Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix 4 stars

Route du Val-de-Cuech, 13300 Salon-de-Provence, France

#4 of 22 hotels in Salon-de-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    le restaurant. Could be fresher, more authentic and simplier - why pretend? The fitness area was a bit of a joke. Why bother if everything dusty and not taken care of.

    Très grand chambre avec balcon privé. Belle vue. Endroit calm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food over priced especially breakfast and drinks. Room slightly dated. Poor WiFi.

    Beautiful location and building. Very peaceful and traditional. Stunning surroundings. Excellent areas to relax. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no heat when we arrived, no soap in the bathroom, two tissues left in the tissu box, rooms are really badly managed. The restaurant needs to be avoided, very expensive vs. quality.

    The view is amazing, very quiet property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Less staff and some that really took a pride in their job and made one feel genuinely welcome (as per the one and only and ironically trainee on the desk did manage to)

    Overpriced and fairly disinterested in its guests despite being overstaffed. Service in restaurant really appallingly slow and food less good than I had hoped. One man at desk outstanding, setting outstanding, rest disappointing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi was super spotty, pretty much non existent in the room. bed was not comfy at all, pretty hard and no mattress

    super cool to be staying in a old monastery, great view from the bedroom. the hotel was fairly empty so the hotel staff gave us an automatic upgrade for the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was quite good but overpriced, and although the breakfast looked good- was not at all worth the exhorbitant price of 20 euros, so we skipped it. Recommend lowering the breakfast price if not included in room. Desk staff could be more knowledgable about local activities.

    Beautiful setting and charming rooms in a stunning Abbey. Highly recommended for the setting, ambiance, and decor. Fine toileteries, bathrobe, and bedding, along with very comfortable mattress and great views. Peaceful and quiet setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel lobby bar is unpleasant (except for the pooltable). No vending machine nor any drink/food service at swimming pool. Insufficient quantity of food in restaurant (but excellent quality). Friendly courteous staff. Some hotel rooms have a private terrace, that isn't really private because everybody walks by.

    Superb location, on hilltop, gives great views during breakfast/dinner. Nice swimming pool, quiet. Excellent foodquality. Pooltable in hotel lobby bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy wifi. Hardly any, apart from reception area.

    Stunning views, great atmosphere. Luxe suite with a splendid rooftop terrace. Excellent cuisine and wine list. Peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist made a mistake in my bill, when i pointed it out he didn't apologise. I then gave some feedback on the dinner and he didnt seem to care

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit far from the city centre, we booked a taxi to pick us up to have dinner in the centre and it cost about €18 for a seven-minute trip. There were no available cabs to drive us back to the hotel so we painfully managed to get an Uber but not ideal. The swimming pool is beautiful but very quiet (perhaps too quiet?), I tried to place a phone call but was asked by other customers to do my call elsewhere.

    Loved the stunning view, the restaurant has a great menu as well, the service and very friendly/accommodating staff. It feels you are in the heart of Provence, quite paradise-like. The rooms are air conditioned and ideal to relax. Loved the check out at noon (usually at 11.00 in places we stay).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room. No private terrace on our room. Room was very small and dark. Restaurant food was bad and really expensive for what they were.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast - had there been any - might have been 'the icing on the cake' Sadly, a very poor sendoff and one that coloured our experience. Missed opportunity to send your quests away happy.

    Sadly we did not get to taste all that the breakfast had to offer. We arrived late at the Abbey after a very long day's journey. We enjoyed an evening meal and had a relatively late start to the following day - in preparation for the long excursion ahead. We arrived down to breakfast at 10:00am - having been advised that 10:30am was the latest option. One waitress in particular was surly - with an obvious remit - to clear away. We were then left to forage amongst meagre leftovers - flaky croissants - if only! A very sad send off which tainted an otherwise enjoyable stay. We headed off and had breakfast en route.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If i have to pick something: the bar seemed a little sad with no staff working. It didn't bother us though.

    The hotel is immerse in nature, off a lovely road but not fat from Salone en Provence. Very quiet, you can smell rosmary and lavander and hear cicadas. The swimming pool is beautiful and always at a very good temperature. The staff professional and friendly, very happy to help. Our room was a former monk's cell, very charming, not enormous, with an attractive bathroom. All decorated with great taste. And what a lovely touch: a basket was ready for us w9ith towels, paper slippers for the swimming pool and water. We had one of the menus for dinner and it was delicious; breakfast was fabulous. We will go back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Historic restored hilltop abbey from the 9th century with friendly English speaking staff, though almost all guests were French when we were there. Centrally located, yet quiet and out of the way location with an hour or so drive to Aix-en-Provence, Saint Remy, Gordes, Rousillon, Avignon, Arles and Les Baux en Provence. We had a very nice 2nd floor room with very large terrace which had a table and chairs and two chaise lounges. Unfortunately weather in early May was cool and cloudy much of the time so we could not enjoy the lounges for long, nor the wonderful nearby pool area. Our unit had a large and very up-to-date bathroom. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, however as we stayed there 3 nights and the limited (but very good) menu was partially repeated on night 3, we elected to eat elsewhere on the last night, but the dinners were close to Michelin star category. Beautiful views from the rooms and grounds with nearly a 180 degree southern view of this portion of Provence with the Mediterranean in the far distance. The abbey overlooks a French airbase about 3 miles away and the first afternoon there we were treated to what must have been a practice airshow with military jets performing aerobatics over the field. The following two mornings there were practice parachute drops of at least 20 troops each.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was noisy & didn't work well. Furnishings need updating. Poor wifi. Over priced restaurant. Staff at reception was aloof & not helpful at all.

    Beautiful views, country feel, nice pool, free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most clients were couples (mainly young) looking for peace and quiet while reading by the pool. Unfortunately 2 families showed up with young kids and just totally ruined the entire experience (kids screaming and splashing in the water non-stop during the entire afternoon). Given the very essence of this place (and the pricing that goes with it...) the least I would have expected would have been for this place to be babies/young kids-free..or for the hotel staff to not tolerate misbehaving kids, and even to kick them out! I have given this feedback during the check-out but clearly the staff couldnt care less... On a side note, the breakfast is a rip-off. No other option than an "OK" buffet exists (€20/pers) and since the place is remote you really feel robbed if you arent hungry...

    Beautiful location and amenities. Great restaurant (absolutely worth spending on the à la carte menu for a fantastic dinner). Helpful and friendly employees.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The reception and restaurant staff were all very polite and professional. The building is beautiful with an amazing view. Our room is nice and cosy and had a private balcony. After reading mixed reviews on the restaurant, we decided to try their breakfast only. It was worth every penny: the buffet has lots of sweet and savoury choices, great quality ingredients (most seemed homemade, organic or local), and the seating on the terrace with the panoramic view. There are some interesting short walks to do on the estate. Only a short drive 10-min drive from Salon-de-Provence and easy to find with direction signs.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Qualty of food very variable. Steak inedible. No baguettes for breakfast! Weeds on the terrace!

    View from terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the private outside area with two terraces Arrived too late for evening meal but had lovely cheese/ charcuterie platter

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved our room, the peace and quiet and superb dinner and breakfast! Better than we expected!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub is very slippery. Suggest a non-skid mat for it.

    Very comfortable bed, nice towels

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ambience beds food cleanliness conditiob

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location ideal!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Approach to the hotel is actually quite dusty and I do not recommend this to low sport cars

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is breathtaking and the views utstanding

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly. Hotel a little tired. Needs TLC in places.

    Food, views, spa treatment, pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faster pool service

    Every thing, setting, comfort , bed, bathrooms, and particularly the swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything

    Wonderful accommodations and food. Superb staff. A truly marvelous ambiance!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner. Quality-price is NOT justified. Do not have dinner at the hotel.

    O

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in rooms

    Unbelievable views of Salon de Provence Tranquility and nature walks Interior of old buildings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    We love staying at this hotel. High standards all round and charming staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Monacale Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, gorgeous rooms, wonderful dinner and breakfast, great views of S de P and very quiet as set away from the road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be sure to plan ahead after regular lunch and dinner hours and staying from Sunday to Monday due to restaurant not being available. The lunch and dinner can be quite expensive as this place is considered to be more fine dining than in the city.

    Fantastic place with great views, perfect to get away from stressful life. This is a place to relax! English works well. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all great but comes with a cost. If budget is of no issue then this place will be for you.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    We have stayed here before 18 months ago and we were welcomed back like old friends. They gave us a "charm" room with a terrace and splendid views. The food and wine in the restaurant was excellent

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved this historic property and wonderful ambience. You could not beat the great views of Provence. Our room was so authentic and charming and the staff were helpful and attentive. Dinner and breakfast were lovely in the historic setting- very memorable!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Meals were not up to the standard of. previous visit. Only one choice. Just okay. Not great.

    The rooms were fine, just not commensurate with prices. The staff was very helpful, excellent

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wine very expensive and nothing special. We ate one evening meal which was unremarkable for the price and small portions. No wifi in rooms.

    Staff friendly. Breakfast good but at 20 euros each it should be. Great view from the terrace. Character surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive to eat here. Although food is excellent.

    Stunningly beautiful. Quiet. Attentive staff. Peaceful and relaxing. Lovely swimming pool. Stunning views. Comfortable attractive rooms. Lots of interesting nooks and crannies where you can relax.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this spectacular property is looking very "tired"; eg the lavender "hedge" which obstructs the sensational view from the terrace has not been pruned for some years. It is absurd that this obvious and serious ugliness has not been addressed

    Staff are as lovely as ever; and food is excellent

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Restaurant service and food was excellent. All the staff are superbly helpful and spoke good English. Easy to find from Autoroute as there are many clear direction signs. Room was very comfortable. Facilities are very good. Will visit again.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The outer terrace has a great view but can be rather windy in the morning

    Superb location and scenery

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    view, spirit of old monastery

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The price of breakfast buffet!

    Wonderful setting, very unique

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was self service with no replacement of items available

    The view from the terrace is spectacular

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful peaceful setting with an amazing view

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not included.

    Location and setting are phantastic. Great view on Salon and beyond. Great dinner and service. big pool.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Food (lack of choice, incredibly £££) Decor (a bit dull) Nearest town isn't particularly nice

    View

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Incredible view. Wonderful staff.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: