Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbaye de Talloires 4 stars

Chemin des Moines, 74290 Talloires, France

#6 of 16 hotels in Talloires

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An ability to make coffee/tea in the room would have been nice. Breakfast was excellent but expensive at 25E pp

    Location and historical property. A beautiful place. Great walking trails.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our holiday was too short to see everything

    My second short stay in Abbey.Very misteriuous and historic place,secret and convinient .cosy village with beautiful friendly people.food is exelent.good for water sport activities ,running,cycling swiming.In a hall arts exibition.would love to come back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked by chance on the day looking to stay close to Annecy. The location is worth the drive, the staff were welcoming, friendly and well informed, both for the hotel and it’s history. Sylvan the maitre d and Charlie the Sommelier in the dining room were exemplary. The food and wine were a highlight of a skiing road trip. We would recommend a trip down to the wine cellar, an education. The room was quirky and comfortable off the Great Hall of the abbey with a lovely view of the lake. Breakfast was great, again of a very high quality. We wished we could have stayed longer and would definitely stay again if we were travelling that way.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked for 2 adults and 1 child and upon arrival we were informed that they did not know we had a child and there would be an additional cost. I referred the member of staff to the booking which was clearly for 2 adults and 1 child. After a consultation with the manager the matter was resolved.

    Room and view fantastic. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space is limited. I had ordered a lakeview room. This is a very small room, too small for more than one night or if you have a lot of luggage. It does have lake view (beautiful !) but there is only one fairly small window. No balcony or terras. The room is not decorated, which, combined with the low level of natural light, makes it a bit gloomy. For a price of 205€ (up to 400 in high season) this is not good value for money (breakfast not included). The bathroom was bigger than expected for the size of the room and had a bath as well, and included all typical amenties. Most other rooms seemed to be larger (based on the layout charts) so inquire about them.

    Wonderful location on the lake. Historical site - 1000 year old Abbaye ! Excellent staff, well-trained. Breakfast was good, not exceptional. Very quiet. Rooms are converted former monk sleeping 'cells'. The halls of the hotel, staircases, reception etc are all beautifully appointed and really worth a visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the worat experience ever at the hotel, one time I've boiled a rice at the room's terrace for my baby because he has a medical condition that he can't eat anything just a rice or warm food ( ADHD like condition)..it was late at night and i didn't want to bother the receptionist for it..Next day the manager of the hotel wrote me a letter thretining me that she will bring the Police to arrest me and make me pay for the whole carpet renewal, and she will bring the SECURITY and the law for us to arrest us, although we didn't do any damage !!! The words were so hard that it scared my wife and made her cry !!! It was our 3rd rehoneymoon and my wife's birthday as well. She could've told us don't do that and we won't do it !! AND THE WORST THING EVER IS THAT THEY TOOK MY BELONGINGS FROM MY ROOM AND KEPT IT IN THE RECEPTION, I CLAIMED TO GET IT BECAUSE THEY DON'T HAVE THE RIGHT TO DO THAT BUT THEY REFUSED, IT'S FOR MY BABY. THEY DIDN'T RESPECT US, THEY DIDN'T RESPECT MY CHILD MEDICAL CONDITION, THEY WERE VERY HARSH AND CAUSED MY WIFE A TRAUMA AT HER BIRTHDAY THAT SHE WILL NEVER FORGET EVER. UNPROFESSIONAL RECEPTIONIST (NASSEM) AND HIS MANAGER THAT NIGHT AT 9/10/2017 I WILL NOT FORGET THE TEARS ON MY WIFE'S EYES FOR SUCH A SILLY THING, IT REALLY HURT ME SO MUCH BECAUSE I DIDN'T FEED MY BABY THAT NIGHT EXCEPT FOR MILK ONLY AND HE SLEPT HUNGRY. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND IT FOR ANYBODY, NOT AFTER WHAT HAPPENED TO ME.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Not enough parking space due to conventions or meetings going on during the day - We were disappointed not to be able to dine at their restaurant for dinner as the menu looked tasty (they were closed Mondays AND Tuesdays) - Breakfast was a little bare in choices for its price

    - The reception staff who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful (unfortunately I did not get his name) and bar man was also extremely pleasant and helpful - Gorgeous lakeside location - Peaceful and tranquil in charming village - Beautiful, well-kept historical building and grounds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came across this hotel by coincidence. The Annecy lake and surrounding are beautiful. This extremely nice little hotel, located in an old monastery, is well worth visiting. We got an excellent dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We paid a lot extra for a lake view but it was the smallest room we have ever slept in. You could only just walk between the end of the bed and the wall. I realise that these rooms were at one time monk's cells but we were assured that the rooms had now been made bigger.

    The hotel is in a wonderful position . It is full of character and history. Breakfast was good and dinner was very good. We had a lake view right across the beautiful bay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff generally very good, but bar service on the lakeside was pretty poor. Had to go into the bar to get the attention of the barman and drinks were slow to arrive once ordered. It did seem that serving drinks was a bit of a chore for him...

    The Abbey is wonderfully situated right on the lakeside in a sun trap. Within 15 minutes of arriving, we had a towel, sunbed on their jetty and we were swimming in the lake (23 degrees in August). Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to report

    This is a magical property in a beautiful place. The town is completely walkable with many great restaurants. The hotel has one of the only private docks in the Cove, which makes.the lake accessible for swimming and boating. The other hotels in the area are not so lucky. The restaurant in the hotel is fantastic and the building and grounds are truly magical.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a slice of heaven on earth. The most picturesque surrounds, amazing staff and service and incredibly romantic. We cannot wait to come back. Just magical!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As the sun was out every day we stayed on the decking. I think perhaps the attendants need to ensure there are plenty of umbrellas. When one of the waiters came with tea, we asked for milk with it and he didn't seem to happy to take what he suggested was a 20 minute walk back to the bar (slight exaggeration on his part). When the hotel is full there may not be sufficient parking and therefore we were reluctant to go out at night in the car for concern over whether there would be a space when we came back.

    The room had recently been decorated and was lovely and the building is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the rooms are a real inconvenient during hot days. My pregnabt wife suffered from it but probbly due to the fact that this is an old building

    Peaceful and beatiful place to relax, amazing views. The building is great, i would recommend this definitely for a quiet stay nearby the lake.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant was closed Monday and Tuesday and we found it difficult to g et a table in the nearby hotels because they were fully booked I don't think that a 5star hotel should leave its guests to wander around looking for somewhere to eat at night Very disapponting

    The accommodation was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room, and very expensive for this place. 1 night around 500 EUR for 19 sq/m room with no air-condition.

    Very beautiful place, with very nice and cozy interior. Allowed to check out later :) Stuff were really nice, with good english language knowledge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The CHIEF receptionist was utterly unprofessional and he was determined to spoil our stay, from the start. He clearly had an issue with Booking.com. the way he spoke to us about it. Consequently he tried all the tricks in the book to make us feel badly treated. He was determined not to help us and ignored with cunning skills our repeated requests to change room. All because we asked if it was possible to get a room of the same standard with a modern shower when we booked on line. How dare we??The chief receptionist forced us to stay in one of the smallest cell with view on a wall of the inner courtyard, and a tiny bedroom and also a full view of a conference room full of people,under the pretence the hotel was full, but he pointed out we should be happy ...we had a shower. He also insisted the bedroom he gave us was of similar standard of the one we booked. We booked a much bigger bedroom (and bathroom)with view on the lake.So, we checked on Booking.com and guess what? ....our room we chose was available ... the next day we finally succeeded to be moved to the bedroom we paid for in the first place, thanks to much more accommodating, resourful and helpful JUNIOR receptionists when the chief receptionist was off duty(!!). When he saw that happened, he tried to call us when we were on excursion, the chief receptionist was not impressed and he told us ,when we came back,that no rooms were available... we suspect he gave a bad time to the junior staff and felt sorry for them . He tried again to make us wait another night...because ..bla bla bla. We had to formally complain about HIS poor attitude and told him we were not having any of that any more. Finally, another receptionist apologised on his behalf on the last day. The hotel management apologised and offered to pay for the evening music and meal previously booked. Incidentally, the table we were assigned to,was not located in a very nice position in spite of better positioned empty tables.

    The region, the food outside the hotel and the people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we could stayed longer

    Lots to love about this place - lovely area, quiet but close to the most lovely village you ever imagine. Check in was excellent and we felt so welcomed since first moment. The best was to wake up in the morning and being in the most amazing setting you can ever imagine. No doubt Paul Cezanne stayed there a whole summer and painted the views. Its really breathtaking. It was my birthday and the lovely staff left a box with chocolates in the bedroom for us. Thank you so much!! we will definitely come back soon - Already missing Lake Annecy and Abbaye de Talloires :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little expensive at 25 euros each - although undeniably of a good quality and with a range of options

    Breath taking view with a lakeside room, quiet and peace, beautiful hotel in former abbey, great swimming straight from the hotel's own jetty, mountains all round - location can not be beaten

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a real issue due to very limited number of spaces available. This was also hindered by the 2 events taking place at the hotel. For a hotel of its size the parking would appear to be an issue even whentgere are no events. The charge for breakfast we found high at 25 euros so we did not have breakfast

    The bed was comfortable and then location beautiful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked this hotel for three nights during the week for a romantic stay. The room was in a terrible location due to heavy traffic and really loud guests talking at 2:30am and again with kids screaming in the halls early in the morning. We asked if we could be moved but they said the other rooms were more expensive. This hotel is already pricey. We mentioned how disappointed we were when we checked out and they responded that next time we could try a different room. Although this hotel is in a great location and in a cute town because of the distance and because of this experience... staying here will be very unlikely : (

    The setting of this hotel was lovely. Swimming in the lake was wonderful. The hotel had lots of chairs and great towels. Parking was available at no cost.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed on a Monday and a Tuesday in September which of course were the 2 days we were there. However we were given details of all the local restaurants in the area and the receptionists offered to call and book for us.

    the setting beside the lake was fantastic as was the sympathetic use of the ancient abbey. The breakfast was lovely. The staff were all excellent and very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the atmosphere of this old beautiful building which has been so lovingly preserved. Views over the lake from our bedroom window were superb and the cuisine when we dined outside was just perfection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very expensive. We went in August - high season - so I was prepared to pay a lot, and I thought the food was expensive but worth it. The room however was not as lavish as I would expect for the price - just an ordinary hotel room with nice bed coverings and curtains and a beautiful view (which I paid extra for). Having said that, I would advise travellers just to be aware of it, and perhaps request a specific room (the website shows some very beautiful rooms). I would definitely go again, but not in peak season when prices are so high. Separately I was slightly disappointed that Talloires did not have more to offer in terms of shops and cafés.

    Staff / service was exceptional. They were also were fluent in several languages. Food was spectacular, as was the outdoor dining area where we had beautiful leisurely breakfasts every morning. We had dinner once in the restaurant and loved it. Deck was great with good service too. The setting was charming and very relaxing. Nice walk over the cliff to the neighbouring town and several other gourmet restaurants in the village of Talloires. We had a fantastic four days here. Highly recommend it, although it is very pricy in high season.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful.

    Excellent service throughout. Extraordinary cuisine. Quiet, serene, relaxing. We returned after several years to find L'Abbey just the same with just the right amount of added modern touches.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel prides itself on its history - it is a lovely ancient building in a stunning location - but the lasting impression is of a team resting on its laurels and to be honest, using the location as an excuse to provide less than 4 star service at more than 4 star costs.

    Location is superb

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We felt that the lunches and dinners at the restaurant were too fussy and not altogether successful, a bit tasteless. But there are other good nearby options, so it is possible to eat well at the south end of the lake without traveling too far.

    The Abbaye Talloires is in a perfect location at the southeast end of Lake Annecy with its own beautiful gardens and swimming and boating dock. The remarkable 1681 building lies at the foot of a charming village with one especially good little restaurant, Le Cafe de la Place. The staff at the Abbaye could not have been more delightfully pleasant, and though every single person we encountered was welcoming and helpful, I want to mention especially Vincent at the front desk, who went out of his way to resituate us in a larger room than we had initially been given, since we are traveling for an extended period and have a lot of luggage. Merci Vincent! Breakfasts on the garden terrace were outstanding, ample and fresh. An altogether lovely place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little soft if I was being picky! The price of a boat across to Annecy was pegged at over €100 - you can hire one yourself in Annecy for much less.

    Location was fantastic. The whole shabang ends up being quite expensive but it was absolutely worth it. The fine dining in the evening was amazing. The views over the lake splendid. All in all it was a truly memorable place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's 6,000 miles from California!

    Views of the lake and mountains are unforgettable, second only to the wonderful staff. We look forward to our next visit, I only wish it was closer

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful location, comfortable, kind staff, amazing history. Our room was clean and beautiful with a great view of Lake Annecy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the service attitude and the beautiful property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar open but had aperitif in lobby area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one hot tub for so many people.

    Bed was fantastic. The location was amazing even out of season.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    exceptional views over the lake. very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful location. Superb hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some signs near hotel that better direct first time guests,

    Excellent dining experience---Both dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and value for money

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms

    Service oriented reception View Clean waters to swim in Abbey building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration was charming,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Location and the sevice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need a sign on the main road

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A.C., but we made do!

    It was perfection, from the location to the staff, to the food to the gorgeous old 17th century walls.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing struck me.

    The structure of the old abbey was comforting. Great view of Lac Annecy and surrounds from our baloon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful ancient building, understood lack of lift and air. All was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lets make it short, stay away!! 1 Star service at 5 star costs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was expensive

    Beautiful building, fantastic location by the lake. Staff was professional.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments

    Beautiful building with the best breakfast a picturesque setting

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room lacked atmosphere .

    V comfortable room and bed . V peaceful . Beautiful location by lake . Charming staff .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything

    Faultless. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing break

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small room, no elevator. Restaurant too expensive

    Garden and terrace near the lake, nice view, very old building, Charm and character

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no alafvetor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very professional staff in a beautiful setting. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms slightly on the small side, but well furnished and equipped

    Beautiful location, stunning terrace for lunch, excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restaurant unparrelled in quality and service, fantastic choice of wine and five star service. The location right on at the waterfront and quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No extractor fan in the bathroom which made it a bit steamy but lovely warm bathroom!

    Stunning wallpaper in the room! Lake view excellent with a beautiful peaceful aspect. At this time of year tranquil but maybe so so good in high summer. Good service all round Restaurant excellent

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2 beds to make a king size. Ends up with a hole between us.

    Spa small but good. Nice location with great view on the lake. Abbaye well préserved with room with full comfort. Nice linvosges sheets.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I expected the room to be slightly bigger/ more luxurious based on advertised photos on website (room and bathroom), but it didn't spoil the overall impression. At dinner I thought that main plat was extremely small for an adult and a bit overpriced. Also tables were very close together, could hear other tables' conversation. On the other hand loved the wine selection and professionalism and friendliness of dinner staff serving, especially help to chose wine. Overall perfect place for a luxurious romantic getaway.

    The historic feel of the property and picturesque location. Breakfast was amazing. Staff were highly professional, friendly and relaxed. Wonderful experience.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms could be bigger / with more amenities.

    Amazing location in front of beautiful lake of Annecy. Very romantic / quiet place surrounded by beauty and great restaurants

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in the cheaper of the room categories and it seemed pricey for what you get, but then I realized we were paying for private dock access to the lake, beautiful gardens and all the other facilities. The room then became unimportant, since we sat outside most of the afternoon and evening.

    Stunning location on the lake for this historic stone building. Dining or having a drink in the beautiful gardens makes this place very special. We were very pleased that we stayed here.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room small with too much furniture, so gave the feel of poky. Balcony very,very small, but it was an outside space. Bathroom had shower over bath, and no extractor fan, so unusable for makeup, and nowhere in bedroom for that either. No lift.

    Location excellent. Wallpaper and tiling in bathroom stylish.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air-conditioning. No pool. Average breakfast for the price. Wi-fi variable. Expensive overall.

    Outstanding levels of service. Truly beautiful setting. Comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Komend uit Annecy is het hotel wat moeilijk te vinden. De bewegwijzering verdient aandacht. Het ontbijt was goed maar duur (€24,- pp)

    Zee r charmant en mooi gelegen hotel. Vriendelijke en behulpzame staf. Het diner was een geweldige ervaring. Verfijnde gerechten die toch puur zijn. De vriendelijkheid van de bediening gepaard gaande aan de nodige discretie is een extra pluim waard.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price for breakfast and not much to do in the village. Instead of breakfast we ordered cappuccino with mini-croissant. We were told it would be 4 euro's for one person, but on the invoice it was 7.50. It was no cappuccino at all (we could compare with the evening before), but just coffee with milk and "the price was the same". Anyway, the staf made a lot of trouble when I explained them about the price we were told, which was really a pity. Didn't like to leave with that experience.

    The hotel in an old Abbey, the wifi, the bed, the view, the silence.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is stunning and hotel is luxurious without being stuffy. The staff were friendly and helpful and we had some delicious food.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - beds separate.. they go apart - Restaurant was closed for 2 days - breakfast was not conform a 25euro p/p

    Location. Atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic breakfast buffet. Beautiful characterful building. Friendly staff discreet service. Excellent dinner.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant pricey.

    Magnificent building in magnificent location. Excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little noisy between rooms. Restaurant very pricey.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    French hotel breakfasts cost too much. Italy and Austria do bed and breakfast - much better idea

    the lake view is fabulous

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit shabby in places

    Lovely old hotel, nice staff, wonderful location Excellent restaurant Breakfast good but overpriced

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Immerse in old world heritage in this Abbey turned hotel. The location, view and ambience are unbeatable.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs an upgrade.

    Charming old building in great location.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: