Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aigle Noir Hôtel 4 stars

27, place de Napoleon Bonaparte, 77300 Fontainebleau, France

#6 of 24 hotels in Fontainebleau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1013 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect for the centre of Fontainebleau -- just opposite the chateau and its gardens and beautifully peaceful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is super clean and comfy but the WiFi and food challenge need to be addressed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi never worked in the room so I was unable to do my assignments from my training at Insead business school. That was quite upsetting. Also there was no food when I came back to the hotel around 11 pm the first night .

    I liked the cleanliness of the rooms and the vibrant colors of the decor

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Location and huge breakfast choice - especially for France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly odd not to have bar, there was a honesty bar but feel they have missed something without one

    Location was perfect, very helpful staff, vast choice at breakfast - something for everyone

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    This hotel was located ideally in the centre of town near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that the breakfast price of 28 euro per person was quite expensive so we just had Le petit dejeuner at one of the cafes.

    This hotel was located ideally in the centre of town near cafes and restaurants and a short stroll from the palace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Old world charm and such helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to fault as the location, parking facilities,helpful staff,comfortable beds met and exceeded our expectiations. We have been “on the road” for 3 months. The only thing I didn’t want to tamper with was the bed “controls” (water bed) as I couldn’t work out? Wld have been nice to have instructions but bed was comfy without.

    Our proximity to Fountainebleau. Parking was included and although a public car park easy to use right next to the hotel, the helpful staff,attention to detail in its decor. Proximity of places to eat, next door. Lifts in the hotel although we did not need them. We were on the ground floor. History of the place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Worthwhile to revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has been a most pleasant stay. We have been upgraded to a luxury suite as I travelled with my 2 children. We all enjoyed the spa bath and shower, teas and coffees in the room. The rooms were spacious (room 111) and very clean. We definitely will return at some point to visit Chateau Fontainebleau and its charming little city again. Hopefully not including a Monday, when most shops are closed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    French elegance in a beautiful & well located hotel ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Elegant hotel, beautifully situated in central Fontainebleau right opposite the chateau. The hotel staff were very friendly on our arrival, and really efficient. They went out of their way to help us when we needed a slight amendment to the room. The room itself has everything you needed, including toiletries, fridge & hairdryer. The bed was very comfortable with lovely fresh bedding. And the hotel itself was so elegant with fabric wall paper throughout. Over all a lovely stay in a beautiful hotel ina beautiful quintessentially French town. Thoroughly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel which we would happily revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Upon arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room. The hotel staff were very welcoming and informative. Plenty of restaurants close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful Hotel and Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot find a fault.

    Wonderful choice. Reception personnel, especially Fanny and Cecile, were very helpful and friendly. Great location and lovely room. Lots of cafes and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    top location nice staff and cross the road you are on the chateau grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the air con operations was hard

    was very comfortable but noisy air con and difficult to operate.the last nght stopped working and could not get through the phone to the desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Location of the hotel is great next to the castle and middle of the center. The staff is very friendly and helpful. And the breakfast buffet is worth every penny.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Excellent for a night in Fontainebleu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's extremely convenient for Fontainbleu. Not exquisite luxury but perfectly comfortable. It's exactly what I expected of a French hotel in a small city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    The website is great, the reality is terribly dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was awfully dated, almost creepy. People simply walking in the room upstairs made everything tremble and we were woken up early. The shower was malfunctioning because of poor maintenance. Even if they lack the historical charm you can find at Aigle Noir Hotel, there is way more confort to be found nearby for that amount of money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    An old aristocratic hotel with a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were too many reparations waiting f.ex. the garden patio.

    The breakfast was good. Even fresh berries were available. The room was well equipped and big enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location, huge rooms with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here on a recent road trip on our way back to Paris. The hotel is directly across the road from the Chateau and access couldn't be easier. There is free parking at the city carpark - also directly outside the hotel. Trolleys are available to transfer your luggage. The hotel is right in the middle of the town with easy access to shops and restaurants. The room was amazing - it was huge and had so much character, with fabric wallpaper, huge wooden furniture including a desk and plenty of space. The bathroom was also excellent with a powerful shower and good amenities. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel - it was too expensive for us (I think 22 euro per person) so we elected to have a quick bite to eat at a local cafe. Staff were very friendly and helpful An excellent stay here and we would stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi signal was available only till my bed, so , to open internet. i needed to wake up from bed;)). and also u cant look TV from the bed, because Tv rotated in window. much people say that there is nice parking.. well, i would say that is nice , that they have parking in fact , and it is free. but first of all, nowhere is the sign about that parking of this hotel, is somewhere in underground.. next thing is that , specially in weekend this parking is really busy, and not at every place u can park there, if u got a car bigger then “golf” (wasted 30mins to park) . i wold be happy with price only if breakfast would be included, otherwise its little bit too-much . Eng Language level on reception was poor.

    nice location. parking included in price, and u can park till the end of your check out day. bathroom was modern renovated. good sound isolation.comfort bed. 0,5 water for each in room for free.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is beautiful and located right across from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly the AC could have been a bit stronger, but really that was not a problem.

    The hotel is beautiful and located right across from the chateau. The underground parking is right across the street and was easy to enter and exit. This hotel was perhaps the greatest value we have experienced in our many trips to France.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    A little jewel in Fontainebleau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel was a nice find. It’s unpretentious, comfortable and nicely located, and very reasonably priced. The staff were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and will definitely book again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    A great one night stopover on our way north for ferry but would go again and stay for longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet space which was separate from bathroom was a bit cramped

    Got upgrade to deluxe and it was - huge double bed, big walk in shower, bathrobes and slippers, air conditioning. Choice at breakfast was extraordinary - something to suit everyone. Great location for visiting the Chateau. Free car parking below hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place perfectly located if you are visiting the palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC went down on the hottest day of the year!! Profuse apologies form genuinely concerned staff. But it was impossible to sleep in a pool of sweat!! They did provide free bottled water. Not really their fault, just unfortunate timing for us.

    The location is just across the street from the Palace. restaurants and bars close by and easy walk into town. Beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and really good buffet breakfast. Staff were outstanding, friendly and very efficient. Very much recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall very good but for over £200.00 for bed and breakfast I would expect perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of view from our room. Broken and missing shower fittings. Having PAPER CUPS on the tea/coffee tray.

    The location of the hotel and adjacent free parking. The efficiency of the staff. The cleanliness and décor of the hotel. The standard and selection of foodstuffs available for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A welcoming Oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in the heat of Fontainebleu but still quiet. Friendly and welcoming service, free car parking, comfortable spacious room with air conditioning and good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on the website showed lovely rooms, tastefully furnished in the old Chateau style, giving a feeling of old world and luxury. Our four rooms were in the attic, sparsely furnished, rather disappointing from that point of view. Shower was good, and excellent bed. Breakfast was not included and cost another E 22 p.p for a buffet breakfast catering for all tastes. The Reception staff was very helpful and the Breakfast room staff friendly too.

    Central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    The location of the property is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were assigned a room on the ground floor, which was close to space used for an exhibition of wedding gowns.

    The location of the property is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Municipality had closed down the road at the main entrance of the hotel. We had to carry our bags up from the parking and into the hotel.

    We got upgraded for free and the rooms were big and clean. Bathroom had a Jacuzzi too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    Don't waste your Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was brilliant. The hotel is overrated and over priced. There was damp on the walls and window frames. Whose idea was it to provide cardboard cups for hot drinks in the room and plastic beakers wrapped in cellophane for cold drinks. Had no intention of paying 22 euros per head for breakfast at this place. Not worth the money even for the location. Rubbish

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older property, window not insulated can feel the wind coming in. Walk on cobblestones from parking lot. Expensive.

    Fantastic location. Underground parking lot in front of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We appreciated the free parking in the garage close to the hotel. Only thing was when carrying quite some luggage you can’t really park your car in front of the hotel to quickly unpack. Minor thing.

    Very friendly staff. Nice room, spacious. We had a side room in our room, so perfect for the baby bed. Clean and very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    wonderful hotel in located in a wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good, no complaints.

    great location, very quirky bedrooms, excellent breakfast. a lovely honesty bar and lovely courtyard for people watching, excellent underground car park opposite hotel that is free for guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    All in all, it doesn't deserve **** status and is not worth the price they charge form rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host at reception declined to change the room we didn't like much despite our request. Said the hotel was full - that was a lie, as we checked later with her colleague. We asked for wardrobes and they brought only one. Quite unpleasant, given we had an anniversary and wanted to make the day special. Breakfast was OK, despite the dirty glass they brought to us (with lipstick on it). When we asked to replace, they just replaced, with no apology. The whole hotel is rather fatigue - used to be of good quality long time ago, probably.

    The room was quite OK, good bed and pillows. All necessary amenities in the bathroom, and an iron in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A little disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problems sleeping as a result of noise (loud music or tv) from an adjoining room. We did report it, and while staff were excellent they could not isolate the noise and it continued well into the night. We were offered another room for our second night which we declined as we hoped that the offender was only staying one night. Had it happened in the second night we would have changed rooms. We were a little disappointed that some form of compensation wasn’t offered for example a free breakfast or bottle of wine. We are planning to return in September but will now reconsider where we stay.

    Great central location opposite underground car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Location was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was superb. Parking is included in the underground garage. Rooms were well appointed with air conditioning which was helpful given the heat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Good rooms in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable room, good bathroom. Reception staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful and friendly. Car park was in the nearby underground carpark. The hotel is next door to the Chateau and close to several restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Memorable fine experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there is no direct access from the (public) underground parking to the hotel

    Prestigeous location in front of “le jardin de Diane”. Historical building superbely renovated up to today’s standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Got upgraded to the suite for no charge;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to the hotel by car, so you need to carry the luggage yourself from the parking.

    Got upgraded to the suite for no charge; free parking in underground parking; baby crib nice and clean; wonderful bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent centrally located hotel in lovely, lively town. Couldn't fault anything in room which had tea and coffee making facilities as well as a good bathroom. Reception staff were superb, helping us with dinner recommedations and reservations. Heartily recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Very useful stop for the palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The underground parking takes a bit of figuring out. Hotel looks grand from the outside but low ceiling makes the reception area less impressive. Small window in room.

    Very good staff at front desk. Comfortable bed and quiet room. Location is uber convenient for the palace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    The wonderful ambience and great location and super staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few extra towels and bigger fridge - to fit the champagne the place deserves

    The wonderful ambience and great location and super staff Will return in spring

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways (not the rooms!!) were a bit smelly - nothing bad at all, just a bit of a funny smell.

    very warm but not fake-friendly welcome, fast and efficient staff. Nice room, comfy bed, best location in town! I loved the honesty-bar and the fabric covered walls of everything!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional service, very attentive staff, would recommend to everyone with above average service expectations.. Breakfast buffet was also very rich, Thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and very helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The junior suite was big and on the ground floor. it needed a redecoration and rethink as the decor was much like that of a bar and the furniture completely random and strange -there was a full length bar in the living area with random bar furniture ! Need to rethink lighting in this suite as very dark ( had to ask for more lamps ) in living area . There were blue strip lights around staircase and around the water bed ( felt very 1970😀) it would of been great to of had windows which opened and the doors and windows in this suite require insulation as had to keep curtains drawn . Loved the location of the suite but really felt like it use to be a public bar and had received a very quick / cheerful change of use had been done without much thought or logic

    The staff were friendly and very helpful . The breakfast was amazing and catered for all tastes . The location was central and the car park less than 5 minutes away .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    We had an upgrade so the room was super big and beautiful.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold. There was no option to plug in a hair dryer near a mirror

    We had an upgrade so the room was super big and beautiful. The personnel is friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    The hotel provided an excellent stopover for a quick stay and the staff were very friendly.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom lighting kept automatically switching off when you were in the room. We both found the bed a bit uncomfortable, perhaps just too firm for our taste. We think there should be at least two of every hot drink option in the room; there was only one tea bag of our preferred choice.

    We were given a free upgrade to a suite as the hotel was not busy as it was 1st January! The suite was tastefully decorated and had a luxurious feel. Especially liked the TV disguised as a period mirror.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, clean, warm & very central!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived late and called reception for something light to eat. We got a plate of Cheese & Bread and were charged €40 for it! A bit much I thought...

    Beautiful hotel, very clean the Jacuzzi was a nice touch in the room!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Great visit to a very interesting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking if private would have been great as it was a free for all in a very busy car park. It was however free to the guests.

    The location of the hotel for Fontainebleau is superb. Parking is public literally outside the hotel, underground. The hotel is luxury end, the rooms are spacious and very well soundproofed. The breakfast whilst expensive is good with a variety of food types. If you tried to mimic the breakfast in Fontainebleau it would cost you more as the restaurants are expensive as they seem to cater for the Parisians.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Wondrous and wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has seen better days....it was, apparently, a refuge gor the rich and fsmous...but after the ‘80’s the Americans stopped comjng anx part of it was dold off. Pool was closed, gym and piano bar too. It still has dmazing chacter though and is charming. The staff were amazing!

    The personel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Outstanding location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning very difficult to adjust in the room- room was thus too hot. Elevator was out of service for entire duration of trip.

    Outstanding location. Really nice breakfast.Good size room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    A very comfortable base from which to explore Fontainebleau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is situated on a pedestrian area and is therefore not accessible directly from the road, which could be a problem for disabled people or those who cannot exit a car quickly. There is no longer any restaurant with the hotel, but there are several brasseries about 20 metres away from the front door.

    The bed was very comfy and the room was welcoming and warm. The bathroom was quite small but the rain shower was powerful and hot and the fittings were modern ... I particularly appreciated the fact that the windows opened fully and the rooms are also air conditioned. My son had an asthma attack in the middle of the night and the staff were extremely helpful and obliging. We very much enjoyed our stay here. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    This is a beautiful hotel with lovely toile fabric covering...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful hotel with lovely toile fabric covering all the walls. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was extensive and fulfilling, with expert service. We would stay here again without question. Parking is available directly across the street in the underground Napoleon car park; the hotel validates for 24 or 48 hours free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing and opulent stay in central Fontainbleu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally perfect in every way!

    The staff were super friendly and spoke excellent English. They were supremely helpful and went above and beyond with any and all queries. Their recommendations for local businesses and facilities were top drawer. There is an Honesty Bar at the hotel which means that guests have access to refreshments all day and into the evening. Great range of excellent quality spirits and soft drinks. Parking was superb, underground, very clean, smelled of new car and played classical music! WOW!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel with best breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    With late arrival and some confusion on booking details for two rooms and 6 people it took just 10 minutes to sort it out, we were even upgraded without extra charge. Rooms are comfortable and clean, with nice details as bathrobe and espresso machine (still not a standard option). Breakfast for 20 euros was probably the best we had along 4 week long travel ( visiting more than 15 hotels including 5 stars ) in the US and France . Highly recommmend for stay in case you decide to spend a night in Fontainebleau

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast is the best !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could be improved slightly. Walls are a bit old. Bathroom is fully renewed though

    Breakfast is the best ! Full Buffet Breakfast with options for everyone

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    A comfortable and pleasant hotel for a short stay near the city centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better Bar with staffing and a reasonable wine list. A restaurant in the hotel would have been nice but not a must!

    We were given a complimentary room upgrade with a jacuzzi. Room was quite good size and well appointed and very comfortable. The hotel is well located near the city centre, staff are very pleasant and helpful. There does not seem to be a restaurant in the hotel and the Bar is very basic. But there are alternative options just out in the city walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Great overnight in Fontainbleau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi signal was weak in our room although the service itself was fast when connected.

    The location opposite the palace is perfect - easy to find places to eat right outside. Parking in the public car park below is clean and convenient. Included in room rate. Breakfast is generous ( as it should be at €20!) Staff very professional. Our room was large and very nice possibly because we were upgraded to super deluxe...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    The decor of the dining room is absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If one arrives by car be prepared which we were not. There is no way to access the front door of the hotel with luggage from the street and parking is across the street in a public underground lot. Needless to say this surprise was not appreciated having to lug our baggage up flights of stairs and across pavement. The hotel does have a drill to avoid this surprise, but it needs to go public with a simple set of instructions. Hotel staff will come to your specific parking location and assist with baggage if they are called. This is not unlike a Strasbourg hotel we've stayed in which is difficult to access by car. Apart from this one surprise the hotel was wonderful and very convenient to restaurants and Chateau Fontainebleau.

    The decor of the dining room is absolutely wonderful. The breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    very friendly staff, centre walking distance castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we did not take the breakfast, but went for croissants at the nearby bakery (a lot cheaper..)

    very friendly staff, centre walking distance castle. Interparking ticket validated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Living in History
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was confusing on arrival. there is little to no place to stop in front of hotel. Parking is underground only across busy street. dropping luggage for checkin can be an issue

    Beautiful old hotel with fantastic history and perfect location across from palace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Central location, perfect for visiting Fontainebleau itself...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More staff on duty at breakfast to replenish the dishes.

    Central location, perfect for visiting Fontainebleau itself and the nearby Châteaux at Vaux-le-Viconte and Malmaison. The town of Barbizon, home to the Barbican School of artists, is also close by and well worth a visit. The hotel was very comfortable, the breakfasts good if a little on the expensive side.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel in the heart of Fontainbleau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    The location was fabulous; located in the old part of town near all the shops and restaurants. It was air conditioned, and we were there on a very hot day, so that was a real pleasure. We arrived early to find out where to park (in an underground facility across the street for free) and they checked us into our room...that was so nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.7
    One night stay in Fontainebleau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom wall coverings and carpet could do with updating. Breakfast was expensive at Euro 20 per person.

    Hotel location is in Centre of town. Everything is within walking distance. Bathroom was very modern.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Antiquity and modernity in one fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The friendly staff is the highlight of this lovely hotel, although the location is absolutely unbeatable, the rooms comfy and quiet, the bed like a soft cloud, and the modern bathroom a dream. I sprained my ankle in the city and couldn't have hoped for more concern and care by the hotel's manager and staff. They were fabulous!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    The interior style which has an old France look with state...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is overpriced for people like us who eat lightly.

    The interior style which has an old France look with state of the art bedrooms. Room is spacious and elegant; comfy bed, great bedding, Italian shower, Nespresso machine, large TV screen, location across the Chateau. The breakfast display was very impressive including even Chinese, Indian specialties. The Breakfast room is airy, clear, roomy and so elegant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    The Aigle Noir is the best place to stay in Fontainebleau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The service was amazing, parking across the road was free to hotel guests, and the sound insulation between rooms was the best of any of the hotels we stayed at in Europe (no being woken up by someone else's alarm or early morning shower). When we checked in, we were asked why we were in Fontainebleau. We said we were interested in bouldering but were beginners. A lot of other people were checking in at that time so we went straight to our rooms, thinking we would have to investigate our options using the local Tourist Office the next day. Instead, later that evening, after clearing the check-in queue, one of the reception staff members contacted a friend who bouldered locally to obtain advice on good sites for us to go bouldering at, both within easy driving distance and close to public transport. She gave us a map with the sites of the right difficulty level that were easy to find marked on it. We visited one of them the next day and it was absolutely awesome (the best activity of our European trip). We were very impressed that the hotel staff didn't just assume that people went there solely because it was a lovely hotel close to the Fontainebleau chateau, and really went out of their way to ensure guests had a great experience in Fontainebleau more generally. The hotel staff were also very helpful when my daughter's mobile phone disappeared later that day when we were out and about in Fontainbleau. The French police will not make a report about a stolen phone unless you can provide the phone's unique identifier. Due to problems with our phone services provider and the Easter long weekend in Australia, we were not going to be able to provide that before we had to leave Fontainebleau, and the police would not file an incomplete report with the number to be supplied later (a problem for us given the wording of our insurance policy, which required a police report to be lodged within 24 hours of detection of theft).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Location and staff's hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little tricky. It is better off to call the hotel to get the advice. After following the advice, everything was easy!

    Location and staff's hospitality

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Hotel with a lot of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast with options but a bit pricey

    Lovely spacious room great for toddler to roam about in. Comfortable bathroom. Staff were very attentive and helpful. In close proximity to restaurants, the chateau and forest.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    A great place for exploring Aix
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was being repaired when were there and it was necessary to haul suitcases up and down a few flights of stairs.

    This is a high end property and everything it has and does fits this description. A very nice property in a great location for exploring Aix.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    amazing hotel with super staff! thanks for taking care of me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    super friendly staff, very polite and pleasant to deal with. Arrived pretty late at night and the lovely lady on reception offered to have food made for me, then i upgraded bonus to a super beautiful room. I was only meant to stay one night but ended up through personal circumstances staying another night and had to leave very early the next morning on check out the super receptionist offered me coffee to go and food for the trip back to Nice. i can not rate this hotel enough they just know how to take care of their guests! thank you so much!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.3
    Not for a long visit....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drawers to unpack your clothes, only small hanging space. Not good when you stay for 6 nights. Hand basin in the bathroom very shallow, hard to shave.....lots of chipped paint work around bathroom door..room 118. VERY NOISY people upstairs, sounded like a herd of elephants! Could not hear noise from outside, just upstairs.

    Location is excellent. Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    6.7
    past glory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    really outdated rooms, 'gone glory' style with some of the grandeur left, but comfort and amenities-wise, hopelessly outdated, shame!

    Nicely located right at the center of Fontainebleau, very near the chateau Very friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel across the street from the Chateau de Fontainebleau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We liked the central location and the wonderful breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Nice athmosphere, good location, comfortable beds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too few places to plug in your phone/computer (small detail)

    Nice athmosphere, good location, comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Did not eat in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not eat in the hotel. The room was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Great location, cozy and spacious room (could be a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/ Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, cozy and spacious room (could be a little bit too cold at night though)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    The best place on town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The best place on town....easily.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Nice style the fits well with the location at the center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice style the fits well with the location at the center and close to the castle. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aigle Noir Hôtel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: