Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alerion 3 stars

20 Rue Gambetta, 57000 Metz, France

#14 of 25 hotels in Metz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1929 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Good location, old town on 5mins walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, old town on 5mins walk. To Pompidou also 5 mins. Lovely staff and good English speaking, breakfast very well. City with so much art And history. Garage across the street at reduced price with hotel voucher. Happy stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    One night stay as journeying through France. Metz is a lovely town. Glad to have stopped over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a good size and very comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Parking convenient in 24/7 car-park just across road. Late evening access into hotel was secure via code access to lift.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    For the price that they charge, stay somewhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility needs a remodeling. There were safety hazards in our room, electrical wires not properly secured, hole in the wall for the electrical outlet which was not safe for our children. The bathrooms were not cleaned well, there were webs on the corner of the walls. We had a tub in our room which we requested for our baby, but there was no plug for the drain. The water temperature was also unsafe and hard to control, it was only on 2 settings cold or extremely hot. We had a balcony in our room, which was obviously been neglected from cleaning as well. The extra sheets, blanket and pillow in our room were quite scary. As soon as I pulled it our from the closet, dusts were visible in the air, the stench smell was also not pleasing.

    This property was at a prime location, right in front of the train station and restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Handy and practical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all to do with the hotel, but watch out for near-magic scam merchants in the city - if you are asked for change for the bus, politely decline! I don't know how he did it with two intelligent adults watching apparently every movement, but a lot of notes walked from my purse! Clearly a practiced scam.

    The hotel opposite the station - which might have put me off except the station is not a run down, or seedy part of the city (which can happen), it's an interesting bit of an architecture in a relatively busy open area. Great access if you are travelling by train. There is a pay car park opposite if you are travelling by car. There's a bit of noise from trams but room windows facing the station (best view) are well sound proofed. Staff are helpful (including a reduced price voucher for the car park) and it's a modest, very satisfactory base for sightseeing. The Metz-Pompidou is a short walk away (across the station).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Metz iz amazing city, hotel is in a city center which is great! Only bed think is expensive parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for parking was too expencive.

    Breakfast was REALLY good, a lot of croissants and good coffee. Parking was really expensive, I stayed 2 nights and pay 18€. That's pretty stupid becouse I came by car and they said that the price for parking will be 8€, and then they start to explain in french something about 24 hours which I didn't understood. Stuff don't speak english at all so they didn't know how to explain the price of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Good for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is honestly really old (see pictures) with a big hole in the wall and no locker. The floor in the room is also pretty old. I would have expected a bit better for 77€ a night (with breakfast though)

    The hotel is really well located, just in front of the main station. The staff is really friendly and the hotel, including the rooms, are clean. Moreover, the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Well situated, very close to the railway station and within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was rather basic, no fresh fruit for instance. For the WiFi they give you tiny bits of paper, one for each device, so that you have to introduce a different code in every device. This is a bit of a hassle, but this system is (unfortunately) used quite a lot in France.

    Well situated, very close to the railway station and within walking distance to the centre of town. There is a public parking just opposite the hotel. The staff are friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    nice view, great location, good beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    more reactivity for the breakfast

    friendly service on arrival. For the breakfast however, there was no more baguette and when queried the answer given was: "there's no more. Sorry" Still a great stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not clean - Spider net on the side lamp next to the bed Very low-quality bathroom materials, bad quality pieces of furniture and stuff in the room The bed was too small, pillows were not comfortable

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are not well isolated. A lot of noise from 6:30 am onwards.

    Breakfast was good. Room spacious. Service friendly. Nice view of the station. The square outside is quiet at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in first class location
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the materials and facilities show signs of age. It would be good for the hotel if they could replace at least the carpet on the steps to the reception desk - it sells the hotel under it's value. Our daughter had a room facing the square and did have a problem with noise, but could change to a more quiet room without problems.

    The location of this hotel cannot be beaten if you are using public transport. Because of the deal with the huge garage nearby, it's also practical if you arrive by car. The staff is efficient, very friendly and helpful. We had a spacious and very quiet room with very god beds. WLAN worked well. The breakfast buffet is good and the room is pleasant. We have been there the third time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location, just the opposite side of the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    English is really not applicable here, for parking ticket machine along the roads, railway ticket machine (with English language but still hard to read)

    Good location, just the opposite side of the railway station. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Convenient & comfortable, exactly as required.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal areas and entrance could do with a refurb to better reflect the rooms. Reception closes early and opens late (compared with most hotels I stay in). Did not stay long enough in the car park to benefit from the hotel discount?!

    Superbly located within easy walking distance of the historic centre. Opposite the station but not noisy. Secure parking very close. Room refurb & modernisation since my last visit. Can’t comment on breakfast as had to leave before 07.30.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    A good location and a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom had a new looking headboard and bed with nice white linen.however the bathroom in our room was in need of an update although the shower was fierce and lovely and hot. The walls of the room really needed painting and a patch where a previous TV had been on the wall needed attention.

    The price we paid for this hotel was very competitive and included breakfast which was good. The dining room and small lounge have been updated and are pleasant to sit in. The position of the hotel was facing the station so good for train travellers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Great location for meeting my friends who also came in by train. Convenient for the sights too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be honest there was nothing that I disliked.

    I had not realised that the breakfast was included in the price. I was very suprised at the choice ham, eggs, cheeses, yoghurt, fruit, croissants, bread, pain au chocolat, tea and coffee. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    - breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - breakfast was good - nothing to complain about the room - view to the train station was nice and quiet - city center easily reachable - parking was easy and cheap at the train station opposite to the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Good to see Metz and stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I havn´t any negative notices. I was satisfy with hotel and with my stay here.

    Very good location, all important places in the city are easebly accessable by electic bus, which has a stop about 100 meters from hotel. Hotel is oppossite to railway station. Metz are very pleasant city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Good place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much light in the night coming from the station square : the curtains could be better. The breakfast is not very convincing.

    the hotel is in front of the station, so very central. The room was big. There is a lift. Certainly one of the best hotels in this area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.3
    Ideal for our needs: central, able to leave the car secure, and easy access to the nearby vineyards.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception closed quite early for a central city location. Not a problem for us, not ideal for others we met, especially with unpredictable winter weather & delays.

    Brilliant central location, easy to explore the city, with Christmas markets just getting going. Decent discount for nearby underground parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is just in front of the railway station but there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking is free in the surrounding streets between 7pm and 9am and on Sundays, otherwise about 2 euros/hour, but it is limited to 2, 3 or so hours. Park houses offer a daily rate at about 10-16 euros, unfortunately their websites are misleading, claiming free parking when it is only free for the first 15 or 30 minutes. The street parking is often full, we had to drive through the street several times round and round to find a place.

    The hotel is just in front of the railway station but there is no noise from it, only the buses that run below the windows can be heard if the room is silent, e.g. at night. We had a room viewing the square and there was a restaurant where the staff hauled chairs and tables in and out every morning and evening so it was a bit unpleasant, especially at 7 in the morning. The room and furniture is a bit old and we had a clogged sink drain, when we tried to fix it through the reception, we were unable to explain it in English, they instead put in a drain stop, thinking that it was what we had complained about. Generally the staff did not speak much English but they were very nice and tried hard to communicate. The breakfast was surprisingly good but not of the cheapest ones, coffee, tea, juice, cereals, yoghurt, cheese, eggs and ham fruit salad, croissants, pain au chocolat and bread and small crepes, so everyone can choose what they like. You can also get breakfast in the surrounding restaurants at 3-5 euros but it only is a cup of coffee, juice and one croissant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Very easy location opposite the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little loud (from other rooms, not from traffic)

    Very easy location opposite the train station. Easy check-in and check-out process. Good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Convenience and good value with an old fashioned French atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and a bit tired in places.

    It is an old fashioned hotel but with mod cons. We had a good sized room with a big bathroom and small balcony. The location is good, very close to The Pompidou and only a short walk into the old town. A bonus is that the hotel gives you a voucher so you can park in the large underground carpark right opposite for just 8 euros pet day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money - clean and central. Easy for car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were on 4th floor and couldn't receive any hotel wi-fi.

    Good location. Used underground car park opposite - the hotel card gives a concession on payment - reasonable breafast for a French hotel. Excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the parking was just outside the hotel, I felt uneasy as I had a car full of cases and belongings. But for 8 Euros for 24 hours really good value

    The hotel is in an excellent location. Breakfast was good, staff very helpful. Would use again on the next trip

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.0
    Overall OK, but I will not select this hotel again. I’m sure for the money I could find much nicer!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated, seemed thrown together without much thought. Their checkout policy is too strict. Even though we were just about to head downstairs at 10:55 AM to checkout at 11:00 as is the policy. An extremely rude maid banged on the door putting her phone in my face to tell me it’s almost 11:00 in a rude tone. I understand hotel check out policies and abide by them or ask for an extension. But every hotel I have ever stayed in gives you at least one extra gratuitous hour. Furthermore, this hotel is located at the train station so if patrons need a little more time to stay then the hotel should accommodate without rude maids banging on your door. Also there were no “do not disturb signs”....the place needs better soundproofing too.

    Good reception staff, excellent location, parking garage just feet from the hotel with reduced rate for hotel patrons at 8 Euros a day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    We stayed for one night at The Alerion hotel which is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was across the street in an underground car park, although was safe, was a little bit of a hassle to get to your car, especially carrying suitcases etc.

    We stayed for one night at The Alerion hotel which is very conveniently located in the centre of Metz just across the square of Metz train station. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The room was large and looked out onto the square. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast which was included with the room rate was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    It was an excellent one, nevertheless. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is up to the front desk only, which is basically on the first floor ( In Europe, the ground floor is not the 1st floor, unlike in the Philippines for example). Thus, I have to bring my heavy bag upstairs and downstairs.

    The gentleman at the front desk, I forgot his name, he lent me a power adapter for my gadget. Thanks. Location is excellent, in the center of everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    It was near the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were perfunctory, like robots, then indifferent. The lift hardly ever worked, and my room was on the 4th floor. Lights on the top floor of a building on the other side of the small courtyard were on all night.

    It was near the station. There was an esspresso machine, coffee provided, [but no operating instructions]. It was reasonably quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    Stay was actually pleasant - Metz was lovely. Rating of two stars is correct.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very close to what we think is the Red Light district. My son also left a toy there which is very special to him - despite emailing them twice and calling (no answer) we haven't had a response

    Our stay was fine but not outstanding - clean and comfy but there was mould in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    Good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than expected and seen on pictures. Our bathroom was clean but coming of age.

    The hotel is just next to the main train station. The centre starts where the hotel is and it takes you only 20 minutes to cross the centre. Town is clean and it seems safe. Spotted a lot of young people on streets,especially on weekend. The room had comfortable beds and the hotel a small lift.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double-bed in room 404 is on the small side compared to the double-bed in room 405 which my friend and her daughter had.

    The rooms are featured with balconies, which open to the street, the old post office, the church and/or the central train station. Staff were nice and helpful. Breakfast on Saturday is served from 8am to 10am, but they were flexible enough to get it ready for us at 7:45am because we had to leave early. Nice French restaurants in the neighbourhood, although we were not able to step in any, because it was Friday evening and we did not make any reservation beforehand. Underground parking right next to the old post office, if you have luggage, better to unload in front of the old post office before driving into the parking. If you are leaving in the morning, drive the car out and park it in front of the old post office again, parking is free there before 9am. After 9am parking within 30 min is for free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small lift, extremely difficult to fit pram and one person in lift, real struggle to get pram out upon reaching floor. Impossible not to use lift because of the large number of stairs. Not a hotel suitable with a family including babies or disabled, good for mountain climbers. Hot water pipes clanged every thirty seconds, throughout the night!

    Value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent check in and would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent receptionist and rooms just right for us. Directly opposite the station with plenty of restaurants and cafes close by. The breakfast was very nice and just what was needed. We parked directly opposite the hotel as we arrived after 18.00 so free until 09.00 the next morning. We felt the area was secure and safe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    2.9
    Won't ever stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room TINY. Bathroom so small couldn't turn round in shower and bathroom fittings were old and stained and generally place poorly maintained and "run down". Room itself not very clean and only one bedside table. Only two electric sockets in room - one for table light and one for fan. Receptionist DIDN'T speak our language (Englsh) but tried very hard to help us. Have to climb big flight of stairs to get to reception. Car park only across the road (the Station car park) but nowhere to leave car outside hotel to unload as only bus lanes. Also - much further from centre of town for attractions than obvious from web map.

    Not much though the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    We managed to park exactly in front of the hotel, but we did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We managed to park exactly in front of the hotel, but we did not pay only because on saturday night and sunday parking is free. We had a very beautiful view on the train station, that is really monumental. At our arrive, the lady at the reception offered us a room bigger that the one we booked for the same price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Super close to the train station, small supermarkets, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms only had a single power outlet, though it came with a three way splitter. It was located at the end of the bedroom, opposite the bed.

    Super close to the train station, small supermarkets, and decent restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.5
    Location is very central, bakery right next to the Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general, hotel definitely needs some serious renovation, as facilities are very used. But the most annoying thing is the lack of sound isolation or what so ever...You can hear everything that happening in the hotel like there is no walls and doors. For going out - it is ok, however if you want to sleep well - better find another options in Metz

    Location is very central, bakery right next to the Hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    The location is good, literally opposite to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good, literally opposite to the train station, very close to the Pompidou Center. The front desk is helpful too and gave me a bit of orientation of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    The lady at the reception was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred a bit wider bed.

    The lady at the reception was very helpful. Parking just opposite the hotel in a parkhouse for only 8€. All the sights within a walking distance. The cleanest toilet I have ever seen in a hotel!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Good location, Staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower drain, didn't! I mentioned it 5 times and it was not addressed. Breakfast was ok, nothing special.

    Staff were friendly. Location was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Location was very good, room was clean, wifi working and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very good, room was clean, wifi working and breakfast excellent by french breakfast standards (fresh baguette and croissants and pastries, yoghurt, nice selection of cheese).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Very good room, extremely clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good room, extremely clean and comfortable. Absolutely delicious breakfast! Excellent location in front of the very beautiful railway station if you wish to travel somewhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    Hotel conveniently situated, especially when travelling by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is convenient for one night - however, I wouldn't recommend a longer stay.

    The view of the historic railway station was good and the breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.3
    never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was awful, only bread, some musli, nothing healthy, all in french, nothing to understand. the room was very small, shower cabin such a tiny, for someone who is fat would be a problem, it is easy to black out during the shower, it gets so hot and such a small area, toilet as well mini space. in a room above or i dont know what it was, someone was walking so loud, all evening i heard and in the morning when i woke up again, dont know what it was but loud. no daylight in the room. stuff doesnt speak english, always answer in french. no information to get

    the bed was cosy and the hotel easy to find

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Ok with some major caveats
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor, hot rooms and drunks on the square outside meant deciding to keep the window open was a case of deciding between two evils. Despite being in a non smoking room on a non smoking floor, a number of or neighbours were smoking and the smell was noticeable/unpleasant. You can't choose your neighbours, but it's unacceptable that the hotel's no smoking policy is unenforced. No 24hr reception otherwise I would have complained. Can't quite work out how this scores so highly on booking.com.

    Great location, excellent for an overnight stay, good value secure car park opposite. Friendly staff. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.0
    Needs a few touch ups
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the first hotel we have stayed at where the desk staff was not helpful in answering questions about parking, sightseeing or finding food. She seemed impatient when we asked her anything. Thankfully there was a couple infront of us that recieved the full spill on breakfast and wifi otherwise we would have had no idea.

    Although the hotel is older, the room was spacious. The location was key. Right across from the train station. There was a really nice parking garage between the hotel and station.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Comfortable hotel with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is just across the road from the train station, so it was easy to get there. It was nice to be greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The lovely room had everything we needed, including comfortable beds, a small desk and powerpoints for our laptop and phones.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    2.9
    Very Very unhappy with treatment and room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the hotel because it advertised parking without booking. I turned up and my companion was told by an extremely unhelpful receptionist that there was no parking and we had to 'find' somewhere in the street. We were driving a large van which took us nearly an hour to find somewhere and then had a 20 minute walk with our bags to the hotel. The toilet in my room was so small I had to sit on the seat sideways with my feet into the room! The shower was also very small. I could only find 1 electricity socket, so either had to have the TV on or charge my phone. Breakfast started at 8am we had to leave at 7.30am.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable and clean older hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, for the price, we were very happy with the hotel. There were some stains on the carpet, but the best was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. Coffee with breakfast wasn't awesome, but the rest of the breakfast was really great.

    The staff was extremely helpful upon check-in and check-out. Breakfast for the price was great. The room was surprisingly quiet, important for our 2 yr old sleeping in the room with us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    6.7
    Nice town
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building, noise from bathroom during the night ....noise from the street ...bus, tram, people near central station

    Nice staff, room is good, you have instant caffe in the room, wi-fi is ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Perfect for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance of hotel full of equipment for building. Not the best way to welcome guests Invoice paper not very professional

    Location near the station Very quiet room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.1
    Good Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my forth stay in the hotel, but now i realised that in hot summer time it is very uncomfortable as there is no AC nor ventilator. And you cannot keep window open as there are many street noises.

    Locaion is very close to Metz railway station and many good places nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    6.3
    Good value but a walk from town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of our rooms was at the front of the hotel and as it was hot we had the window open but it was very noisy until the early hours with people and cars and then again very noisy in the early morning with the street cleaners. It is quite a walk to the town centre and we found it difficult to find out which bus to use. We took a taxi from the station in the end.

    Good value for money, perfect location for the train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.3
    Good beds, very poor service
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy with the station in front, especially with buses running their motors endlessly – not the hotels fault but may be of importance when you need to sleep with the window open. Check-in – almost immediately I was asked to settle the bill although the credit card details were known. A strange kind of welcome indeed. The shower is in the bath tub. I had problems fixing it to the wall and not flooding the bathroom, but that may be me. The walls and tiles in the bathroom need refurbishing! Real problem – getting back forgotten items. We realized the following day; I rang up the hotel. I did not understand that is was indispensable to write a mail with all details – so nothing had arrived when we came back after our holidays. I rang up again – another person who knew of nothing – and I wrote a mail as asked – to learn that they had not found anything. Quite impossible as I described precisely what was left behind and where. I rang up again. It took 3 more mails and a photo being sent to find 2 of the 3 items. There are so may chargers left in the rooms – how should they know which one was right? I still wonder how you can find 2 things and the third item on top goes missing…. Having worked in tourism I am used to putting things with date and room number in the lost and found compartment, but this seems to be handled differently here. Before being informed about what was found I was asked for the credit card…. Now, more than 4 weeks after staying at the hotel I am still waiting for the items to be send…. Conclusion – the hotel offers a reasonable prize for the quality and comfort of the beds but the customer service is dreadful.

    The hotel is situated in front of the station; you reach the center within 10 - 15 minutes walking. We had a family room for 3 – the third bed was a “real” one and rather comfortable as were the other beds. You have to be inventive if you want to open 3 cases but that’s ok. Good – toilet was separate from the bathroom. Linen and towels of good quality, 2 pillows. Security is taken very seriously – you cannot get to the rooms via lift without a code which is also used to get into the hotel after 11.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.1
    Good location, just opposite the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were old. There was a restaurant on the ground floor so it was really noisy and also smoke came into our room. The bathroom was very small.

    Good location, just opposite the railway station. Easy to park our car.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very basic. It became a little warm on summer afternoons.

    Excellent location, great access to restaurants, the train station, and a short walk from the center ville. We had two nice large window with a great view which we were able to open.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Receptionist well informed gives thorough information on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet had two ugly stains.

    Receptionist well informed gives thorough information on everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.8
    In booking.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In booking.com informacion not realistic! ( In booking.com hotel 3*, real 2*....)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was in a great location and the people working was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a great location and the people working was there were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    I'm sorry to say, this is not a hotel we will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room need some renewal. Backyard view very booring . Hair drier not in function. Minimal breakfast. Many TV channels not in function.

    Beds are ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    The hotel has got nothing going for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything noisy hot no fan or air con carpets threadbare room very small should have known better than to book it

    The water was hot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location for transport and city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy and as the weather was very hot the room stayed hot all night

    Good location for transport and city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Location, WiFi &!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    Location, WiFi &!breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is good for business travel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not worth how much it costs

    The hotel is good for business travel. The position is perfect, very close to Metz station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Close to train station & easy walk to town center &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy on the street for a time at night.

    Close to train station & easy walk to town center & historical attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Quite poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is slightly run-down and would need a major makeover.

    The location in the center is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location, nice citiy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Staff when I am checked in very helpful ( solve the parking space for me)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was old and the bathroom months so clean. Too expensive for service provided

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in urgent need of refurbishment and smelled of cigarette smoke:/

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Location close to train station and center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was to small, rooms should be renovated. Clean but old.

    Location close to train station and center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice value hotel right in front of the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is too small

    Location, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Normally
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No english or german knowledge from staff

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people. Very good breakfast. Great localisation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Price for value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Price for value

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alerion traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: