Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Alizé Marseille Vieux Port 3 stars

35 Quai Des Belges, 13001 Marseille, France

#76 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1574 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Not worse the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we entered room the air was stuffy, AC hardly worked and opening window didn’t solve a problem even after an hour time. Floor was leaning and it gave some scary feeling

    The location is very nice. If you want to have some dinner in the evening, that’s the place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place in Marseille!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel Alizé is perfectly located in the old port of Marseille and can be accessed by metro (in front of the hotel). This is the most turistic area and full of restaurants, bars and stores around. The staff is friendly, helpful and very kind. The accommodations are comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    the only thing about this establishment is its excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were visibly miserable and unhappy. they appeared resentful to be there and distressed at being asked for assistance. When asked for ice, we were expected to fetch an old single ice tray with 8 cubes of ice, no bowel never mind an ice bucket.

    location only

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Perfect place if you take a sea view, the hotel and rooms need serious refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor of the building and rooms is lying down to one side - seems unstable when walking, lying in bed. The hotel and rooms need serious refurbishment.

    Perfect place if you take a sea view - nice to sit by the window and watch the port in the sunrise and sunset, man street in the port.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.2
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning completely ineffective. Poor btrakfast wirh not enough seating. Room very tired in decor anf furnishings. Long flight of steps to access reception with luggage. No help provided for disabled mother

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    It was just about OK but I would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very tired. The room we were allocated was so small and dingy as to be depressing. We were given another which was a slight improvement. Generally the place is run down and rather basic, and the online pictures aren't realistic.

    Great location by the old port

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Hotel Alize Marseilles great position with ambiance plus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms really need new carpet, no matter how much they are cleaned the carpet looks old and shabby.

    Alize Location is fantastic! close to everything, the balcony view room is the best, the staff were friendly and helpful :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    The hotel, advertised as newly refurbished, was not quite as good as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom- difficult to use and water running across the floor when showering. The bed being against the wall made access difficult in Room 306, and restricted storage. Room safe not attached to anything.

    Location and breakfast were good, the staff were very helpful. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location and okay for what you pay. But not as it appears in the photos. Staff is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated and musty. A/C is not up to US standards. Smelled of smoke. Even though it says no smoking.

    Staff were amazing!!! Very helpful and polite. Location can’t be beat. In the heart of the Old Port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Good for a moderate price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one to help bring in luggage. There are quite a few stairs before you reach the front desk and then another half set of stairs until you get to an elevator.

    The location was great and also that there was always someone at the front desk. The early morning wake-up call was a success. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location to visit Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Triple Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel has a great potential, which is a bit wasted with old style rooms, which were not renovated since long.

    Hotel has a perfect location just at the feet of Old Port. Try to take a room with a view - it's really worth it. There is everything you need nearby - bus stops, metro station, restaurants, bars, and the boats going to short trips.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Great location to explore the city - but not the best place for relaxing evenings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No way to open the windows as extremely noisy (the good thing is that the windows are high quality sound proof) .. the mattresses were soft and .. please change the carpet in the rooms and the hotel overall .. non-smoking rooms are not really free of smoke unfortunately

    Beautiful view over the Vieux Port of Marseille .. very centrally located and easy to discover Marseille city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location for which you pay a premium. Basically a rather tired 2 star.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cheaper rooms (still more than 100 euros) face a tiny inner courtyard. They are rather 'bijoux'. Breakfast is nothing to write home about.

    Location is great. Go for a room overlooking the harbour if you are booking the hotel or prepare to be dissapointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    Try somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. No view as window was frosted. Felt very dark and depressing. No towel provided in bathroom. Hairs in bathroom. Was a very musky smell in the room, probably from the stained carpets. Marks all over the walls. Furniture had wood peeling all of it. Wifi would work at reception but did not work in rooms. Overpriced for what it was. Would not recommend.

    Location. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of light because the window is facing anothe Wall of the building / there was an extra to face the outside Thé matress was dirty

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    The quality of the bedding and the shower water pressure
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelt badly and since the window gave into a closed courtyard, it was not possible to refresh the air. The air conditionning did not work and it was too hot in the room.

    The quality of the bedding and the shower water pressure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Avoid at all costs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was awful- stayed in better hostels. Could not get around the bed! When asked if we could move rooms was told it was full, then moved to a larger room when the lady who seemed to be in charge came. The whole hotel is on the slant! Stairs and room, curtains hanging off a few rings. Towels stank of bleach yet looked as if they needed a damn good wash. So disappointing. And def the pics on booking.com have been very cleverly taken to make the room look decent.

    Location - however far nicer properties in area. Also, the bed was comfortable and sheets very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Amazing option to be on Marseille viex port. The best location, friendly staff and tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to climb over 40 steps before getting to the elevator. Bathroom was very small.

    Location is exceptional, no better one in Marseille. Great value for money. Very good french breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't quite as modern and comfortable as we'd anticipated but it was fine

    Great location right at the front of the old harbor with great views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location for appreciating Marseille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location for appreciating Marseille. Staff was helpful in answering questions and making recommendations. Small quarters, but given the location, excellent value for the money. Wonderful breakfast was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect locaion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Triple Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room's a bit small.

    Perfect locaion. In the central of the central of Marseilles. Great view of the harbor from the room. Great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay in Marseille and Hotel Alize.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked coffee making facilities in the room but coffee was available with room service.

    Very comfortable room. Wonderful view of the port. All the staff were charming and very helpful. We would stay at Hotel Alize again if we return to Marseille again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serious problems with door lock resulting in broken key. A new key became available the next morning but it is clear that the lock is clapped out and needs to be replaced. Our room was not really big enough to take the three beds we booked for. One of the beds blocked the wardrobe door.

    Nice breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    The location was perfect as good as the very chic and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I though they should have provided toothpaste and maybe a brush and a fridge in the room. The breakfast room was Ok but for a 3 star hotel I expected better.

    The location was perfect as good as the very chic and expensive Grand Hotel Beauvau. I liked the way you could see that it was a very old typical Provençal building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    Underwhelmed. completely underwhelmed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed to be much better on the website, but when I arrived I was sorely disappointed. The furniture was falling apart, the room was dingy with little natural light and the bathroom was very small as well as having a broken shower. This place really needs a refurbishment, especially that they are charging at the mid-level range for this area of Marseille. I would not recommend this hotel for any reason. If you're on a business trip, its just really f***ing depressing. If you were on holiday, you'd be distraught and crying in the shower that doesn't work.

    I didn't really like anything about this hotel, however, the staff were polite. The location was okay, but really, at least half of Marseille itself is just a dump.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Mediocre hotel with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Single Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The visual of the entrance and common areas is so bad it must put off a lot of potential guests.. really awful. No elevator below the 2nd floor.

    The hotel is located right on the Old Port. Close to everything. Helpful staff. O k room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night the bedroom was ghastly. Very small. Looked over small dark overgrown courtyard, therefore room was very dark. Asked to be moved to bedroom at front for the rest of the stay which made all the difference.

    Having asked to be moved to a bedroom at the front of the hotel the view was lovely. Beds were comfortable. Clean. Breakfast adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.8
    The carpets and fittings in this place are very tired and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets and fittings in this place are very tired and need a good clean. If you're given room 107, you probably won't sleep because its door is opens directly into the breakfast room and laundry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location with clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilège Single Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea and coffee making in room, although you can buy drinks for a couple of Euros. Lift starts on first floor of the hotel which is actually the second floor of the building as the reception is on the first floor. So could be a problem for people with limited mobility.

    Friendly staff, great location on the Vieux Port. Good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    I would stay there again because of the wonderful view, and the room is fine, if not luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet was stained and should be replaced with something more hygienic. The windows were dirty.

    The view was spectacular and the location great. Room small but adequate. bed large and comfortable.The bathroom modern and clean with plenty of hot water. Reception and cleaning staff pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.4
    Location was excellent and staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? The entrance to the building is dirty and tired looking not at all welcoming. The stairs to reception are easy enough however the condition of the carpet was an indication of the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms. We stayed in room 401 which did have a view of the port however due to the window being higher than normal the view was restricted. The carpet was so dirty that we were afraid to remove shoes and couldn't identify if it's patterned or plain due to the copious amount of stains on it. All the walls were scuff marked with stains on paint, curtains were barely attached to the rail due to lack of hooks. The bathroom although large was dated dirty and shower sprayed water on floor. Apart from location I would avoid this hotel if possible.

    Location was excellent and staff were very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing.......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were touring France by Motorcycle and this night was to be Our Special Night to celebrate getting Engaged.... I emailed to explain and ask if we could get a room on an upper floor to give us the best view of the Old Port. this was the most expensive hotel on our two week tour with a different destination every night. We got a very small room on the 2nd floor. There was a nice view of the port. but no mention of my email! I said I had emailed, but the young man on reception just looked blank!!! Don't have the breakfast.. The room is hot and stuffy. go out and use one of the restaurants round the port.. same price! with a view!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location, historic building.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    General cleanliness, sound insulation, bed quality, and breakfast choices were all average at best. Fortunately nothing was outstandingly bad.

    Perfect location, historic building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff; lovely little hotel; great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little bit more storage for clothes and luggage would be good!

    It's a great hotel in an excellent location, right on the old harbour. You really do need to book the best rooms at the front of the building where the views are fantastic. It's only a fairly short walk from the main train station, or you can easily use the metro. The ferries leave from just over the road from the hotel. There's a great selection of bars and cafes all around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location but weird room layout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flight of stairs right at the entrance and the lift is only available from the next level onwards. Which means luggages have to be hand carried up 2 storeys before reaching the lift. The room also doesn't feel very clean and we had a bad room layout where once we entered the door, we had to squeeze the luggage through a small gap btw the bed and the wall to get it to the other side of the room where there's more space.

    Well located hotel that's overlooking the vieux port and across from the metro. A lot of food options even late at night. It gets very crowded during the day but the noise gets blocked out once you close the windows. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and one of the male staff even helped us with our luggages.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    A well-located hotel with helpful staff. Rooms small and many steps to climb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just beware that if you have a lot of heavy luggage, there is no lift until the 2nd floor, so you have to carry your bags up many steps. Although the bedroom and bathroom contained everything needed, they were very small, with little space to manoeuvre luggage/get past each other. Ours was a standard double room.

    The location is right on the port- perfect for exploring and very close to many beautiful restaurants. The room was clean and, though small, a good base for just a day or two. The staff were very friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic view of Vieux Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning in our room. Only about 15 inches space between our bed and the wall which we had to bring our cases through. We took them over the bed.

    Fantastic view over the marina from our window. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. A great place to stay because everything we wanted to see was so close. The atmosphere at Vieux Port was really enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift avail only from 2nd floor No in premises restaurant. Breakfast is ok but basic. Room size is ok but would do with a little more space.

    Location Comfi beds Good wifi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.6
    Great location but a pity the owner doesn't invest in cleanliness. I was disappointed for the price quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very used hotel with poor cleanliness standard. The towels were very used, up to the point they were grey and the carpet was that used that even gave room a strange old and dusty smell. If you don't have breakfast in room rate it doesn't worth buying separately as there is not much they offer for 7 eur. You can enjoy a caffe and a croissant at a cafe nearby.

    The hotel has a great location just in the vieux port and rooms with port view give a great view over the port

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.0
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom door didn't open/close properly -scraped along carpet and gets stuck, needs brute force to open and close. Cupboard door broken so swings in the wind if you open the window to view the port. Staff disinterested.

    View from room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness of room. Reading lamp broken and took 2 days to fix. Advertised as sound proofed but seal on windows gone. Rooms need updating internally - carpets very dirty.

    The view of the port from the room is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    4.6
    Booked room with air conditioning and a port view-given a room without for same price.Not 3 st
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose a room with air conditioning and view of the port. We were given a room with no air conditioning and told the noisy fan provided would be as good. We did not sleep as too noisy with fan and too hot without. We moved rooms the next day but were given no compensation for our first night. The electric socket did not work - see photo. One particular receptionist was very unfriendly, the others did their best but seemed resigned to the fact that many aspects of the hotel are below par. This hotel is not 3 star. We stayed in a 1 star hotel in the alps which was far superior. We had booked a room for 2 nights followed by a trip to the alps and then return for the tour de France stage in Marseille. If it were not for the fact that alternatives in Marseille were fully booked for the tour de France then we would have asked for compensation for our first night and not returned. Our second stay was better but the windows in our new room did nor close properly so the noise from the port was loud. For us, the saving grace was the wonderful view of the tour de France from the bedroom window. It is a shame that such a gorgeous building is in such a poor state of internal repair - it could be a wonderful, quirky place to stay. For now I would not recommend staying here.

    The view from the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.5
    We liked Marseilles and area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms in serious need of update. Carpet very unpleasant with stains. Breakfast room pretty awful. First room I was given was so small you could only just get round the bed and the door was very difficult to open as it dragged on the carpet.

    Nothing except location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    The room is clean and has a great view on the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator from the entrance to the first floor. The staff at the reception didn't even bother to ask if we need any help with the luggage...

    The room is clean and has a great view on the port.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    Good locations, needs repairs though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is really dated and I have stayed in many European hotels both expensive and cheap. Air conditioner was so noisy that you could not really have it on. One of the wall sockets was loose. Mattress could use replacing.

    Staff was very nice and accommodating. Location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location to Port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of Stairs Still had to walk a long way from St Charles to get there. Rather than catching public transport to the airport the next day we caught a taxi and it was €67

    Great location to Port. Close to lots of restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.2
    DO NOT STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of stairs only access to room at point of booking. Small room. Basic dated furnishings. Each time you leave hotel I.e. To go out for lunch or food or for a walk you need to leave keys at reception, this is 2017, unbelievable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a bit tired and the young man on the reception desk didn't offer to help with our luggage - there was no lift to our room which was up a flight of stairs.

    The position of the hotel couldn't be better - right on the port.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Cheap & Cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast area rather uninspiring but clean and adequate.

    As mentioned in description, hotel had no lift until 2nd floor. Hard work for oldies! Small, cheap and cheerful. Brilliant location with all the noise and activity of the harbour right at your doorstep.Windows double glazed so no noise when closed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Good 3 star hotel in convenient position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to walk up 1 flight of stairs to reception

    Position view from window.It is important to ask for a room overlooking the port otherwise the rooms are small and no view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    beautiful, amazing location, delicious breakfast. thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is a great location in Marseille. there is nothing that we didn't appreciate. Lots of stairs! but that is to be expected in Europe!

    beautiful breakfast. great room. we were quite pleased.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    4.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading pictures on the internet of the room - Room with no view and smaller - bad smell in the room because the window is so small there's no air

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    Not the best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two flights of stairs up to the lift. The blocked bath and toilet sinks that did not drain between one bath and the next. Staff were informed. Very poor wifi causing me to lose bookings or book twice at the same next hotel because so received no reply! I asked the staff about the wifi but really had no reply. Eventually used the cafe downstairs. There was no view from the small window only a dirty other buildings back yard. I requested a better view but was told I had booked a "Classic room". This hotel was not good value for money.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location, high price for poor amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and needs a full renovation, the elevator is very small and old and does not go the way down to the ground floor. The room was not really clean (hairs in the bed). Breakfast is very basic with powder juice.

    This hotel enjoys a very great location with direct access to the Vieux Port. Some rooms (extra pay) are with a view on the Harbor. Staff is friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Over priced and pokey room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a lift from the ground floor; just from the second floor upwards. We were travelling with a baby in a buggy so it was very inconvenient having to carry him in his pushchair up two flights of stairs. Our room was tiny! We requested a travel cot for the baby and it was squeezed between our double bed and the wall. There was barely any carpet space. The room was dark and dingy. It had one long thin window that was frosted so you couldn't see out. When we did open the window the view was of the side of another building. Thankfully we didn't spend much time in the room! We thought it was very over priced for what we got.

    Good location, facing onto the port. Lots of bats and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Triple Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom design is not good. Toilet and sink too close to each other. Before doing your business, you need to figure out how 🙂 Also if you have few electronic devices you should bring your multi plug.

    Location is very good. You can connect all the places via metro and bus, all this opportunities just next to hotel. Also stuff is nice and kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    I Love Marseille and this hotel is great to access all of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't so much a dislike but more advisory the steps are steep at the hotel but it wasn't an issue to us.

    The location is brilliant the reception staff were very helpful and the buffet breakfast was really good and I had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location though not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities or fridge in room (needed for medication, the hotel did put it in theirs). No view and room and shower was small.

    Right on harbour. Breakfast was good, although breakfast room did not have a view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful position in Old Port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi in my room and the safe had been locked by the previous.

    Perfect location for 4 rooms but all rooms dark with no window view. I think these were all that were available on your site and probably reflected in the cost. It was only for one night for us so we were happy to be there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location; room port side has amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was v small but this is typical of european hotels where space is a premium. It was all clean and worked, so fine.

    Fantastic location, amazing view. On top of everything but great double glazing so can block out the noise of old port easily. Air condition was necessary and worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, friendly helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Carpets in the hotel and rooms could do with up grading there was stains all over the carpet floor, the rest of the hotel had been redecorated, it was a shame the carpets looked bad.

    Excellent location, a lovely harbour view, next door to all the bars and restuarents

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced grimy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has been incredibly overpriced seen its low quality. A dark and grimy room. Small and crumbling. That room (306) should cost 50 euro less.

    Location is convenient. Staff has been kind and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.7
    Hotel didnt have our booking, although it had been confirmed by booking.com so not sure whose fault
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the second room we were given their were small black hairs in the bath (yes those hairs!!!!) and all around the shower needed a really good clean as it was filthy.

    When we arrived, the hotel didn't have our booking although it had been confirmed through booking.com. They managed to find us a room for 1 night with view of the Old Port but couldn't accommodate us for both nights in this room, so we were moved to a family room with no view. So the experience with booking. com could have been better.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    5.0
    older hotel in need of TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old and run down. mould in bathrooms, no fridge or tea making facilities, only English speaking content on TV was BBC news, 40 stair climb with 23 kg bags (20 to reception), smell of cigarette snoke in corridors (3rd floor), stained carpet in room. Bed not comdortable

    View and location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    4.6
    It was not what I expected
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel did not meet expectations at all. The rooms were too small, with very old furniture, clearness was OK, but it was very uncomfortable. In reception they prevented the keys and I who had paid for twin room with old port view, was accommodated in single one with back view. I fixed immediately my discontent about the fact and they changed my room but still I was not satisfied fully as they gave me twin room but again with back view despite the fact that I have paid extra fee for old port view. It should be mentioned also that in reception were very kind to offer us free late check out on one room.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    The staff were just lovely and could not have been more...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They bathroom was just that bit too tight. I'm glad I am a small person as hardly room to move!

    The staff were just lovely and could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.7
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing was really disappointing (apart from our neighbours' behaviour, for which the hotel cannot be blamed), but also nothing was more than could be expected (apart from the view, that is). One minor issue might be the paper thin wall between bathroom and the rest of the room, but well, the location makes more than up for that.

    No lies about the "Rooms with view on the Vieux port": the views are delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ventilation of my room did not work well

    Excellent location. easy access to metro, restaurants, cafe, pubs, etc Easy to find the hotel (even for non-French speaker.) Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    4.2
    No value for price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Triple Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We took a 3-bed room but the third bed was a foldable bed that was very uncomfortable. The room was so small that there was really only enough room for 3 beds and our 3 luggages. The WIFI was working very poorly. The shower had no ventilation or shower curtains and was very humid after showers. The saving grace is the excellent location of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.1
    excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lobby, no place to seat, except for the breakfast area on the 1st floor. The towels could be whiter and not so harsh. Wi-fi in room was very weak.

    Room 303 had an excellent view of the Vieux Port, though a bit expensive. It was spacious, bathroom was small but ok. Location is excellent, near everything you need.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.5
    Great location, old building, friendly staff, facilities in arrested decline.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine is all show, no substance (bad coffee in 6 selections/settings). Some mold in the bathroom. Uneven floor. Cramped hallways.

    Breakfast was wide selection, including eggs cooked to individual timing. Fresh baguettes, jams.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    5.4
    You pay for the hotel location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Smell in the room - you now that one when everything smell like an old carpet - Room wasn't dirty but... wasn't clean either. You could see that hairdryer (sticky handle) and mirror (dust and something that I hope was a toothpaste) wasn't cleaned properly after previous guest.

    Hotel location is great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Money saver Marseille!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can complain of, very comfy bed, slept like a log...

    Very friendly helpful staff, had a family feel about it, warn, down to Earth and very accommodating...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilège Double Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room décor is dated, bathroom could do with updating but to be honest this was not an issue with us.

    The location for the price makes this hotel great value. Staff were very helpful, we booked the room with a view of the port great view watching the world walking past. Good double glazed window no noise pollution when closed air con worked well.The hotel is old and has uneven floors and slanting stairs which just add to the charm of the place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.9
    Hotel with a great location, made by the view of the Vieux Port, decor tired but good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Triple Room - Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (101) was long and narrow and there was little space between the end of the bed and the wall. Other rooms were more regularly shaped. The wall was marked with luggage scuff marks and the carpet was stained.

    Room had a great view on to the Vieux Port but was quiet despite the traffic. Bed was extremely comfortable. Food choice and quality at breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: