Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Abat Jour 2 stars

17, rue Geoffroy Drouet, 44000 Nantes, France

#34 of 109 hotels in Nantes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 515 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice quirky hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception not open very much. No elevator.

    Nice rooms with quirky old furniture and a romantic vibe. Breakfast is good and not expensive. Located right next to the city centre. The hotel has 2 parking spots that they rent out for a very reasonable price!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast , facilities shower good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs bit steep and no lift , fine for younger and fit guests ask for first floor if not ! As otherwise good value and location in a simple setting .

    Good breakfast , facilities shower good .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    The experience was extraordinary after living in a tent for the whole month!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things (the sink, the towel rack) were loose and moved a bit. Since fixing them would have been really easy, then the fact that they had not been fixed was a little odd. But this was definitely a very minor issue that had nothing to do with the overall great experience.

    The staff was really nice and there were no problems even when we arrived much earlier than said. The room was extraordinarily cosy with a view to a cathedral, which made it almost magical!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Great value & location. Questionable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid extra for a “comfort double” (our baby sleeps in the bed with us so we wanted more room) but we’re put in an ordinary double. When we asked if there was a mistake, the man (I think the owner) told us he assumed we wanted to be on a lower floor as we had a baby. This makes no sense and is certainly not his call. That’s best case scenario. Worst case is he wanted to dupe us and sell it to someone else. Maybe it’s just “cutting corners” from his point of view but still theft. Make sure you check if you order the same!

    The location is perfect. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom very small. Perfect for a long weekend. Not suitable for a longer stay.

    Very welcoming. Owners and staff really pleasant and helpful. Room recently decorated. Bed very comfortable. Location is excellent. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    It is likely to be one of those hotels which you return to time and time again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My initial impression from the outside was not particularly good . I thought it was very downmarket from the appearance and the fact that it was closed in the early afternoon.

    When open, the welcome was very friendly and helpful. Very personal. Clearly an overnight vacation tourist type hotel , not expecting an upmarket business client type clientele . Rooms ideal and of good style , comfort and facility. . Ideally placed for the tourist. Prices are good except for the 3 person room which i thought was just a little expensive. Breakfast ideal . Surrounding area ;looks a little down market but is acceptable and is really convenient for city centre activities and is great of parking .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    The design is a bit kitsch and the place looks old, yet...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design is a bit kitsch and the place looks old, yet actually all worked, the bathroom was super clean and the bed comfy. It’s close to the gardens, too. No design awards, yet all safe and good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    So lucky to have discovered this little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A neighbour playing abba hits loudly at 3.30 am but cant blame hotel for that

    Our host was great. Secure motorcycle parking available. This hotel is beautifully decorated and our room was the most gorgeous space. Local area is quite bohemian with lots of little bars and cafes but just steps from city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Not clear had to pay for parking and no one available when arrived or were looking to park was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the room advertised parking (which we assumed to be free) but we were going to be charged 8 euros per night for. It should state parking available but at a cost to the guests and this would be more transparent to enable comparison to other properties that offer free parking. The fact we had to pay for parking and no one available when we arrived or when we were looking to book parking was very poor as it cost us a lot of time and stress with a young family. Rooms furnished to a high standard though noisy in evening/late morning due to central city centre location.

    Rooms finished to a high standard and exceeded expectations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a vintage building in the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom would need some work .. no curtain nor doors in the shower in a tiny room is not very easy to handle!

    Very pretty room and breakfast area, super comfy bed and pillows, very kind staff. Great position. Our room was tiny, which is ok for a short stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel at good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at the fourth floor and no elevator, toilet in a small space in the bathroom. No possibility to make tea or coffee in the room. Sometime difficult to find parking space.

    Good location (10 to 15 minute walk to city centre), clean room, Friendly staff, room was big enough (three person room for two person) and parking close to the hotel. Safe area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for a city weekend good value for a boutique decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small room.I booked one a floor down with balcony but wasn't even given the choice but told this was better another floor up.the breakfast was awful. Go to the cafes by the river.

    Beautifully made up boutique rooms but tiny.great location for the river and central for the city. Nantes is a fantastic beautiful original city. The art is incredible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Good place for weekend in Nantes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff speaks very limited English. We got by with our very limited French, but no French at all may present problems.

    Nice little hotel in a good location near everything in Nantes - no more than 10 min to any place of tourist's interest. Good size room. They only have parking (outdoor) for 1 car, so you need to reserve it, or you may be out of luck. Nice very friendly stuff, good-size, well decorated, clean room. Fairly priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.3
    Very unhappy on all fronts.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat half off although repaired slightly when pointed out. Table leg half off. Given a used by another map of city although these come free to the hotels from tourist bureau ( all written on & not even folded properly just a ratty old map). Hairdryer dirty & only blowing cold so useless. Shabby chic style but much just shabby. Within 5 minutes of booking price reduced from 69 euro to 55 of which I informed both booking.com & the hotel but no adjustment was made although payment was not made until we arrived at hotel so should have honoured the lower price which was still current as well. Feeling ripped off.

    Towels & bedding were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Shabby-chic in a classic French city setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could be picky, but...

    Yeah. All that. Really nice people, quirky little hotel. Fabulous roofscape from our top-floor room and completely central location with everything we wanted on our doorstep. Excellent wine bar round the corner and lovely little Italian restaurant opposite. All v.cheap. Excellent value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Friendly nice little hotel in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little nice hotel, perfect location in the centre. You are able to park close to it in a car park by your own, the streets around are full. Our room was small but new an comfortable. There is no lift. The Breakfast was good. The host was very friendly. The castle and other sightseeing points are close to it, you can go by feed and enjoy the city. Tipp: have a look at the opening hours of the reception before you arrive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location, good value, makes Nantes very accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is nicely decorated enough but I felt need to open the window and then you get a fair amount of street noise. This is despite my staying on a very quiet night.

    Very convenient location, right by lots of restaurants etc. just a few minutes walk into town centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money, very clean room & bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was on the 4th floor and there is no lift!

    Excellent value for money, very clean room & bathroom. Great position.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Accessibility to town central and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Accessibility to town central and train station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    As expected -nothing special but value for money and pretty friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View

    clean Value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Very central location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan in the room would be great for air movement

    Very central location, great staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Really good stay in Nantes lots to see around and about .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area is really friendly and easy to get to and from . The hotel is very nice and just does what it needs to , no frills but clean and tidy .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Room clean and comfy, good sized shower. Good continental style breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable accommodation and nice breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good location, rooms are very beautiful for the price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only French tv

    Very good location, rooms are very beautiful for the price paid

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Location was good quick stroll from town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good quick stroll from town centre.well equipped secure parking very near by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Clean tidy and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and modern

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was ideal to visit all the local attractions

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast offering could be improved

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Well located and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were wonderfully friendly and welcoming. Option to check in early was greatly appreciated after early flight. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    WIFI is bad
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI is bad

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    The interior design of the room was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was not available from 14:00 - 17:00

    The interior design of the room was fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay & friendly owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room & friendly proprietor. Great for stopover

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow WiFi connection

    Clean and comfortable room. Friendly and professional service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    Little vintage place, well situatet when travelling by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Appearance is a little old-fashioned

    Breakfast ok; Large carpark around corner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    It feels like home..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We need a mini bar in the room

    The hospitality of the stuff ..very clean room,a great location in Nantes nearby the center..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    bigger room than expected very comfortable bed bathroom...
    • Solo traveller

    no lift but no big deal

    bigger room than expected very comfortable bed bathroom recently refurbished with great shower clean and well maintained good building security with passcode for 24 hour access excellent location 10/15 min walk to station and less to cathedral and restaurants and bars

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    6.7
    The hotel was well located with the cathedral parking just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were on the 4th floor with no lift! The bed was small and very uncomfortable. The toilet was situated too close to the sink so difficult to sit on.

    The hotel was well located with the cathedral parking just nearby

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    10
    The room is big and warm, you feel like at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is big and warm, you feel like at home! Cheap and so close to all! Really a pleasent staying!!! The staff is very kind ! Thanks for all !! If i go back to Nantes again i will come there for sure!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    6.3
    The room was adorable and the bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Where to begin? It was a national holiday so perhaps that might be the excuse for some of the following: I couldn't get in. The reception was closed during lunch, after lunch, and in the evening after dinner. I had to use the call button to be let in to get my key which was left in an envelope on top of the dresser in the hallway. My room was on the 4th floor with 52 stairs. I wish I would have known this. I have both knee and feet issues. I was not given a code to enter the hotel so I couldn't get back in after dinner. I had helpful strangers call the hotel number for me. The two lamps on the sides of the bed and the above light did not work. The bathroom sink drain was stuck closed so the water backed up and didn't drain. A towel was wrapped tightly around the bathtub/shower faucet as if to say, out of order. I had to wait until after 11pm for someone to come to help solve the issues. The gentleman was in a huge hurry. One of the lamps was not plugged in, though it was impossible to see this in the pitch dark. Another has a burnt out light bulb that was never replaced for me. I was asked about breakfast and explained that I had to leave by 7am (breakfast begins at 8am). The reception should open at 7am. I waited from 6:50 until 7:10 and nobody came. I needed to return my huge, heavy key and get directions to the bus and tram. I was told the previous evening to do it in the morning, but alas no one was there. A shame.

    The room was adorable and the bed comfortable. The internet connection was good. The desk is cute and matches the other furniture, but it is tiny. The location is a 10-15 minute walk to most of the main attractions.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Had a great French feel/style;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was on 4th floor, no elevator, and we had too much luggage/ did not travel light enough!

    Had a great French feel/style; yet met all the expectations/services of a larger hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    9.6
    The owner was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable. The quiet room and the good bed made me sleep very good. The location is excellent, just a couple of minutes to Gare du Nord and just as close to the cathedral and many restaurants. Finally, the tasty coffee for breakfast made me fit for the day.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.9
    Although it is a little way from the centre we really liked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although it is a little way from the centre we really liked the area and for us it was great to discover a new part of Nantes. The staff were also very friendly

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.8
    l'independance du studio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    l'independance du studio

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    7.5
    It was a romantic room, with a great shower, and a brand...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the decoration, i didn't appreciate plastic flowers.

    It was a romantic room, with a great shower, and a brand new bathroom

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    5.4
    The price was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee facilities in our room

    The price was very good

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing bad to report

    Quiet

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    The owner, Louis, was very helpful, the room delightfully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner, Louis, was very helpful, the room delightfully appointed, and was very well positioned for the city centre

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    7.5
    Bed, Breakfast & Beverages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed, Breakfast & Beverages

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: