Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Acapulco 2 stars

445, Rue Auguste Broussonnet, 34090 Montpellier, France

#41 of 57 hotels in Montpellier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in a charming house with little garden to have breakfast that we didn't get to enjoy because it was raining. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was correct. Location was also very good. Nice room with a table. Bathroom was clean and hot water was abundant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom needs renovation, and it needs it fast!

    Frendly staff, they have organised eariel breakfast for us. To do that They had to come earlier to work. Comfortable bed. Interesting is the climat of old building where the hotel is localised. The hotel is close to city center - walk distance and tram line.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Do not trust the "Free public parking" in the listing. It's near to impossible to find free parking in Montpellier, so keep in mind you'll likely be spending an extra €15-20 a day on parking (unless you want to spend half your day driving around in search of a free spot).

    - Great location. - Super friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It claimed to have parking which was untrue, there is public parking that you pay for in the area. It was uncomfortable, noisy and the breakfast was not even basic./

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not recommend this hotel. Although the location is good, everything else is way below standards. The whole building needs serious refurbishment and has tiny rooms, the furniture is old and looks dirty, and the amenities kept to a minimum: we were a family of 4 in 2 rooms, they left us 1 towel in each room! We couldn't wait to check-out in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly I only had one night so didn't really find anything to grumble about. Nor did I try breakfast so can't comment there either.

    Would I stay at the Acapulco again? Definitely! If I was visiting Montpellier again I'd try and get room here again. Who else would like it there? Travellers who like things simple. Why would anyone stay here? The Acapulco is easy to get to, a half hour walk from the main rail station but much of that can be done by tram if you're so inclined and either way you pass through the historic centre of Montpellier. The hotel is an old villa with a charming and slightly weather beaten and faded look. It has a lovely patio garden where you can sit or take breakfast. It's an easy walk into town, about 10 minutes to the cathedral and the like. It's quiet and the staff very friendly. And the rooms? I'm not sure about the rooms in the hotel itself as I was shown to a one room annex at the back with it's own door and window onto the garden. The room was simple but secure, had air-con a perfectly good shower room (shower small but worked well) and a kitchen, albeit with only a sink, portable one ring hob and (bonus) a fridge. The bed was fantastically comfortable - I rarely sleep well in hot places but was out for the count here! I even got the WiFi working well, albeit a little slowly which is pretty good given I wasn't in the main building and the stone walls will have been a blocker. In summary: The Acapulco is the sort of place I hanker for with no pretence it's simple, comfortable and clean - I'm smiling thinking about it now! It get's the basics right and doesn't pretend to be anything more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room (on the top floor, facing the street) was very loud at night, because of the traffic at the street. The hotel staff told us it is the best room in the hotel why we did not insist to get the room that we actually booked (we booked a room with balcony but got another one). The furniture was okay but seems to be wuite old - our wardrobe was completely broken and dangerous to open. Breakfast is nice but has no choice of fresh fruit (its mostly bread-based breakfast) and it was not served outside. We mainly booked the hotel because we were looking forward to sit outside in the garden and at the balcony - which did not happen. To get to restaurant and the city centre, it takes a walk of 15-20 Minutes or you cold take a tram (which is 5 Minutes away). I think there are other places in Montpellier which offer a better location and facilities for a cheaper price and therefore, I would not book this hotel again - although the hosts were really aboslutely nice and friendly - but the rooms and the service should be improved for that price. Given these issues and that the facilities in the hotel are quite basic, I think it is overpriced.

    The staff in the hotel was very nice and welcoming! The rooms were nice as well and were cleaned every day.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I payed in advance for a room with air-conditioner, however it was broken, and the owner couldn't fix it. I didn't sleep for 3 nights because of the warm in the room and this affected my work. The owner didn't refund any money for it and at any interaction he was screaming at me as if it was my fault. I wouldn't have pay anything for a room without air-conditioning and he should be responsible to guarantee the room have what he is offering.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and beautiful building!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    long distance parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink wasn't very stable. No kettle

    Extra comfy bed Super location Nice old building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Dated

    + Cleanliness + Location + Wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast! Dont pay for it

    Nice place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just not clean!

    Location is quite central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one electric plug in the all room

    Very performing and pleasant staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra chair in the bedroom would have helped.

    Very close to tram stop.Handy for travel into Montpellier centre.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Latin American atmosphere, garden, buildings. The host was very friendly and helpful. Gave me good advice about the sights in town.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely good and friendly staff. The best hotel I've ever stayed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conditioned air working bad, problems to pay with credit card (cash), no parking for motorbike

    very close to city center, good wifi connection

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the first day, I didn't have hot water. Maybe it's on a time schedule? Nevertheless, I also enjoyed hot water in the latter days.

    My room was really clean, the bed was very comfortable, the staff was lovely, always smiling and patient with my French skills. The breakfast was small, but delicious and the WiFi was fast. Generally, I felt safe and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Couple

    We didn't feel in a clean place as the general state is old, furniture looked secondhand, was loosy and the interior design was incoherent.

    The staff was really nice. The hotel is an old charming stately home. The free wifi was great.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very thin walls in the hotel, so you can hear everyone moving and talking in the adjacent rooms, probably not great if you're a light sleeper

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating to my broken French, bed was comfortable and room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was beautiful and light and the bathroom had a bath!! The garden was beautiful and the flowers and trees poked through the windows in our room. The staff were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Street noise was pretty noticeable and the bed was fairly uncomfortable. No fridge or toiletries supplied.

    Decent value, AC and wifi were both good. Within walking distance of train station and city centre.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No shops around, but it's not the hotel's fault

    Retro style, very accurate, but with modern services: strong WiFi signal the room. Staff just adorable. 2 minutes distance from the tramway stop, line 1. It would be my first choice if going to Montpellier again.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was quite small.

    The location was great, close to downtown.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very polite, kind and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great quiet sheltered location near historic part of city. Decor a bit tired but some would see that as character. For the price great value.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The garden where breakfast is served is really cozy. The staff where super friendly and accommodating. Simple, and clean rooms.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: