Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Acanthe 2 stars

2 rue Chauvain, 06000 Nice, France

#146 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 409 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise insulation with corridor and other rooms is poor, but neighbours were not noisy so it was ok.

    Location is great, next to bus/tram stops and major points of interest. Nice view through the window. Comfortable bed, clean facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had reserved a room with a double or queen bed but were given a room with three single beds. And very little space to walk around them. Would be a good sized room, if it had a double bed instead of three beds We mentioned this at check out and were told there were probably no double rooms left. Also we had prepaid for breakfast but at checkout we were charged again for it, and told that they do not charge for that in advance. Later I looked at my booking reservation and it did say breakfast had been paid for. We went back to the hotel and showed the lady at the ftont desk, and she apologized and cheerfully gave us a refund.

    The hotel is very clean. Continental breakfast was quite good. Room was quiet since it did not face a busy street. On a previous visit our room was at the corner above Ave Felix Faure which is a rather busy street. There was a nice view of the park from the corner room, but noisy at night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was nothing you like in that hotel. my room wifi didn’t work and askef the staf to fix it but they didn’t care.

    my room was very dirty and smell cigarette, shower was very narrow which you harfly cold move yourself around and there was no toilet paper and refrigerator as well. I think tv screen was 15 inch, the smales tv screen I have in my life. floor carpet was very dirty and there was no sleepers in the room.I don’t recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was exceptionally small (even by EU hotel standards), and the balcony was very narrow (entirely normal for French/Nice standards, but still disappointing if you don't expect it)

    The location is perfect, and the value for money was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing very happy with evering at the hotel breakfast was very good staff polite and friendly and attentive

    Staff very helpful and knowledgeable about the area always happy to answer any questions about the area and transport in the area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quite loud in the night but the wife insisted on the window being open, also it is probably in need of a bit of sprucing up ie. decor/paint.

    The location is absolutely brilliant - we had a room in the rotunda at the front which has lovely views. Also the staff was super accommodating and helpful with our hire car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of the hotel was excellent. Very close to the beach and to the old part of Nice. Several excellent restaurants and bars close by. Rooms are relatively small, but then when one is in Nice, why bother stay in the hotel room. If you prefer slightly nicer rooms it is possible worth paying little extra for the corner rooms as they have wonderful views towards the park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Specially the staff, the female staff was nice, helpful and smiley but the male staff has very bad manner like a teenager who doesn't give a thing about anything. He need to be educated to say bonjour when guest enter the hotel at least !!! The room was too small, not looking like in the picture at all, the drain in the shower room was clogged. I should have taking picture of the male receptionist and the room to give you an idea. We paid too much for this room.

    Location, very close to the park, old town and city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a 3 bed room. Good thing: 3 proper beds fitting for adults. Bad thing: there wasn't space to move between the beds. The middle bed had maybe 30 cm clearing on each side. The room was not great for 3 adults.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the bathroom smaller. The place was noisy. Towels were overused. Rugs were not clean. We had to change to a bigger room the second day because the room was to small.

    It was in the center of everything. The view from our room was great (38). Most of the staff was hospitable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked for 2 days. After 2nd night I left early morning, so did not have breakfast. They knew it but still they charged breakfast cost for two days. I did not noticed it then, after 2 days when I emailed them, they ignored my message. Mistake may happen, but ignoring emails from guest - not acceptable.

    Avoid this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -You'll need to leave your room key at the reception every time you go out and this is a bit annoying, especially in later times. They also lock the front door. -The room smells like a pack of cigarette. There's ashtray in the rooms!!! This is the worst part. We sleep with the window fully opened to due the horrible smell. -Bathroom is the worst I've ever seen in a hotel. No space for a good shower and the curtains keep sticking to your body. Water everywhere. You'll need to throw all your towels into the floor -No bar, no frigobar. -Really noisy street. -I do not recommend this accomodation.

    +Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only had Earl Grey tea at breakfast so we cancelled breakfast the next day, not good for us Scottish folk who's day starts with a good cup of tea in the morning, a choice of tea would be good This is merely constructive criticism

    Great location, easy transfer from the airport, walk onto the main road from the airport and get number 200 bus to the end of the line (only 1.50 euro) walk a few yards to the hotel (approx 5 mins leisurely stroll)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin, you can hear everything that happens around. But it did not disturb my sleep or anything like it.

    The location of hotel is just great. The balcony that came with the room was very nice as the view was to the park. Clean room, pillows and bed very comfy and hot water in shower, what else do you need? Maybe a kettle in room to make a morning or evening tea

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We called and got a rate, when we showed up the next day, the rate was increased. The rate on line was 25 euros cheaper than the new rate they were quoting us. Rather than giving us that rate, we were required to go on line while standing in the lobby to book it.

    Location was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Asked the receptionist to book a taxi in the morning we left, and came some guy with a van with no taxi logo and/or taxi clock.. Didn t feel safe. The price 45e to airport.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room but expected for france. could have been a little less expensive based on the size of the room.

    fantastic location right next to everything only 10 min walk to the beach. staff were lovely and easy check in.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is probably not worth the money. The WiFi is very very slow. The park across the hotel is filled with children all day long (it's like a public pool with children running around in their bathing suits and screaming:)) so if you open the windows it's a bit noisy.

    Good location, the view from the tower rooms are nice. Room and the bathroom was super clean. 24/7 reception, the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested an extra bed in the bedroom prior to arrival but that wasn't arranged. Also, one guest was missing a pillow as they "ran out". Just a thought: I would recommend that the night porter does not wear a singlet and flip flops behind reception - it doesnt look very professional.

    Location is just perfect. Staff is generally nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very helpful female desk person arranged airport transportation. Upon arrival of the (small bus for just one person). I verified the charge and the driver added 10 Euros. I asked the young man at the overnight desk if he could call another company (a taxi company). He refused. He seemed to be busy entertaining his group of friends. Beware of using their transportation company..

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms were very hot, so a fan or air conditioning would have been good.

    We had 2 rooms, the beds were very comfortable, breakfast was good, staff very nice. We were on a Monte Carlo or Bust charity fundraising trip and there was lots of parking for the teams.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was no AC in the room, but only a ventilator suspended on the ceiling.

    the location was very central near the park and the coast. only need to walk to the train station for 15 min.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was very small so the whole bathroom floor got wet. While loved having a room in the tour it was quite noisy when the windows were open.

    Great location. Friendly, helpful staff. Comfy bed. Had a tour room so view over the park. No aircon but had ceiling fan and with the windows open had plenty of fresh air.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for a tiny and noisy room. Was given a small room at the 1st floor and no a/c, just an electric fan. Early mornings I could hear stores opening and moving supplies in and out, also people walking by the street.

    Close proximity to tourist attractions.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we left, we asked the person at the reception to call us a taxi. A car with no "TAXI" sign arrived and charged us more than the usual fare. I also did not notice a taximeter device in the car. It feels like the receptionist called one of his friends to make some money. No AC.

    Perfect location. Some of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was tiny but we knew it would be so it wasn't much of a disappointment as long as we were so centrally located.

    The hotel is very centrally located, just a two-minute walk from Place Massena bustling with life day and night and a very short walk to the Promenade des Anglais. Across the road was the beautiful Promenade du Paillon with amazing fountains. The staff were very friendly and spoke sufficient English. The breakfast included nice croissants and delicious coffee. The room was cleaned every day of our stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the streets around the hotel, the night life is very active. There were permanent crowds of people making noise. It would be nice as giving a special athmosphere of the city, but if it continues till 3am, this make sleeping very difficult.

    The location is really great. Just go out and you are in the heard of the old Nice with restaurants, musicians, fountains etc. The sea shore is not far from the hotel. I had the most beautiful room at the edge of the building with panoramic view to the park.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom really small, wifi disconnects each time you stop using and you need to login each time. The hotel charged me for breakfasts that I didn't take and each time for 2 people even if I was alone (re-credited). I also discovered later that I was charged double for the city tax. It was the second time I came here and quite disappointing (first time no issues).

    excellent location, 24h access, wifi speed

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size

    The perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nice hotel in old building, not a modern hotel by any standard, but I like it like that

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning in the very small rooms and the bedcover was stained.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t book breakfast as it is very ordinary.

    Not the Ritz but does the job. Clean and comfortable Good location, fair price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for the type of room, which had no air-conditioning. Last night was very warm.

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a squeeze, but it's ok.

    Great location, great helpful friendly staff, comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom room 24 incredibly small.

    Great location and staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ancient plastic shower curtain - eerie!

    Staff lovely. Very friendly and helpful...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best is the location. It’s good place to stay if you are planning to spend lo the day sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sewage smell in bathroom bathroom was so small it was almost unusable no AC, only a ceiling fan

    Comfortable bed Great location Reasonably priced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single room was a bit small, and the toilet seat was very loose. The street is a bit noisy in the night.

    beautifully comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was very good. The rooms were comfortable, WIFI was okay. Breakfast was also good but limited.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet size was too small for a healthy person to manoeuvre around

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Space in the Room Breakfast was boring (bread and croissants)

    Great Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room Not so clean

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no air condiioning

    great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    There was very little to like apart from location as room was unbearably hot with no air conditional and an ineffective fan

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed Small shower No air con

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rather hard.

    The location was superb. We were in the rotunda and had an excellent view across the park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon , small rooms and bathroom

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms, even smaller shower! No aircon! No hot choice for breakfast.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room feels old somehow, maybe the color chosen for the walls

    Great location, nice view, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little more room?

    excellent value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, not clear and some durty

    Good location and good personal and very good price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -not enough heat, the room was very cold -strange smell in the room - WI FI with interruption

    -cleanliness -great attitude of the staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was small, but it did not cause any problems for us (just FYI)

    Great location, Clean rooms, Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air con

    very central to shopping, beach and old town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, helpful staff. Loved room 48 in the front corner on the top floor. Great to have an elevator.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise in the street

    location, view (room 27)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in room very hot

    Location was great, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was quite hot at night.

    Excellent location. Coffee at breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasnt too good.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extraordinarily well located. Could hardly find a better place in all of Nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition and very small rooms

    Law value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the top apartment

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    location is the best. it is very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition Very very expansive room Very very small room and bathroom Old structure

    Position

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fine location. Fan in bedroom useful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom is way to small even for a small person. No breakfast. The room looks a bit old.

    Great location, right at the old town. comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed and bathroom are very clean, staffs are nice and helpful, location is very good (easy to train station with 10 minutes walking, 5 minutes walking to beaches, major attractions, and old city), breakfast are very rich and good, the room is little small but we are fine with it. We are very happy with this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My friend's first room was plagued with plumbing noises, but she was moved without hesitation after one night.

    I had a lovely room in the rotonde, with view over the gardens.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room with magnificent view we booked was not available due to electricity failure. For compensation we didn't have to pay for breakfast. But we had chosen the hotel for the magnificent view...

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small bathroom and shower. Youths outside in park late at night and noisy. When windy the door kept banging at night. After heavy rain there was a constant dripping noise all night from somewhere.

    We liked the location and the garden view. Reception staff all very nice & helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room...sort of a "tight fit" for extended stays.

    Great location, helpful staff, comfortable bed and good bathroom. Easy walk to tram and old town.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too little shower space. Very noisy in the street during the night.

    Location right in the center of Nice close to the old city, seashore, shops and restaurants. Fair breakfast, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is good. It worth to book the room on the hotel's edge, because it have a lot of sun light and a really good view for the main park. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: