made an unplanned return back to Beachcomber two nights later

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    Awesome as it could be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have provided hammocks for those not booked into the bures.. Dormitory-Top Bunk was pretty hot at night as the fan did not reach the top bunk.

    Loved the food....staff were awesome...atmosphere was what we expected

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    Good destination for party-willing people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found two dead mice under our beds. The Wifi was hardly ever working. They had daytrippers coming to the island every day so the queue for the buffet was very long and some of the food was gone by the time it was your turn.

    Our Beachbure was perfect. We had two private hammocks and the bure was facing the sea. It was built in a traditonal way and looked very nice. The beds were very comfortable. The food was delicious. We stayed there for New Years, the party was great, it was dancing in the sand beneath the ocean. The alcohol is pretty cheap.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: