Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa 4 stars

Queens Road, Tangangge, Fiji

#3 of 3 hotels in Tangangge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 192 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is very tired. The rooms are huge but offer very little comfort. Two of the four days there was not cold water running. Not a problem to shower or wash hands because the hot water was not so hot but without cold water we couldn't flush the toilets. It appears to be a frequent problem. The hotel is 1.5 to 2 hours drive from Nadi International Airport depending on the transit. The beach is non existent. All activities has to be around the swimming pool. Snorkeling, canoeing and other sea activities only can be done at high tide.

    The staff is very nice especially with kids. They are the only good value of the hotel. Food is good if you only ask for simple things.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We would have loved a more interactive kids club and activities staff. Quite often we had to chase up staff to open the kids club or run the activities that were listed for the day.

    Loved the accommodation, how easy and relaxed everything was. We travelled with 4 small children and felt comfortable to have them around the place. Very child friendly space and a beautiful location. Food was good and varied, and the babysitting service was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing travel experience.The resort is very run down and old, it needs a HUGE update. The sink in the kitchen was blocked and they couldn't fix it within 3 days, no hot and cold water- no warning (yep, and I just started washing my hair and had the soap all over me.!), lipstick marks on cups, filthy&dirty baby high chairs in the restaurant - this is not something you expect to see when you pay such a high rate. We ended up leaving 5 days earlier and they didn't even ask why we were leaving..

    Hammocks and the ocean view. Sitting in the hammock and watching the surf is probably the best we could get from our stay. The garden and all the palm trees look nice but the plants are not maintained. A lot of yellow and dead leaves, coconuts also fall from the trees quite regularly so watch out. The staff are nice as most of Fijian people, however, they need a good training in hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was on and off during our stay

    The helpful staff and activity’s for the kids and movies nights It a great drive using a rental car to the hotel & cool things to do and great around the beaches

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is a bit tired and sometimes a bit repetitive. The facilities need an update and a facelift.

    The location near the beach, the included activities, the all inclusive meal & drinks package and the nightly entertainment. The staff were mostly kind and warm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Group
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The night entertainment around the restaurant was a little too loud and could not hold a conversation at the same time. A few more pool chairs would be good, as well as snorkling equipment as so many people wanted to enjoy the amazing snorkling. People commented on the high price of drinks however at other resorts it is a similar price.

    I loved the ocean view villas. The staff were so friendly and helpful and always remember your name. Having a taxi service from the resort was extremely handy. Snorkling exceeded expectations even for people who frequent the GBR. Spa was excellent. The Chef was very good and cooked a variety of meals well - my favourite was the lolovo beef and gravy, canapes and sashimi. Entertainment was plentiful although I didn't get to enjoy it myself, my friends and family loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The building and rooms were quite dated. Some things didn't work very well. Other members of our group had things like showeres or toilets not working properly. We were also a little disappointed that as such a large group had come over for the wedding (our son's) that some sort of discount should have been offered off our rooms. This often happens in Australia when booking rooms in resorts, hotels, motels, etc, for the same type of event - discounts are offered.

    The staff were fantastic. So friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent, as were the drinks. The girls working in the spa and massage areas were excellent, and deserve a medal for the amount of work they do. Our house keeper, Aseri, in particular, was brilliant, as were all of the other staff. Everyone was always so friendly and happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Going to Fiji during the rainy season can be a bit risky with regards to always getting picture perfect weather. But if you are already doing water activities, then a little rain will not hurt! How much you enjoy your stay depends on how much you like the resort life. There will be a number of rather loud children, the staff will be overly friendly, and the resort food/drink and any tours outside of the resort will be over priced.

    The hammock just outside our bure was a great touch and we spent a great deal of time lounging in it either reading or just looking out over the water. The location of the resort along the Coral Coast is great! If you take your own snorkeling gear, you can snorkel during high tide (with no time limits set by the resort...) for free! The coral and various sea life were wonderful to see!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lost power for a number of days along with water facilities due to power failures and very poor backup with non operating generators due to bad maintenance because of lack of financial backing from the board of directors

    Staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The resort had everything you could want - no need to move from there unless you wanted to see other destinations. The staff were all fantastic and very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a bit run down/ dirty/ broken. The meals (not including breakfast) were a bit disappointing and the kids dinner doesn’t work to have adult meals at the same time - which is a bit sad if you want to eat together.

    The size of the rooms, the breakfast, the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The food was appalling. The wine choices were also awful and very limited. We had noisy abusive neighbours - about whom many guests made complaints - but they were not moved or removed; promises of extra security did nothing to curb them. Halfway through our stay I suggested the hotel move us. This was done, but did nothing to stop one of the ex-neighbours continuing to hassle us all week. Surely hotels can reserve the right to eject guests who are destroying the holidays of those around them.

    Most of the staff were courteous and friendly. The massage rooms and staff were very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated, but i do know renovations are being carried out. The air conditioning in our room definitely needs attention.

    The staff are what makes this resort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn’t very helpful, it felt like we were disrupting their “doing nothing” if we had to ask something. There is a gym on the premises but it is incredibly outdated and hot and smelly. The photos of our accommodation and the pool area didn’t match with the photos online. Online it looked like a semi-modern place but in reality it was all outdated and looked quite poor unfortunately. And then the food.. please don’t have special requirements as you won’t receive any of that on your plate, and what you do get is bland.. it’s unfortunate because the place has so much potential.

    The location was good - you can’t go wrong at the Coral Coast for that matter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found spa prices to be fairly extravagant for the service that was provided. Travelling with a young child was also made difficult with the mealtimes available. Children eat free 5-6pm however dinner is not available for adults until 7pm- which made eating as a family very difficult- and it made for a late night if they accompanied Mum and dad to dinner as entertainment doesn’t start until 8pm most nights.

    Location is beautiful, highly recommend the beachfront villas. Most staff were very helpful and friendly. Travelling with special dietary requirements can be tricky but the chefs were more than willing to accomodate me and one or two even went above and beyond my expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed a bit flat. But after an incident unfortunately involving the police everyone seemed to pick up their attitudes.

    Close to pool and beach. Quiet relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were simply amazing. Make us feel wanted and welcome, always a kind word and a smile even if they worked very long hours. They are all a credit to the resort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The list is endless!!! The restaurant and it’s ambience, the super monotonous and exactly same breakfast every day, the overworked staff, the extremely small and untidy pool with moss all over the edges, and what a shabby bar which hasn’t been upgraded ever since the resort was opened probably. The entire resort for that matter needs immediate renovation. The most terrible part of our stay was “Theft of money” from our room on the very first day. So if you do decide to stay in this resort, please take care of your belongings and be extremely careful!!

    We liked the big bed, comfortable enough. The view from the room. The kids club was quite good to keep our daughter entertained. The kids free meals were nice too but if only they knew to serve some variety.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights

    After asking 4 days in a row, the lights in Bure were never fixed - maintenance overall is lacking in the common areas of the resort. Was very far from Nadi (about 1.5-2hrs drive one way) to do most of the tours.

    The view from our Deluxe Beach Front Bure and grounds around our Bure were incredible, picturesque. The staff were friendly and always happy to have a chat. The food overall was very good. Very family orientated place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The resort itself needs some TLC, the pool area is tired as is the main restaurant and bar area. The restaurant staff weren't the friendliest, think they were understaffed for the time of year. We'd take our family back there again but would not recommend for a romantic getaway.

    We enjoyed the family friendly atmosphere of the resort, the activities and events guys were great. The beach is located right by the accommodation which was awesome and the food was tasty and good value for money compared to other places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is looking pretty old and tired, but it was clean. Some of the staff were really unfriendly and wouldn’t even greet you. Breakfast is a challenge if you have any food restrictions.

    The villas were lovely - definitely recommend upgrading to the deluxe beachfront room. They were quiet and spacious. Some of the staff were really lovely (I remember Volli and Henri in particular). It was great that the menu changed every day, so there was plenty of variety. We appreciated the entertainment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The childrens evening meal was very poor and often cold. This could be vastly improved

    Staff were excellent and very helpful and always friendly. Really went that extra mile. Accommodation was very comfortable and well maintained. The pool activities to occupy everyone, especially the children was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything good , would tell anyone that what's a great place to stay , stay here. Staff were great , food was really great. Whole place was great for families,Never stayed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left after one night, just not for us. It was like a club 18-30 resort, loud music and the main dining/socialising area was inside. The place just looked run down, manky green carpet stuff round a grubby edged pool. Loud music at the pool and rather 'rough' guests. Found two huge bits of broken glass at the entrance to the beach. No pool towels when I went to get some. I left my shoes under a seat and they were stolen when I returned. The beach loungers were old and tatty. I just didn't like it at all so we checked out and went back to Treasure Island. They refunded two out of four nights which was great.

    The bures were spacious, had an outdoor shower. Some little shops on site. Good activities selection for the kids kids eat free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WiFi was poor / non-existant at times in our bure. Apart from the breakfast buffet which was good, restaurant meals were over-priced and disappointing, I'd say food generally spiced / flavoured to suit unadventurous eater such as seniors, teens and kids. Exception was lovely "beef n reef" ($60 FJD) and flavoursome Kokoda (fish "cooked" in acid juices). Fish chowder soup was more like Heinz condensed chicken soup with some chopped veggies added.

    King bed comfortable and fresh linen. Extra pillows. Our Ocean View bure was quiet (100 m from restaurant) and spacious with a good shower - you can see reef and ocean from bed. Snorkel off the beach - fish were great to observe although no colourful coral. Happy hour at the bar was great fun - lots of happy friendly people of all ages enjoying meeting new people and drinks at low prices. We loved the quizzing and other games provided at happy hour. Walking tour of nearby primary school and village was terrific - kids loved to high-5 us and sang songs with much enthusiasm. Cava ceremony is something you should do in Fiji as you learn a lot about their culture. Breakfast buffet was good. Pool was nice and simple snacks from poolside shack were cheap and pretty tasty. Most nights there was singing and dancing on stage for about an hour from 8 pm, which was mostly very entertaining. The "Perfect Partners" evening was very funny with young couples doing embarrassing but funny things on stage. Overall the Hideaway is a great place for about a week - it can be as busy or relaxing as you want it to be. It's not a fancy or up-market resort but friendly staff, fun activities and the coral lagoon at your doorstep beat the 5-star Denaru hotels hands-down IMO.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were unhappy about the charges for everything, some unreasonably high eg. meals, coffee bar, drinks/cocktails, spa, activities (even to watch the fire walking). We have been to other resorts in Fiji before where shows at night are free and we were also surprised at the lack of staff on the beach ... giving guidance eg the beach was very tidal so best to only snorkel at high tide. The pool was relatively small for the size and the whole common area needs a facelift. While our bure was comfortable and spacious, the wardrobe and drawer space was very small and the bathroom was small and in need of much repair. The rooms have no TV which didn't worry us but might for others. Free wi-fi was part of our booking but they were unhappy about giving this to us at first. We then had lots of problems with our bill when we checked out. We had booked through Booking.com but Hideaway wanted to charge us a higher room rate. After hours of discussions they finally agreed the issue was not ours but between them and Booking.com, however we are home and its not resolved yet. Also the Eftpos machine was down when we all needed to check out so this had to be done manually.

    We were there for a family wedding so had a great time with family. Breakfast was included and the accommodation was located on the beach which was a pleasant outlook. The rooms had a small bar fridge which meant we could get our own drinks from the local supermarket and keep them cold. The grounds were very well looked after and the resort is well located on the bus route between Sigatoga, Nadi and Suva. Its probably a good location for young families.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything other than I'd like to have stayed longer!

    The staff were very friendly and obliging. The resort was spacious, beautiful with great beach frontage. The range of activities available at the resort catered to all people, single through to families with young babies.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    more choice of foods in restaurant as hard to travel and eat away from resort

    enjoyed being in a bure so close to beach sea was tidal do swimming was a bit disappointing, lovely and relaxing activities if wanted to participate , or peaceful times available too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor internet .Low water pressure in showers

    Willing friendly helpful staff . Awesome breakfast selection . Wide selection of choice at the two restaurants .Entertainment was good and included guest involvement . Close proximity to the beach free access to a range of equipment for water activities ( eg snorkeling knee boards etc ) Comfortable accommodation .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out process. Eftpos machine was out of order & credit card had to be processed manually

    Staff were lovely & the activities offered everyday were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average at best, yet quite expensive for what was provided.

    Well kept grounds, all rooms steps from the beach, and lagoon was great - snorkel at high tide, reef walks at low, clean long beach, and good facilities (pool, kids club) for little kids. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is bad in variety and quality. Not so family friendly or practical that kids free meal is only certain hour of the day during which adult meal is not served. Should kid want to eat with parents out of the hour then you will be charged. Although wifi is free, you have to get a new password every 24 hours and only one device could be connected. In your room where most likely you want to use wifi, there is no wifi signal at all. Room is not very sound proof and when the hotel put a young couple next to a family, you as parent just hope the kid would not ask what certain noise is for.

    Location is good. Easy access to beach and great snorkelling experience. Room is reasonable spacious and clean. No mosquitoes or other type of insects in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is 35 years old. Even though the deluxe water front villas are new, the Restuarant, bar, swimming pool, reception, and facilities have never been upgraded and are poor, broken, ugly, dirty.

    The deluxe ocean front villas were modern clean and comfortable. Loved the surrounding gardens, the hammocks, the view, the sunsets, the walks, the snorkelling, swimming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I can't fault the enthusiasm of the staff and the grounds of the Hideaway, so there wasn't anything I didn't like.

    I liked the intimate atmosphere of the resort, the staff were very friendly and knew us by name. The beach was great and the snorkelling amazing. I loved doing water aerobics each day and also the Sun dance to help bring the sun out, was lots of fun. Can't speak highly enough of the staff such as Marley, Ben, Voli and Latte, just to name a few who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable, although could probably do with a freshen up, but the grounds were lush and beautiful. Will definitely return one day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main facilities were very average and need serious upgrades if they don't want to just attract budget travelers.

    The gardens and beach were beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laying on concrete would be better then the bed, Rooms need a good clean as pubic hair in shower from previous people, get there to be told dinner tables are pre booked a week in advance and they booked from 6pm and stay empty till they sit at there table as this can be till 9pm as we have to wait till 10 to have dinner, we spoke about this and was ignored, it was our 3rd time to this place and the last

    Able to leave the resort

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I expected good snorkeling and was severely disappointed as the coral was dead except for a few very small isolated patches. Tourist trips were pricey despite the low cost of wages...it felt like the money was not going to the benefit the locals as their wages are low.

    Friendly staff, nice setting next to the beach and tidy well kept grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we had was too small and location disappointed Place is generally very run down, lots of broken things and felt dirty We mainly stayed on the beach as poolside was very dirty and unkempt

    One of the rooms we had was located perfectly to beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was in need of maintenance. There was only one restaurant but it said there were three. Over priced drinks, alcohol and $11.00 for a cup of coffee. The location is over 90 minutes from the airport so need to allow time for transfers which are expensive.

    The staff. Walks on the beach. The grounds and gardens were beautifully manicured.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Resort is in desperate need of a good upgrade. I also didn't like the stray puppy and numerous cats that roamed around scavenging. To be fair staff did remove the puppy only for it to return have chewed through the string (still tied around its neck) that they had tried to restrain it with.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing

    The food, accommodation and staff were amazing. They couldn't do enough for you and made my daughter and my stay the best. Will be back there as soon as I can.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing to not like.

    The staff were all friendly, there is a real sense of family. We took a tour whilst there, our guide was amazing and we learnt so much about the history and culture of the Fijians.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom could do with an update. Glass windows on slates would make it more sound proof,

    Excellent staff all very friendly, clean Bures with a great view. Beautiful clear water

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The resort is a few years old now and there are places around and about where that shows. The front facade is a little faded. It really needs someone with a fresh set of eyes to have a walk around and make a priority list of 1/ paint this first, 2/ replace that section of fence etc. Nothing bad just a little old and tired. The Gym comprises what looks like a few old mis-matched machines. The mini putt putt is unusable - old and needing replacing.

    The staff were the most friendly people one could wish to meet. Not like paid to be friendly but the real deal! Nothing was too much trouble. Most called you by name after a couple of days. Everything was immaculately clean and tidy. Bed was super comfy and our private outdoor shower was awesome. Each evening some musicians would walk around the ground playing music and singing to any couple sitting on their balcony. The location is like paradise - amazingly beautiful. The snorkeling was amazing, I saw so much more than on our great barrier reef. Just wish they had a tinny to tackle all those fish in the lagoon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Some of the facilities are abit tired especially the pool area. The food at times wasn't to our liking but then this enabled us to explore some of the local restaurants which we enjoyed the whole experience of the local people.

    The staff were fantastic extremely friendly. We were extremely happy with our room it was exactly what I had hoped for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We can't think of anything that we didn't like.

    We really like the staff, so helpful and accomating, always smile. Such a happy place to be in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty basic accommodation. No kitchenette or option to do any cooking or even snacking yourself.

    Great for kids, great value for money. Really good activities provided, staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness & hospitality of the staff made our stay very memorable. A smaller resort, so more personal. Rooms very comfortable & spacious. We'll be back 😃

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The events of the day should be communicated in the paper every morning to every customer. We missed quien a few because we didn't know they existed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location quite far from the airport. Towels old an a bit smelly. Beverages very pricy. No shops or restaurants nearby. .

    Wonderful staff all over the resort Nice breakfast buffet Delicious dinners a la carte

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of response to maintenance issues which we reported - blown light globe above bed was not replaced during our 5 day stay, and no hot water for the last 2 days was not fixed nor an explanation given.

    Fabulous Staff. Staff were so beautiful and very friendly, especially activities staff whose enthusiasm for all activities was infectious. There are lots of fun activities every day or relaxation for those who prefer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power cut out constantly. Our son had mosquito bites. The cot they supplied was a dangerous pinch hazard. It's not suitable for families with young children. Dinner was 7pm for adults, our baby would be in bed. No romantic dinners together. Hot water in shower run out very quick. Very noisy from road traffic.

    Scuba resort on location was good we had a great dive. Cocktail party by pool was fun. Very friendly staff. We asked to leave 2 days early and they complied.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rigidity of mealtimes, very limited food choice for young children, Burre very close to busy road , traffic nose bothersome at night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work very well.

    Staff were so friendly and showed so much interest in my 1 year old daughter, always remembered her name. Plus, everyone was so friendly, kids eat for free and being 50 metres from the beach was amazing!! Even let me and my family have a late check out!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The food and drinks are a little expensive, but if you take your own drinks (as there is a small fridge in your room) you can lessening the scare at the end of the trip!

    Fantastic friendly helpful people run this place. Rooms are airy and comfortable Food is great and the entertainment every night is worth waiting for. The beach is amazing and snorkelling is fantastic. Great holiday, especially if you get a rental car and take a look around! Even in the rainy season the place is lovely!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs some hammocks side by side.

    Bula - Spoken everytime you passsed a staff person - including groundskeepers. The reef walk with Naomi was wonderfull.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff might have been a bit too pushy when it came to extra activities that involved adding more to the bill. But it's all in good spirit.

    I liked how the resort was organised around the main, central area with lots of activities going on all day and night. The staff were very keen to get people to do things. Different types of food to choose from (literally, different restaurants in the resort) and at a decent price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with a good clean to remove some mould build-up and the main restaurant and pool area are in need of a renovation.

    The staff make this place the amazing place it is. Lots of activities during the day and night, most of which are free. Good breakfast and a wide variety of food available at dinner.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downside of the location is lack of alternative meal choices. I thought prices quite expensive but no alternative nearby. Expect to pay over $7fj for a can of soft drink. Coral was a bit patchy so if you are going for that you could be a bit disappointed.

    Quiet area. Very relaxing. We were traveling as a couple but it looked to be really family orientated. Good place to switch off and relax (but they did have other activities if you wanted the stage show, disco etc). Lot of people stayed by the pool so if that is what you want it is probably good. Very quiet beach and good for sitting and watching the ocean! And I think Fiji is renowned for it's sunsets - they have a lot of nice areas to sit and watch the sun drop into the ocean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our fourth trip to the Hideaway and we can't wait to go back again! Staff are lovely, food is great (would recommended doing the all inclusive package) rooms are clean and there is plenty to do at and around the resort A village tour is a must!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The best thing about the Hotel is that it is locally-owned and -staffed. The staff is amazing! Friendly and helpful at all times. I loved my bure with a bathtub outside - lovely experience. The restaurant has very tasty and quality food. Seafood is delicious there!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Sometimes the music for the evening entertainment was too high so it was difficult to talk

    The local atmosphere the wonderful Fiji people who work there and their hospitality . Nice food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The facilities (pool, restaurant, bar etc) were extremely out dated. Nothing like what the photo's showed. After wandering around for 5 mins trying to find a staff member to seat us- dinner service was a loud mess, consisting of a 'variety show' and over priced food. The tap beer was flat. When we checked out early after one night we had to pay for three nights- it was worth it to escape the place.

    The rooms were clean and spacious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids club minders could have been abit more cheerful.. when we took our kids for the kids movie they looked grumpy and not happy to be watching the children. On 2 occassions i didnt end up leaving my children on the fact that i didn't feel the staff could be "bothered" with the children. That was my only downfall. The babysitters are awesome though especially etta!!

    Everything was perfect. The pool, the beach, the daily activities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fridges to small and rooms need microwaves or small stoves

    Staff over all are now our Fijian family. Daily activities and wedding planner tops made our stay hard to leave definitely will be returning every year for our family vacation

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One of the activities staff delivering the trivia quiz (not Ben) was very sarcastic towards Australians. It was relentless and was not so much good humoured as belittling.

    Domestic staff were fantastic and friendly. A pleasure to see them every day. They were very interactive, remembered our names and would call out and say hello as you were walking along. Chef Ragen was particularly helpful and friendly and one night created a baked a fish we'd caught. He was also went out of his way to recommend a restaurant in Sigatoka.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast basic but adequate, lunch an dinner dictated by day. Not a lot of options but again okay. Isolated in that only dining and drinks at resort, unless you hire a car. Was there for wedding. Beautiful wedding.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not disclose a lot of cost and it was really unclear what was happening at the resort. They claim there is no cash taken but we found out afterwards that the paddle board required cash then spent half a day trying to find a place to get cash for them. The resort is also 90 minutes from the airport which is a ways to go (approx $150 FJD one way). Food was sometime not what you ordered. "Fiji Time" was their motto for why they were always late.

    The ocean view was nice and from what I could tell the staff was good with children.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't like to make a bad comment about this amazing place but I wish the bar staff could work out a system to serve the drinks faster, especially during happy hour. Maybe you could put more staff on duty during the busy times. Many of the staff could be trained to write out the drink receipts while the bar staff make the drinks to save time. Also it would be good if the softdrink was on tap and not served from the plastic bottles when you want it as your drink mixer

    I had requested a beach view villa in a good location as I have stayed here before. My room was amazing. The shower was huge, the fridge nice and cold and all the staff were always happy to chat and help me if I needed to know something. Each day I couldn't wait to have breakky and get to the pool as there is always water aerobics or pool volleyball or fun things happening. I love the beautiful ginger cat that lives at Fiji Hideaway and I remember her being there last year. I would hate for management to dump or get rid of her as many of the other guests love to give her a pat as she was very friendly. Hopefully I will return again next year and she will still be around.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property old and need big renovation. All in 80's the room was spaces but again 80's deco and very tried looking bathroom it doesn't look clean. Need television so if you don't want to hang out at the bar all night you can come back to the room and relax. The food can be expensive but considering the distance from town I can understand why. need to see more local food and more fish dishes in the menu.

    Staffs were friendly and very helpful, 2 hours from Nadi but with amazing view. Lots of activities for kids.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant, bar and pool require maintence to upgrade. It is just looking a little tired.

    The staff are wonderful. Very happy and caring to all of your needs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was hit and miss

    Beautiful location if you enjoy snorkeling. Staff friendly and helpful. Don't expect 5 star standards when it comes to food or active but the view is priceless. Would definitely go back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Frangipani Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment here 😎

    Our week at hideaway resort was excellent A big thankyou to the beautiful staff who made our stay a memorable one They were always polite and happy to help you in any way and have a chat They always ensured we were entertained the whole week with water games, trivia and nightly cultural shows on the main stage with many other activities and informative sessions provided daily. Plenty of local wildlife to see with frogs, coral fish including Nemos cousin and the resident cat with her kittens. A variety of food choices were provided and the buffet breakfast daily was delicious A great place for families to relax enjoy the sunshine, hospitality and Fijian culture. Vinaka

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a big bungalow but it was open at the top which meant you didn't really have two bedrooms and a lounge room which was the main thing for us with young kids. Staff was amazing! Place is great but is starting to get a little bit too much wear and tear...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Oceanview Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    leaving.

    everything!! Staff were fantastic. If you want luxury then go somewhere else. If you want a great atmosphere, staff who genuinely appreciate that you are there because it is locally owned (the only one in Fiji!!) and supports the community, and a place that feels like home then this is it. Would return here for sure.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: