Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbaye de Maizières 4 stars

19, Rue Maizières, 21200 Beaune, France

#4 of 40 hotels in Beaune

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 454 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    You really need to visit this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs were a little difficult, especially after a night out!

    This hotel was such a find. Only a small hotel right in the middle of Beaune but so wonderful. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for a few days on our visit, as we would have really liked to have dinner there. We only found out about the closed restaurant after we booked, so I would advise anyone to check before they booked if they want to eat in the hotel. this hotel does not have a lift and our room was up 63 spiral stairs, so certainly not for people with limited walking ability. Our room was right at the top of the hotel, and even after climbing 63 stairs, our bed was up another 12 very steep stairs, but the view of the roof tops was amazing. There is a swimming pool down in the old wine cellar, you really need to visit to appreciate the history of this abbey.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Beaune is a wonderful place to visit for s couple of nights with plenty to see and do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps inside the room between the living and bathroom area and the bedroom were incredibly steep and could have been too much for some to manage. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were limited

    Beautiful historic building in a wonderful central setting, the bed in the room was extremely comfortable and the staff couldn’t do enough to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Definitely recommend this hotel. The staff were so welcoming and the building is simply charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Clairvaux
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cool old building newly renovated. Was once a winery run by monks. You enter from the street directly into the vaulted old cellars. The room with the pool was once the wine press. Quiet location out of the tourist loop but still very close to everything in town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Good and bad points
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know this is petty but these things matter when you are staying in a 4* hotel the products ie shampoo body lotion etc were not replaced on the second day’s stay and the hairdryer was of a low standard. I expect to have to keep my finger on the button of the dryer in an Ibis hotel but not the Abby. The huge shower head leaked to one side I would say it had not been tested for sometime. The furniture in the lobby looked very trendy and I am sure excellent for somewhat younger folk but a tad difficult to get out of and certainly not for anyone with a bad back.

    Very good in terms of position in town no noise yet very near the centre Excellent bed, excellent robes and slippers, coffee machine etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 very minor points: Our shower head had some limescale that stopped it from working perfectly Breakfast service could have been a little faster

    The hotel is full of character, tastefully refurbished, super clean and right in the centre of Beaune. Easy parking. The staff is very helpful, always smiling. Dogs are welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    What an amazingly beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    What an amazingly beautiful hotel. The staff were also so accommodating and friendly and superbly professional. I never thought a hotel could really get 10 out of 10 from me but Abbaye de Maizières exceeded all my expectations. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    The staff were exceptional, along with everything that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Clos Vougeot
    • Stayed 1 night

    No recommendations at this time.

    The staff were exceptional, along with everything that followed from the food, facilities to the comfort of the bed. Could not ask for more!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    The building was amazing, Thierry was so helpful and thanks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to eat in the restaurant, but they close on a Monday, not a fault just our bad luck 😎

    The building was amazing, Thierry was so helpful and thanks for sorting the flowers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Quirky property but disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on two levels with extremely steep and slippery stairs. The space downstairs was useless for anything much. Charging €2.5 for an extra coffee pod and €3 for a teabag is just outrageous. Towels were fraying and the room was badly designed. We had to put the kettle on the floor to boil as there was no other space. Didn’t feel warmly welcomed. Room on third floor up steep spiral staircase. We have had far better value for money rooms on this European trip.

    Location excellent. Very unusual place. Beautiful dining room. Nice toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Wouldn’t stay again, but fascinating building, if you can get a deal worth a look
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full length mirror, no milk for tea/coffee and silly price for extra coffee pods and tea bags. We were given a room on two levels which sounds lovely but the open wooden staircase was steep and getting up and down to use bathroom annoying. The wardrobe door could not be opened fully because of a beam making access fiddly and dark.

    Great location, sympathetic and tasteful decor, Clarins bathroom products, coffee machine, generous size bed. Lovely small pool in basement - cleverly designed and atmospheric.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For information: Secure parking is possible for 20 euros. Free public parking nearby. Historic building so not much natural light.

    We stayed here for one night en route from South of France home. Lovely welcome from staff. We were shown to our room on the second floor (via a steep circular stone staircase). Our room was a great size but actually the smallest on our floor so the other rooms must be huge! Beautiful furnishings, good lighting, coffee machine and lovely big comfy bed. There wasn't a view from the windows but that really didn't bother us. The hotel is very central. We could have eaten in any one of a number of restaurants close by but decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We chose the set menu. Nothing too fancy but delicious and just what we wanted. Complimented by fabulous wine and exceptionally friendly service in a vaulted, beautifully lit dining room. We didn't have any very smart clothes but that wasn't a problem at all...very relaxed. Really enjoyed our very short stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    The Abbaye is really a gem in the wonderful city of Beaune.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The breakfast is a joy of choices with excellent service. We could leave our handbags, while making a stroll. Our dog was taken care of. The Abbaye is really a gem in the wonderful city of Beaune.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Elegant, close to town by foot, charming place: a great experience as we would come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs going up were awkward with the suitcases and the Dupleix apartment was very cosy with a nice bathroom but the stairs to the bedroom were steep and narrow.

    The breakfast was excellent in a gorgeous setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel with amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything but were disappointed the restaurant was not open the evening we stayed as it’s a beautiful dining room. But is was the off season. We will come back !

    The owners and staff were incredibly helpful , from early check in getting our luggage to our room and even taking us to the train station when we couldn’t get a taxi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    3.8
    You Don’t Sleep In The Chateau
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But already at the arrival we couldn’t find a main entrance or a check in. We received a room in the annex which is built with the charm of a youth hostel. The mattresses were thin and the beds uncomfortable. The heating by an electric oven was poor and in the restaurant we received a prepared menu with terrible food and wine which we had to pay for 19€ per person extra. Actually this is rather a place for young families and young sports (wo)men, but not a hotel. Misleading castle marketing. Very disappointing.

    The access and grand entrance to the castle made me curious and it seemed to be a forgotten gem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    A unique historical experience in Beane
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift so it might be problematic for some people who have problems climbing.

    The abbaye itself is an unique building to stay in, the restaurant has an incredible ambience and serves great food and the rooms are very comfortable and have a unique historical charm offering hi tech amenities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Just lovely.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A wonderful hotel full of authentic atmosphere, attentive and very helpful staff with good knowledgeable info of Beaune. Great wine menu (obviously). Just a wonderful experience I a lovely town. Well with it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Charming historical hotel, top notch service and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was the original 12th century very narrow and steep spiral staircase. We were on the top floor and were winded each trip up and down. It was pretty adventurous and we had a good laugh about it. There is no lift at the hotel. The staff took care of our rather heavy suitcases, thankfully,

    Incredibly charming historic property. Very cozy and intimate. Fantastic staff. Had to wait a bit for room to be ready and the staff was excellent while we waited by providing wine and snacks that were a regional specialty. The staff also were very friendly hosts, giving the history of the hotel, chatting about wine, and recommendations on what to see in town. We did not get a chance to eat at the hotel but did see that the restaurant was Michelan rated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Worth to visit, great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came very late at night and based on staff recommendation parked outside on the street. Nobody said that next day a very famous market is starting earlier exactly in the place of parking. We have been surprised to see our car in the epicenter of goods from the locals. Don’t ask how we get a car from there ;))

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Gorgeous rooms, spacious, clean and comfortable. Beautiful hotel, great food and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stairs could use more handrails but they were manageable.

    The staff were wonderful. The rooms was beautiful and beds comfortable. Loved the hotel. a 3 minute walk to the center of town and neary free parking. I would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    A delightful hotel in every way.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have private parking but it does have a great location.

    We are frequent international travellers who expect high standards even if we travel with our dogs. Many hotels give you an inferior standard room if travelling with dogs. This was most definitely not the case with this hotel where high standards are evident in all areas of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    This is a unique property and the accommodations are great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are an issue for a lot of people but you can adjust and enjoy the hotel.

    This is a unique property and the accommodations are great the food was very good. The owner went out of his way to help us out and the staff gave us useful information and great service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Without question this is unique accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the fact that there is no lift is mentioned, the gradient of the stairs are a challenge. Moreover some rooms have "loft" style bed rooms which are difficult to negoiate, particularly at night. This hotel is "fully priced" for what it offers.

    Without question this is unique accomodation. The staff and the owners who were "hands on" really make this hotel a joy to stay in. Nothing was too much trouble. On our departure, which coincided with the closure of streets for the market, staff ensured that out taxi got access and we departed on time to catch our train.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Unique and beautiful hotel with amazing views if your room ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of stairs but the staff happily carried our luggage up and down for us

    Unique and beautiful hotel with amazing views if your room is on the top floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Far exceeded expectations for charm, location, and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing the stairs to your room. There is no lift. You must be able to climb 12th century stairs to your room.

    The hotel, setting, and rooms are stunning in this old Abbaye setting. The staff was excellent. The location is perfect in old town Beaune.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Retreat to the past in modern Beaune.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are beautiful but could be a bit more functional. The ancient spiral staircase is beautiful but may not be for everyone.

    The ambience of the lobby and dining area is unique. The omelettes at breakfast were superb. The staff were enthusiastically helpful and friendly. The location is perfect; close to the ring road but also close to the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    An absolute gem in the heart of French wine country. A 'must stay' hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only probelm i can think of is getting in and out of the towm. Those with large cars may find it a challenging process. As to the hotel itself, everything was perfect.

    What a marvellous place ! A very old building (dates back centuries) given a new lease of life. Entirely renovated using ultra modern technology but carefully blended in with the old. The character of the old being enhanced by the modern without being overwhelmed by it. Everything, from the decor, to the furniture, ambiance music etc is tastefully done and to a very thoughtful and high standard. Situated in a quiet side street of of this beautiful rural town the hotel is ideally situtated for exploring around and about. The staff were exceptionally warm, welcoming and helpful. You were genuinely made to feel welcome. I do not have a bad word to say about this hotel and thoroughly recommend it to all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent shower facility with great products
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long winding staircase is a bit difficult to climb with luggage but definitely adds character to the hotel

    Excellent shower facility with great products Perfect location close to all sights of the city The hotel contacted us beforehand to check if we had any specific needs or expectations and sent us a list of recommended restaurants nearby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Expensive and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodating a guest of 6'5" in a room with sloping attic ceilings was not ideal when an alternative room was (I subsequently discovered) available. Accessing the room was akin to climbing a bell tower and after a long day's travelling was not easy. Once in the bedroom one encountered another set of steep stairs to the bed. Going to the loo in the night was a feat of derring-do and could, I fear, be nasty if one were to slip. Furthermore, one was faced with lugging cases up the steep wooden steps to the bed area or leaving them below. This was inconvenient and left little room to move around. On raising the issues I'd encountered I was told that I should have requested an alternative room, a) how was I to know that there WAS an alternative available and b) the hotel knows its rooms I don't. Whilst the issue of the steps within the room was acknowledged as a problem, it was not reflected in the hefty room rate. I'm afraid that posh toiletries and fluffy towels do not make up for unsuitable infrastructure in my mind. The room rate included neither secure parking nor breakfast (an additional €20 per head).

    Comfortable bed and good shower. Interesting property, characterful dining room/lounge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Stopover between Geneva and Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recommended for those who are mobility impaired! The main entrance has a low doorway, but once you've checked in there's a rather more convenient full height option just a few metres away. Access to the rooms is via two period spiral staircases. The hotel does not have a lift. We were disappointed that our particular room lacked tea and coffee making facilities.

    Location is on a quiet side street, very close to the attractions and restaurants. Chargeable parking is available on the adjacent street, however there is a free car park about 200 metres away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Time travel to hotel with history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 45 steps up the spiral staircase to our room. But luggage carried up and down by petite women! Shower sprayed much of bathroom floor when used.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Abbaye is amazing- full of ancient ambience. Great cappuccino in mornings, croissants like an angel whisper!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Charming experience in a historic hotel in the centre of Beaune
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative was that you have to carry your bags up to your room via a very narrow circular staircase - but hey, what do you expect for a 12th Century Abbey?! If you plan to stay, pack a small bag with the essentials and enjoy this beautiful hotel.

    Beautifully appointed and clean rooms. Clarins products in the bathrooms. Staff were lovely. Breakfast was delicious - try the mini croissants and the omelette. An easy walk to other restaurants and touristic sites.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful boutique with character right in the centre of Beaune
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking near the property, but parking nearby. It's manageable. Bathroom was slightly small.

    Bed was very comfortable. Quiet air conditioned rooms, lovely views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely character hotel, disappointing extra charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charges for tea and coffee in the room (3.50euros for a tea bag). We went on a hot air balloon ride and we're back in Beaune much later than expected. Sadly the hotel could not even provide basic non cooked food such as bread and cheese or fruit. Disappointing g from a 4 star hotel.

    Friendly staff, lovely character hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Betti at the front desk was extremely helpful - to the point...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The three fights up the narrow staircase to the smallest room in the hotel - although we loved the room - if you like your partner - very cozy!

    Betti at the front desk was extremely helpful - to the point of carrying our luggage up the 3 flights of stairs! Bruno was amazing and so knowledgeable. He was able to answer every history question my husband asked. We had no idea he was the proprietor. Lovely man! The chef made our dinner a special evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Very good location in the Centre of Beaune.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room but were not included in the room rate.

    Very good location in the Centre of Beaune. Valet parking worked well - easy walking distance to the centre. Rooms and bathrooms finished to a very high standard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant location. We were made very welcome. The first night we had an excellent dinner in the hotel, in the spectacular 12th cent. hall. Breakfast was also extremely good. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We wanted a room with a view, so chose the duplex on the third floor. In the end, we found the stairs a bit challenging, but it was worth the effort -- and probably good for us!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    The Abbaye is a real gem - huge characte
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. They don't have on site parking but there are plenty of spaces nearby

    Menu du jour in their restaurant was excellent again. As was the breakfast. Our room was spacious with sitting area separate so ideal when travelling with pets

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.5
    Beautiful pictures in brochure, impossible stairs to any rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a warning that this may not be suitable for anyone with ANY mobility issues. We have stayed at many ancient places, Spanish paradors, etc. I've never seen a place with more difficult access.

    After booking online, and reviewing the amenities,I saw the no lift sign in SMALL print. I sent a note asking them to keep in mind some mobility issues when picking our room. Unfortunately there are NO rooms accessible to anyone who can't climb at least two long dangerous circular staircases. Granted this is a five hundred year old property, but completely unsuitable for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Very helpful staff and room spacious with comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 flights of narrow stairs, no lift. Sound proofing poor between rooms. No shelves in bathroom.

    Very helpful staff and room spacious with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Cosy and fun hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spiral staircase up to the room was difficult with luggage and there was a lack of atmosphere in the restaurant area.

    The room and bathroom were very nice and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    this was a stopover point while driving from Spain across France and view the Milau viaduct
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was not served and not a gourmand if available. On the expensive side.

    Beautiful place and very helpful staff. Great breakfast. Located an excellent and interesting restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Superb hotel in a fascinating city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place- one of the walls in the restaurant is Roman!!! It has been beautifully restored and modernised but keeping all the character of the old building. The meal we had in the vaulted restaurant was fantastic - the chef was superb; wonderful snails, boeuf bourgignan, great selection of local cheeses, and unbelievably delicious pear in red wine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    Superb overnight stay in Beaune
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely historical building in the centre of Beaune. In walking distance of superb Restaurants and the sights. Comfortable room with a view over the roof tops. Loved the pre visit questionnaire and the advice given by the hosts.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel and a helpful& friendly night manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not good value 😔 Friendly manager who made us feel welcome when we arrived on Suday night.👍🏻😀 Lady at breakfast wasn't that friendly ...possibly it was bea cause it was Monday morning 😂

    Breakfast wasn't good value for money ! At 20 Euros per person I expected more than a few croissants a baguette and an egg each between us!! I would suggest that a buffet style breakfast would be a better option as it suggests a little more generosity to the guests from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.8
    Happy to stay at The Abbaye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An explanation of the funny tea making tube would have avoided me serving tea leaves.

    The staff are just lovely, making this historic building a joy to stay at.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.5
    Unless you're young and fit, make sure you ask for a room on the lower floors!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gourmet restaurant now closed - only limited cafe menu available. What a shame! We wished we could have had a different room as both we and our arthritic dog found the three flights of narrow spiral staircase hard to navigate. Our duplex room, on the top floor, was made even more challenging as the bedroom was up a very steep stair/ladder and the bathroom was downstairs. Unless you are a mountain goat, maybe ask for a room on 1st floor!

    Very friendly, professional and helpful staff. Welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, several languages spoken. Good wine list (inherited from the defunct gourmet restaurant). Room was clean, bathroom well-appointed, modern with powerful, hot shower and designer basin. Clarins bathroom products a nice touch, as are the traditional cotton towels.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    Awesome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower area could get a bit splashy , but just a very minor glitch ....

    Beautiful, historic building , centrally located in the town ( but room was peaceful and quiet ) . Staff were warm , welcoming and helpful, loved the upmarket toiletries in the bathroom , comfortable bed and excellent WiFi . The quality of the breakfast ( and attention to detail ) was superb - most delicious omelette I had in my life !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful Beaune! A very comfortable well positioned quirky hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Dinner menu was very limited. The food was good except the main course which was poor value and uninteresting.

    We liked the atmosphere and comfort of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    The bathroom was beautiful and included
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was beautiful and included nice toiletries. Wish I’d been snle to dtay longer and rnjoy the pool!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    To experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older people may have some issues with the stairs but it is understandable of a historic monument

    Staff was very pleasant and the place is beautiful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Historical & Fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to be fit to keep walking up the steep stairs

    Full of character, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Very old monastery renovated to perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old monastery renovated to perfection

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location, unique building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots and lots of stairs to climb! Cold pool...

    Lovely location, unique building!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Friendly stuff, stunning entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - we loved it all

    Friendly stuff, stunning entrance. Rooms have everything needed and more.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location with a beautiful interior.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    Price to be changed for this cupboard room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small for two people

    Location and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Réception area and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Réception area and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    I enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    All good except the lack of'lift'

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothibg

    Excellent location. Top Employee reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Quirkiness, character and the history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirkiness, character and the history

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Location and its uniqueness
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs!

    Location and its uniqueness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast.

    Great location! Unique building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent. We are going again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely fantastic, if I ever come back to Beaune, thats where Id stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the character of the building and its history.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Historic nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic nature. Great food. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Great location in a wonderful converted Abbey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs was a challenge but it added to the quirkiness

    Great location in a wonderful converted Abbey. Staff were wonderful and very attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location and the building itself, it was stunning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, beautiful historic building, friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic and meagre for €20

    Great location, beautiful historic building, friendly hosts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    The breakfast room with its ancient ceiling and arches was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room with its ancient ceiling and arches was exceptionally beautiful. Positive spirit and personal warmth all around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    The stairs in the duplex very steep and dangerous if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs in the duplex very steep and dangerous if you have to get up at night

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Worth a stop on the way to or from the South of France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the breakfast, at €20, is a bit pricey.

    Location is in the historic centre of Beaune, in an historic building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location & tastefully furnished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    Not the best value for money when you book a standard room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard double room is extremely small, one can hardly move around, not worth the money paid

    Nice reception area

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: