Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Styles Nantes Centre Place Royale 3 stars

3 rue du Couedic, 44000 Nantes, France

#71 of 109 hotels in Nantes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1076 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In our room there was very little space around the bed on the window side.

    The breakfast was sufficiently versatile and adequate. The bathroom was spacious and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I would have liked more would be a drinking water tap to refill water bottles.

    The breakfast was really nice and there was lots to choose from in the buffet. The room was very clean, simple and functional. The best aspect about this hotel is the location - so close to everything, and just off the beautiful Place Royal square. The train station is within walking distance, as are all the main attractions of Nantes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fine - to perfection I would recommend cleaner windows and curtains in the room. View from the window was nothing interesting but curtains fixed it.

    hotel with an excelent location in the heart of historical centre, close to the airport shuttle bus stop. surrounded by cafés, creperies etc... Staff was very nice, room clean and in very good condition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was quite dark, energy-saving light bulbs were not very efficient. It was a bit tricky to regulate the temperature in the room, so it was either too cold or too warm. Sheets were not super clean with occasional stains, carpet needs thorough cleaning to get rid of dirty socks smell.

    Perfect location in the city center, nonstop reception, availability of coffee, tea and occasional pastries, optional breakfast that we did not use as there are plenty of bakeries in the area, helpful staff at the reception, nice bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small considering the price we had paid. There was an unpleasant odour like drains in the corridor outside our room. We were glad that the breakfast was complimentary because it was nothing special and the drinks dispenser had more "Hors service" labels than drinks available - no coffee and a choice of only hot water, hot chocolate and milk.

    The reception staff were friendly and very helpful. We had ordered twin beds and there was a delay whilst the double bed in the room was altered. Apologies were offered together with complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no eggs served with breakfast, lighting in the room and bath was very dim, the bar was a non-alcohol bar and no ice on property, not even a store nearby to purchase ice.

    Once there ,it was right in the middle of stores and restaurants. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    October was unseasonably hot but the air-conditioning had been shut down since September. Turning it on only warmed the room. A staff member explained this to me as though I'd somehow been stupid and missed the small print. So we had to open the window in order to sleep. Onto a district full of the loudest drunk students I've heard in years. The party just carried right on until 4am most mornings, so we missed a lot of sleep. Full of mosquitoes too -- my daughter and I returned covered in bites. The manager was only available now and then and my request for a quiet room was more or less blanked out when I proposed it.

    The room itself was nice enough, if small. The hotel was in a convenient spot in the centre of town. Staff were friendly and most of the amenities worked as they should.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra chair in room would be nice

    Great location but wouldn't try driving there. Staff helpful. Bed comfortable. Room clean. We didnt eat there so can't comment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking close but difficult to find following sat nav.

    Excellent location in the centre of town. Friendly and helpful staff. One problem we had sorted out easily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small Room, no fridge and no coffee facilities in room No bar & no restaurant. Breakfast very limited and poor compared to Ibis Styles in Bordeaux

    Only Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible journey to the car park. Having found the hotel needed to go through barrier which required a code. Then after checking in needed to go to car park which meant a very stressful journey through a pedestrian area and a one way system around Nantes. Had we known which car park to use we could have parked prior to check in and saved ourselves the stress . Bathroom needs a refurbishment too and better lighting

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 the receptionist was not very helpful when asked to get the cost of a 5 person transfer to the airport and could not or would not do this

    the central location of the hotel is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite no traffic, it was noisey with people outside. Aircon didn't work. Lighting was really dim.

    Right in the centre of town and pedestrianised area. Big underground car park only a few 100m walk off.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small. And there's only public parking, which was pricey.

    The location was great and the staff friendly. Room was clean and mattress was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, location, location. The hotel is located very close to public underground parking which cost me only €8.50 for the overnight. It is located in the historic area and all the sights are within walking distance of the hotel. Although a lot of the streets are cobbles we got around it quiet easy with a wheelchair.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect. In the city center and surrounding by restaurants, bars and shopping stores. In 10 minutes walk to Lafayette. 2 minutes walk to Commerce stop to grab airport shuttle bus. Super recommend you to choose ibis style royal place hotel in Nantes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location right in the centre, nice room with bath and shower over bath, comfortable bed,good temperature to sleep well, nice breakfast, overall very good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They added by mistake one room and they charge to my bank account. They realizes that they did a mistake but they will do the transfer one week after. We are so disappointed

    Location and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old building and there was a musty odor in my room. This was easy to ignore because the room's heating was good and the water temperature and pressure are very good.

    The staff was friendly and responsive. I had a problem with my room when I first checked in and it was resolved immediately. The hotel is very close to the Ducs des Bretagne palace and the tram and train station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First room allocated, in a non-smoking hotel, was completely satuarated with cigarette fumes. Came back from a day out and found that cleaning personnal no only had left the room door unlocked, but had also had the latch out so that the door was left ajar the who day.

    Dispite flaws, the staff tried to correct without any argument. In general the staff were curteous and cheerful. Have therefor not rated overall staff as poor even though it was close.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get down to breakfast early as it does get rather cramped! My fat bum sliding off the bar stool was quite funny! An oldie like me likes to sit at a table lol x Need more English Tv channels CNN was getting rather boring!!!

    Very nice, comfortable bed, hot water and big TV!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative things were the Television (I never found any foreign channels, but maybe I wasn´t using the remote control right) and the heating/air con system, which was broken, but was being repaired, so that will be fine soon. I thought the hotel was good value for money.

    I very much liked this hotel, it´s older but has been remodeled. The location is excellent, right near the Place du Commerce, Airport Bus nearby. Internet seemed to work very well. I had a cute room on the top floor, like an attic. Quite comfortable, nice decor, and the BREAKFAST was great. Not overwhelming but all of those French elements which are typical of breakfast in France. And oranges to squeeze and make your own fresh orange juice. Good value for money in this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except less noise from outside but there is nothing you could do about that.

    Very easy to help yourself all fresh and plenty available. Coffee in the reception was also available also good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 307. Mosquito problem with trees and water feature outside, got bitten badly. Complained to hotel. Informed us they were aware of problem but this was after the event. Wouldn't have opened the windows if we had known but the fact the air conditioning was not working made it unavoidable.

    Great location but that's all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not functioning and thias had been the case and would be the case fo another month. THis was not indicate whn booking and it was known. Very annoying and not reflected in the price.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was out of order and we were giving a very small room 603.There was no way you stay in it without leaving the window open and there was terrible noise at night and mosquitoes.

    The location was very good .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was not working for the 4 nights I stayed so the room was very hot. I was not compensated in any way even though I paid for an air condition room. I was told to open the window which I did but my room was FULL of mosquitos and I did not sleep more than 3 hours the last night of my stay. The people in a room above me were smoking so with my window open I was getting cigarette ashes coming through my window as well as cigarette butts flying past my window..

    Location is great and the breakfast was excellent. The girls serving the breakfast were very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - thin walls: you can hear everything from the other rooms. Moreover, around 7 am the streets are cleaned and it is impossible to sleep anymore due to the noise made by the cleaning car. - poor breakfast

    Very good location, clean room, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wondered why I was being 'upgraded' to a double bed and was grateful... then I was advised that the air conditioning wasn't working throughout the entire hotel - for a few weeks!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air con wasn't working. Couldn't sleep at all - left the window open and gotten bitten alive by mosquitoes. No compensation for it. Really was a bad ending to my trip.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c was not working. The beds were like hammocks. My husband has bites all over arm and back from bedbugs. Not good

    Nothing! The a/c was not working. The beds were like hammocks. My husband has bites all over arm and back from bedbugs. Not good Breakfast room was like eating in a sauna- unpleasant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning not working, seemed to have been an issue for other users prior to our visit. No sign of problem being resolved, would have thought a large hotel chain could have sorted the problem quickly. Our room was difficult to sleep in as hot and sticky, had to keep window closed due to outside noise.

    Able to have freshly squeezed orange juice, and food was replenished quickly by staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should be nicer if we were given the toothpaste and the toothbrush

    The facilities inside the room were great, the location is super

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    street noise

    handy for lift

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the middle of town and staff was very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bath tube not draining pillows not comfortable

    Location Staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are a bit worn off

    Location location location Courtesy of staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value Position

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside lighting not strong enough

    Comfy friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. The breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    close to city and public transport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situation exceptionnelle

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't use electronic card. We need to carry around a key with a huge key chain.

    In city center, clean, very good deal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient, comfortable, friendly and secure. Great spot for seeing the tourist sites of Nantes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access with car to download luggage, hotel is old and run down, in need of renovation

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Reception and rooms were a bit small

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel.

    Excellent location for exploring Nantes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free parking ! Information provided on booking is not clear on that point...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast room small at peak times

    good central position in city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not neet, old fashioned

    situation of the hotel in the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    acres to the hotel via a car is difficult. No amenities, Soap, Lotion, etc in the rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The bed and air conditioning in the room was excellent, we slept well, also fantastic location, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent city centre location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning does not work

    Staff are excellent and location excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Central location. Proximity to places to eat. Comfortable bed and good m2.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very poor (limited foods' offer), room's illumination was inadequate

    Bed was good, no backbone's ache in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    English sounding television.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco not working, booking did not inform me

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning was not working.

    Staff helpful, bed big and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air con still not working

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was out of order when we were there so rooms were stifling - it is due for replacement in September though!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working and it was very very hot. No sleep that night.

    Location was good - close to centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air conditionning does not work properly

    confort

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon

    Nice relaxed breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situation en centre ville personnel sympathique

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The screaming and yelling in the streets around the hotel during the night.

    Staff is very nice and helpful. Thank you Frédéric. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no room for bikes and no carpark

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noisy neighbourhood.

    Very well located. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    unfortunately , windows are not soundproof.. As it is an area where there are bars and restaurants, you may have some drunk people shouting outside...

    Good location down town near shops and parkings... Bedrooms have double doors (soundproof)

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The internet didn't work on my floor, there was no parking near the hotel and the eftpos machine was out of order too.

    Great location and the staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Cosmetic samples in the bath, door opening, furniture quite poor quality, could be better for the cost of the room, very small room, only one towel's set for two persons, there is no fridge in the room, poor breakfast, no croissants at all(, poor drinks on the reception

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little tired overall. Time for an update. Breakfast quite 'continental' for France.

    Location central to sights, transport, restaurants. Staff friendly, polite and helpful but appeared a little stressed..

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small room n bathroom as well not clean old equiped even plastic glasses n no water to drink only in the "lobby" u can find water n coffee breakfast poor n the cist high regarding the services specially i was 2m ago in the place other hotel same price not to compare i wouldnt recommend

    location and wifi

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you want use WIFI you have to make a registration (personal data). We don´t like typical french sheet to cover in the bed.

    In the city centrem. Near by castle, tram to airport (2 minutes), shopping, restaurants.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: