Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel A l'Ancre 2 stars

2, Route De Lauterbourg, 67470 Mothern, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Mothern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 137 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Mixed experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very mixed experience, booked at the last moment, we did not read the small print on the booking confirmation. We arrived about 6pm on a Friday evening and the whole place was dead, Thursday lunch time to Saturday lunch is their "quite" time. Someone spotted us trying to gain entry and took us through a locked entry area into the hotel, where a key waited for us on a small table. The room was OK, but we had to go to find a restaurant elsewhere as theirs was closed on a Friday night! Breakfast on Saturday was very good, plenty of choice and variety of food and drink on offer. Saturday evening when we returned, the place was heaving and some sort of loud disco going on downstairs. We ate elsewhere again as we couldn't hear each other. Breakfast Sunday was a huge disappointment, 2 bits of baguette on the table, some runny red jam, a croissant each, processed cheese, a small pot of apple compote and a glass of orange juice. There were no eggs, meat, fresh fruit, dried fruits and unlimited juice/drinks as on Saturday. All for the same price too, disappointing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The town is like a ghost-town (visited in August). All restaurants closed (the hotel's restaurant included).

    Comfortable and clean hotel. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Poor communication!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the poor communication about access via night door. There were no instructions, when we first arrived about which key to take. Later, after we had settled in, a list appeared and we had chosen the wrong room! That caused confusion next morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    5.8
    hotel basically shut !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no cereal in dispenser, not many staying so hadn't been used up that morning Hotel basically closed - n resturant or bar available - keys left in lobby with list of rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.7
    Fine for a stop over on the Rhine Radweg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed sheets and bedspread with permanent stains, even if probably freshly cleaned. Old furniture, carpet tiles, bath fixtures.

    Nice staff. Convenient location on the Rhine Radweg in a little Alsatian village. A bit expensive but good food and generous portions for dinner at the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in a quaint town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic place in a small town. Good service and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    very nice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.1
    The location was good for our road trip from the UK to Italy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The duvet was far too thick for what was a hot night.

    The location was good for our road trip from the UK to Italy and to once again pay a visit to one of our favourite restaurants, L'Agneau in Mothern.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    5.8
    - rooms were changes immediately upon request
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - our online booking was not found initially - rooms were not prepared / not heated, heating did not work - WLAN did not work (since one week?) - rooms were not renovated for quite a while? (broken toilet seat, carpet with stains)

    - rooms were changes immediately upon request - staff was polite - quiet location - breakfast was quite good (no salty things though)

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.9
    Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable place,;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was disappointing.

    Comfortable place,; nice 'quaint' atmosphere; good restaurant; helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    Very quiet small town atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing - everything was very nice.

    Very quiet small town atmosphere.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Browse Hôtel A l'Ancre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: