Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hôtel de l'Abbaye 3 stars

2 Quai de l'Abbaye, 45190 Beaugency, France

#4 of 8 hotels in Beaugency

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 628 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    We have stayed here several times now and love the building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need updating. Also the breakfasts, which are excellent, lack adequate gluten free alternatives. There is no gluten free bread offered at all and these days there are some reasonable alternatives.

    We have stayed here several times now and love the building and it’s environment. There is much of the old Abbey still very present. The Loire is magnifient here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Good in parts but sadly lacking in others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Full of almost empty jam jars. Strange 'health' powders, pills and drink. Dry cake. Awful coffee. Nothing hot apart from boiled eggs. Very little fruit and cereal. Not worth 16 euros. Staff etiquette very lacking. No eye contact on greeting and busy doing anything that didn’t involve checking in and out of guests promptly.

    Bath. Big bed. Atmospheric building with cd playing monks chanting. Parking. Lovely view of river and bridge at breakfast time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Very brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no electricity in the evening of the main socket when I close the lights. The breakfast is a little bit expensive.

    The loft room is wonderful. With very good location and brilliant river view. Very close to the castle,and walk to the town centre and restaurant only a few minutes. The service is good,they do speak English,this makes me very happy because I travel here. The breakfast is good and special,I really like the fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Completely blew us away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, not overbearing. The room was magnificent and not at all cramped. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel is central to the town so looking round was a short walk around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Always a pleasure
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise outside from the river party / fete, but this is not the fault of the hotel.

    The staff are always friendly and welcoming, the hotel is absolutely beautiful inside and the food on an evening is faultless. Breakfast has a great variety of in house made / cooked breads, pastries, pancakes, cakes and there are a great selection of meats, cheeses, jams and honey. The orange juice machine and coffee machine does not disappoint either. The only downside on this visit was that it coincided with some kind of outside party on the river side, so the music did not go off until 11.30pm and our room was on the side of the river, so not a great night sleep. But every other time we have stayed it has been off peak so noise has never been a problem. We will always recommend a visit here and we will always come back each time we drive over to France.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful building, simply but elegantly decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they would do food in the evening - such a great location and high standard of food at breakfast

    Wonderful building, simply but elegantly decorated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    More in Sorrow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the 20th room in an 18 bedroom hotel. We should have known better. Not what we expected but the same price, we believe, as the rest of the much more impressive hotel. Lack of toiletries of any sort, even a bar of soap in the tiny bathroom. Lack of privacy. The glazed door opening onto the terrace was uncurtained and the blind difficult to use. Our over cooked and inedible dinner that night. Massive disappointment on our 50th Anniversary.

    Very nice breakfast in wonderful historic room with a view of the Loire. Attractive friendly young staff. Marvellous location. Spectacular architecture. Beautiful tree lined terrace facing the river. Quirky connection with monastic produce, foods, Trappist beers etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful Hotel, in a cute village, super location!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was quite disappointed that the restaurant was only open on weekends-was really looking forward to the medieval rotisserie meal! (on the reviews I heard the opposite, but perhaps in summer things change). We were there on a Wednesday, but had no problem finding a cute place, just wandering the streets in the lovely village was so wonderful, so quiet and not packed with tourists!

    What a magnificent place! The hotel is an old monastery and still connected to the old Abbey! We had a room with access to the little garden which bordered the abbey walls, including a view of the hotel and the Loire River...amazing!!! My cat really enjoyed the garden too! Strolling thru the village was so nice and tranquil! Challenge: Make sure you find the road(s) with a small canal running down the middle, bordered on each side by flowers!!! I have never seen anything like it in europe! really special! and of course along each side are lovely cafés and restos! The brekki was wonderful (especially after a nice run along the Loire river!) all the food is organic, from the local abbeys and monasteries!! Bread was exceptional with several varieties! We try to never go back to the same place twice, but this might be an exception!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    Probably the worst & worst overpriced dinner we had in...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably the worst & worst overpriced dinner we had in France during a month in the country. Understaffed & some of the staff really didn't care.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Historic accomotadion in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Authentic accomodation with a nice location

    The hotel with its renovated and authentic rooms were respective to the era that the hotel projects. The suite was large enough to accomodate the 4 people and the athmosphere was nice according to the general feeling of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    A night in Beaugency
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. No fruit available, cereal options limited and had run out of croissants at 9.30am.

    Location was great. Staff friendly but seemed hassled.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay in Beaugency
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows have beautiful view, but face the road, making it difficult to fall sleep at night. A little fan would be nice Couldn't try the restaurant as it was only opening on weekends

    EVERYTHING The place is amazing and makes you feel like living in medieval times. The staffs were helpful, even tho reception closes at 10pm Absolutely beautiful breakfast facing Loire river Would love to stay longer <3

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely building but lacking some comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overhead shower didn't seem to work. Curtain problems. Bed creaky.

    Lovely old building with atmospheric lounge, bar, breakfast room. Next to the river with balcony outside. Main staff contact spoke excellent English (although 2nd one did not).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Magnificent Abbey hotel experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to get our luggage to 2nd floor (up 65 steps!)

    Location, historic character, its terrace, superb all-organic breakfast, rotisserie night in the restaurant, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, if you choose one of their best rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was nicely decorated, unfortunately our room (#19) seemed very old and not very clean (wc + carpet). Plus it's located just next to the restaurant bathrooms which made us feel quite uncomfortable.

    The hotel was very well located ; the staff was friendly and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    History, good foid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is a historic building, the heating is not that good...take a jumper! But the shower is good and very hot. There could be more space in the bathroom to store your belongings

    Breakfast is excellent and original, with products from monasteries. The bread is to die for! The evening meal was delicious, meat or fish roasted in the huge chimney. The building is beautiful, Beaugency a very nice place and ideal to visit the castle. Very friendly welcome, the staff really cares.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Peaceful and relaxing in a rustic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal on Sunday meant we ventured out to one of the restaurants in the old town - delightful.

    Unique style. Spiritual place with many historic features.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Historic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were efficient but could have smiled a little.

    An amazing place to stay and enjoy Beaugency. Such an historic building, you could smell the history. Beautifully restored and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Magical stay in Beaugency
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very cold when we arrived, a few of staff members weren't friendly . Tea/coffee in the room would have been a big improvement ( we had to buy in the lobby for 3 euros )

    Magical and quiet place near the Loire. Fireplace with games, great breakfast, view on the river, beautiful old and authentic building., they village is very nice. Great value for money !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    An absolutely magical building and beautiful location- but needs a good scrub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the sheets and towels were clean and the bed was nicely made up, the bathroom and toilet needed attention. Dust and grime on the floors and walls that hadn't been cleaned for a very long time. A badly leaking shower that was pouring huge amounts of water on the floor and had already rotted the floorboards. This is a real shame as the hotel building is so beautiful it deserves some extra care and attention.

    The historic building is absolutely beautiful and full of atmosphere. The room was a good size with interesting decor and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    10 out of 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all, just a shame their restaurant was not open when we visited. We will make sure we visit during the spring and summer seasons when they are open.

    The interior is grand and exquisite, our room was elegant and large (excellent value for money), the staff were very friendly and the continental breakfast buffet was exceptional (such a variety to choose from)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, beautiful view, charming building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was not available at the property, which would have been a bonus. This was not unexpected when we booked, so it was not a problem.

    Our room had a beautiful view of the bridge and river.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Excellent. I've been there twice, and I strongly recomend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast, room and location. It's a charming time capsule, in a pleasant village, excellent as a base to reach Loire Valley's Castles.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Wish we could have stayed longer to explore medieval town of Beaugency.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could use more comfortable seating in the rooms.

    Loved the authentic medieval history of the abbey. Ambiance was charming. Great location on the Loire. Staircase alone was amazing. Restaurant was very good. One of the highlights of the trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Very much enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath comfortable for a tall person, a little tired.

    The History of the Building it being an old Abbey. Marvellous. Breakfast was superb. A sheer delight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    Shabby chic - or just dirty?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we were surprised to see that the outside of the property (hotel sign, windows, walls etc) were all covered with cobwebs - really thick cobwebs. However it was clean inside. We didn't eat here because the restaurant was too expensive.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BOOKING.COM getting the dates of our stay wrong!!!

    The Hotel is very old and has lots of charm, the breakfast was fabulous and the staff couldn't be more helpful. When we arrived at this hotel, BOOKING.COM had advised the hotel that we would be there 2 days before we had booked, not the dates on the confirmation via their app - this was NOT the fault of the hotel, it was the fault of BOOKING.COM, the hotel were very very helpful and did manage to put us in the only room that they had available that night. All in all a nice charming hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Romantic stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking place is quite small, especially when there are so many guests in the hotel during summer season; on the other hand the public parking is right the corner, so the shortage of the place did not make a big problem.

    Good location to explore the town and areas around; very helpful staff, not only by helping with luggage but providing tourist information and good ideas. In total, atmosphere of the hotel is relaxing, calm, and somehow mysterious. Monk chants in the lobby adds additional romanticism to it. There was a piano in the lobby - good to play a musical composition or repeat what has been learned.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Mystic stay on the Loire
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fabulous toile de jouy wallpaper/fabric was a bit worse for wear and had mold in numerous places. However, I would imagine that with the humidity of the building and the proximity to the river, that this is difficult to control.

    The staff was courteous. The restaurant was great. The location is superb. The town is wonderful. The former monastery is amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.2
    Overprice hotel without much interest out of the historical aspect ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I specifically asked for a parking but there is only 8 parking spaces and other guests were poorly parked, not allowing me to park inside the hotel. I had to go to park outside, with a car full of luggagee, very unconvenient . - TV was small ( more like a computer screen) - No lift which is very bad when you must carry a 15/20 kg luggage - No staff ! to help you - No restaurant ! pictures of food in the chemney on Booking should not be there

    The only valuable point of this place is the fact it is an old Abbey. for the rest the stay was pretty Mediocre. I specifically asked for a parking but there is only 8 parking spaces and other guests were poorly parked, not allowing me to park inside the hotel. I had to go to park outside, with a car full of luggagee, very unconvenient .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely position, very comfortable & good food. Lovely terrace overlooking the Loire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow dinner service. Room hot & noisy at first with windows open.

    Lovely atmosphere. Very friendly booking in. Many stairs, if on top floor not easy with suitcases. Very good dinner cooked inside on open fire. Excellent breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice by machine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Okay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very old building with antique furnishings. Beware that people who are more than 170cm tall might have to be extra careful with the ceilings and doorways.

    It is a very old building with antique furnishings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    Monumental Building next to water :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Not enough parking place - Many pictures of Food at booking / No active restaurant? - Communication with the Hotel was a bit difficult - No Allergy free room - Bar closes at 11 pm - No staff after 11 pm

    - Historical Location - Monumental Building - Great Breakfast view - Central

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Hotel with character and charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old building with no lifts and steps to all the rooms, so not good for elderly or infirm. Breakfast is good but pricey. Drinks are pricey too but it's in keeping with the level of quality of the hotel. Car park is not huge, though we have always been able to park each time we've stayed.

    Nice setting in the town but right next to the river. They have retained the old monastery feel with gentle Gregorian chants in the background and tasteful decor. Pleasant bar area with a good range of trappist beers. We were upgraded to a suite as they were not busy. Friendly staff who spoke good English as my French is appalling. Breakfast is good – lots of choice and healthy options in a lovely big old room with lots of character. Parking right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Enjoy your stay as much as we did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location across from the river. Staff was friendly and helpful. Meal out on the terrace was wonderful and dessert an amazing little treat. Nice touch with the music playing in the hallways. Try the PAMPELMOUSSE ROSE WINE, it is delicious if you like a sweeter wine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Drink in the ancient Frecnh, Abbey ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The breakfast experience and the whole ambience of the Abbey architecture and furniture......superb. Do not change a thing. It is our second visit and it will not be our last.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Hotel with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road outside can be noisy. Breakfast is pricey. No lift and it's a long way to top rooms. Limited car parking spaces on-site.

    Nice riverside location. Helpful staff, great location next to the river. Onsite parking though it's limited. Breakfast is good with lots of choice. Trappist beers at the bar. This is a converted Abbey, so lots of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed in room in need of a bit of an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with the restaurant for or dinners, but the breakfast was very good

    The location overlooking the Loire, the historical ambience, the size of the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Back in time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant is not always open and this is such a pitty because the food is excellent prepared. Compliments to the chef!

    Lovely historical building. Excellent breakfast. Friendly people. The town is the ideal location if you want to visit the castles like Blois, Chambord and others. Strongly recommended especially for those who have interest in history, culture and wines.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Medieaval History in comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    less stairs but appreciated this is unavoidable and indeed you think Monks and Prayers as you ascend. So that has to be a BONUS!

    Marvellous Beaugency and very good breakfast. The sense of History being there. The noise of the Loire under that fabulous Bridge, plashing through our open window all night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable, historic weekend away...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want modern all mod cons then this is not for you.....BUT if you want character, history, wonderful setting, the most friendly staff and views to die for then this is where you will want to stay!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Historic building next to the River Loire
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was as it was advertised. Unfortunately the Dinner grille only operated on a Saturday so we missed out on that treat. But nothing negative.

    The hotel was a treat, so atmospheric and a wonderful building right next to the River Loire. Beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only regret is that the restaurant was not open for dinner as it must be a very special affair.

    Stunning place to stay with beautiful rooms in a beautiful hotel! So calm and peaceful and very close to all the major sites. Loved the chanting music they played. The breakfast had all these little touches that made it very special and the best breakfast of our trip!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, ambiance and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only thing I would recommend is to offer guests robes and sleepers during the cold season since we were a bit cold since the temps were unseasonably cold for end April between 8 -15 C.

    The staff especially the head manager was very helpful and nice. The ambiance of the property and location was unforgettable. The weekend dinners are worth trying and the daily breakfast left us full through out the day. The location to nearby castles and medieval cities was great since they were 30 - 60 minutes away and driving back was always pleasure knowing our accommodations were very nice and comfortable! Since we were staying for 7 days, the hotel manager offered to upgrade us to another room for no extra charge which was a pleasant surprise for us!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    the food was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that there was no shower and that the toilet was in a completely separate room away from the bathroom. The decorations were also a little drab and older.

    the food was amazing. some of the best we had on our whole trip

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    All time favourite
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the place and the historic atmosphere. Everything of it. Beautiful room with view on the Loire. Great breakfast with many local products and delicious bread, home made yogurt, marmalades etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay in a character building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal only available on Saturday

    Unique old building. Big room with lots of character. Lounge area with games available. Lovely river view. Convenient parking. Only a short walk to old town and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    Great stopover with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed our stop off here heading back from the French Alps.

    Friendly and helpful staff, great location overlooking the Loire river. Close to medieval town, which has an interesting market on Saturday. Town also has some good restaurants, one of which the receptionist booked for us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    4.6
    Location in Beaugency, nice small city aside the "Loire...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashioned, could be much more attractive with a bit of refurbishement. TV Screen of 26" .. long time have seen such small TV Bathroom looks from the 60'

    Location in Beaugency, nice small city aside the "Loire " River. Parking in the hotel Breakfast with products from the Abbey.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    will certainly go back
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just a suggestion to install glass shower screens in the bathrooms..

    fantastic place, beautiful views, great breakfast, nice people and products to buy from the monastry

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.8
    So glad we chose this hotel for our stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed only one night with a late arrival en route to Spain. The staff was very friendly and recommended a very nice restaurant for dinner. Would have loved to stay longer to explore a bit more.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    A very historic place to stay the night in beautiful Beaugency
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the building's fault but there were so many steps and stairs to negotiate.

    It is a really beautiful historic building which has been made into an interesting and comfortable hotel. Excellent location for the old quarter. The off street parking was a real bonus.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.2
    location, comfy beds, friendly staff, breakfast and ambiance
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to leave our bags or use the toilet before the 3pm check in as the door was closed and locked!

    location, comfy beds, friendly staff, breakfast and ambiance

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    Amazing to be able to stay in such a beautiful historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old abbey with a view to die for. Very kind staff. Drinks in the hotel bar on the pricey side,,but seems to be the norm in this area of France

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    A warm welcome to a very charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs might present a challenge to some. However, the staircases are wide and have rails. The stairs add to the charm of the building.

    This hotel oozes character and atmosphere. It has secure parking, a nice bar and lounge, as well as a restaurant which serves a variety of meat and fish prepared on a huge rotisserie and served with a selection of vegetables. Breakfasts are excellent. The hotel is very well situated. The Château de Beaugency is directly behind the hotel, and there are several restaurants nearby in the old town. Our room had lovely views of the Loire river and a beautiful bridge right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful, wonderful breakfast - with huge choice and lots...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing. On a road tour taking in stays in 13 excellent places and stays in seven countries, this was the best

    Wonderful, wonderful breakfast - with huge choice and lots of healthy options Hotel was like a French parador: full of great historic character, lacking only a full injection of investment to make the absolute most of its qualities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.1
    Beautifully restored abbey, but perhaps not a first choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not up to standard and a disappointment, especially given the price. For example, the coffee machine and soft-boiled egg maker were malfunctioning, the bread was over-baked and charred, and there were layers of cobwebs and moths outside the breakfast area windows. The hotel service in general was spotty depending upon the hour and personnel, from warm and excellent to mediocre and minimal. On average, it was not commensurate with the standing of the hotel. While this hotel is well located in the region and beautifully placed along the banks of the Loire, there is little to see and do in Beaugency itself, with a minimal offering of restaurants.

    The abbey has been wonderfully restored and is gorgeous. You feel and experience history in these venerable corridors and rooms. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The private bathrooms are equipped with modern and well-functioning plumbing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    Wonderful historical experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could do with some maintenance but we understand the cost must be high.

    It was a wonderful experience staying in a 1000 year old building. The manager could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    Lovely building but needs a makeover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and bathroom needed a revamp. No dinner served in the week.

    Great location and building

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, like inside of the fairytale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing, like inside of the fairytale

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Great building and great location/town, room a little basic but fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing disliked, although the family room was a little basic.

    great overall building great location in a nice medieval town easy to find and park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant during the week. The shower was in the bath, but we could not stand upright in shower (we are average height).

    Parking was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    So beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic building and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic building and atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    If you like the autenthic and historic place you must go here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic in front of the hotel and the price was relatively high...

    The breakast and the building was fantastic! A very nice and good atmosphere!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay. Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Beautiful hotel full of history

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, awesome building, nice view over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay, awesome building, nice view over the river at dinner. Will stay again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Hotel staff was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful inn in a great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful building in brilliant setting overlooking River...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful building in brilliant setting overlooking River Loire

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Great medieval building. Certainly full of friendly ghosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exquisitely maintained genuine historical building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    No information about stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information about stairs. Breakfast was not very good, especially the coffee. In my opinion too much choice was offered over quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    perfect, brilliant accomodation. highly recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wish we had booked for longer

    perfect veiw of bridge from room... hotel so cool. best breakfast i have ever had!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mini bar and wardrobe.

    Excellent Location and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect. Photo is view from our room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building, right on the Loire river. Could hear the monks chanting in the evening. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is weak.

    Good location. Historic building. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: