Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5 stars

Yanuca Island, Voua, Fiji

#1 of 1 hotels in Voua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 622 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Amazing place with amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, food and Facilities were amazing! We didn't need to leave the resort it has absolutely everything! The kids were entertained the whole time by the amazing staff and the service when dining was great they were so lovely to all of us and constantly accommodating for our big family!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Everything was beautiful and the staff made our stay even...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was beautiful and the staff made our stay even more enjoyable. Stayed two nights for a wedding and were guttered we were leaving. Definitely coming back for a longer holiday!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    It was very nice but have gone now to another resort which feels more like I am in Fiji
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I was charged much more for same room as friends Kids in all pools Price of beverages and meals Not enough restaurants for quests to go to eat that was more reasonable with kids

    The beds were very comfy The staff very accomadating and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Buffet was exceptional at the Ocean View Restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Buffet was exceptional at the Ocean View Restaurant. Private Cabana was amazing, we booked this for our 5th Anniversary Dinner and it was stunning. The Staff were all absolutely exceptional and all went above and beyond for us. If you have a rental or private vehicle that you take they have a valet service each time you need to leave the resort and everything you need is t this resort so you don't need to leave for much other than to go to a supermarket.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    The snorkeling on the reef was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Running out of beach towels.overcrowding of pool and beach areas and lack of seating.Being woken at 6.30 in the morning by loud maintenance work in room next door.

    The snorkeling on the reef was outstanding.The Italian restaurant is first class and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Primarily designed for families, not good for couples and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcharged on checkout by $100 AUD (no explanation) and closed adults only pool without warning, for three months! Everything is very family centric and wouldn't suggest for couples, overpriced for what you get, preferred Geckos over the road.

    Clean room, nice food, loads of activities to chose from, room views and tour desk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Will NEVER stay there again and will tell friends and relatives not to either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Reef Deluxe Twin Room - Adults only
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could not cater for our ditetrey requirments and awfull exp with food. Advised the hotel 3 weeks before we arrived and on arrival we filled a form to help guide the cheff and they still did nothing. Chick peas were raw which would have made every one unwell.

    view was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Terrace and Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food options - always eating at resort expensive. Need some. Heaped snack/lunch options. Food service also extremely slow - allow 2hrs for lunch!

    Beautiful views. Some great staff. Wish we were there longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Recommended return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nine hole golf course equipment was tired with old worn clubs, old golf balls that were charged out but not credited back when returned. Nor surprised but alcohol prices I found high and would encourage bringing your own spirits.

    Great safe location for adults or full family age groups. Great opportunity to relax, enjoy warm safe snorkeling or swimming in pools for all age groups. Nice well presented food options. Great and very engaging staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely bliss wished we had stayed longer !!!👏
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    I liked every aspects of my holiday here had plenty of activities for the children very friendly and helpful food excellent what more could you want in a resort made us feel welcome from the moment you stepped off the bus 😍👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    Food was delicious but only for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my worst experience with Shangri-La Hotels ever. I used to travel and stay in Shangri-La in different part of the world but when we arrived to this place I had some doubts that there is really Shangri-La hotel. Room was extremely old and not clean enough, personnel was friendly but absolutely unprofessional. We got welcome fruits in our bure but it was not fresh and welcome letter was written for another guest. Breakfast in Tivali cafe was poor. Marmalade on the table was not fresh. When I opened it I found that someone tried it already. Finally, we arranged the airport transfer but it was not put to our room account as we asked and on 4.30 am we had to looking for the local cash to pay driver. Otherwise we had a real chance to miss our flight. By the way this hotel doesn’t have any own cars for transfer. They use outsourced service for that. I really like Shangri-La hotels but in this particular case I would recommend to choose another hotel to stay.

    Food was delicious but only for dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful resort on beautiful beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining and drinks at the resort was expensive

    Located on beautiful beach with great activities such as kayaking, paddle boards and aqua slash free of charge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Dinning out was very limited so for adults who like good quality food it was a but disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some facilities were closed so only two family restaurants available for dinner and one was a buffet. Shame the nicer restaurant was for adults only.

    Great for children, floating playground and activites by the pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    A convenient place to stay. Everything you need for a family holiday is right here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We arrived quite late and nobody was available to check us in. We waited for 45 minutes and were tired and hungry from our flight. Management did apologise but it was a pretty poor way to start our holiday. Watch out for sea snakes...

    The staff are very friendly. Kayaks and Waterpark are complimentary. Snorkelling is great. Kids eat for free. Great location, water is very clear.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Look, it was great break, the kind were you sleep, eat and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Drinks weer astronomical and restaurant options are limited as other (outside) restaurants are not really within walking distance. Which unfortunately limits you tot he resort options. We would go back, if the prices were not so astronomical.

    The staff are certainly what make this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    My 7 year old liked the fantastic kids club activities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took 60 minutes to sort out problems with my bill. The computer had loaded about $50 worth of taxes on my bill which i had already paid. Getting this sorted at reception took too long. It did get sorted eventually.

    My 7 year old liked the fantastic kids club activities especially the disco!!! The beffet breakfast was delicious and sustained us all day. We all loved the friendly staff and Marley at the pool was a fantastic motivator and lead the kids in heaps of great fun things to do!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice swimming pools and beach water sports facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Service at the adults breakfast on some days was very slow and not well organised.

    Very nice swimming pools and beach water sports facility. A lovely place to spend 10 days

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Been there twice and will be going back again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks are very overpriced and room air conditioning wasn’t working.

    Loved the friendly staff , and all the activities through out the day for the kids.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the service was pretty slow in the hotel restaurants but guess that is Fiji time......

    Hotel and pool right next to the beach so you can easily change between the two. Fantastic snorkeling. Great breakfast included. Kids loved the pool and the free water park. Staff were friendly and fun. Lots of organised activities. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    The air conditioning needs sorting out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning needs sorting out. We had three different types of rooms around the resort and they all smell. The adult area rooms were the worst

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    The Fijian people are the friendliest people we’ve met on our travels, they welcome you as family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At checkin we were advised that the entire accommodation would be held on our card and that there would be 3% surcharge for using cards. There was also a 15FJD charge everytime you took cash out at the resort atm (on top of your own bank charges) so there’s no way to avoid any charges We overheard many guests complaining about this situation Some extra lighting should be placed around the resort paths as it’s hard to navigate at night Long running renovations and Poor lack of information re the Reno’s too A pool was out of order throughout our entire stay. We received notification re the ‘little chiefs club’ being moved but absolutely nothing about the fact that the pool wouldn’t be available Everything in the resort is extremely overpriced, activities were extra and with the price you pay for the accommodation these should be included

    The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    The nature surrounding the hotel is great, they have nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The food was clearly not matching a 5 stars hotel. The shower head was fixed on the wall, when we came back from the beaches with our childrens who basically doesn't like much having water on their faces, it became pretty tought to give them shower and difficult as well to clean properly the sand from the shower. Cleaning room service was so so.

    The nature surrounding the hotel is great, they have nice beaches and plenty of activities for childrens. It is a great place for relaxing and the food was free for my 1 and 3 years old childrens. Local people are nice in Fiji and its a pretty safe country.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    The Shangri-La Fiji is an amazingly beautiful place in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few renovations are underway and a few restaurants are unavailable.

    The Shangri-La Fiji is an amazingly beautiful place in the world!! The staff, accommodation, resort, beaches, pools and amenities are all terrific. Highly recommend!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Amazing family resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to renovations the restaurant options were reduced and the meals became a bit repetitive with only 2 restaurants to choose from. The 3% card surcharge on checkout payment was disappointing after all the addition taxes you already have to pay and the value spent during our stay.

    Amazing family resort. The staff are so gorgeous and caring. The facilities are perfect and easy to access. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous holiday in a beautiful setting.
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in has seen better days, however the block we were in was undergoing renovations so I assume that room will be upgraded soon.

    The staff were amazing, so friendly and always happy to help. Buffet breakfast every morning was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    A great location for families with young kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff of the resort really makes the big difference and decision to come back or not. They were just excellent, especially at the one of the restoran and kids activities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Another absolutely awesome family holiday with you! Thanks ShangriLa - we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Our 3rd stay! Loved the waterpark and the staff were exceptional as always. Our babysitter was wonderful, and the food excellent. Facilities and beaches / golf course / spa / gym etc are terrific.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good range of accomodation. Comfortable beds and excellent aircon. Food was reasonable - kidsq loved the buffet.

    There was plenty to do as a family. We eapecially enjoyed exploring around the island, kayaking, swimming and the water park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Unfortunately this is not a 5 star at most it is 4 star resort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is 50 years old and is in desperate need of referbishing the bowl in the bathroom had crackes over the bowl the soap holder and handle in the shower where coming off the wall, the bed was shocking the mattress was soft on both sides of the bed I slept in the middle of the bed 1 light wasn't working, the roof on the downstairs unit level with my balcony was breaking up and covered in mildew and old age. If you don't like walking don't go to this place the house keeping staff are fantastic.

    Being on the ocean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Great wedding, ok holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were disappointed that everything is charged to your bill, no cash accepted and then when you pay your bill by card they charge 3%. Though this was a bit of a ripoff! The food and drinks are overpriced, but because there is nowhere else to go you have to pay their prices.

    Enjoyed our time there for a friends wedding. Everything for the wedding was great. The pools were wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Dreamy hotel in a paradise location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mark up of the alcohol and water was a bit pricy.

    The location was excellent, the hotel was beautiful and had everything you could possibly want and need and more! The staff were outstanding, so friendly and kind and could not do enough for you. The best customer service I’ve ever had at a hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful ocean and marine life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have a work way around the island that we can walk around the island and see the ocean and may lights on the walk way so can walk at night

    Beautiful ocean and marine life

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    It was massive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Reef Bure - Adults only
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the jacuzzi didn’t work - notably this was never raised with management.

    It was massive. Biggest room I’ve ever stayed in. Plus you got a golf buggy to get around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs an urgent renovation in the rooms and pool area. The service of the pool snack bar is very bad. Slow in serving and cleaning the leftovers. Everything overpriced!

    1) Staff were very helpful. Thumbs up for the staff ladies at the lounge area inside the Italian restaurant. 2) The organised tour done by Ace to the village and local school!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and certain areas need update but the other areas , location and facilities beat evrything.

    Great location. Great for kids with 3 pools and obstacle course at breach all easy accessible to kids. Good service and friendly staff. Reef n coral behind the beach made it very intresting for kids. Lots of activities available at no extra cost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at Shangri-la on the famous coral coast. Loved the 9 hole golf course and the snorkelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only improvement i like to suggest would be to vary the breakfast options perhaps; When you're there for 7 days its hard not to look for something new for breakfast.

    Nice resort on its own island. Great snorkeling at high tide infront of the adults only pool - lots of fish and nice corals. Its great that they have a bottle shop where you can buy alcohol to consume in your room (good saving compared to the bar prices). Perfect for families or anyone looking for peace, quite and tranquility; as the grounds are huge (100 acres!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    Great place. Many servicies and amenities. I recommend ocean view: Perfect! 3 pools (the coral pool is especially nice and the lagoon pool is perfect for children) It has many stores to by anything you need. 5 restaurants!! The staff is nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.0
    Grounds are beautiful and lots of potential but consistently let us down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsistent (mostly rude and uninterested) customer service particularly the ladies in the Takali restaurant and the Golden Cowrie restaurant, who seemed like they wanted to talk to each other and picked on the guests. Exorbitant prices for everything! Inconsistent pricing across the resort, particularly for drinks. Towel cards were annoying, couldn’t take a towel around the resort with you as you had to return it to the same place and additionally had to cart around and keep track of these stupid cards. We had a few experiences of unclean dishes and I saw the service staff put “unused” forks back in the pile for use (had been used by me!). The service staff also (especially at breakfast) would clean up dirty dishes and then take you to your table and give you your cutlery - no washing of hands etc.

    Good location. Very spacious and beautifully manicured grounds. Pools were lovely. Bar staff and ground staff (generally the men) were all happy and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful idyllic must see place ...once is enough though due to cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of everything ! ....far far too expensive & my room was definitely not worth the money ....I paid £1045.00 for 5 nights accommodation 2 transfers back & forth airport & about 6 drinks charged to my room !

    The lagoon around the hotel Is beautiful & ideal for snorkelling ...lots of fish

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Great resort for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests smoking on the balconies or nearby pools, restaurants. We felt the need to avoid certain areas of the resort so people didn’t try to push us to buy things, like necklaces, tours.

    Staff in all areas were fantastic! Really helpful, welcoming and friendly. The food in the restaurants was amazing, particularly Takali, and the buffet breakfast was not to be missed. So good!! The waterpark and pools were terrific for kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in a semi-private Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desks staff are awful.

    We stayed here for 5 nights in one the suites facing ocean. The suite is fantastic and the view is amazing. The service is pretty averaged for front desks staff, they are not friendly or attentively in our opinion, but other people work for HSKP and restaurants are truly beyond the average. Thanks guys.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, fun and exactly what our family wanted!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took a long time, especially when you’ve got tired kids. Perhaps let guests go to their room, then one has to stay or come back straight away and complete check in?

    The food is excellent at all of the restaurants! The staff are enthusiastic and friendly, and easily motivate you to join in the fun!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    2.9
    For a five star facility it really state of the ark!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Service, property way too old and dated. Staff are lazy. Resort in the middle of nowhere. All coral is dead. Poor beach. The list can go on and on.

    For a five star facility it really state of the ark!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.8
    The staff were always happy and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection of breakfast/lunch very repetitive. All meals highly expensive and did not feel any value. Snacks for kids during the day was also heavily priced. The resort is also dated.

    The staff were always happy and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    My father in law fell down on the beach and got his finger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My father in law fell down on the beach and got his finger injured, the duty manager and the staff reported immediately with first aid box and dressed the wound for him! Really appreciated for their help!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.0
    Very unhappy with overall stay. Paid for 3 nights but left after 1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hidden costs were terrible. We paid $1717.25 for 2 people, only to find out we had to pay for absolutely everything! The restaurants had dress codes, which while being on holiday is the last thing you want to worry about. We paid for 3 nights but left after the first night. Staff were not very friendly, getting only 1 hour free kayak and snorkling is terrible. Will definitely not be returning or recommending this resort 😔

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.6
    Expected a lot more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anytime we had a shower the water ran onto the bathroom floor and into the bedroom absolutely soaking the place. The TV or phone didn't work either.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing - don’t expect a five star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is going to be long. The check-in staff were extraordinarily rude- couldn’t find our booking and then disappeared with my phone and passport to “check” only to emerge a few minutes later and ask me for my passport. There were a couple of friendly faces but all in all, it was not at all 5 star standard. We had to repeatedly ask for coffee at breakfast while waitresses sailed past, often had to request attention when staff just ignored us or looked annoyed when we asked for information. The rooms are dated to say the least. Ours was very clean, but was like going back in time - indeed to 1967 - an employee told us that certain parts were still from the original buildings. They are nice rooms but not 5 star quality. The food was extortionately overpriced, though the food in the beach restaurant was ok, despite the rudest waiter alive telling us that there was no space in a completely empty restaurant. We had to buy our own corkscrew to open wine we had bought at the resort as they refused to lend us one! The kayaks are free - that’s cool and the grounds are lovely. I think we had really bad luck with some very arrogant staff, but we would absolutely not recommend this to you unless you get an amazing deal with food included. It was certainly not up to 5 star - would be a good 3 star though, so adjust your expectations accordingly.

    The grounds are lovely, beautiful gardens and some delightful beaches.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Overall enjoyed our visit - be great when construction is finished
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Terrace and Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Construction noise went on for longer during the day than advised. Organisation at pool bar - really slow not helpful or particularly welcoming considering you are paying a lot for drinks. Also ran out of bottled water & coke on a hot day and didn't restock.

    Overall a great stay. Good sized rooms and comfy bed. Kids loved inflatable water park and staff doing activities were awesome. Beautiful beach and location. Good food but drinks esp wine expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.0
    Did not like shangrela stuff and resort
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To old better resort in Fiji to far apart long walk to go anywhere from my room stuff very unhappy specially at breakfast no snorkeling intercontinental much nicer resort stuff very happy and helpful my kids did not like shangrela way to many kids

    Very old resort stuff very rude compared to other hotel continental resort stuff we’re amazing beach was beautiful snorkeling was pretty good can’t compare resorts I traveled with my wife and 4 kids we were so disappointed with the resort specialty stuff at breakfast and gym no smiles kids were board went to Marriott resort Fiji the intercontinental resort Fiji then shangrela resort Fiji if your up for a good time and lots of fun don’t go shangrela to old unhappy staff jelly fish in water at low tide no snorkeling to many kids everything is a long walk in the heat from my room which was ocean view near the gym to main pool was around 20 min walk in the heat it’s not fun with kids to far apart not fun

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    3.8
    Worst holiday ever! Problematic from the moment we arrived to the day we left.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Terrace and Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Worst holiday ever! Over rated Ridiculously expensive Problematic from moment we arrive to the day we left (even ended our trip early) Save your money and go elsewhere

    Resort grounds are beautiful and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice enjoyable holiday but the resort certainly does not come close to a 5 star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Prices were excessive for food and drinks. Service in restaurants was slow and non-responsive. Never asked if we wanted more drinks and even with a young child they were slow for his food.

    Staff were always friendly and nice to deal with. The beach and pool area was beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent for families with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower looks quite old compared to everything else in the room. Cocktails were bit pricey. I didn’t like the food at Takali restaurant, ordered a Club sandwich for lunch and it was awful to be honest.

    My favourites were buffet dinners at Kalevu and adult only pool :) breakfast was also very nice! Beds are quite comfortable. Lots of things to do for the whole family.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    The people are what make the Shangri-la the warm and welcoming place that it is! Vinaka Fiji!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Leaving :(

    Our second visit was even better than our first! We love the Shangri-la and it's wonderful people! We are already planning our next trip. We can highly recommend this gorgeous property to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the experience, just a tad pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit pricey, polynesian night was average.

    Comfortable bed, clean rooms, great customer service, lots of food especially for breakfast, everyone always had a smile and bula was heard many times.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    An excellent place for an active family to enjoy, experience and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In room dining was not well managed, food ordered through room service did not all come together and some of the food came 4 hours after the order was placed. I don't recommend in room dining. Water sport experiences where very pricing, double the cost of other resorts we have stayed in Fiji.

    The wide range of facilities and activities catered for all my family including four children ages ranging from 5 to 14. Excellent Golf 9 hole golf course, a good range of restaurant (a la carte and buffet options). Had everything for the family including an adults only area for the parents to indulge in privacy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice location, rooms a little tired looking. Need more food options for a resort that large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was expensive and should have been larger or with a bit more privacy (ie separate spaces) for a family of 5 - 2 adults and 3 young children. I wouldn’t call our room a true family room. Also, 2 of the advertised restaurants were not open or under renovation- so not a lot of options when you are there for 6 days. Also, some days we had to wait a really long time for our drinks and food at the family restaurants. These are basics you can easily get right.

    The island itself is lovely and the pools were pretty good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    One of the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I didn't receive my welcome drink

    I whole heartedly recommend this place for a relaxing family getaway. 5 Stars! Really great food. Breakfast buffet at Takali Terrace was fantastic. I had a delicious freshly made omelette every morning with fresh juice, and a couple of chocolate croissants washed down with a latte. Rose loved the custard fill donuts. We had several great dinners, fresh lobster at Kalevu buffet was Becs favourite whilst I had the ribs at the Beach Bar & Grill twice they were so good! Honourable mentions to the Asian dinner at Takali where we discovered Roses love for a Vietnamese Springy and also the sweet corn soup and the King Pao Chicken. The burgers at BB&G also deserve a mention. We spent most of our time sitting around the lagoon pool where things are happening all day. The guys that run all the activities are legendary. “Ah HELLLLLOOOH! Are you BLINNNNDD?” “It’s only a game!” Also took out a Kayak, snorkelling gear, floating water park and drank too many cocktails down here. Favourite Bar was the Bilo Bar (where the Fiji Bitter is ice cold. Highlight for the vacation was visiting Ace’s village and meeting all the kids. The sunsets here are pretty special but they absolutely pale in comparison to the friendliness of the Fijian people. I’ve been overwhelmed by how happy they are at all times despite how little they have. Amazing people. Bula and Vinaka!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Very good facilities and service. Slightly better than expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staffs are a bit slow to act. If I order a room service or a clean up, it will always be delayed and take longer than expected. But I guess this is the nature of the country itself, rather than the resort's staff.

    Very good facilities and service. Place is well designed for leisure and relaxing. Loved the views and activities that were available at the resort. Breakfast was top level and could not have been better. Compared to its price, it's a 9.9/10 and I would recommend it to other tourists.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.0
    Staff are on fiji time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on sheets, very slow check in and check out , expensive drinks and food, very slow room service half the time the phone wasn’t answered

    The resort was lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    A totally awesome experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I must say, the eggs were 'way' fluffy and the bed - that was amazingly comfortable!! Not only that, I found myself asleep on the lounge as well!! And the massage!! - wow! - Mrs Moore was sooo good! And the Bar and Grill - what a heavenly kokoda!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.6
    Amazing staff but facilities need updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The rooms need to be updated. There were ants inside the room. There were cockroaches in the stairwell. There was thick soap scum buildup in the bathroom. Breakfast was too crowded and the food was rarely warm. Other restaurants and pool bar are too expensive.

    The staff remembered our names. They knew our kids. They went out of their way to make our son's birthday special. We really appreciate the staff of the Shangri-La. Ours kids loved the floating water park and my husband and I enjoyed the scuba dive. The convenience store had everything we needed to buy right on the Shangri-La premises.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    No mayonaise even though specified on menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered room service several times and mayonaise was always missing from our food. Even when we made it clear that it had been missing in previous orders

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly relaxing and peaceful. Just what we wanted from our holiday at the Shangri-La
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could improve options for adults entertainment of an evening. Not just alcohol

    The service provided by the staff. Nothing was an issue and they couldn’t do enough for you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Kids will enjoy it but this is definitely not a luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have seen better days and are quite functional and basic. The spa is average, really nothing special. There are many food options and kids under 6 eat free but the food is average, not great. Drinks are incredibly expensive- $15AUD for a cocktail is not a “happy hour” price to me! (Usually $22AUD).

    The resort is in a great location on Yanuca Island. There‘s lots to do for kids and families- pools, golf, putt putt, water park, etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.3
    Perfect location and surroundings but tired old bathrooms & badly run withh poor quality staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The name tag Shangri-la and price they charge don't match the quality of service they provide. Had a very unpleasant stay due to the poor quality of service from the front desk, restaurant service, room service, pool service and general customer service. Tired old bathrooms, see attached photos. Too many bad experiences to record, however intend to put them in detail to the management shortly.

    The location of the hotel and the surrounding

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    Well set out resort area - didn't feel crowded despite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't make for a Fijian experience. Could have been a resort anywhere in the the world. Pool areas are quite dated. Lighting in rooms too dim for reading.

    Well set out resort area - didn't feel crowded despite the size of the resort. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Great spot but Shangri-La semed run down with the restaurant/bar and front desk staff very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very slow and seemed very disinterested Village tour with Ace was poor with the tour guide falling asleep during the bus ride

    Pools were nice and there were a few to choose from Beach was close by

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    2.5
    Horrible experience!!! Shangri la NOT RECOMMENDED!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Terrace and Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Extremely bad customer service A) Washroom sink was blocked when wr checked in and it took almost an hour to fix it B) Alarm clock in room was NOT WORKING C) Room size is ok not upto 5* standard D) No drinking water in room since we checked in and it took them more than an hour to get us water post we checked in 2) Lady in reception was extremely rude and took more than an hour to sort our pre booking details 3) Restaurants took ages to deliver food. Average Wait time in restaurants is more than an hour. Coffees were served after 40 mins post order without stirrer and on request they got us stirrer after 15 mins 4) Hardly 13 kayaks which was never enough for so many guests 5) Unlike advertised free snorkeling gears are shared by operated tours and individual guests. When i weng to get gears I was told a tour is going on and gears will be available only after 12:30 pm 6) My husband was NOT GIVEN SNORKELING GEARS AND WAS TOLD AS FHEY GAVE ME FREE GEARS THEY WON’T ISSUE GEARS AGAINST THE SAME ROOM TO MY HUSBAND!!! This is weird!!! 7) The lift was not working 8) Food was ok and if I compare with other restaurants where I had food (for ex- geckos, bedarra, etc), shangri la food quality and presentation is rated at the lowest 9) During buffet breakfast, they took too long to refill and guests kept waiting got food 10) Unlike advertised THERE ARE NO FREE CYCLES

    Location was good but any resort in fiji provides equally good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    we enjoyed and relaxed well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the check in was absolutely to long and so very tiring waiting to be served. it appeared that the front desk were not familiar with the systems or were not fast in their services. It was just very very tiring and we lost patience as it took more than an hour standing in the cue to be served when there were only 2 other people in front of us. The check out was the same . It took so l;ong even an hour to clear someone.this I found absolutely strange compared to other hotels around the country who were much faster and efficient.

    the environment, basketball and facilities outdoors were excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Overall we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One morning a housekeeper left our room door open after cleaning, we had all our valuables in the room, fortunately, nothing was taken, still not very careful or professional.

    The hospitality, most of the staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Level of refit was greater than expected

    Support staff in bars, restaurant and in particularity the dive experience were excellent, prompt friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Shangri-La Fiji needs to step up their service to meet the expectation of the world renowned image
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service of staff need greatly improving. They don’t want to help. I also got charged twice for one of my rooms and the hotel still hasn’t contacted me.

    The activities in the resort were great. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Shangri-La Fiji needs to step up their service to meet the Shangri-La image worldwide.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was not very good. The staff were slow to help and did not like to help when it was not a simple request. I got charged twice for one of my rooms and still no answer from the resort. This was 4 weeks ago.

    Activities in the resort were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    The activities in the resort were really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Lagoon View - Yanuca
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service of the resort was poor for a 5 star resort. Also I got charged twice for one of my rooms and I haven’t had my money returned. We left 4 weeks ago.

    The activities in the resort were really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: