Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tórshavn 3 stars

Torsgota 4, P.O. Box 97, FO 110 Tórshavn, Faroe Islands

#6 of 11 hotels in Tórshavn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 341 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘Danish’ style of shower, the bed was not the most comfortable either

    Great location, although the street can be little bit busy on Friday night. Very helpful personal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast can be improved.

    The location is just amazing. We had a room with views over the port. Full of people, boats and restaurants. Really enjoying the location and the view. The room is not too big, but is confortable. There is a parking just next to the hotel, but one can only park 30 min. But there is another just round the ocrner, infornt of port, where one can park up to 8 hours for free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all many thanks to the reception staff for their welcoming attention and friendliness. They solved our last minute need of renting a car and help us with useful information. The hotel is very close to the port and the oldest neighborhood of the city where the best restaurants are within walking distance. Comfortable room with great views of the harbour and historic buildings. The bathroom was very clean. Very good Wifi connection. Excellent breakfast. A good place to stay to visit the beautiful Faroe Islands.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, but I can see noise comming from ground floor and surrounding bars could be an issue.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Hot water kettle in room with coffee and tea. Upper floor rooms facing harbor and church has great views. Light blocking curtains and temperature (heat) control. Breakfast was good and varied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom- no tub so all bathroom is wet if you use shower. Also more light in it would be good. One night we heard loud music from some club, but you get earplugs from hotel in vanity kit and with them I didn’t hear anything and slept fine.

    Good breakfast, really comfy bed, AMAZING location and great view from the room. Staff was super nice and helpful. It was a really nice and pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all ok

    The location is very close to the port, older quarter of the town and restaurants are within walking distance. The room was good, just as spacious as it could be. The shower and bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately I couldn't get a good sleep due to very noisy people on the street from the nearby bar. Average breakfast quality.

    Suitable location close to the harbour and street parking options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom although functional, was pretty old school Scandinavian (not great comfort) .

    Great location just downtown, for a 3 star hotel they do pretty ok in facilities and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was open late, and we could hear the croud through the closed window a bit too well. A light sleeper would have problems sleeping.

    The staff was nice and friendly, and we were satisfied with the room. Breakfast was also great with good space to sit for a while.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one downside to staying downtown was that the hotel was right across the street from a nightclub, so there was blaring music and voices on the street until the early hours of the morning.

    The location was within short and easy walking distance to downtown, the harbor and a slew of great restaurants. The room was small, but well appointed, comfortable and clean with a great view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's clean but I still it still could have been better (the carpet feels unclean)

    Breakfast is good..love the soft boiled eggs just the way I like it..croissants are really good one of my fave thing to eat

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with small wet room with shower. A bath would be great to warm up after a day walking in the February sunshine

    Fabulous location. Friendly staff. I would recommend it to friends

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. The bathroom was the size of a cupboard. Couldn't sit on the toilet without either sitting on an angle or having the door open. Shower was also tiny. Was quite disappointing for what we paid.

    Great location with a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed for 3 nights and our sheets were not changed. The tea and coffee was a little frugal - one sachet each per day. Breakfast was mediocre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/bathroom floor can be very slippy- I fell over once - be careful! Also quite noisy outside

    Great location and buffet breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Wifi works very well and you can dry wet clothes on a very efficient radiator. Near bus transport hub for daytripping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the hotel was very nice, it's still a bit too pricy. Also, we were there on a Saturday night and there was a lot of noise from the streets of people going out.

    Nice rooms, great location and view over the harbour. The hotel is situated in the middle of cosy Torshavn. Comfortable bed and good breakfast. There's also a bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cabin we had on the Smyril ferry boat was larger and had a nicer shower. The almost-warm water at Hotel Torshavn was not quite sufficient to make me feel better about the cramped room with exactly zero walls that were at 90* to each other - which normally would not offend my OCD, except the "closet" the put on the room didn't really fit in the not-corner formed by the bathroom wall. If you enjoy the musty scent of mildew serenading you to sleep, a cloth shower curtain that is impervious to drying, and walls stained with something that reminds you of salmonella, and you don't want to need window curtains because any sunlight is blocked by the air ducting outside anyway, then stay here!

    The bartender was generous with his ginny gin and tonics, thankfully, as that was the only thing making the mildewy stench of our room more bearable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room that I had was perfect for 2-3 nights, but not anything longer...

    Very friendly staff, small basic but very comfortable rooms Super location as well

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it's a little overrated, although such prices in Torshavn.

    Since we had a very early check-out, we missed the breakfast. The girl at the desk was so nice and offered me to leave postcards at the desk, so I didn't need to find a p/o box.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bathroom. Small room. Narrow beds. Only one chair in doubble room.

    location Ok 3 star hotel. Nothing more. Not special . Ok for one or two nights - to sleep. Breakfast ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The high cost of food. But this situation is typical for all the islands.

    Here you will meet hospitable people at the reception, you'll have a hearty breakfast and dinner in the excellent restaurant at the hotel or you can go to buy food at the pizzeria, which is located close by. It offers helpful staff that makes every effort to help you during the trip. From the room you had a great view of the port and the historical buildings. I emphasise that the hotel is very conveniently located: near by the port with colorful houses and busstop from the aeroport, the park with a river, cozy restaurants, the shops with books, warm clothes, souvenirs from glass and ceramics. I had a delightful birthday in Tórshavn! Do not believe those who say that in the Faroe Islands only rain. It's not true. The weather is changeable: sunny, rainy, but always windy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a little older and you could feel it. We could tell right when we stepped into the tiny elevator. They have definitely updated it but it could use another update. We paid about $190 a night. That said, we would still recommend staying here.

    Location was great and staff was super helpful. Went to the local Føroya Tele (about two blocks away) to buy a sim card for my unlocked AT&T phone. There are lots of restaurants nearby.The hotel itself doesn't have parking but there is a large parking lot nearby which you can park overnight for free (ask the front desk how to use the little clock on your windshield for parking during the day). The breakfast was pretty good. Food was standard continental breakfast type, but you can't beat the view of the boats and water nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff in the restaurant were slow at responding when waiting to be seated. AT breakfast and bringing friends they were not to be seen.

    The Reception staff were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault but outside noise on Friday and Saturday nights were extreme till 4am. Hvonn Brasserie only so-so.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Great location for exploring Tórshavn. Pleasant bar to have a beer before dinner. Harbour view rooms worth it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of noisey on the street below. Bar located directly below. Breakfast was not that great.

    Convienient location. Beautiful view of the harbor. Very friendly staff. Close to several good restaruants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was too soft for me so mentioned this to the staff and they provided me with a firmer mattress . Bathroom is small, make sure you don't accidentally stand on the drain in the shower otherwise you might create a mini/flood .,!!

    Liked every thing about this hotel knowing that it was 3 stars.... Staff were always helpful , location is so central. Could see the edge of the harbour from my window ...fairly quiet , given the location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Narrow (smaller than single) beds pushed together to make a double. When we separated the beds, the floor was filthy. We found paper clips and a cigarette butt as well as months of dust under there. The shower curtain had an old musty smell.

    The restaurant staff were lovely. The breakfast was great. Nice views across the port an close to everything central.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a little renovation of the bathrooms with new floors is recommended as you could see some discoloration where the plastic carpet ended on the wall by the shower, and we stayed in two different rooms with the same issue.

    Comfortable beds, very central location in Torshavn, friendly staff at the Front Desk, from the Business rooms you had a nice view over the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at the hotel in the past so I knew what to expect. This is a decent hotel in a great location, at the Torshavn harbor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just the price ;)

    The location is superb, the breakfast is fair, staff is always smiling and helpful. Wifi works very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am very allergic to dust. Room bedding was somewhat dusty. Bedding was clean but a little dusty.

    Location is wonderful. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rather small.

    A very central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The level of food offered at breakfast could be with very small initiatives be highered.

    The staff was very very friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar pricing was high

    Room for one was perfect in size. Had everything one would need. I did think the bar pricing was alittle high.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice breakfast, room very clean. nice staff in the lobby. location great. will choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price hikes unexpected and limited restaurant choices for the region

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That i lost in the dart match

    Í liked the breakfast and the food in the hotel resturant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra pillow would've been nice.

    I liked everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nothing

    I love every thing about the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast every morning. Hotel was near the free parking lot too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can’t go past the location,very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was amazing, breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rating too low

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very smallest

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That people love helping, everything was excelent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit nosy at night and pricy

    Rooms and breakfast are ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is really expensive for just a tiny cage.

    good location and very nice breakfast with many options and fresh products

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful, welcoming and professional staff at the reception desk

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice same everyday, most hotel in Torshavn are over price

    Very good location right at the most city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Not too many choices for breakfast

    - Great location - Nice staff - Public parking places nearby

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two nights without sleeping too much noise but the reason was Culture Days.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine, just the right Location to relax

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of the live music in the bar was too loud when we had the windows open.

    The food was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, rooms, breakfast. An excellent 3 star well managed hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small

    Position in the city center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast awful. Beds to small for a couple ,room very cramped,

    location and restaurant was great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt like a motel, very limited breakfast

    Great location and lobby personnel was helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff very nice and friendly, restaurant food is lovely, I had the steak. A really nice and relaxing trip. (I did go out of season in December - so can't say what it would be like in Summer).

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel looked better from the outside than on the inside. The decor and furnishings were tired and the room smelled musty and was not particularly clean.

    The hotel was located right in the heart of Torshavn - close to shopping and restaurants. The shower was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleanliness of the hotel and rooms was excellent, the staff were charming & helpful at all times, the only problem the hotel has is the state of the carpets in the Reception area and entrance hall, really needs severe cleaning or relaying!!

    The Staff were very nice and very helpful and tidy, all spoke very good English and were very helpful on information on where best to go on the Islands

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very basic facilities, very basic room. Shower was at the same level as the rest of the bathroom with a plug hole in the floor. Having a shower flooded the entire bathroom

    Ideal location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needs an update. The ensuite bathroom floor required wiping with a squeegee after showering as the water flows out from under the shower curtain and across the floor.

    The hotel is in a great location. We had lovely views of the harbour from our room. Breakfast was substantial with lots of variety. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wasn't able to check-in until after two pm. Yet on check-out the clerk said she would charge me 100DK/hour($18)if i stayed in the room past 11 am. She wasn't kidding!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Apparently we were upgraded to a business room free of charge Clean accommodation Fantastic view on the harbour, wonderful location Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Original room too small, had to upgrade to a family room (approx £40 more per night). En-suite shower room cramped. Problems with paying by credit card led to extra expense.

    Pleasant staff and location right by the harbour.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel itself is OK, but the restaurant (Hvonn) has incredible waiting times (sometimes over an hour), with the possibility that you are turned away. The staff in Hvonn seem constantly overwhelmed by the workload.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms were dusty.Cleanliness need to be more improved...

    Staffs were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central location These guys are sort of HoRrCa monopolists in the city so you can book all the good restaurants with them

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noice from street (hotels own bar) - not sound isolated windows

    fine location, central

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The kind and caring staff

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: