Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ajoncs d'Or 3 stars

10 rue des Forgeurs, Intra Muros, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#15 of 73 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1171 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location, we used the hotel parking ( for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once you are through the walls, it’s mainly a one way system. Be prepared to drive around looking for a park. Great once you are parked though because everything is close.

    Convenient location, we used the hotel parking ( for €18/night) which was close by). The staff were really friendly and were happy to give recommendations for food and sightseeing. The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel Intra Muros Rennes - excellent staff and location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Excellent location - could easily walk from ferry arrival. The reception staff were excellent, helpful and most polite. They also helped with minding baggage after I checked out. The surrounds of the hotel were interesting and enjoyable - lots of places to look at and plenty of shops, creperies etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    We had offered to upgraded to the bigger room plus extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had offered to upgraded to the bigger room plus extra cost it ended up the family room extra bed room that we will never use but it doesn’t help us for more space in our bedroom so it is not worth it for money the room close to the road it was noisy in the morning and the male staff when we checked out wasn’t nice the way the talked or looked at me.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay within the walled town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-September. The hotel is in a great location within the walled town, close to shops, restaurants, ramparts and the beaches. The staff were friendly, spoke good English and were very helpful. We upgraded to a superior double room on the second floor which had a large bathroom. The room overlooked a courtyard, so was very quiet with no traffic noise, which was good because it was quite warm at night and we needed to open the windows. The room had modern décor and was spotlessly clean. The hotel has 24 hour reception and a small lift which was useful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend the closeness to restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location , close to ferry, bus to train station. Very close to all attractions, shopping and restaurants. As we needed to have the window open for fresh air it was a little noisy as the last group of people from restaurants etc headed home. Other than this, from a light sleeper, it was a great choice. The office staff were excellent thanks for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was quite noisy outside at night often into the early hours, however, the hotel couldn't control that.

    Staff very helpful, you could leave your luggage on day of arrival and wander round the town if you were too early to check in, also on your last day, where you could collect after checkout. Great location it was close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Electrical sockets in the room could be better placed - couldn't use the one by the bed because the bed was too hard up against it and couldn't get the plug plus adaptor into it and the bed was too heavy to move out of the way. The heated towel rail was too high up the wall and being short was difficult for me to use.

    The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great location. Really comfortable beds. Clean. Lovely staff. A last minute family room was available and we are eternally grateful as it was just wonderful. Wish we could have stayed longer but we had a ferry to catch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location and warm welcome in the centre of St Malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the old town. We had a very nice welcome and a secure garage for our bikes. A great breakfast and the room was large, airy and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel in a fabulous location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast option is a little pricey.

    The location is great. Facilities and accommodation were a little dated, but it is the same as most hotels in the town...we've now stayed in three different ones, so have a little experience of this. But the location is what you're paying for and this doesn't disappoint in any way! To stay within the walled town, you're going to pay more, but the experience is well worth it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    What a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a lovely hotel. Great location right in the heart of old St Malo, nice spacious family room and what my wife described as ‘the best hotel breakfast I’ve ever had’. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Good location, clean and staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only hand held shower over bath, not proper stand up shower. Lift only to 3rd floor so make sure don't get 4th floor room if have heavy bags or lots of luggage. Parking is very difficult as the property is in the heart of the old town of St Malo, best to arrive later in day.

    Good location, clean and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant hotel within the old walled city of St. Malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No air conditioning, which made the room stuffy at night as windows have to be closed due to noise (although the hotel is on a quiet street, St Malo's granite buildings can cause noise to travel from streets away, and there are always people who think a 4am sing-song or argument is a good idea after a few bouteilles de vin). Breakfast is expensive at €12 for a continental buffet. It was a bit of a hike from the towns main car parks to the hotel with our luggage at check in/out, but that's the trade-off of being in the old City.

    The hotel has a good location in a reasonably quiet street in the old walled city of St. Malo. A short walk to town beaches, bars shops etc. Helpful polite staff who spoke good English. Very comfortable beds. Nice bathrrom with great shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Very Friendly and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to carry our bags up some stairs as we had a loft room, but overall we were glad to have this room.

    Our stay at Ajoncs D'Or was wonderful. We loved the location and the staff were friendly and helped with great recommendations for places to eat. We had a really enjoyable stay and would definitely choose to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Strongly recommended if you are travelling to Saint-Malo.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not very good internet connection in the room.

    Very nice, large and clean room. The bed was very comfortable as well. The location of the hotel is excellent, since someone can reach everything on foot. And the most important is very close to a couple of super nice beaches where you can have a swim.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A very nice hotel in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very nice hotel in the old city. Close to the beach and lots of cafes around. I stayed in three hotels in Saint-Malo, and this one definitely wins. A very beautiful place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff in a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything - hence this was our second time staying Breakfast was very good- perhaps soft music in the back ground? It was very quiet while we ate! But it's a little suggestion.We were very happy

    Very helpful and friendly staff Very comfortable beds Centrally located so ideal for bars, restaurants etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A return visit to this delightful and well situated little hotel in Intra Muros. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Room was lovely with tea/coffee making facilities and a modern bathroom. Good breakfast. Stayed just one night on our way to catch the morning ferry home - just perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking arrangements - the hotel garage was fully booked so we had to park outside the city walls. It took about half an hour to find a space.

    Clean and comfortable room; helpful staff and great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    exceeded expectations - would book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of toiletries - we couldn't read what was on the outside of the bottles as they had been refilled several times! unsure if we were washing with shampoo & washing our hair in shower gel! A little noisy outside the hotel into early hours of the morning.

    Bed very comfy, location great, nice & clean , breakfast excellent & staff very helpful & friendly!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Great for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was a poor design

    Very good breakfast. Helpful staff giving Us advice and recommendations nearby. Parking was a good 5 minute walk away. Location was excellent inside the city walls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Ideal hotel to stay after arriving by ferry. Location and staff superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception Valerie was excellent. Very helpful. Our room on the ground floor was superb. This is our third year at this hotel and hopefully we will be coming back for many more years.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    I booked this hotel as I was on a day trip from Jersey.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only think to be aware of is 3 steps to get to the hotel door.

    I booked this hotel as I was on a day trip from Jersey. I missed the 5.45 evening boat home. With directions from the lovely condor lady I walked to this hotel and back to port in the morning. I had a single room with a double bed, English channels on the tv and a walk in shower. Plenty of towels plus shower gel and a small bar of soap. There were coffee and tea plus a kettle. The room was fresh clean and comfortable. I will be recommending this hotel to family and friends visiting St Malo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    A nice intra-muros hotel with a good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Not enough power sockets in the room. - The room felt a bit old and outdated.

    - Great location - The room was slightly larger than I have expected. - Lovely stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Warm, efficient staff and comfortable room and reception area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location in walled town.Copious breakfast buffet. Staff friendly and helpful. Very comfortable room (16). Private garage well worth 16Euro for hassle free parking. Overall excellent experience. Will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    The best welcome in St Malo.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best welcome in St Malo. It's a really well run hotel with very pleasant and efficient staff. Room very nice, super shower room. Spacious and comfortable breakfast room with good breakfast bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location within the walls of St Malo, lovely clean hotel and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. It is our first time staying here and our first time travelling to St Malo and we will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location, impeccable modern interior, book your parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is parking in a garage nearby (for one vehicle) if you book it, otherwise you will park outside the walls, and there is little space to pull up outside the hotel. This is inevitable given the lovely location, so I would recommend visitors with cars to pre-book the parking.

    The location in the centre of Old St Malo was wonderful, with many restaurants on the doorstep and with the fortified walls to walk around. The staff were very attentive and receptive to suggestions. I love being able to time my own boiled eggs too!!! The hotel in general and our room in particular were modern and delightfully decorated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    To be avoided!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small and very shabby. Picture on booking not corresponding to real standard room type. Price high for room value and breakfast not even included.

    Posizione

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Stay within St Malo‘s citywall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dark, the bed probably not the newest.

    Great location within the city wall of St Malo. Walking distance to everything, even the parking directly in front the wall (but outside). Very nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    a clean and tidy room, the hotel has an interest position...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there's no parking and you have to bring your bags from the parking outside the walls

    a clean and tidy room, the hotel has an interest position inside the old city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    A good one night stay in a convenient hotel in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the room was appalling. Otherwise it was fine.

    Very convenient for the ferry and nicely situated in the old town of Saint Malo. The room was a reasonable size but was very poorly lit. I believe they have a garage which you can book for a fee, but we parked just outside the town walls which was cheap and convenient. We left too early to sample breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was staff were very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation was very comfortable but i had a problem with the charge difference from booking.com and the hotel. The hotel never sent me an email until 9.28 pm on the evening i was travelling on the boat to reach the accommodation I never got the email until i got there and was told they had made a mistake in the price. I had no choice but to pay it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Overnight stay close to everything so very good location but the hotel room was not as I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was tired and the twin beds small and not particularly comfortable. Certainly not a superior twin more like a standard twin

    The breakfast and the location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Staying at this hotel was one of the main reasons that we enjoyed our holiday in Saint Malo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location: very close to shops & restaurants, and only a short walk from all the interesting places in the walled city. The room: comfortable, good size, with all the facilities needed for the duration of our stay. The staff: extremely friendly and helpful (especially Valérie), and genuinely concerned that we should enjoy our holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant experience even the dog enjoyed it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The facilities are what you would expect in a 3 Star hotel. The hotel was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The staff were brilliant and very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly stay there again and would be happy to recommend the hotel to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    This was a beautiful hotel in a great location - we couldn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a beautiful hotel in a great location - we couldn’t have chosen better. The staff were super friendly and gave us recommendations for places for dinner. Everything was an easy walk. The breakfast, whilst just a continental breakfast, was the best we have had in France so far.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Clean & friendly, great if u want to stay inside the walled town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funky smell in reception & up the stairs like cheesy feet, timer light switches everywhere & the pillows very uncomfortable need renewing.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    An excellent small hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in the amazing walled town. We paid for a private garage which was good value, considering the price of local parking. The room was small,l but well thought out with modern furnishings, and a kettle and provisions, always appreciated by Brits. The staff were charming and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    We only stayed for one night, but a pleasant enough experience. No major problems.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although our room was clean and comfortable, there were some problems with the electrics. The bathroom light wouldn't switch off at all and a plastic cover had come off, exposing wiring in the kids bunk room.

    Friendly and welcoming, great location near old town,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Lovely except for the rain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was expensive but optional. I was in a room where there was a bright light across the road That had happened in another hotel and I must put in my special requests. I love having the curtains wide open but I can't with the bright lights on the street.

    The room had a kettle!. While it was only 1 teabag I had more. It had a fridge too. The kettle especially makes a huge difference and it is the first one I have had in France

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Quiet hotel with basic provision 15 minutes walk from the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries were basic. No shower gel or shower cap. Breakfast also basic and not worth 12 euros. Strange layout of room with toilet boxed into the corner of the bedroom. No view.

    Lovely friendly staff. Very helpful on boat trips. Quiet hotel and good blackout curtains!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    The family room had bunk beds in an area which could be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I would expect air conditioning. It was very, very hot. (A fan was provided but it would have been too noisy during the night). The breakfast was also expensive for what it was. However the hotel is in an expensive part of St Malo!!

    The family room had bunk beds in an area which could be closed off from the main part of the room if required. The location was excellent for exploring the Old City of St Malo and for an early ferry back to Portsmouth the next morning. Varied continental breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff and clean rooms, but it's noisy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street was too much. It's seems like St. Malo is a bit of a party town for the French. For some reason the room was very stuffy and hot and that became unbearable with the windows closed, so it was preferable to endure the noise from outside. There's nowhere to buy a bottle of water and only one small bottle in the mini-bar; I was on foot so couldn't drive anywhere to get a drink. What with the room being so hot, and lack of water I was very 'headachey in the morning.

    Friendly reception. Could not hear other hotel guests once the door was closed. Shower was clean and modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable stay in St Malo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was large and old fashioned

    Arrived early on ferry and hotel kindly kept our luggage. Excellent situation for Old Town Excellent breakfast Very pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Very welcoming and smiling staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot in the room and the air Mobile air conditioning was really loud.

    Very welcoming and smiling staff. The room are clean and the bathroom is really big.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Amazing stay great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything about the Hotel that we could fault.

    This is the first time we stayed here and we found it on our last trip where we had just popped into the walls on our way back home. I went in and spoke to the lady who is charming and speaks perfect English so no need to worry if you can not speak French, so went home and booked it for our next trip. The Hotel is lovely our room was great and the bathroom was so well fitted out huge walk in shower, we had three windows that opened and a view of the square. Breakfast awesome :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel. Great location. Awesome city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bummer, but didn't expect it to be awesome in a walled city.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds and large room and bathroom. Close to the "portes" to make it an easy place to sneak out of walled city to go for a run.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.0
    Good but needs a reliable baker delivery
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    No bread nor croissants at 7.30 am [breakfast served from 7] A bakery is situated is situated within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Shame as the breakfast buffet was looking good otherwise, but fresh bread is a must ! Cost of breakfast 12 euros

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time staying in this property. The staff was very friendly and had great suggestions for dinner locations. The rooms were very nice and had all advertised amenities. Parking is around the corner in a private garage, very convenient. The breakfast was very good with a great selection. We will definitely stay here again when visiting St. Malo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Loved the windows with plenty of natural light. Loved having the tea/coffee making facilities in our room. Proximity to everything was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in St. Malo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    The staff at the front desk was terrific! When we arrived, we kept circling the hotel on foot and couldn't find it. I called three times for directions. The third time, he said, "Stay right where you are" and he came and escorted me to the hotel! He worried about our ability with maps after that and was always very helpful in giving us directions : )

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.2
    No Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The add said that the Hotel had parking. In truth, it only had three places we had to spend an hour driving around town to find one. Which for a one day trip was a big inconvenience to say the least.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think perhaps the cost of the breakfast was a little high when comparing to other places in St Malo.

    We only took breakfast in the hotel. Good selection of things available and the restaurant is bright and cheerful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    I have stayed at the Ajoncs D'Or on other occasions and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    I have stayed at the Ajoncs D'Or on other occasions and always found it charming. A traditional French Hotel with good facilities. My room had been recently and tastefully refurbished.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    St Malo for a night - great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was amazing! they could not do enough to help us including printing tickets and arranging parking. Just superb and a fabulous location, 5 minutes to the wall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and efficient. The location is fantastic, right inside the city walls, a walk away from everything. Definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    The location in the center of the old city was great for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cobblestone streets leading to hotel were tough on my wheelie.

    The location in the center of the old city was great for sightseeing. Staff were helpful in suggesting places to see around town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I do want to mention is that the bath was not clean on arrival - there was some hair and dirt in the bottom but I cleaned that myself as it was no bother to me to do that. Overall the room was very clean (almost immaculate) so this may just be a one off occurrence perhaps the cleaner had forgotten on this one occasion - we all make mistakes at work from time to time. We are humans not robots :)

    The lady at reception was a delight! I couldn't have asked for a better welcome and she was very helpful at providing details regarding the hotel and local attractions. The hotel room was comfortable and had everything I needed including towels, tea / coffee making facilities and toiletries. The area had bars nearby but the noise was minimal. I didn't hear any of the other guests so the room was certainly soundproof! The hotel is also in a fantastic location right in the heart of st Malo just a 5 minute walk to the ferry port, the tourist centre, the beach etc. Perfect if you are travelling on foot!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a nice, little seaside village.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was bit on the firm side, but then you can't please everyone all of the time. Only real negative is that after a good first night, we decided to stay another... only to have a family with maniacal children check into the room directly above us. Sounded like an exorcism taking place... still, I reluctantly lodged a minor complaint at the desk and the matter was mostly resolved.

    Lovely decoration, brilliant location, great staff. Helped that we secured a free parking space directly in front of the front door and didn't need to to move the car the entire 2 day stay! St. Malo is lovely. And this is a lovely hotel from which to explore and enjoy the good food and sights.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    Great base for exploring St Malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great deal of soundproofing between rooms.

    Lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Great location, comfortable rooms, good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Great hotel with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location to explore the cobbled streets of St Malo Intro Muros. Everything you could want in a continental breakfast, to set you up for the day!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.3
    One night of relaxation in Saint Malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was warm, quiet and friendly - just what was needed. Garage parking was close by and so we dd not have to worry that we had a car full of presents on their way to the UK. We enjoyed the town and a lovely evening meal within a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.1
    Good option if you want to be away from the noisier and busier part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the one price for breakfast there isn't anything. If you are looking for quiet, clean and comfortable this place does it's job well.

    Welcoming and warm on a dull foggy day. The hotel is comfortable and unpretentious. Slightly set apart from the busiest part of the town, but nowhere in the Intra Muros is too far away. Breakfast was extensive - although also a little expensive, with no price options.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Great location, comfy bed, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was great.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was huge and comfy, the bathroom was newly fitted (I would guess). Great location, easy to find thanks to the signs within the walls.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    The bedroom was perfect for our family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was perfect for our family of 4. We also loved the breakfast and how kind and helpful the staff were. Great location for exploring Saint Malo

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From first arrival until leaving the welcome was excellent. The staff are very helpful and speak good English too. The hotel is immaculate, the room cosy and warm even though it was cold outside. The position within the walled town is also excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Central St-Malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Welcoming and helpful reception who all spoke perfect English. Handy secure parking. Right in the middle of the old city - minutes from anywhere including lots of very good restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel in lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room was small and because of the layout people tended to bump into each other. The food was ok though.

    The room was clean and pleasant and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    We come back again and again to this lovely hotel and are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We come back again and again to this lovely hotel and are never disappointed. We can relax and know that we shall have a good experience. Thank you to the staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Lovely location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, friendly and helpful personal, excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very good location, friendly and helpful personal, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    very very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Perfect staying in St Malo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything all right. Maybe the breakfast could be a bit more diverse.

    Nice room, clean, comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great stop off location before getting the ferry.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. Parking is difficult but we arranged a garage with the hotel, so no problems.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: