Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abacus Hôtel 2 stars

23 Bis, Bd Aristide Briand, 17200 Royan, France

#30 of 42 hotels in Royan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the breakfast room was poor. We had told them in advance that I was coeliac and ate gluten-free food and we brought our own bread for toasting and our own cornflakes. Yet we had serious trouble trying to get the bread toasted and milk for the cornflakes.

    The bedroom was fine and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room with shared shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A clean toilet would have been good ours was smelly not clean. Breakfast was not worth having the shower room was out of use! If its raining how do you eat outside on the. terrace which was shabby and unkempt went out for a meal and were locked out

    Absolutely awful disgustingly dirty, Nothing to like!☹️

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late around 11 pm, the old man (the receptionist) tried to call us twice and left us a voice message with the instructions to follow ( the digicode, the key to the room etc..), he was hyper nice in his voice msg, he repeated many times the instructions and in the morning he was very warm in his welcoming and helped us to find where to go to discover the city. The bed was good but not super comfortable, the toilet system is weird a bit old, but overall it was clean and good. The location of the hotel is perfect to discover the main attractions (the beach which is 3 minutes walking, the church, the main street....)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On busy days parking can be a little difficult. Get there very early or late and parking outside is safe and close to the hotel

    Very friendly staff polite and attentive, breakfast outside on patio with an excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with One Double Bed + One Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air con or fans in rooms Staff had absolutely no idea how to welcome guests Am amazed this hotel is recommended by booking.com must be WORST hotel we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in a lot!!!

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room with shared shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is outside and it was cold! 2 tv controls which have to both be used to control the TV.

    Emailed in advance to say I'd have a bike I'd like to store but it was only sorted after a fuss on arrival. Good value if you don't expect luxury

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't use the bath needed a lot of attention, cracked around ug and around top of bath

    Location and helpfulness of staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room with shared shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little shabby rooms

    Very relaxed and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No English channels available on tv.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Nice roof terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with One Double Bed + One Single Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big problems with cleanness...rates displayed in the hotel lower than the ones we got thru booking.com

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with One Double Bed + One Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs

    Lovely breakfast situated on the sun roof... beds comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Room with shared shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insonorisation

    La terrasse accessible 24h/24h

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room with shared shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location close to restaurants and easy to get to ferry

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Within the price range - nothing

    Clean, friendly, comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit frugal.

    Good room and shower/bath. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I also had a problem getting in as the front door closes at about 8pm and the owner said he had told me the code but I didn't get it - anyway I range the number having worked out the dialing code for France was +33 and I did get a quick answer although he seemed a bit put out ! Make sure you get the front door code

    Friendly staff & good location - the hotel was clean & comfortable

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shared shower on different floor.

    Convenient for harbour side cafes, restaurants, town side market. Owner put bike in storeroom for overnight. Breakfast on 1st floor terrace.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were absolutely lovely. Really quaint hotel in a fantastic central location.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location for town.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff nice and freindly.very polite and helpful.in the town centre but not at all noisy if you close the shutters .very close to the beaches .

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shared shower on different floor.

    Good location, walking distance to beach, market; calm. Able to put my bicycle in store at back of hotel

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: