Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbaye De Villeneuve

Route de le Roche Sur Yon, 44840 Les Sorinières, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Les Sorinières

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 192 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    It exceeded my expectations and will definitely recommend this hotel to others
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There needs to be more lighting in the parking, I had a difficult time finding the location on the GPS.

    The historical aspect of the property, the staff was very professional and polite. The room was very clean, the property was well kept and the food was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    We will return, which says it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a smaller cheaper room, but on viewing it decided we had to trade up. We were given lots of choice, which was great.

    All the staff went the extra mile and were working very hard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    We liked the building , the garden, it was accessible from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the lower grade bedroom and found it very small and in need of redecorating

    We liked the building , the garden, it was accessible from the autoroute which made it a very welcome stop on our route to the ferry at Roscoff. The restaurant was excellent and so were the staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Bring your own food and drink and enjoy. Or a rich boyfriend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chateau Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift so carrying your case could be difficult for some. We were not offered help. The room was very reasonably priced, around £110 per night for two people but the food costs were phenomenal, even breakfast was 17 euros. Eating elsewhere is limited and quite a way off.

    Our room was a fine attic big room with gorgeous wooden beamed ceiling and lovely views over the countryside and garden. We enjoyed watching the antics of the coypu swimming and playing on the lawn. There are beautiful high ceiling rooms available obviously at a cost.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel with fantastic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been improved it was a great place to stay. If it is very hot take a fan with you!

    We booked here to break up our drive down through France and we were delighted to drive down the drive to see this beautiful hotel. We were upgraded free of charge and our rooms were beautiful. Unfortunately due to the unseasonably hot weather our rooms where extremely hot and made sleeping very hard and uncomfortable but I think this weather was out of the ordinary. Other wise our room was very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant and all 3 of us found the food to be delicious and the setting beautiful. The staff where very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and a gorgeous setting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a place where you’re made to feel extremely welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chateau Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of children’s meals was a disappointment but staff did help us with an option slightly better suited to young children

    Swimming pool Stunning setting Beautiful rooms Atmospheric dining Fabulous staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    We love a bit of faded glory - this beautiful Abby has that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love a bit of faded glory - this beautiful Abby has that a plenty. Staff super friendly, food delicious (bit of confusion about me being vegan!), high ceilings aplenty, knee deep in history, with works of art on the walls and historical details in every room. And the best part was the beavers in the lake - amazing little (quite big!) creatures.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Very splendid house with long corridors and winding stone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As cyclist the long driveway had far to many pot holes.

    Very splendid house with long corridors and winding stone staircase. Gardens to the front & swimming pool to the rear. Great food in the restaurant and excellent choice of wines.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location, superb food BUT pokey attic room NOT good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was up 2 flights of stairs into the attic. It was pokey and unbearably hot - managed to get a fan when we returned a few days later. Not good value, although our other room, also under the eaves was much, much larger and better value.

    Absolutely magnificent food; outstanding chef was very friendly, and all the staff were helpful and very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    I would say this a nice little place for a romantic getaway...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get internet working in my room, which was annoying as I had to go to the main corridor to connect to my emails and my WhatsApp communications.

    I would say this a nice little place for a romantic getaway or for a wedding more than for a business trip. They have kept the decoration very much in line with the the abbey theme, giving it a nice touch. Although I did not have dinner, the menu looked also very gastronomic and it smelled nice!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    The property is fantastic and the manager gave us a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is fantastic and the manager gave us a historical tour highlighting the restoration of the property and its history along with his story regarding the Abbaye! Would recommend for those who love a property steeped in history.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom tiny, no gluten free bread despite them knowing this requirement. Bathroom tired with damaged paintwork where shower goes outside bath.

    Great location and beautiful building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    very disappointed and expensive in comparison to previous places we stayed on our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Chateau Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get a coffee or any refreshments unless the restaurant was open which was only at lunch and after 7.30pm. No coffee/tea facilities in the room. Unless you paid for a taxi you could not get anywhere by walking. Taxis to Nantes were 30 plus euros one way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.0
    Lovely site the Abbey is a gold mine of culture and style,wasted by this owner. Good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Chateau Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The level of hotel facility and standard does not match the price. Staff could be getter more attentive and make an effort to delight!

    The Abbey was well located for our regular trip back to UK, but we found it is near a quite busy road and directly under the Nantes airfield flight path!! Not a major problem except in summer and at night/ early morning (a 6.15am flight) when windows were open as the room was hot- no a/c as far as we could see. Mosquitoes arrived early morning too! Room was a lovely old / large traditional chateau style one on the first floor but the furnishings were rather basic. The restaurant food was however brilliant! We had the discovery menu which at 62euros seemed expensive BUT they did a fantastic job. Reception was average and generally poor considering how it should be for this price rate? Overall a nice location, but the entire 'hotel facility' has dropped far below what is expected of could be delivered with a little extra investment, staff effort and customer care!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Very nice old monastery wit some flaws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chateau Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff at check-in did not communicate the night code to open the door. The staff in general is young and immature. To get to the hotel you need a GPS in your rental car.

    The hotel is a magnificent old monastery located in beautiful countryside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful property but not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the size and price of the property there is no lift, we were put on the 3rd floor and walked up the stairs with cases. 17 euro per person for breakfast was too expensive for what you could have. No air conditioning. Very hot room. No extra pillows.

    Beautiful property. First stay of our trip that had a bathroom with a shower. We had dinner in the dining room, excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.4
    Bad renovation !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a poor renovation. The abbaye is impressive from the outside but the renovation made in the seventies (aluminium Windows, cheap mirrors replacing inside windows, TV set on leg...) is a poor inspiration. Decoration is basic. That basic breakfast will not save your stay (to many retail products). Room 18 is hopefully not representative of the whole place. 230€ ?... I don't think so ! 120€ would be more fare.

    The outside of the building. The personnel is doing a good job.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low doorway to room 20, but it was the last room available, and no stand up shower (it has a bath though).

    Amazing four-course dinner in the restaurant for 66 euros with four glasses of wine. Really excellent service throughout. Historic building and style sets the scene for a very pleasant evening.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    On the list for a return visit when we are next in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location, full of character. Convenient to principal road networks, ideal for stopover or a few days holiday. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Stunning old building very well renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning old building very well renovated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Really good pit stop ,beautiful tranquil setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stop ,close to motorway .Dinner unexpectedly good .Helpful staff ,gave us ground floor room when they saw my knee injury.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    We were offered upgrade on arrival??? but the room was in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were offered upgrade on arrival??? but the room was in the eaves and far too hot no a,c just fan

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Male receptionist very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    I've already commented (visited 4 days earlier)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've already commented (visited 4 days earlier)

    I've already commented (visited 4 days earlier)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Peaceful situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chateau Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Peaceful situation. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly sited just off the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfectly sited just off the motorway. Dinner excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    The restaurant was excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was excellent . Worth the trip purely for the evening meal !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent service, very french !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet

    Excellent service, very french !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Hotel buildings, rooms garden and pool were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel buildings, rooms garden and pool were wonderful. Only negative is no hot food for breakfast but I would not let that put me off staying again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful 12th Century Abbey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Chateau Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful 12th century Abbey, onsite parking, extremely helpful staff. Only a few minutes drive to nearby shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Ok but a little expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chateau Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner a bit formal and room very dark

    Good location and historic building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.7
    DisPpointing, would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow service in restaurant and food average, in fact disappointing.

    Charming reception on arrival but others indifferent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Value for money room but with no fridge.
    • Couple

    Lack of tea or coffee facilities in room.

    Value for money room but with no fridge. The hotel has a nice low key French style about it. All staff very helpful. Plenty of facilities within a short drive. Would we stay here again? Yes.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.2
    Excelent food in the restaurant, places like this create...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of the tea and coffee set in the room was the only discomfort for me.

    Excelent food in the restaurant, places like this create reputation of the French cuisine. Realtively rich breakfast - much more than croissants and coffe :-)

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    5.4
    the property and grounds are lovely.
    • Solo traveller

    20€ extra for pets. 17€ for breakfast. The carpet of my room was covered in large stains, curtains full of dust and corners of the ceiling dark and dirty. The internet was broken which was very hard for me as i lost business. The hotel is in serious need of an upgrade or deduce the prices.

    the property and grounds are lovely. Quiet location, great for dogs.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    8.8
    Atmosphere was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences - lack of shower facilities was disappointing.

    Atmosphere was wonderful. Restaurant was superb- food and staff equally. Room lovely (top floor) with amazing character. Exceptional value for 70E per night.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    10
    Awesome restaurant and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walls are old and thin and thus not sound proof... So, just be aware that you can hear much of what is going on in the next room, and they can hear you.

    Awesome restaurant and attentive staff. Grounds and hotel very picturesque. Excellent value!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    Good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited facilities - no sitting / relaxing public space.

    Good food. Helpful staff. Interesting ambience. Would make an overnight stay again if in that area.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    A wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The biggest disappointed was the non-existant wifi service with the exception of the hotel reception. The hotel should seriously look to upgrade the extremely poor signal to bedrooms.

    A wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting Extremely pleasant and helpful staff from arrival to departure. Very quiet location just outside Nantes. Wonderful wildlife in the pond on the hotel grounds. Excellent restaurant and service.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Abbey very pretty and very clean for such an old place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Resturant food terrible we had to go back to the hotel we left for dinner, If food had have been good, not even brilliant it would have been near on perfect. No tea making facilities in room.

    Abbey very pretty and very clean for such an old place, staff very nice, our room lovely

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff were fantastic, the location was beautiful, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee making facilities in the room. A shuttle bus to Nantes/Airport would be a bonus. Poor quality toilet roll

    The staff were fantastic, the location was beautiful, the food was fabulous

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    4.2
    The only thing that sets this hotel apart from other hotels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    -rooms were dark and small -our daughter was asked to interrupt her shower because water was leaking through the ceiling of the main dining room. For the rest of our stay our children had to shower in our room -bathroom had cracked mirror; old and tired bath and shower -rooms on the ground floor had to be accessed through the main dining room -no wifi in rooms, only in the lobby

    The only thing that sets this hotel apart from other hotels is its status as a former "abbey" which is justification for its high prices. Absolutely not worth it.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful building and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charged same for 'un plat froid' for lubch as for 3 course evening meal. Wifi only in some locations.

    Beautiful building and grounds. Excellent evening meal

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.5
    Good restaurant, quiet environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's my fault to have picked chamber clasique, which is really classic and very different from hotel's character of being a chateau hotel One should think well and choose what he or she wants: discount or relaxing moment.

    Good restaurant, quiet environment

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    9.2
    love how quite the place was, even though it was busy with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spent 240euro on 6 journeys in taxis over three days. two airport runs and twice into the city which varied in prices each time. tried to get a bottle of wine off night porter at approx midnight and was refused.

    love how quite the place was, even though it was busy with other guests, it felt as if we were the only ones there at times

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    Very warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very warm welcome. Reasonably close to the motorway and loads of character.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.8
    staff very friendly and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi didn't work when we were there

    staff very friendly and very helpful beautiful hotel

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    Staff service and dinner were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very warm.

    Staff service and dinner were excellent. "Shabby chic" decor.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Very peaceful beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant staff very professional but a bit stiff.

    Very peaceful beautiful place. Impeccable service.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Very nice chateau hotel with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice chateau hotel with excellent staff. Rooms and breakfast provided were to a very high stanard

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    The restaurant is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is great!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Magnificent surroundings;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Magnificent surroundings; buildings and grounds. Informal atmosphere. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Convenit to the airport, friendly staff, great food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenit to the airport, friendly staff, great food, splendid room etc, etc

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: