Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Adonis Sanary Grand Hôtel des Bains

Avenue Estienne d'Orves, 83110 Sanary-sur-Mer, France

#7 of 7 hotels in Sanary-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 751 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting was poor in the room and the road noise was quite intrusive. The water in the bathroom took an eternity to warm up and it was difficult to shower without flooding the bathroom. At no time did I see the hotel bar open.

    Excellent location - lovely gardens (for al fresco breakfast dining) with good on-site parking facilities. Breakfast provided all that we needed. For what we paid the hotel provided reasonable value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent continental breakfast. Comfortable bed. Staff helpful and welcoming. Perfect location to pedestrian streets and sea for endless walks. Parking facilities a plus. Good value for price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are several albeit nit-picking faults which have never been addressed: power point which has become detached from the wall; two light bulbs not working; curtains which need to be refitted; inadequate pressure on the shower. Inadequate breakfast i.e. no croissants

    We stay here all the time and there is always a warm welcome. Five minutes walk to the centre of Sanary

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not very welcoming and they wouldn't let us leave our bags while we went to have lunch and we were told on the phone that they would no problem. Instead they insisted we keep them in the car. No elevator .

    Location was great. Can walk to the port and center. Market right there. Convenient parking behind hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic rooms and need a bit of update but for the money was ok. Have stayed in worse

    Location good, near to restaurants and shops and breakfast good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bartender overlooking breakfast very testy, had to come over and show us what angle to hold breakfast tray, and only 3 of us there. Room dated, cold, uninviting dark colors. Not what expected for south France near Med. Comfort of room not worth price paid.

    Location great, receptionist kind. If you want to be steps away from Sanary waterfront, this is your place. Very central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of traffic noise and the window would not completely close. The garden view was actually of a roof, the furniture is all black and the room and hotel are generally dark and in depressing colours. Several large metal towel trolleys were permanently parked in the main access corridor which helped make the whole place look messy and uncared for.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, un friendly , bar closed due to fire in June, we were not told this upon booking, limited breakfast, our shower was very poor, our room cleaner was Fantastic!

    Good location in the town,good parking,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we booked 2 separate beds, but they had run out of those rooms the week before. There was only one double bed, which for two straight guys doesn't work! A/C was a god send in the French sun but it was terribly noisy...

    Air con. And free wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cramped. In particular the shower/toilet room was very small. It was difficult to take a shower without getting water all over the floor. Breakfast charged at 10 euros each per day for self service was poor with coffee from a machine.

    The location and the availability of free parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not very spectacular. As we say every time, hotel badly needs a lift.

    We stay here every few weeks and love every minute of it. We think we had a free room upgrade. We were there on Wednesday which is market day and the market is well worth visiting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel is phantastically situated and very quiet. There is a charming garden area. Plenty of parkig spaces. If you drive by car you have to programme your navi as follows: Avenue Europe unie. It is after number 109, no one knew the exact number. We found the people in restaurants vey friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for showers, when we contacted the owner/manager Astrid she Couldn't care a less and suggested we walk to another room for a hot shower! On check out when we complained about the €10 breakfast and cold water we were given 10% off our bill by the young receptionist and €3 off breakfast . Astrid is the real problem.

    Clean, good location and Eva gave a fabulous massage.Internet was good and there is a food store one block away.dark haired female receptionist was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if we'd found the control for the heating (discovered the next day on the wall). The room available earlier than 3pm would be good. A glass panel instead of a shower curtain in the bathroom?

    the location (proximity to restaurants, shops, market and port), the cleanliness, the easy parking, the information on places to visit, the modern bathroom with a window, wifi and tv (for an adolescent...), the quiet road, the lovely old building (and photo of how it was in the corridor)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel really needs a complete overhaul now, decor is rather tired and dated. Every time we stop there is always some albeit small problem. This time there was no pressure on the shower, at other times bulbs have been out; on one occasion a power point has become detached from the wall. No heat in the bathroom. Hair dryer only works when the bathroom light is on; there should be a notice explaining this. Bath towels are rather flimsy. When the car park is finished, parking will be chargeable at a small price admittedly. We SHALL be back nevertheless

    We have been stopping here since 1973. Enough said.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We should have been told that the carparking area was being refurbed as there was only room for a handful of cars. We also note that in future we shall have to pay for the car park

    Room price was 100€. We paid 70€ includng breakfast. We think we had a room upgrade too. Great value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms weren't as up to date as other places we stayed along the coast for the same price. Could hear our neighbours via the whole in the bathroom where the exhaust fan was missing.

    Location is really close to great shopping, the beach and main harbour area. Free parking! Overall, not bad for a one night stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A notice in the bathroom that the hairdryer only worked when the lights were switched on would be helpful.

    We always stop here when in Sanary which speaks for itself. Great location, pleasant attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Total lack of supportive facilities; restaurant run by another company; poor breakfast; hall and lounge shows poor taste and total disinterest; garden and bar are a mess. The whole hotel is run with absolute lack of interest in the guests; it is used as a cheap source of income. Hotel should be taken over by a more professional company.

    Excellent location; good size room; good bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed two times in this premise and on the second time the room (just next to the reception) had no air conditioner.

    Free car park, garden, location, free wi-fi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were a little basic but you get what you pay for. WiFi coverage could be a bit better as it was a bit patchy.

    Great location, despite what some reviewers say the breakfast was fine. You could pay 50% more for exactly the same in a cafe down the road. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Garden was lovely. Food was good. Literally a few minutes walk to the Marina and lovely town, beach in the other direction. the weather wasn't brilliant when we were there but a lovely break nonetheless.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is pretty beaten up and looks to have been redone maybe 40 years ago, in a now dated style. A fair amount of traffic noise.

    easy free parking, pretty convenient location, plus we paid only e59 -- not half-price as Booking.com said, but a good value.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We confirmed we needed parking prior to our visit, got there and the car park was rammed due to a nearby festival. Receptionist just shrugged her shoulders and didn't bother to help or advise where else we could park

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water supply was almost non existing

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have a hand rail in the bath/shower

    The setting is great and the proximity to the town and all the amenities is fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have a lift

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mediocre outlook Some sockets not working properly Heating came on but did not work Shower flooded floor Wobbly lamp near bed

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower that dispensed hot water with more pressure. Indifferent breakfast.

    Everything!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price, no bar, gardens poor.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sanary sur mer is a nice place and the hotel is near the city and the beach!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast over priced . Garden area needs some work

    Location , cleanliness ,aircondition , free WiFi , free parking , garden view rooms .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Decor, design, bathroom, dining room, lousy management

    This establishment is operating years beyond its sell-by date and is squalid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could offer more

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    le restaurant ferme

    situation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitoes -- wish windows had screens.

    The hotel is a good value for the money. Stay at the sea and sleep in a clean room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A window was broken, the ceiling of the bathroom was damaged, it wasn't really clean in general

    Location, price, free parking, wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for the normal price. Shower water pressure very poor.

    The reduce price,location, parking, big bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling was flaky, some plaster fell down. Not serious though.

    Proximity to town and beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Baths in this hotel are very slippy and thus dangerous

    We are stopping here again in a couple of days time. Enough said!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heater in the spacious bathroom

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boiler for hot water

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rough surface in car parking area

    The location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water in the showers! And very little understanding and action from the staff when it was pointed out....

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The need for a lift!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    n/a

    location right by the sea

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had difficulty with the shower and plug controls. Be careful on getting out of the bath as the floor tiles are very slippery when wet

    We liked having breakfast in the garden Free parking was a bonus

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom is old and very small. The bed cover has some holes. We could hear the TV sounds from the rooms next door. The breakfast was very poor for 10 euros.

    Location is central. Personnel is friendly. The bed is comfortable. The restaurant downstairs is excellent for diner: the fish was fresh and delicious. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tablet soap in bathroom. Hotel in process of putting in dispensers, so what do we do in the interim? Additional shower sachets are insufficient. There was no 'phone or phone point in the room we had to contact reception with our mobile. Staff were amazed when they visited the room to find absence of 'phone. TV not working because of a non-functioning remote hence the need to contact reception. It was replaced. We shall be stopping here again in spite of the problems this time.

    We stop at at this hotel frequently which speaks for itself. Good location, good view of sea from room, good price, adequate breakfast. Free parking on site. On this occasion we got instant hot water in bathroom, in the winter it often takes an eternity to come through.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No reception, do not arrive before 3pm sharpe they will not check you in, dark room, and no window to open,

    Location to beech and town fantastic!good bar staff, nice to sit outside,

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not impressed that clean towels were left on the toilet seat. Clean towels could be left on the bed, or fix a shelf in the bathroom which is normal for hotels. Knowledge of train times would be useful. Bedspreads needed a wash (lightweight duvets preferable to sheets and bedspread).

    Location. Clean rooms. Good wardrobe space in rooms. Good size room. Nice staff. Secure baggage storage. Price.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were unwelcoming, and the 'garden' was an outdoor bar / restaurant with no seating for guests not using these facilities. The decor was faded, dark and not very tasteful. Not possible to have windows open because of the noise of the road. Nowhere to dry towels or swimming gear so had to be creative with use of wardrobe rails etc.

    The location was excellent - for the town and for the beach, and on the bus route to the station (although very few buses ran). Good air conditioning and wifi.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is overpriced at EUR9.50. Rooms are tiny and the bathrooms even more so!

    Location - the hotel is very close to the port of Sanary and all the town's bars and restaurants. The air conditioning in the rooms is effective and the Wi-Fi is free but not so strong.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator Has great potential but need a facelift.

    Great location close to the beach and center. We also liked the friendly staff and willingness to support in general. Parking was also available for free next to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one lady receptionist seemed friendly. Breakfast was not up to standard for France, so local cafe used. Lift not working, not good for luggage moving.

    Easy to access the resort, with good parking for the car.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The photos gave a false impression as there were no gardens as such. Wifi kept shutting down while I was still working on my pc.

    The location was perfect, and free parking was a real bonus.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    worst night's sleep I can remember ; staff only agreed to change room after we threatened to leave early - breakfast very basic - not worth 9 euros each !

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water takes an eternity to reach the bathroom taps. It does need to be pointed out that the restaurant and hotel are not run by the same people

    Nice people; comfortable, well decorated room, good breakfast. Minutes from centre of Sanary. We have stopped here on 3 occasions which speaks for itself.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift. Hot water took an eternity to arrive through taps and shower.

    Clean, well decorated room and bathroom. Decent view. Two minutes walk into Sanary

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a bit saggy in the middle.

    We stay there all the time. Enough said!! Free upgrade.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Couple

    the Welcome the Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not very comfortable bed, but that is not to be expected at this price level.

    Very centrally located, convenient. Friendly staff. Nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    spotty wifi

    Location can't be beat

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    spotty wifi

    Best location!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi had some problems

    Location, free parking

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is great

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift.

    Close to centre of Sanary. Good value upgrade to superior room. Pleasant staff. Good value restaurant.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: