Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alba 3 stars

17 Rue Des Dunes, Sillon, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#53 of 69 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 861 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the smallest room I’ve ever been. In the room was cold when we arrived and the receptionist told us the only room available are with sea view and she asked for extra 20€ to can change the room. No kettle in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    All to expensive. Very ordinary breakfast. Air condition in the bathroom doesn't work (instead, they've made a hole in the ceiling) Staff: formal, little communicative.

    The situation in front of the beach (but this room was very expensive).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I thought it was a bit expensive but everything is expensive these days!!

    It was very clean, comfortable and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and hepful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, clean fresh room with beautiful seaview. Bar with seaview. Friendly helpful staff. Calm location with walking distance to restaurants and shops. Breakfast classic french with lots of extra options.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in a room that didn't have an ocean view and it was very hot as no air conditioning and I wasn't able to get moved to an ocean view during the stay. Very limited parking on the property so had to find street parking a few blocks away for most of the trip. The staff also speaks very little English as I wasn't told that breakfast was included in the rate and never had breakfast at the hotel. If you can get a water view room then this hotel is a great deal; if not then a hotel closer to town at the same price would be better.

    Great location as the property is located right on the water and about a mile from the walled town of St Malo. The view of the beach and sea from the small lounge is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Forty steps to the second floor was a little daunting for two old codgers.Wonderful short stay

    Breakfast was excellent value. Room was well appointed with panoramic view from sea front window. Very helpful and courteous staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift. making two flights of stairs with bags difficult.

    Superb location overlooking sea and wonderful sandy beach. Room and facilities comfortable, friendly staff and plentiful but simple breakfast at extra cost.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking was for a beach view room. We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel. We overlooked the carpark. The room was the smallest we have ever stayed in. The shower / toilet was the smallest we have ever seen in a hotel

    No and no

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about the hotel to complain about. It was excellent value for money.

    The location and views were spectacular. A wonderful hotel and we will definitely stay again. So convenient for St Malo port.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually there is nothing to complain about.

    Breakfasts are great with a good variety of good things to eat. Coffee excellent. Excellent location with a great walk along the sea front into St Malo town. Very clean rooms. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy parking, lovely staff, comfortable room, fabulous view of the seafront from the bar. Lots of good local places to eat. My new favourite place in St Malo.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed bugs in the room (My wife had more than 20 stings on her arms and necks on only one night). The attitude of the manager on the subject was just not appropriate: He doesn't take the subject seriously. And we had to pay! An adress to avoid...Nobody wants to bring home bed bugs as it is nearly impossible to get rid of them.

    The view from the breakfast room until we discovered the bed bugs

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it quite priced but it was middle August Saturday and it was the only room left in town..

    Good location, close to the beach and the promenade. Clean and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV and Wifi reception bad but not an issue. Shower very small in my room..., then again I have put on 8 kilo eating my way round France

    It's location to Gare St Malo , Itntra Muros and being on the beach . Both staff members on Front Desk very helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast Expensive

    The wonderful view from the lounge window

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location not too far from the old centre of the city. By French standard an excellent breakfast. The hotel is old and charming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much dislike!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little bit small

    Beach Front Views. Location of the property was a little bit away from the main restaurant precinct.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little tired in places

    Great location for a one night stay before ferry. Booked a sea view room with excellent views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms are small wouldn't want to stay any longer then a weekend

    i really liked the hotel small but nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfortable bed, very nice bar and breakfast room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room

    Comfortable beds quit location great breakfast very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charmigt beach shore hotel vid havet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar / dining room with the see view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the beach and gorgeous view from the lounge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There/is/no/elevator

    VeryQuiet/location Very/good/breakfaest

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good view of the sea from the bar

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location next to the harbour

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was terrible. The choice was poor and the cost exhorbitant (€12.00)

    No

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot right on the beach and walking distance to everything and free parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The varnish round the wash basin fitting was worn and shabby

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a little expensive. Parking can be difficult.

    Room comfy and clean. Great view from the bar of the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedside lights are not enough to read

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi failed to work despite problem being reported.

    Good location and reasonable price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    great view of sea and St malo. Ideal for wait for ferry back to UK

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice bar with view on the beach and beautifull wood decoration.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding it.

    Right on the beach. Nice sea view room. Nice lounge and breakfast very adequate

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms a bit small. Outside could do with a coat of paint

    Location, service of manager

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we wished we had booked a room with a sea view.

    Brilliant location, right by the very nice beach. Fantastic views from the bar. Good parking in the Hotels off street parking and 10 minutes from the Port.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sea view is extraordinary. Sleeping with only the sound of waves is quite an experience. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast choice is good mixing traditional buffet with specialties from Saint-Malo. Walk to and from Saint-Malo intramuros breathing Saint-Malo's fresh air was our pleasant healthy routine twice daily

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Town was just a little quiet

    Just needed a bed for the night. Town is very quiet but that suites is on this occasion. Excellent parking even for a large van like ours.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The entrance into shower was rather a squeeze in my room 14.. Breakfast slightly overpriced at 12e There were only three guests staying the night I stayed, I thought an upgrade to a seaview room would'nt have hurt, and maybe opened an opportunity for future booking.

    Location on beach

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    As in many French hotels, the room was the size of closet. Sufficient but in that category one would expect slightly better.

    Superb location with a spectacular view of the sea. Interesting on the seawall during high water.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very comfy but had a mattress protector which was made out of plastic so was very noisy laying on it so we had to remove it. Also the bathroom was not very private with only a sliding door.

    Great location directly by the sea side and parking facilities were available too although not sure how it would be in summer when it is peak time. Lovely building and room, enough space for two.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Trying to find the Hotel. A bigger sign could be useful on such a long and busy road.

    What a fab Location. Lovely room with balcony on the sea front. Good to have free wifi. Parking was so good as space in st.Malo is at a premium.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Complementary upgrades to sea side rooms in a hotel clearly not close to full would have been a nice touch.

    Great picture window overlooking the beach.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room very cramped. I banged my leg on the table beneath the TV. not enough space to pass between bed and table comfortably.

    the bed was very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very limited car parking, steep stairs (no lift) No food of any sort available or even tea/coffee making facilities

    Casual laid back atmosphere, magnificent sea view. Located close to good quality restaurants

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Offered a room with sea view for extra payment. The room was not big enough to swing a cat and the window was very small. It was not worth the extra payment and the standard fell far short of 3star. No lift. Room only set up for one so had to request more towels and toilet seat was loose.

    good position for the old town and beach.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived at 7pm and receptionist took one look at height of my husband and looked worried. Despite the online booking made a couple of months back they had not reserved for us the pictured room, but rather the last attic room they had in the eaves and with no reasonable headroom. We were exhausted after a 10 hour drive and felt that as we were last in, our room had been allocated earlier in the day to someone else. In the end we were given a family room for our first night but then had to repack and move to another room the next day. Not at all ideal when you are only in the place for 2 nights. A tired hotel with rusting in bathrooms and decorative issues. The "carpark" was jammed full all weekend. We would not recommend this hotel.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no lift so people with mobility or a lot of stuff to carry might want to recommend a lower floor room!

    Really lovely hotel.. Beautifully presented, professional service and excellent location. The breakfast was superb!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No the closest to the historical city of St. Malo, if that`s the purpose of the trip. Which is not too bad if you don`t mind 25 min of beachside walk.

    Right by the beach, good ensemble staff-accomodations-location.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good breakfasts, but expensive. No lift, and plenty of stairs and steps, but my 93 year old mother managed with care

    fantastic location, quiet rooms, good sound proofing apart from the sound of the waves, which I loved. Helpful staff, good showers. Would definitely return

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds are not the most comfortable. The staff struggled to speak english leading to a lot of confusion about charges. Wifi signal was weak in our room.

    Breakfast was decent but could do with more options. Great location, clean hotel, very helpful staff. Rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is terrific! They waited up for us when our train was delayed due to an accident and we ended up checking in after 2am. The room was perfect and the lounge area had the best view of the ocean!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast should be included. 24 euros was a lot of money when you are already paying quite high for the room. That is the only negative.

    Position. Helpfulness of staff

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor WiFi in bedroom, car park small and had to carry luggage up stairs to reception from car.

    Location was great, comfortable and quite with water views.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress had a very thick plastic cover which was very uncomfortable

    The hotel is right on the beachfront with the most amazing views from the bar. Easy and pleasant walk into the town

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was fairly small, but stoll ok.

    Location!!! And a very nice hotel, especially for the price. Bynthe way, the picture with the seats and the sea ain't lying.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift/elevator to get bags to room, but place was worth the extra effort!!

    Loved the location...once we found it....and the furnishings were nice and place was clean. Very, very nice! Lovely little seaside bar and lounge....plus outside terrace.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small bathroom. Had to have the door open when stepping out of the shower to dry off.

    Location on the beach was fabulous and easy to walk to old town and train station.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    LOVED the location and our room with a sea view. Loved the quiet patio and small bar not necessarily used by the public. There were also benches to sit on the promenade and just watch people walk by..

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Habit of keeping room keys in basket on top of reception desk, easy for someone to take and enter guests rooms as desk left unattended for short periods

    Nice rooms, very clean, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi did not work at all in the room. This is always very annoying when travelling.

    Great location. We had a room with a direct access to the terrace which allowed us to walk without shoes from our room to the beach. Very convenient. Wonderful view on the sea and the beach.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hotel directory book of local services or even what the hotel itself offered

    On site parking, an easy 20 min walk to the olde city. Excellent conti style breakfast Lovely sunny lounge for a drink

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, apart from a limited choice of restaurants close by due that were open, due to the time of the year.

    Friendly staff who dealt with our booking issues very effectively, which means we will come back! Fantastic location which is every bit as good as the advertising photo

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missed tea a coffee facilities in the room and although they served breakfast did not do any other food. We are slow on our feet and took a good 15mins to walk to the city.

    Room with very clean with a big comfy bed, view of the bay from the balcony was brilliant, nice big shower. Lounge area downstairs had a lovely view of the bay.Breakfast had a good choice of continental. Beach straight opposite hotel and a private car park to the rear.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missed my tea in the morning as no tea facilities in the room.

    We had a sea view room and we loved waking up to watching beach life go by! The breakfast was lovely and plentiful. The bar had the most amazing window for view and people watching. Service with a smile (although no english spoken) Great little boutique like hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just a heads's up, the hotel does not have an elevator and it is a @20 minute walk to the city center---in case you are an elderly traveler. Otherwise, just what I was looking/hoping for!

    I stayed at he hotel in Late April 2015. The hotel is located right on the beach. The hotel staff were very welcoming and let me come early, as I had made my reservation only an hour before as I travelled from Rennes. Free parking right at the door was terrific!! The room was clean as a whistle and every single inch of space was used ingeniously. (Europeans seem to be able to fit a full bathroom anyplace). I requested a room with a beach view. When I had trouble connecting to the WiFi in the first rooms was shown to, Christian, the hotelier, immediately moved me to another room, without so much as a peep. The second room was even bigger - and I was not up-charged. The bar, salon and restaurant were very clean, and the views, day and night, were ridiculously beautiful. I hung out in the salon just watching out the huge bay window until 1am, and it was very relaxing. The hotel is situated on the the promenade, and is @20 minute walk to the main city center (tourists/restaurant). The walk went by fast as the sun was shining bright and tons of families were enjoying the HUGE beach. I enjoyed being a tiny bit away from the main tourists area. In the evening I thought I would have to walk beck into town for a meal, but the hotel itself and many others on the promenade offer great fresh seafood meals. I ended up also eating at The Brasserie du Sillion, @4minute walk from the hotel and it ended up being terrific and definitely a bit upscale.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing brought our own tea making stuff!

    brilliant location by the beach, very comfy rooms, excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, easy access to st malo.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Couple

    None

    Clean room and very close to the intra morus. Make sure you ask a room facing the sea. There's enough parking.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Bed very comfy. View from the bar is stunning. Nice restaurant 100 metres down the seafront. Staff friendly with excellent English.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: