Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel à l'Oriel 3 stars

3, Rue Des Écuries Seigneuriales, 68340 Riquewihr, France

#22 of 39 hotels in Riquewihr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 817 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    A superb hotel all the way with the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel straight from a dream (on a value, not 5-star level of course). We have been before and will come back - this is exactly the right place considering the fairy tale surrounding of Riquewihr. Staff very kind and welcoming, rooms very pretty, clean and well-equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Attractive premises in chocolate-box setting but not especially comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, uncomfortable pillows and the sound of church bells ringing every hour throughout the night led to an uncomfortable night. The room wasn’t ready when we arrived even though it was after the advertised check-in time. The manager seemed very stressed and appeared overstretched. Parking OK but at some distance from the property. Bar downstairs was not very friendly.

    Fantastic location in dead centre of one of tve most beautiful villages in Alsace. The hotel itself was also very attractive. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Triple/ Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in the eaves - only because of getting cases to room.

    Lovely historic hotel in a fabulous cobble stone village. Beautiful area to visit - we will be back as on this occasion, it was a short stay on route back north to get ferry back to UK. Close to the German boarder, it is easy to see the mix of German and French influence.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a gem of a town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioning Chocolate in the muesli!

    Brilliant location. Quieter side street (except for the loud striking of church clock as we had windows open in the heat) Great restaurant next door Comfy room, characterful decor, clean Parking available for €6 a day which is cheap for the area- but don’t follow your sat nav and drive into town. Park outside the walls and get the key fob to the car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    The room was comfortable and nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. Parking was convenient, just down the street in a private lot. It was half a block walk to the main pedestrian street in the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location, right in the heart of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, right in the heart of town. Easy walking distance for bringing luggage in as there are no vehicles allowed in town. Lift for those with mobility or heavy luggage issues. Coffee maker provided. Quant breakfast room. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    The perfect romantic stay for a couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very romantic, in typical French style, in an old building in the very centre of the town. The decoration was great and met my expections. The staff was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Initial directions-were a bit confusing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was not needed, there was no AC in our room. Comforter on bed was too warm. A top sheet would have been good. Better directions to location, as it is in the center of a very small, walled town. But on approach, by going to the right, then left there is a large sign showing the small walkway directly to the hotel, parking could be difficult depending on the time until you checked in and had access to their secure, gated parking area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    Very unpleasant staff and experience. They dislike young people and guests booking via Booking.com!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unpleasant staff and experience! Don't book this hotel if you're under 50 yrs old as the staff clearly don't like young couples! They treated their guests well expect for us because... well we were young and for some reasons they don't like young people, even if they pay and behave like any other guests. Shameful! We also booked a double bed room making sure to mention we wanted a double bed but we were given a room with two single beds at our arrival. The staff didn't apologise or try to help, instead they told us we should'nt have booked via Booking.com. In that case, I suggest they stop advertising their hotel on Booking.com and proudly display their Booking.com rating in the hotel lobby. Not too mention the mouldy shower, which shocked me less than their rude behaviour! I woudln't recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.4
    we had booked for two nights but checked out after one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was on rwo levels, the bed could only be reached by a narrow very steep stair way for which one had to bend almost double to get through a cut out in the floor to the top. The church bells could be heard clearly and rang the half and full hour throughout the night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly larger range at breakfast would have been nice perhaps.

    Wonderful character, family run hotel in an idyllic village. Friendly, helpful owners. A return visit and looking forward to the next one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in charming Alsace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing at all!

    A gorgeous hotel in a charming Alsace town. Staff was sweet, spoke very good English (which was very appreciated since my French was non existent). We were there during a hot streak, but the rooms all had fans which helped move the air and keep us comfortable. Breakfast was fine, but not a super great deal with a bakery close by. Bar downstairs was great for a later evening glass of Pinot Gris before bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    A beautiful place to visit definitely not to be missed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small and it had a shower curtain which made it seem even smaller, weak water pressure but plenty hot enough, not really a complaint just a comment. The bar man ( in the hotels basement bar) was VERY grumpy and no customer service but it was entertaining in the end!!

    Very helpful receptionist, gave us feather free pillows & a sheet (it was very hot & the bed had a duvet on) we arrived late due to traffic, it was no problem at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location in a beautiful old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some small issues in the room: the attachment for the shower head was broken meaning it could not be fixed on the wall; the fan supplied in the room didn't provide any cooling; and the bed was made for winter despite it being a hot summer day!

    Great location in a beautiful old building. Staff were very helpful. Room was comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was overpriced for what you actually received. Air conditioning could be nice as well. It's too loud to open the windows at night to cool down.

    Great location right in the heart of the town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Good private parking for the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful little place in Riquewihr old town. Owners of the hotel hold nice collection of antique objects which adds character to the place. Nice staff. Bed was firm and perfect for those who like it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location but avoid room 19
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was okay but room no 19.....we were not warned of mezzanine bed at top of very steep stairs.....very dangerous and would be a problem with someone with limited mobility....didn't help with a power cut....dangerous room if you need to use toilet in the night.....

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. The fan provided was very noisy when it's on but the wind was very weak. If you open the window, others would see you clearly in the room.

    Nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    A must see and visit ( but only once)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great, but they started early, and had a jovial chat in the street at 7:30am right under our window, which we had open because it was so hot,and the room only had a fan for cooling. ( no air con). The village food is very poor. All or most have the same menus. ( why does this happen?), Tart flambé a local pastry and cream tart, or rubbish pizza everywhere. Poor or no vegetarian options.

    Great old quirky property in the heart of a historic setting. Not a modern 5star, but I'm not a modern 5 star fan.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Good value and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it's hard to drive through the old town, it would be great if the hotel could send detailed parking directions upon booking a parking spot.

    Our small but sweet room was the perfect base from which to enjoy Riquewihr for an overnight. The firm bed and soft, cozy bedding was especially comfortable, and the charming courtyard a lovely place to relax a bit while still enjoying Riquewihr's charming atmosphere. Good value overall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    4.2
    Quaint hotel spoiled completely by the cigarette filled smell of reception at night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A terrible shame..We arrived at night and it was if smoking was permitted inside. The reception smelt so badly that I struggled not to choke on it. It was a shame as clearly the owners were not there at this time of night and I am sure this wouldn't have been accepted. It out us of having breakfast completely which is situated within the same area.. Rooms were very simple and reasonable clean

    very quaint. traditional hotel with incredible character.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    5.8
    Don't stay in January
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Triple/ Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid more through booking.com than their advertised price at the reception. Plus we visited on the 9th and 10th of January and the majority of the town was closed!!!! I think we were their only clients. There was only one restaurant open in the whole town!! I don't recommend visiting early January. Would probably be great other times of the year.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Charming hotel in a quaint town
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming hotel on a quiet street off the main area of the city. Close to the walled exit towards their private outside parking lot. Hotel is well maintained and full of ambiance. Our room was lovely and comfortable. SUPER towels. Wifi was a little complicated but no issue. Recommended restaurants were all very good. Breakfast in the morning was nice. A great stay. I would highly recommend this hotel. Enjoy!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    8.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really don't like when they put two twins together as a double/full, but I guess that makes it easier.

    Location was great. Our room was next to the stairs/elevator, but it wasn't noisy at night. There's a quaint bar in the basement. And you're near the main area full of restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful little place in the heart of Riquewihr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little expensive maybe but of course we had the option of eating out so its fine.

    Beautiful little place in the heart of Riquewihr. Amazing staff, smooth check in process, cosy and clean room. You don't need anything else really!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.3
    Quaint hotel in walled city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our top floor room was small and the bathroom was oddly configured.

    This is a small quaint hotel within the walled city. Our view of the vineyards was spectacular. The bed was comfortable. Appreciated the elevator.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Delightful but B&B rather than a Hotel. Very Quiet. Great quality of towels and toiletries.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited TV channels. No English News. Were expecting something more than continental breakfast i.e, Eggs? Nevertheless the food quality was v.good. .

    Tea/Coffee making facility in the room. Very quiet location. Secure Parking. Fresh fruit salad at breakfast. Range of Teas and a delightful dining room. Pretty inner courtyard (for the summer).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.3
    Right in the heart of Riquewihr;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited Alsace during what must have been the hottest weekend this year - we got a top floor room, facing east - no aircon. It was hot, we couldn't sleep; there was a fan provided, but it was so loud that we had to turn it off for the night and around 6am the sun would start shining straight into our window. Internet didn't work on our floor.

    Right in the heart of Riquewihr; cute Alsatian decor throughout; friendly staff. Room and bathroom were spacious, antique wardrobe in the room, minibar.Decent breakfast selection. No problem with luggage storage for few hours on the departure day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    A lovely inn in a charming village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were having trouble with the wifi internet at the time of our visit. It was frustrating for everyone. I hope it's now resolved, but I have to warn people who depend on a reliable wifi connection as we do. (My husband works remotely for a couple of hours most days when we are abroad). We were able to get a better signal in the main building in a sitting area we had access to at any time. Just not as convenient as accessing wifi from our room, especially being across the street.

    It's a charming place well-located near the edge of the old village, so a very easy walk in from the parking (which is not included, but has a small charge). We were in a separate building across the cobbled street. The room was a bit tight space-wise, but we're not that fussy. The problem is always where to put the suitcases. I really liked the large bathroom. I put my 22" wheelie bag on the windowsill! My husband used the floor. I really wish hotels would provide 2 luggage racks. This room did not even have one, but we figured it out. Breakfast was excellent, though we thought 13 euros was a bit high priced, and one day at a nearby cafe for 10 euros each.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    Quirky!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that springs to mind!

    Great Location and quirky property which was lovely. Comfortable room and friendly staff. No air conditioning but this is in keeping with the unusual layout of the hotel and a fan was provided which greatly helped!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Location good in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room and bathroom. Breakfast poor. Staff varied between very helpful and rather unhelpful.

    Location good in town. Parking nearby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Winnie & Wilbur Broomstick Trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing all excellent

    everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Sensational
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Riquewihr is amazing, and l’oriel stay in a charming place. Beatifull hotel, amazing recepcionist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    the internal decorations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the internal decorations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.6
    I prefer not to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was ridiculously small with a bed to match. Our welcome was a shambles.

    Very little

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    It is a wonderfully centrally located accomodation which I would recommend to others.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was fantastic and very attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Bed and pillows uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows uncomfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    In centre of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In centre of old town. We booked this week so we could see the Christmas markets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    The staff were friendly, quiet and comfortable room for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small, but cosy.

    The staff were friendly, quiet and comfortable room for couple. Very central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    The women who ran the hotel were accommodating and helped with a problem I had but room was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tiny and badly in need of an update

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    Good not wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned in many ways

    Location , parking facility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Idilic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Spacious rooms. Lovely shower room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended place to stay in the village!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room can be brighter

    The location is great and the staff are friendly!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    A very romantic hotel, I enjoyed my stay there very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy and friendly hotel definitely worth to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Wow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Lovely, comfortable hotel. Amazing value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in room 8 which was nice and peace full

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Rustic hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not included and would have cost 13 Euros each.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking in the bar

    Very nice bathrooms in the rooms and they answered all our questions and helped with dinner reservation. Great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Location decorating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was tiny!

    Location decorating staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.0
    Breakfast and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room

    Breakfast and the staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    The location was great!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Triple/ Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    A comfortable stay at L'Oriel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and welcoming staff Parking is just a short walk round the corner

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    the amenity, the breakfast, the designe of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lift was a bit difficult to use. The old people can not be patient to wait for its movement.

    the amenity, the breakfast, the designe of the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.3
    Location was perfect and the town is amazing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect and the town is amazing. Also, parking in the city is limited and they have a reasonably priced private lot.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.3
    Charming Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard.

    Charming property in a beautiful village.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Reception went out of their way to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good would stay again.

    Reception went out of their way to help. Home away from home,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    Excelent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were most uncomfortable

    Location, The town, wine and the wife loved the xmas shop

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.8
    The personnel was quite friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite hard. And wifi didn't work.

    The personnel was quite friendly. And breakfast was quite ok!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    Quiet except church bells
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet except church bells

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    7.9
    Cute, funky "typical Alsacean" boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room pretty cramped- but you're only there to sleep, so it doesn't really matter.,

    Cute, funky "typical Alsacean" boutique hotel. Very old world feeling. The waiter we had at the breakfast (wonderful buffet) was awesome- fluent in French, German, and English. Gave us tips of places to go and helped us plan our week's trip to Bavaria. Great conversation! This is not an "upscale" kind of place- but if you want something local and charming, if a little on the quirky side, we'd recommend. We'd stay again if ever were in Riquewihr.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful location right in the middle of town with a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms are a little small, with no couch area for sitting, but for one night over the weekend, it was doable.

    Wonderful location right in the middle of town with a nice breakfast available. The staff was very friendly and you are able to reserve a parking spot, which comes in handy!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Very charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, it was terrific.

    Very charming!! Wonderful breakfast. The mattress was also great, and the big, modern bathroom was a really pleasant surprise in the historic, very lovely building. Super-friendly staff. The private parking was really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    8.3
    The hotel is located just in the center ville.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi did not work in the room but just in the lobby.

    The hotel is located just in the center ville. For a 3 star hotel, we really liked the room, specially the bed which was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    In the hotel, just about everything was very nice, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The following issues do not concern the hotel directly, but you should know them before coming to this place: (1) Public transportation is horrible. There are only a few buses to Colmar per day, on Sunday there is no bus at all, you have to take at taxi! (2) Unfortunately, the so-called "pedestrian zone" in Riquewihr is full of cars (not surprisingly, given the miserable public transportation). Of course, the nice hotel is not to blame for any of this. But some tourist organization or local governement should work to get cars out of the village, and to improve public transportation.

    In the hotel, just about everything was very nice, I certainly recommend the hotel. No dining facility in the hotel, but staff are very helpful to make reservations in the nearby restaurants (and there are many excellent restaurants around).

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    4.2
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was a long way away so carrying suitcases was a real problem. The lift was too small, bathroom was dark and very smelly, hardly any lighting. The whole place stank and we had to open the windows all night. Receptionist was not even friendly!

    Not much. Not even the expensive breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.3
    Staff was really friendly and breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was a bit too hard for my liking and the sheets were too warm.

    Staff was really friendly and breakfast was good. Good restaurants in the neighbourhood and a wine bar across the street.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff are very nice,even made a bed in the room for our...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing worth talking about.

    The staff are very nice,even made a bed in the room for our dog.?very cozy room with good bath and very good bed. Good breakfast and good coffee. What more can you ask for. Thanks to you all ,and you will see us again. S

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    The location was wonderful and if you ask, there is private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Internet did not allow FaceTime in the main building for three days, and the fan in the room was taken without asking if we needed it. Our additional room was in an adjacent building with internet but no service.

    The location was wonderful and if you ask, there is private parking. The main building room had a lift, bath and bed were very comfortable and up to date. The additional room was in an adjacent building and the room had a basic double bed.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    This was my second stay and this little charmer just keeps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking can be difficult if you arrive early in the afternoon, but this is only for the purpose of unloading your luggage. Ask beforehand about their private lot conveniently located right outside the walls. It's well worth the small parking fee.

    This was my second stay and this little charmer just keeps getting better. It also has the added value of a lift to the first floor which is great for that excess baggage. And it's perfectly located in one of the most picturesque of the Alsatian villages...best enjoyed after the day trippers have gone.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff was super friendly and responsive to every need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The window would not stay closed; they said they were waiting on a repairman, but it was cold! There was not elevator access to our room. Not a single TV Channel was in English. Despite these small things, I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    The staff was super friendly and responsive to every need. The decor was as charming as you could imagine. The breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very hot; windows opened over a courtyard and in direct line with an open, lit hallway. The only way to get air was to allow passersby to look right into the room.

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    nice central courtyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    less luxurious than I expected since it was recommended in Karen Brown's "Charming Inns of France"; it needed some sprucing up. Church bells always chiming but fortunately didn't keep us awake

    nice central courtyard good location comfortable room nice bathroom nice staff

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful location, quiet, centuries old hotel with total...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location, quiet, centuries old hotel with total charm. wonderful breakfast, secure parking, cool bar, wonderful people at any shift! easy to see the area on public transport, or car.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    This is a lovely hotel and an excellent base to explore...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a lovely hotel and an excellent base to explore Alsace. Great location in the walking area of the picture-book town, nice room, very good breakfast, good parking.

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel à l'Oriel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: