Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alcyon 3 stars

8 rue Maison Suisse, 64200 Biarritz, France

#25 of 136 hotels in Biarritz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 308 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The twin room superior is the same price as the douple superior but there is the big difference of quality between these two rooms. The douple superior is a gable room. There is a nice balcony and many windows. So it's a bright room and there is a nice view of the town. It's not fair to keep the same price with these two so different rooms.

    Luckily there was a very nice friendly lady in the reception. She was VERY helpful. The douple room was free and she proposed that we can replace the room. Many thanks to her in the reception. She is the reason why we gave so good points. We attached three pictures of the douple room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to be nice and assist us. Cute hotel, quiet room and only 5 minute walk to centre of city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was really comfortable and in a great location close to beach & bars/restaurants. Staff were really excellent, they were so helpful and really made our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for early check in. The room was not available when we arrived. Underground city parking 15 euros /day. The television in the room was supposed to have three English language stations. None worked. The staff new this and were entirely indifferent to the problem. Given I have no foreign languages it was akin to a room with no television.

    The staff upgraded our room to one with a balcony. Except for the tv issue the room was great. The hotel is really well situated to explore Biaritz. The price provided good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small room, tiny bathroom. Noisy air condition unit. room needed updating. Breakfast baguettes were thin and firm not like the normal size that are light and airy. Nobody could open the small jam jars without damaging their hands. Everyone should be offered a croissant and not only a pain au chocolat.

    Position of hotel Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious, extremely bright with tall windows and balconies. There is all that you need for a short stay: big wardrobe, huge comfortable bed, strong wifi, great shower, bathroom amenities, extra towels, fridge, desk, armchair, etc. Location was perfect in a safe street, close to all shops/restaurants, bus stops and the main beach. It was a perfect stay, thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very small.

    The hotel is 10 minutes distance from the Grand Playa, buses. The room is very nice and you have all you need at hand.what i liked is the fact we receveid beach towels and sun umbrella. The persons from reception are very nice and willing to help you. They have very good services and I will definitely return here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi was not working, the breakfast was too expensive, the room had the moquette and was a little bit noisy.

    The position in perfect, really close to Grande Plage and city center. The room was nice and quite big.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a mission in central Biarritz, direction on booking would've been helpful. Staff not overly friendly but fine.

    Great location, clean and spacious bathrooms, pleasant breakfast. Cleaner very helpful and friendly. Staff more friendly if you spoke in French! Quirky inferiors, newer carpets and I'd say worthy of a Mr & Mrs Smith entry. Bedrooms look a bit tired but the shutters are amazing and block out Al light, great for children!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was payable on the street but there was always a space available. Parking inspectors seemed generously lax. Bottled water was free the first night but then refills were charged.

    Breakfast at €12 was very good value; cereals, boiled eggs, cold meats, croissant's and jams, unlimited good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about Alcyon! Gorgeous large immaculate room with large sunny windows and spacious modern bathroom. Five minute walk to le Grand Plage and shopping. Very nice selection of restaurants a block away in each direction as well as numerous larger restaurants near the beach. The bus stop and taxi stands are just a couple minutes away. The younger lady who was at reception most of my visit was delightful & very accommodating. The couple were very accommodating but less amenable about it. The petit dejeuner was plentiful. I took my extra bread along with some fruit & cheese for a light lunch/snack) later.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The staff were very nice and accommodating. My room was larger than I expected, and very clean. The wifi was okay in my room, but I had problems accessing it in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and breakfast, easy access to town and beaches, beautiful place Biarritz though expensive, great food highly recommend a visit to l'Table restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this small, friendly hotel - great location, short walk to main beach, restaurants and shops. Reception staff were exceptionally nice and went out of their way to respond to requests for help. Breakfast/lounge area was light and attractive. Breakfast was very good, fresh and all you could want.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At night time we had to keep window open due to the heat, but it was very noisy with late night revellers. Also there was a very bright light from the lam post outside. but none of this spoilt our stay, which was really good.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi wasn't the best. And there was no parking arrangement. Parking is expensive and it is not free on weekends and holidays. I had to get up every morning to put euros in the meter by 9am. It would be great if the hotel could work out an arrangement with a nearby garage for some kind of discount.

    Location was good -- neighborhoody not touristy, but still only a few blocks from the beach. Rooms were clean and large. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Staff was very helpful. For the price, the hotel is a very good choice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location. Comdortable, clean and nice style of room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking place. You have to park your car in a parking because the hotel doesn't have one.

    The people are here if you got a question.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely. It had a little balcony with pretty views over the rooftops of Biarritz.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some omelette for breakfast)

    Amazing staff, fantastic location, very quiet yet in the middle of everything! Very clean and comfortable. Merci!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean ,comfortable room. Buffet breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too firm for me but my partner loved it.

    Terrific location, great staff, nice room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet

    Bed very comfortable and good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and very charming, nice boutique hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its very good and in an excellent location. But its quite expensive...probably inevitable at end of July

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I expected, small (European/older hotel) bathroom--but nice.

    NICE breakfast, VERY NICE staff, Central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely stay. Very friendly, helpful lady. Good breakfast. Great location and would definetly stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room especially the ensuite .

    Very central location , very friendly staff , good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location, very friendly and helpful staff, more like a b&b

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, pleasant room. Did not include breakfast. Not too far from bus and beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great place for the money and they provided beach towels and a sun umbrella free of charge

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location. Great staff. Nothing too much of a bother. Provided beach towels. Excellent stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee facilities in room not refreshed every day.

    Close to all facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small and very basic

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was quiet noisy from outside

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and good breakfast. Everything in walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Car parking options except the City (expensive) car parks

    Comfortable bed, free rental Beach towels and Beach Umbrella

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea in room and only milk for one drink. But we could have asked for more.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Decent quiet location. Good sized en suite.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unusually spacious rooms for a French hotel, friendly and very helpful staff. When a very noisy group moved in next door, they moved me to a better room at no extra charge. Excellent continental breakfast as well, nothing made to order but everything vey high quality. I am so glad that I found this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We would have liked a small coffee table to go with the armchairs, and the WiFi reception was very poor

    We liked the location, the breakfast, the staff, the comfortable beds. All in all very pleasant and enjoyable experience.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We found the hotel to be very comfortable and the breakfast delicious. We appreciated the many artistic touches in this boutique hotel. Most of all, we found our host very helpful when we needed tourist advice.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Th wi-fi was a little slow in the bedroom

    Location is ideal as it is central to all of the local shops, resturants, seafront. Staff were friendly and it had a nice fresh feel to it.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel room was light, airy and clean. The breakfast was good. The public under ground car park was nearby. It was only a short walk to the centre and the beach.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    We loved our stay at Hotel Alycon in Biarritz. The hotel is well located a short walk to the beach and the main streets of town (2-5 minutes). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The receptionist gave us a recommendation for a wonderful restaurant for dinner. Our room was absolutely gorgeous! We were lucky enough to get room 303 with its fantastic little wraparound balcony.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom and bed were very small. Shame about the carpet!

    Although not in the very heart of Biarritz, this hotel is very conveniently located, not far from the city centre and the beach. Bedroom and bathroom were small, but quite nice and clean. Staff were nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a sound like the lift starting up which lasted maybe 2 seconds. This occurred every approx 2 mins and was like some sort of chinese water torture resulting in worst nights "sleep" ever. The reception was unmanned so nobody to tell or not possible to move rooms.

    very nice hotel generally

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Location-convenient to the bus terminal (bus from San Sebastian and to Bayonne); Tourist Information Center; beach; shopping (Buy chocolates from Henriet and Maison Adam). A 5-10 euros designer clothes store is located on the street to the right of the hotel; a must-go! 2. Informative and friendly hosts-two absolutely gorgeous ladies at the front desk (I assumed that they were sisters?) gave me tips on where to shop for clothes (e.g., "One day in Biarritz", and indeed, I found a delicate blouse there!) and helped us book a taxi to the airport that arrived on time.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was slightly small, would be inconvenient if there for a longer stay

    Very convenient - right in the centre of town. Rooms are small but comfortable. Staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awful perfumed smell at the reception - why?? Continentals seem to have a lure for this. NOT GOOD for allergics. Good clean air is good enough. The wifi was slow as molassis! FIX!!!

    Location is good and the building is small and picturesque.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi a bit slow. Breakfast strictly continental. Minor issues

    Very friendly & helpful staff, very clean, good size comfortable room, central location.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only problem was, we were there right in the middle of a motor-bike rally/festival! This cost us one night's sleep.

    We were very happy at this hotel. Valerie, the lovely receptionist, even went and got us earplugs so we didn't loose another night's sleep. We used underground car-parking and did our out of town sight-seeing by using local buses - even as far as San Sebastien!

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a little small but for price we paid it wasn't bad. No car park and difficult to get a space on the road - although apparently this is the norm with most of the hotels in Biarritz

    Great location and value for money

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The en-suite was very compact! Wi-fi intermittent, but not a significant issue unless you need it for work/information.

    Location is excellent for access to town centre, bars, restaurants and the sea front. Also, very convenient for bus to and from the airport. (Route 14 or 14&A1) Lovely hotel, staff very helpful, nice breakfast if taken. Would definitely stay again when next visiting.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing to dislike...although i didn't try the breakfast.

    The lady on reception couldn't have been nicer. The room and bathroom weren't large, but super clean and well presented. Excellent location in the middle of town and right by the beach.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Central location (which is great) but very limited car parking (except on street) if you have a roof rack.

    Comfortable rooms and beds

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is difficult, either by meter or multi story

    Excellent location a short walk to the centre and beach front, bars, shos and resturants

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room too small

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Lovely helpful staff. Great exit system. Lovely rooms. very quiet

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, walked everywhere. Very helpful staff, lovely breakfast and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No own parking. Public parking in a nearby parking available

    Nice little 'design' hotel with a very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard pillows which spoilt an otherwise good nights sleep

    Central location, very quiet, friendly staff, very clean, good value

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room, comfortable bed, decent shower and plenty of soaps, shower gels, etc. Good selection for breakfast. Very helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of the town and close to safe (albeit expensive) public parking.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    great location, nice comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything really

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice old building, right by the town centre

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in the middle of Biarritz. You can easily walk to the beach, restaurants and bars within 5mins.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking on arrival was a little confusing. Turns out 12 euro resident ticket ok for entire week.

    Location great and staff friendly. Nice decor.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Select

    Air conditioning Location Security

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit hard for me.

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a bit small. Wifi a bit slow.

    Location was great and room clean. Fridge in room was useful.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being picky the internet was slow but it wasn't a problem

    Location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff, good room size

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: